The Celtic All Seasons thread

6 hours ago, Jacky1990 said:

Doubt it.

I imagine Celtic can only sack him if he is convicted of a crime and I'm not sure he will be. Same with him ending up on the sex offenders list.

His defence will surely be that he wasnt aware of her age and didnt distribute the photos online. A poor excuse, but one that might see him get away with it.

I imagine there will be a police statement over the next few days saying they have investigated and that they found no reason to pursue criminal activity on Griffiths part but have reminded him of his responsibilities or something.

Celtic might choose to punt him of course, but I'd be surprised if they had a chance to terminate his contract.

If she is underage, it’s pretty irrelevant if he knew her age or not. He is an adult who apparently looked through a child’s Instagram and came to the conclusion she was worth messaging - the image I’ve seen it’s not difficult to tell that she is very young. To be fair, I’m sure he will try and use that defence, but in the eyes of the law I’m not sure it is one... 

7 hours ago, Jacky1990 said:

Doubt it.

I imagine Celtic can only sack him if he is convicted of a crime and I'm not sure he will be. Same with him ending up on the sex offenders list.

His defence will surely be that he wasnt aware of her age and didnt distribute the photos online. A poor excuse, but one that might see him get away with it.

I imagine there will be a police statement over the next few days saying they have investigated and that they found no reason to pursue criminal activity on Griffiths part but have reminded him of his responsibilities or something.

Celtic might choose to punt him of course, but I'd be surprised if they had a chance to terminate his contract.

Celtic appointed a safeguarding officer last year and published a safeguarding handbook that i would assume was issued to players to abide by and probably had to sign some sort of code of conduct hence giving the club power if an employee falls below the standards set out.

Considering that it wouldn’t be thinkable for LG to continue in his role no matter if he was aware of her age doubly so considering this handbook stipulates in a few sections that it’s rules apply to both children and young persons 

Safeguarding_Handbook_Dec_2020.pdf

Edited by Jinky67

7 hours ago, Jacky1990 said:

Doubt it.

I wouldn’t want a nonce at my club. 

1 hour ago, AJF said:

It's not whataboutery when someone corrects your incorrect assertion that this is somehow an issue with OF fans only. There's evidence in this actual thread that it's not confined to OF fans.

It's amazing this needs to be said, after the whole Billy Gilmours mother engaging in her sickening sectarian display incident someone was discussing it in the calling cards of morons thread, it was apparantly decided that this is behaviour exclusive to the Old Firm, i said it wasn't, someone asked for examples and then when provided with them said "OF fans and whataboutery eh!"... 10 up votes.

59 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

He was piled on for being flippant and essentially mocking mental health and addiction issues.

I'll take the first charge and the last but i must stress I didn't explicitly mock mental health issues, I cast doubt on the idea Griffiths has them over being a ned. Plenty of other people believe the same for good reason, there's enough stories be them local or in the media that prove his type of character. I understand why some people will have rushed to defend this and I said I wouldn't speak on it because I believe what I initially said and that he is a vile person which is an uncomfortable topic for some people to discuss however I'm going to be amazed if any one of the people that were so eager to misrepresent my post return to the thread now to stick up for his noncing actions due to his alleged mental health struggles. 

Come on guys, he may be a violent, disgusting racist b*****d that has protected status on here but surely you aren't going to overlook the whole paedo situation and give him a pass...?  

Edited by Stormzy

10 minutes ago, Stormzy said:

It's amazing this needs to be said, after the whole Billy Gilmours mother engaging in her sickening sectarian display incident someone was discussing it in the calling cards of morons thread, it was apparantly decided that this is behaviour exclusive to the Old Firm, i said it wasn't, someone asked for examples and then when provided with them said "OF fans and whataboutery eh!"... 10 up votes.

Aye, that's what I'm getting at. I am in no way defending anyone point scoring over an issue such as this. I was only countering what I thought was a claim that only OF fans were guilty of it (it just so happens that this isn't what was claimed). Whataboutery would be saying that kind of behaviour is fine because others also do it, but that's not what is being argued.

