The Celtic All Seasons thread

3 hours ago, The Saintee said:

What's caused the shift in Celtic signing guys with potential like Van Dijk, Dembele etc to dross like Barkas?

Our scouting and recruitment setup was much better under John Park when he left it started to take a turn for the worse

1 hour ago, PauloPerth said:

9 years of meaningless trophies ..  You've got to admire that sense of entitlement.

Bit of a blessing they didn't win 10IAR really, their fans would've been too busy celebrating a hollow record breaking accomplishment to bother about how the club was being run. What a lucky break it was that Sevco did them a favour there.

18 hours ago, Thorongil said:

The club is much, much diminished from what it was. And I hold the support responsible. 

Good post, mate, and a conclusion no one can take issue with.

You can see from the Celtic posters on here that, during your four quadruple trebles era, the team they cared most about was Rangers.  While Brendan was piling the trophies high the faithful frew n frews weren't posting about their team - they even had to be shamed in to starting this thread - but were all over the Rangers' threads like a rash.

While there could be weeks between a post about Celtic they were relentlessly posting utter bilge about us and endlessly repeating the tawdry old HWG10IAR shite.

With the wealth generated by endless success, shrewd dealings in the transfer market and long runs in Europe the custodians of Celtic could have built a formidable footballing empire in Glasgow's East End to last a generation.  What they did instead was give the supporters the only thing that really matters to them - a team just good enough to have bragging rights over Rangers.  

In October 2020 when we scudded you 0-2 in your own midden - with you not having a shot on target - you finally realised you were left with a team made in your own image: witless, hapless, disorganised and mediocre.  Indeed, a team that reflects the fans!

On 28/07/2021 at 14:44, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Always feel it’s really difficult for a new manager to come into a raft of new signings that aren’t his own then have to mold them into their style of play.

Leave them to rot in the reserves, then.

39 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

He’s arrived 🍀🇯🇵

Big number to take over 

Hopefully this means we see him and Starfelt tomorrow night 

If this guy is even a fraction of the player Keevins and his media mates are saying he is he will beat Hearts on his own tomorrow.

Edited by Grangemouth Bairn

1 hour ago, The_Kincardine said:

You can see from the Celtic posters on here that, during your four quadruple trebles era, the team they cared most about was Rangers.  While Brendan was piling the trophies high the faithful frew n frews weren't posting about their team - they even had to be shamed in to starting this thread - but were all over the Rangers' threads like a rash.

While there could be weeks between a post about Celtic they were relentlessly posting utter bilge about us and endlessly repeating the tawdry old HWG10IAR shite.

With the wealth generated by endless success, shrewd dealings in the transfer market and long runs in Europe the custodians of Celtic could have built a formidable footballing empire in Glasgow's East End to last a generation.  What they did instead was give the supporters the only thing that really matters to them - a team just good enough to have bragging rights over Rangers.  

In October 2020 when we scudded you 0-2 in your own midden - with you not having a shot on target - you finally realised you were left with a team made in your own image: witless, hapless, disorganised and mediocre.  Indeed, a team that reflects the fans!

R4j0ezv.gif

Kincy, in days gone by you’d literally be the figure of apoplectic rage if ‘diddies’ or ‘green & grey yins’ commented on the ranjurs misfortunes thread.
Yet here you are.

15 minutes ago, Greenlantern said:

Kincy, in days gone by you’d literally be the figure of apoplectic rage if ‘diddies’ or ‘green & grey yins’ commented on the ranjurs misfortunes thread.
Yet here you are.

Absolute nonsense.  My beef with you lot was never you posting on our thread per se.  We're a multi-team forum and input was always welcome from wherever and whomever.

However, the constant spamming from you and yours - especially the utter bilge spouted - wore thin.  That's why I shamed you in to starting this thread.  Sad that you couldn't do it on your own initiative - but that's how little you care about Celtic.

Edited by The_Kincardine

Absolute nonsense.  My beef with you lot was never you posting on our thread per se.  We're a multi-team forum and input was always welcome from wherever and whomever.
However, the constant spamming from you and yours - especially the utter bilge spouted - wore thin.  That's why I shamed you in to starting this thread.  Sad that you couldn't do it by your own initiative.

Yer arse in parsley lol.

