Teachers of P&B

On 10/08/2019 at 11:38, pandarilla said:

I usually get a wee buzz of anticipation to go back to school at the end of the summer. Not feeling it this year. Maybe I'm on the long, slow decline to hating my job...

Embrace  the hatred.  You're meant to hate it.

"Wee buzz of anticipation" indeed.  What sort of pervert are you man?

On 08/07/2019 at 20:49, The_Kincardine said:

Intuitively I'd tend to agree with you and I almost googled the research @mathematicsreferenced but my older two have now left school and my wee yin will be in her last year and was delighted to scrape by GCSE Maths.

I think, though, there are a couple of other factors, based purely on a representative sample of 3 kids.  1. It tends to be the more polished/experienced teachers who get to teach Years 5 and 6.  I doubt any school worth its salt would have a recently qualified teacher with a low result at N5 level teaching Year 6 Maths.  2. At the primary school my three went to they split Year 6 up for Maths based on ability with the higher achieving ones being 'hothoused' with a specialist maths teacher.

You're right, the strongest teachers are generally placed in Year 6 and Year 2. Less experienced or weaker teachers tend to be hidden away in Years 3 and 4 in my experience. 

As for needing degree level algebra to teach primary school kids, I can't see any scenario where that would be necessary. I've very, very occasionally had to draw upon a little GCSE level maths when working with one particularly gifted child but nothing beyond that would be useful or appropriate for primary children.

With the Scottish National Standardised Assessments (SNSA) performed at P1, P4 and P7 (Reception, Y3 and Y6 under the English system) there is currently a tendency to put the stronger teachers there as that's how a school will ultimately be judged.

I see many probationers (and weaker teachers) placed in P2 and P5. It means there's another two years to 'catch-up' before the next SNSA.

It must be awful having to go back to work after 6 weeks off in the summer. You poor thing.
Cheers throbber. I knew you'd understand.

Anyway, first day back with kids today and sailed through. Happy days.

New first years seemed a nice bunch as well. And all of them had pencils (which is an incredibly rare thing these days).

Started my 11th year of international teaching yesterday. The new Grade 11s seem really nice - lots of new kids to the school as they come here to do the full IB or APs before college.

Good to be back, genuinely can't imagine myself doing anything else for the rest of my working life!

• 7 months later...

Just wanted to bump this as I'm curious to see how everyone else is coping and what measures other schools have put in place. I'm in a secondary school but hearing that primary schools in Falkirk are starting to struggle a bit.

I've had anything between 30 and 50% of kids off in each of my classes today and our school is doubling up classes due to a fair few staff being off. We've been told to get all kids onto glow/teams but we're finding that teams in particular isn't coping with demand and is acting up. We do have Show My Homework as another option for the kids.

Really worried that pretty much all of my senior classes are doing NPAs this year and we are still trying to complete assessments. Luckily we have completed the full course for all of our certificated classes but only really have prelims as evidence in the event that "exceptional circumstances" gets played at the SQA.

Today has been the first time kids that are self-isolating has been noted on Seemis for us. Had a wee nosey at my class registers for tomorrow and looks like absences will be similar to today.

Similar.
We were 84% attendance yesterday, and I'd estimate about 70% today.
We're all quickly training ourselves on Teams and already use SMH. I have no insider info but suspect they'll close us sooner rather than later. Perhaps maybe BGE kids at first, while seniors do their exams?
Who knows!

Just wanted to bump this as I'm curious to see how everyone else is coping and what measures other schools have put in place. I'm in a secondary school but hearing that primary schools in Falkirk are starting to struggle a bit.
I've had anything between 30 and 50% of kids off in each of my classes today and our school is doubling up classes due to a fair few staff being off. We've been told to get all kids onto glow/teams but we're finding that teams in particular isn't coping with demand and is acting up. We do have Show My Homework as another option for the kids.
Really worried that pretty much all of my senior classes are doing NPAs this year and we are still trying to complete assessments. Luckily we have completed the full course for all of our certificated classes but only really have prelims as evidence in the event that "exceptional circumstances" gets played at the SQA.
Today has been the first time kids that are self-isolating has been noted on Seemis for us. Had a wee nosey at my class registers for tomorrow and looks like absences will be similar to today.

I’m not a teacher but assistant in the nursery at a primary. We’re running just under 50% absence and the school itself about 30%.

Headquarters decided all staff over 60, pre existing health issue or pregnant were to leave today. My side kick and one practitioner but not sure about the school staff.

My older two kids used glow anyway and the middle ones teacher used turn in for homework this week, dummy run I suspect.

The P1-3 kids have been added to glow this week and all kids got access to a bit of seesaw they normally only use at school.

While parents like me will make sure my kids do work it’ll be kids who maybe need it most who’ll miss out.

Also I’m told there is crisis planning for at risk kids too under way. 

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-51932090

First minister says highly possible Scottish schools could shut within days.
Very noticeable that schools are making sure that pupils have everything they need to access online resources like GLOW. I'll be surprised if they don't shut down on Friday, if they even make it that far.

Disagree. Was in at SQA recently and the plan is still to go ahead.
Whether schools are closed for all other functions is more likely, or there are other strategies they could undertake.

The chances of the exams going ahead is surely almost zero?

Whether schools are closed for all other functions is more likely, or there are other strategies they could undertake.
That was what the wife's pal who is a teacher told us, that the plan at the moment is for exams still to run with the absolute bare minimum of people in school that are required for it to function. She also thinks the schools won't be open after this week.

8 minutes ago, peasy23 said:
11 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

That was what the wife's pal who is a teacher told us, that the plan at the moment is for exams still to run with the absolute bare minimum of people in school that are required for it to function. She also thinks the schools won't be open after this week.

The plan for the exams at present is for them to run as normal as every year. There is no other plan. Everything else is just speculation.

6 hours ago, peasy23 said:
6 hours ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

That's correct, and today's announcements by the FM and SQA have underlined that.