Irvine Victoria 17/18

tombo

Alright guys, "does exactly what it says on the tin"  All things Victoria on here.

First to say, Well Done to Stevie and the boys for qualifying from the Ardagh Cup section and all the best against the Buffs next week.

League starts tomorrow, priority for this season, with the reconstruction, happening, and can't be any tougher than an opener against the favourites for the title.

Bring it on!

T

• Replies 158
1 hour ago, tombo said:

Alright guys, "does exactly what it says on the tin"  All things Victoria on here.

First to say, Well Done to Stevie and the boys for qualifying from the Ardagh Cup section and all the best against the Buffs next week.

League starts tomorrow, priority for this season, with the reconstruction, happening, and can't be any tougher than an opener against the favourites for the title.

Bring it on!

T

On 18/08/2017 at 08:31, tombo said:

Bring it on!

T

U must be very proud qualifying from a section of 3 as we weren't giving a flying f**k 

well done ha ha ha ha ha 

we are gutted up here ^_^

Today was our poorest game so far, very flat in the middle and we seemed to miss the midfield out quite a lot. On the plus side, we played that bad and we're still in the game till the penalty was given around 75 minutes then few minutes later another goal came and killed the game off.

Anyhow, only one game in, plenty to play for. Let's see how we get on against the buffs on Wednesday night at Abbey Park.

Mon the Vics!

16 minutes ago, IrvineVicsMan said:

Today was our poorest game so far, very flat in the middle and we seemed to miss the midfield out quite a lot. On the plus side, we played that bad and we're still in the game till the penalty was given around 75 minutes then few minutes later another goal came and killed the game off.

Anyhow, only one game in, plenty to play for. Let's see how we get on against the buffs on Wednesday night at Abbey Park.

Mon the Vics!

I will tell u pumped again 

Yep, you were unlucky. Buffs rested half a team and totally underestimated Vics. You kept your shape and discipline, we lost ours, although the second red wasn't even a foul, never mind a card. Your two front men will cause any team problems. What's with your keepers hair? Hope you gub Irvine's second team on Friday, all the best for the season ahead.

I thought the boys worked really hard last night and didn't allow Buffs to get into their stride. The first red card was just stupid, on a yellow card, 5 mins to go and drawing 2-2 and said to the linesman "yous must be trying to make a name for yourself, yous are f*****g hopeless". Asking for a second yellow, I agree though that the second wasn't a red card.

Good luck to Buffs for the rest of the season.

Boys were unlucky last night as you say Sam,but getting a bit fed up with this"we were missing half a team" pish! Aye you were unlucky but we would have gubbed you with our first pick eleven" . Give us the real credit we are due and don't patronise us. By my reckoning they had only made 3 changes from Saturday but 2 of them came off the bench. All the big hitters were there during the 90 mins bar Tommy Maitland.  They are all premier league players and paid as part of a squad to see them through a season.

Anyway it's over we didn't disgrace ourselves, now we need to focus on the league.

T

6 minutes ago, tombo said:

Boys were unlucky last night as you say Sam,but getting a bit fed up with this"we were missing half a team" pish! Aye you were unlucky but we would have gubbed you with our first pick eleven" . Give us the real credit we are due and don't patronise us. By my reckoning they had only made 3 changes from Saturday but 2 of them came off the bench. All the big hitters were there during the 90 mins bar Tommy Maitland.  They are all premier league players and paid as part of a squad to see them through a season.

Anyway it's over we didn't disgrace ourselves, now we need to focus on the league.

T

You need to look harder at your own players as well. Over the piece Vics didn`t really create an awful lot. Your first goal was a direct result of the Buffs 4 who was their last man, taking far too much time on the ball before deciding to fall over it/give it away 15 yards outside his own box. Your boy tucked it away without being asked twice. The only chance of any note you created  was halfway through the first half when Kevin Adam`s first touch and pass sent the wee lad clear and he really should have put that away. Your front 2 play far too far apart to be anything like a partnership. During the first phase of the game Kevin Adam`s presence and touch were pretty much your only out, but no one seemed to be close enough to him or gambled on him winning high balls. As the game went on and he tired then the ball was sticking less and less to him. Buffs were sloppy at the back especially but when they did play the pace they have/had caused Vics bother (I think Ardeer got Bonners best days for what it`s worth) and their delivery from wider areas (mostly the left) was good. If they had a forward of any note in play then they would have had another 3 or 4. 

I do look hard at my team and what I saw was a team, playing another from 2 leagues above, who had a 17yr old emergency loan goalkeeper, their 2 first pick full backs missing and the boy who has been scoring for fun just now, unavailable, but did I use that as an excuse?

As for our lack of opportunities created, we weren't expected to do so. In the first half after losing a soft goal we not only equalised but created the only other 2 chances of note.

Second half we expected the buffs to hammer us but didn't happen. Their 2nd goal should have been saved by the young keeper, IMO a  mistake from him but redeemed himself with the save from Boylans header. Again not many more clear cut chances and our 2nd equaliser was an embarrassment to their defence.

It's all about opinions but the buffs weren't as weak as being made out, and we did better than expected.

On to next game now.

T

17 hours ago, funky monkey said:

Dont know about his hair style, but young RYAN McLAREN has been more than decent

since coming in on loan from Stranraer Under-20s. Good decision to give him experience

of junior football by Under-20 Head Coach Stuart Wild. Has allowed the lad, who came

through the grassroots ranks with St Peters (Paisley), much-needed game time as first

team No 2 Max Currie has been dropping down to that squad at various times with

other guys when they havent played on a Saturday.