8 hours ago, The Saintee said:

What's caused the shift in Celtic signing guys with potential like Van Dijk, Dembele etc to dross like Barkas?

For every vvd and dembele they have had a good few howlers costing them a fortune, it was less of a hindrance when they were winning stuff, making the CL and selling big bucks players, it would be the same at any club

21 hours ago, Thorongil said:

I started feeling grave concern about the direction and leadership of the club sometime around 2005/2006. I voiced this concern for a few years and became widely reviled for it on the Timternet. 

The way the club has been run is a scandal. We should not be a PLC. We turn over about £80m a year and have less than 500 staff. Appropriate remuneration for a CEO of a company of that scale is about 150k-£200k per annum. Lawwell was pocketing about £3m a year. 

Sporting endeavour was on the backburner. That’s why Martin O’Neill eventually tired and quit. It has been absolute rinse and repeat since as from the high water mark of Seville we have become an absolute backwater of a club. 

The support are largely to blame. Those who didn’t set foot in Celtic Park in the 90s became season ticket holders and they allowed the board carte blanche. Bought of with meaningless trophies and defined by Rangers. As long as we beat them everything was ok. Then Rangers died and we had 9 meaningless seasons of winning everything in a row. 

The club is much, much diminished from what it was. And I hold the support responsible. 

You may turnover 80mill sometimes, but it costs over 80mill to run the club, eventually downsizing had to happen due to the lack of CL money (the tierney sale of 24mill pretty much broke you even last time out) 

Now you might think the board etc have fucked it due to penny pinching, but the blame surely lies at the manager and the players, the cl defeats suffered the last 4 years have been to teams that the assembled squad and manager should be swatting aside, 

Celtic spent around 20mill last summer, how much the summer before, over 10mill, more probably, the board sanctioned they purchases aye, but who scouted them, indicated they would be good buys, then trained coached and played them in games 

25 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

That's why I started this thread.  Sad that you couldn't do it on your own - but that's how little you care about Celtic.

We don’t care about celtic becaus we didn’t  start this thread about us on P&B?? Even though one of us did.
And even if we didn’t, is that really how you determine how big a supporter someone is? 

22 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

That's why I shamed you in to starting this thread.  Sad that you couldn't do it on your own initiative - but that's how little you care about Celtic.

19 minutes ago, Greenlantern said:

Yer arse in parsley lol.

Really?  For the run up to season 2017/8 you constantly spammed 'us' and didn't even have a season's thread until goaded in to it.  As you said, in reply to me, in your hapless way:

On 22/06/2017 at 23:56, Greenlantern said:

And I've created a Celtic thread, so you and your brethren don't feel so vindicated.

So, of course, @Thorongilwas absolutely right.  Ra Sellick's current shambles is a direct result of the likes of you obsessing over us while your own club was going down the shitter.

So, of course, [mention=81123]Thorongil[/mention]was absolutely right.  Ra Sellick's current shambles is a direct result of the likes of you obsessing over us while your own club was going down the shitter.

You seem agitated.
Away and prepare yersel to celebrate yer fleg day instead of worrying about our woes.

1 hour ago, The_Kincardine said:

However, the constant spamming from you and yours - especially the utter bilge spouted - wore thin.  That's why I shamed you in to starting this thread.  Sad that you couldn't do it on your own initiative - but that's how little you care about Celtic.

Seem to recall you having a go and calling Celtic folk out for specifically posting in the Rangers thread not that long ago after your post title “sabbatical”

So aye i’m going to file this opinion under G for Gobshite

1 hour ago, 54_and_counting said:

You may turnover 80mill sometimes, but it costs over 80mill to run the club, eventually downsizing had to happen due to the lack of CL money (the tierney sale of 24mill pretty much broke you even last time out) 

Now you might think the board etc have fucked it due to penny pinching, but the blame surely lies at the manager and the players, the cl defeats suffered the last 4 years have been to teams that the assembled squad and manager should be swatting aside, 

Celtic spent around 20mill last summer, how much the summer before, over 10mill, more probably, the board sanctioned they purchases aye, but who scouted them, indicated they would be good buys, then trained coached and played them in games 

It’s a sum of all its parts. Mismanagement and lack of ambition from the board alongside poor recruitment, management and coaching has delivered us to where we are now.

The position we are in just now is far from great but it can be salvaged, it might not happen this season but it will happen

Edited by Jinky67