Work colleagues

Looks like my furlough life is over, had 3 goes at it and I will miss it immensely.  Back to it part time for a week on Monday then full time start of March.  I can't see me being back on it. 

I managed to encourage a change to the shifts that we do when full time that's been ok'd so that will mean mostly finishing at 4 except every third month finishing at 5:30 so that should be decent enough going forward (we used to just swap month about), I don't go to bed any earlier regardless of when I start so it's like having an hour and a half extra free time a day.  

Edited by itzdrk

21 hours ago, Perkin Flump said:

Maria McKee was probably the surprising one that I liked, did make a tit of myself by not listening to what she was saying then asking why she was singing a Fergal Sharkey song.

She wrote "A good heart" as a swipe against her then boyfriend Belmont Tench.  In turn, he wrote "You little thief" as a swipe against her.

They then got Feargal to sing both songs

Thus his relationship counsellor/singer role began.  Not sure if any other couples used his services in this way.

4 minutes ago, Fullerene said:

She wrote "A good heart" as a swipe against her then boyfriend Belmont Tench.  In turn, he wrote "You little thief" as a swipe against her.

They then got Feargal to sing both songs

Thus his relationship counsellor/singer role began.  Not sure if any other couples used his services in this way.

Could have saved themselves some time by listening to Never Never and realising it wasn't really his specialist subject.

My boss has given everyone a courtesy phone call once a week when we've been in lockdown, which he made very clear he was only doing because he was told to, which is nice. However, I've heard nothing from him since January. Should I be worried? Or possibly relieved?

Someone left work for another job and reported the problems. Now boss suspended and an investigation is ongoing. Turns out a few people have either went to HR or been taking notes as well.

Have a chance to speak to hr on a separate manner but can use it to bring out the grievances which tbh are worse or as bad plus I have actual times and dates. Had a couple of days to think it over but can't see any reason not to push a little and see the response. One of the allegations they're investigating is bordering on criminal stuff so it's pretty nuclear option type stuff.

So this is the main reason I didn't just jump ship or leave part of me wants to see justice for this and the people effected.

Want to apologise for going on about it the advice was right but I felt so bad about things that I couldn't even apply for jobs. Total mistrust of management to the point it became an obsession.

It will be hard to talk about and relive but f**k it going to bring it up because it could make the lives of lots of us so much better. 

We were actually warned about going to hr by my boss and that they were bad and against us. Turns out its the opposite.

Edited by D.A.F.C

22 minutes ago, D.A.F.C said:

Hide contents

Someone left work for another job and reported the problems. Now boss suspended and an investigation is ongoing. Turns out a few people have either went to HR or been taking notes as well.

Have a chance to speak to hr on a separate manner but can use it to bring out the grievances which tbh are worse or as bad plus I have actual times and dates. Had a couple of days to think it over but can't see any reason not to push a little and see the response. One of the allegations they're investigating is bordering on criminal stuff so it's pretty nuclear option type stuff.

So this is the main reason I didn't just jump ship or leave part of me wants to see justice for this and the people effected.

Want to apologise for going on about it the advice was right but I felt so bad about things that I couldn't even apply for jobs. Total mistrust of management to the point it became an obsession.

It will be hard to talk about and relive but f**k it going to bring it up because it could make the lives of lots of us so much better. 

We were actually warned about going to hr by my boss and that they were bad and against us. Turns out its the opposite.

I'm glad there's a chance all this might start to get cleaned up. Not that i've been in anywhere near the same level of situation but if there's one bit of advice I'd give, get all the emotion and rants out of your system before you talk to them. Aim for matter of fact and ice cold.

53 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

I'm glad there's a chance all this might start to get cleaned up. Not that i've been in anywhere near the same level of situation but if there's one bit of advice I'd give, get all the emotion and rants out of your system before you talk to them. Aim for matter of fact and ice cold.

Good advice, just give a few facts.

Going to have a script ready. 

Edited by D.A.F.C

On 06/03/2021 at 18:45, D.A.F.C said:

Hide contents

good to see that this is hopefully coming to an end. I also feel a wee bit of joy for you on here as many folk in here labelled you a fantasist and this is almost a victory for you. 

Does anyone else work with people who always want to come across as the busiest person ever? I have a girl in my office who is actually sound but no matter what you ask her she always has to relate it back to how busy she apparently is. You ask her how she is getting on and she always replies “oh its mad in here” (she is one of about 5 people in my work that is working from the office). She always lets out a huge sigh when she leaves her room.

I dont understand why people do this

Guest bernardblack
6 minutes ago, Aufc said:

Does anyone else work with people who always want to come across as the busiest person ever? I have a girl in my office who is actually sound but no matter what you ask her she always has to relate it back to how busy she apparently is. You ask her how she is getting on and she always replies “oh its mad in here” (she is one of about 5 people in my work that is working from the office). She always lets out a huge sigh when she leaves her room.

Aye my work is like a competition to claim how busy you are, it’s so odd. The day usually ends with someone going “that can’t be the time? It’s surely not 5pm already?!”

Folk get trained into the idea that they need to look busy and overworked, or their bosses will start thinking they don't actually need them. At one place I worked, one of the directors would occasionally wander through the office and, if anyone was looking a bit laid-back or was taking a break, there'd always be some comments like, "that you finished for the day?"

Best answer I heard to this was an my current job where, after a few hours of backbreaking labour, some of the lads were taking a breather when our boss wandered by and made a wisecrack about them slacking off. The answer was, "if you like, you can finish this off and I'll go play with myself in your office for a while"  :lol:

3 minutes ago, BFTD said:

Folk get trained into the idea that they need to look busy and overworked, or their bosses will start thinking they don't actually need them. At one place I worked, one of the directors would occasionally wander through the office and, if anyone was looking a bit laid-back or was taking a break, there'd always be some comments like, "that you finished for the day?"

Best answer I heard to this was an my current job where, after a few hours of backbreaking labour, some of the lads were taking a breather when our boss wandered by and made a wisecrack about them slacking off. The answer was, "if you like, you can finish this off and I'll go play with myself in your office for a while"  :lol:

That's definitely a thing.  Particularly in small businesses where your direct manager is the owner or one of the owners.  If you're not seen to be mental busy there's the fear of being laid off.  I've experienced that feeling and it's not nice.

1 hour ago, Aufc said:

It's an insecurity thing, they need to appear more reliab!e and productive than others. It usually (thinly) masks lack of prioritising skills and general misunderstanding of the role.I

A manager should take her aside, explain they're concerned and take some time to breakdown her day/week etc. It will resolve if she is a diddy or is genuinely overworked.

1 minute ago, Pato said:

I'm sure there are folk at my work who have spent 20+ years constantly walking around the building from 9-5 without ever actually logging in and doing anything.

It used to involve a bit of paper and asking others "have you seen/did you work on/do you remember etc, etc.

Worked for years, almost as good as the jacket on the back of your chair trick.

There’s a guy in my place like that. Every time you ask him if he’s available for a meeting, even if it’s weeks in advance he will always say something like “at the moment ok but it might be a busy time or if someone else asks me to do something”. That’s not how it works mate. You book the meeting in and if someone else asks you to do something or meet you say sorry I’ve already got a meeting scheduled. He’s a great guy but infuriating with his having to appear busy and needed all the time. 

23 minutes ago, Pato said:

I'm sure there are folk at my work who have spent 20+ years constantly walking around the building from 9-5 without ever actually logging in and doing anything.

Any vacancies at the moment?