Work colleagues

In the lunch queue, fish and chips on the menu today,

Person in front of me throws a tantrum because they were given a piece of fish slightly smaller than the rest.

A woman, in her mid 40's.

19 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

I agreed to organise the works Xmas lunch/bevvy in my new job (I know)

In reality that means phoning pub and confirming they can accommodate, emailing the team and then letting my admin assistant deal with all the pish of taking orders and deposits etc this is for a team of about 16.

I was then cc'd into an email with 6 other randomers saying get in touch with me to book. Apparently old colleagues, including some who left 10 years ago, get invited too.

Get tae f**k. If you want to hang about with your pals do it in your own time. So, if anyone fancies a Xmas lunch at Braes in Dundee PM me as apparently it's a fucking free for all.

This is awkward...we're going to Braes as well, and the guy organising it originally was just doing for our office (about 22 or so folk) but then other offices got in touch with him to invite themselves along, with the end result being that there will be circa 40 folk going, at least half of which I won't know (not everyone in our office can go before someone tries to point out that 22 is more than half of 40).

Chances are you might get your hole that night.

I'd happily strangle mine right now.

We're targeted with clearing work in 10 days from start to finish. That includes any complex case work that the processors need to refer to me for a specialist decision.

If I do double my daily target of complex decisions then we'll just about keep our head above water. So I keep asking for complex work to be given to me as early as possible as I'm on my own for half the week. Already today I've found half a dozen cases at the 10 day limit that need masses of extra work. I've also had an extra 4 cases sent over that are on their target today that magically appeared from nowhere.

Matters are made worse by people constantly arguing the toss because legislation is difficult and makes our work that bit harder to deal with properly.

Guess what - the law isn't simple and, contrary to popular belief, I don't enjoy making things difficult. The law is difficult and we can try to play with it to make it do what we want to do but we can't flat out ignore it because it's too hard. Stop arguing for the hell of it and accept that sometimes our job really is unavoidably complicated.

Rarely has the weekend break been needed so badly

• 4 weeks later...

Every time someone is off there's a woman in the office who says "Oh, it'll be quiet today" as if the person who is off is the only one who ever talks to other folk. 

The same person also says, "Is it that time already?!" every single night when folk leave at finishing time and she's still, like an utter mug, working.

2 minutes ago, LinkinFighter said:

Clocked the autocorrect and knew you'd be on it sharpish. Apologies.

I'm a pedant. 

Anyway, agree about your point. Also these folk tend to have their screensaver and/or background as their kid(s), like it's some special thing that they've bred and we should not only care, but almost congratulate them on it.

We normally have a "forced fun" type Christmas party in the work. They would get us in, give you a silly hat, put you into teams and have games like musical chairs or quizzes (and supply free drink*) but less and less folk have been turning up and this year they binned it.  Instead they've reverted to a more traditional Christmas party in just booking a pub somewhere local and getting a meal on a Friday afternoon.  Total result, I think, no more looking like a fud in silly tinsel or silly hats, no more kidding on you care about a game of pass the parcel just so you can tank into the free bevy - just a straight forward Christmas work colleague piss up. 

Well, I was wrong. One of the lassies have just called us all round to their computer..."we're going to order these Christmas glasses for everyone for next Friday, can you come and pick the ones you want?". I'm not quite sure what the f**k she's on about, we're going to a pub, why would I need my own glass? No. She's taking about a pair of glasses that are caked in glitter with a stupid Christmas tree hanging off one of the eyes and a poorly designed Christmas pudding that looks like a shite with snow on top hanging off the other.  What's wrong with these c***s? Is there a rule that says you need to look like a fucking dick to take part in Christmas? Get it to f**k.

*free bevy sounds amazing but the sad fact was the Stella they were handing out had been lying in a cupboard somewhere for f**k knows how many years and most of it was out of date. That left you with the choice of Strongbow or a can of juice. Pish choices.

No. She's taking about a pair of glasses that are caked in glitter with a stupid Christmas tree hanging off one of the eyes and a poorly designed Christmas pudding that looks like a shite with snow on top hanging off the other.  What's wrong with these c***s?

So what glasses are you getting?