Work colleagues

This. Don’t want to risk the sole of your shoes being caked in pish
I was a courier at Yodel in Perth and pish on your shoes would've been the least of your worries there. Every stall seemed to be like that toilet from Trainspotting. Folk that seemed to delight in missing the pan (ones and twos), toilet paper all over the floor and stuck to the walls. Jobbys smeared all over the walls. Think on that when you get a parcel from them. Not me obvs, I'm a hygienic sort.

The unflushed work jobby is a horrible thing. There was one memorable one a while back at our place which alarmingly was about the diameter and length of a pint can.

It turned into a bit of a tourist attraction:

"You've got to go and see this..."

48 minutes ago, FairyBaws said:

I worked with a guy who left a week and a half ago (by left stopped turning up) insisting he could make 5,500 a week on charity bags...

Is this slang for "wealthy widows"?

the_producers_1968-02.jpg

Maybe he was selling soiled underwear to perverts via mail order. A friend of mine worked with a chap who would buy used underwear for certain ‘specialist’ websites for his own dark purposes. Wanking, basically, he used them for wanking.

47 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

Maybe he was selling soiled underwear to perverts via mail order. A friend of mine worked with a chap who would buy used underwear for certain ‘specialist’ websites for his own dark purposes. Wanking, basically, he used them for wanking.

A friend of mine worked with a chap

Was your friend also your work colleague?

15 hours ago, FairyBaws said:

I worked with a guy who left a week and a half ago (by left stopped turning up) insisting he could make 5,500 a week on charity bags...

What do you mean by charity bags?

I got a "charity bag" through the door the other day. It was imploring me to fill it up with old clothes which would be sold to benefit people in developing countries AND some autism charity. Unless you looked very closely, you'd think it was a perfectly normal charitable endeavour. But no ...

1. You donate clothes. They get sold in developing countries. (Hence helping people there)
  2. For ever TON of clothing, they punt £100 towards  the autism charity. Even with a very conservative estimate of £1 per kilo, for every £1,000 they make, they donate £100 to the charity. 

Of course, you could argue that's more than the charity would normally get. But on the other hand, the ONLY reason this company is donating money to charity is to make it appear like a completely charitable affair and get people to donate clothees they'd otherwise give to a charity shop (which gains 100% of the value PLUS gift aid).

Not sure where I'm going with this, or why I'm posting it here, but to sum up: Shady b*****ds. 

I got a "charity bag" through the door the other day. It was imploring me to fill it up with old clothes which would be sold to benefit people in developing countries AND some autism charity. Unless you looked very closely, you'd think it was a perfectly normal charitable endeavour. But no ...
  1. You donate clothes. They get sold in developing countries. (Hence helping people there)
  2. For ever TON of clothing, they punt £100 towards  the autism charity. Even with a very conservative estimate of £1 per kilo, for every £1,000 they make, they donate £100 to the charity. 
Of course, you could argue that's more than the charity would normally get. But on the other hand, the ONLY reason this company is donating money to charity is to make it appear like a completely charitable affair and get people to donate clothees they'd otherwise give to a charity shop (which gains 100% of the value PLUS gift aid).
Not sure where I'm going with this, or why I'm posting it here, but to sum up: Shady b*****ds. 
Know what fucks me off.... Seen a few times, usually in petrol stations when you pay with card, you get the option to "add 25p for charity"

What charity? Get yourself tae f**k. Making me look a dick for pressing no but why would I hamd over my money to a petrol station for no more information than "for charity"

7 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Know what fucks me off.... Seen a few times, usually in petrol stations when you pay with card, you get the option to "add 25p for charity"

What charity? Get yourself tae f**k. Making me look a dick for pressing no but why would I hamd over my money to a petrol station for no more information than "for charity"

Well I don't know for certain, but I'd hazard a guess that BP or whoever it was can release a carefully worded press release to tell the world about the generosity of the company and their customers in donating £x to the charity. 

And still completely off-topic, but my local sandwich shop has this totally legit looking collection tin ...

image.png.f805a73b7b6421ce92db22de8cc117d3.png

My thoughts were dodgy as too. He was claiming he can make a fortune for every ton of clothing he collected.

For me, I always donate my old clothes etc to a charity shop. There’s always been something dodgy about the bags and you have confirmed my suspicion about it.

5 hours ago, Cardinal Richelieu said:

Also makes it impossible for local tailors and clothing manufacturers to compete.

8 hours ago, Cardinal Richelieu said:

And still completely off-topic, but my local sandwich shop has this totally legit looking collection tin ...

image.png.f805a73b7b6421ce92db22de8cc117d3.png

The poor and needy around the world but more specifically the poor and needy working in your local sandwich shop.

Edited by Shotgun

I take it these c***s are struggling now that most of the actual charities have stopped asking people to leave bags out at the kerb for collection. When empty bags had been dropped off in a neighbourhood, it was a race against time to get to them before those thieves would send vans out to steal them for their own profit.

2 minutes ago, D.A.F.C said:

I reuse the bags as bin bags. Have also thought about confronting the guys who deliver the bags but thought they were just similar to paper boys.

Try to use proper clothing bins etc if I chuck anything out.

Might be better donating directly to charity. People have been known to steal out they bins.