Work colleagues

That might be the most American thing anyone's ever posted on here  :mellow:
You get any kind of severance package, at least?

Nope!

I’m actually ok, somehow I didn’t throw a wobbly and get rat-arsed, just dealt with it.

6 hours ago, Raidernation said:

Nope!

I’m actually ok, somehow I didn’t throw a wobbly and get rat-arsed, just dealt with it.

That's good, just be on your guard, sometimes it's easy dealing with a crisis at the time, but they can sneak up on you a week later

Brewdog getting it tight all over social media today and they’re now the most read story on the Beeb website. ‘Punks with purpose’ published an open letter detailing various kinds of bullying and misogyny and a culture of fear at the company. Any PNB members sign it? Letter:
https://www.punkswithpurpose.org/

I'm in charge of a collection which I normally wouldn't touch with a barge pole but its a good lad who showed me the ropes when I started out and I'm going to buy him whisky which I hope to get a wee sample of myself.

Because we are all working from home I'm doing it by PayPal which means all these auld dears who presumably pay everything by postal order sending me follow up emails and texts - did you get my PayPal payment? 

I'm due to leave my job in a few weeks as previous posts.

Is it self righteous or presumptuous to say in advance "don't get me a gift, give a donation to CHAS etc"

I hate the collections as much as anyone and one that directly involves me is even worse, whilst obviously well intentioned.

On 11/06/2021 at 15:06, invergowrie arab said:

I'm in charge of a collection which I normally wouldn't touch with a barge pole but its a good lad who showed me the ropes when I started out and I'm going to buy him whisky which I hope to get a wee sample of myself.

Because we are all working from home I'm doing it by PayPal which means all these auld dears who presumably pay everything by postal order sending me follow up emails and texts - did you get my PayPal payment? 

That money is just resting in your account...

On 12/06/2021 at 23:35, V.Aye.R said:

I'm due to leave my job in a few weeks as previous posts.

Is it self righteous or presumptuous to say in advance "don't get me a gift, give a donation to CHAS etc"

I hate the collections as much as anyone and one that directly involves me is even worse, whilst obviously well intentioned.

Just smile if they give you anything and donate it yourself idk.

WFH - 5 weeks into a new job, after nearly a year of nothing.  And in very weird position of not even knowing what most of colleagues look like. part of a buying team of eight. Interview with manager and supervisor before start on Teams, with cameras. Met boss to collect monitors, etc. Teams meeting twice a day with full team but no-one has cameras on. Training by Teams. Never spent a day in office or seen most of colleagues, although speak to them every day and email but no idea of their looks, or life or issues or problems, and loving it.

Zero current prospects office work, apparently floor where the team worked has been cleared and they moving but seem in zero hurry to sort that, and they seem happy with full time WFH results. 

Like not knowing my colleagues.

Edited by MEADOWXI

Work from home is alright, my main concern is that certain people (who were already bad at time management) feel it acceptable to drag online meetings on and on and on and on and on.  I just finished one that was supposed to be 30 minutes, ended up being over an hour where it was mostly me watching someone be bad at Excel.  In a boardroom this person would at least have understood that they need to get on with it (as someone would likely have wanted the room)

On 16/06/2021 at 09:45, MEADOWXI said:

WFH - 5 weeks into a new job, after nearly a year of nothing.  And in very weird position of not even knowing what most of colleagues look like. part of a buying team of eight. Interview with manager and supervisor before start on Teams, with cameras. Met boss to collect monitors, etc. Teams meeting twice a day with full team but no-one has cameras on. Training by Teams. Never spent a day in office or seen most of colleagues, although speak to them every day and email but no idea of their looks, or life or issues or problems, and loving it.

Zero current prospects office work, apparently floor where the team worked has been cleared and they moving but seem in zero hurry to sort that, and they seem happy with full time WFH results. 

I'm meeting the majority of my colleagues for the first time on Thursday. 

I'm about to have this exact scenario in a fortnight. In Procurement too.

I'll need to find a way to build some rapport remotely which doesn't quite feel as straightforward.

Any issues you've had or stuff thats gone well?

6 hours ago, senorsoupe said:

Work from home is alright, my main concern is that certain people (who were already bad at time management) feel it acceptable to drag online meetings on and on and on and on and on.  I just finished one that was supposed to be 30 minutes, ended up being over an hour where it was mostly me watching someone be bad at Excel.  In a boardroom this person would at least have understood that they need to get on with it (as someone would likely have wanted the room)

That's when you need a strong chair to say "shut t f up" albeit diplomatically.

Jackie Weaver would sort your meeting out...

11 hours ago, V.Aye.R said:

I'm about to have this exact scenario in a fortnight. In Procurement too.

I'll need to find a way to build some rapport remotely which doesn't quite feel as straightforward.

Any issues you've had or stuff thats gone well?

In my first week I had at least a two hour session with everyone in a one on one Teams, find out what they do.  that helped.

There is a work Whatsapp group. 95% work and I didn't comment at first, you can watch the dynamic and group and see the odd joke.

In my first week I had at least a two hour session with everyone in a one on one Teams, find out what they do.  that helped.
There is a work Whatsapp group. 95% work and I didn't comment at first, you can watch the dynamic and group and see the odd joke.

Sounds good bar the whatsapp [emoji23]