Edited by AJF

35 minutes ago, Stormzy said:

I'll take the first charge and the last but i must stress I didn't explicitly mock mental health issues, I cast doubt on the idea Griffiths has them over being a ned. Plenty of other people believe the same for good reason, there's enough stories be them local or in the media that prove his type of character. I understand why some people will have rushed to defend this and I said I wouldn't speak on it because I believe what I initially said and that he is a vile person which is an uncomfortable topic for some people to discuss however I'm going to be amazed if any one of the people that were so eager to misrepresent my post return to the thread now to stick up for his noncing actions due to his alleged mental health struggles. 

Come on guys, he may be a violent, disgusting racist b*****d that has protected status on here but surely you aren't going to overlook the whole paedo situation and give him a pass...?  

There are a lot of nasty fucking people with mental health issues including depression, anxiety disorders etc etc.

None of us are in a position to diagnose LG and the more who cast doubt on someones mental health because of their character is quite frankly a dangerous line to walk in todays society and could go someway to discourage other people who at times display less than desirable behaviour to come out.

Also let me be clear, what LG is accused of here is fucking wrong on every level. He should be held to account by Celtic and the police regarding these allegations, there is no one excusing this behaviour however you also cannot say because he displays at times vile behaviours that he then cant have mental health issues....you just can't

I'd go as far to say his addiction issues, behaviours on and off the park and now this point to someone who needs professional psychological help and again i'll stress needing help in no way excuses what he has done or should he avoid being held to account for that behaviour. He should have the book thrown at him and then given the help he needs 

Edited by Jinky67

36 minutes ago, Stormzy said:

Why is it necessary for you to pass judgement on anything in his personal life?

2 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Why is it necessary for you to pass judgement on anything in his personal life?

It's not necessary but it's human  nature and happens on this forum every day. The area I live in has a lot of spill over of Hibs fans so I've heard more stories about the paedothumb and his ways and problems more than I have other pro footballers.

The idea that it's unacceptable to "point score," when a player of a rival club (or even just another player in the league) commits an act of criminality is pearl-clutching pish. 

There are degrees to this. If he physically abused children or distributed images of them then aye, there may be a high ground to be taken on this. As far as we're aware he sent a message to a young lassie. Oftw behaviour absolutely, and certainly criminal, but probably not traumatic to the victim to justify the outpouring of finger wagging opprobrium from my fellow jaggy.

19 minutes ago, Stormzy said:

It's not necessary but it's human  nature and happens on this forum every day. The area I live in has a lot of spill over of Hibs fans so I've heard more stories about the paedothumb and his ways and problems more than I have other pro footballers.

Paedothumb. Classy. 

51 minutes ago, velo army said:

Oftw behaviour absolutely, and certainly criminal, 

Is it certainly criminal though? It's absolutely beastly and he's a total creep but the messages he's sent are (probably intentionally) ambiguous where although everyone and their dog know what he was hinting and asking for he's not actually asked for them.

I'm not defending him, but (with no legal expertise) it doesn't look like it'd be easy to actually convict him of anything. 

1 hour ago, Stormzy said:

I wasn’t one to jump on your previous thoughts on Griffiths and I am in no way sticking up for him but the paedo description is taking it a bit far. 

Any adult who asks for  photos off a child (that’s what she is) is a paedo. End off!

and anyone saying he shouldn’t be called that, needs to think what would they call him if it was their daughter, niece or granddaughter.

Edited by True Dat

9 minutes ago, True Dat said:

Any adult who asks for  photos off a child (that’s what she is) is a paedo. End off!

and anyone saying he shouldn’t be called that, needs to think what would they call him if it was their daughter, niece or granddaughter.

A paedo is someone who is attracted to prepubescent children, a 15 yr old doesn’t fall into that category. People didn’t, and still don’t, label c***s like Elvis or Wyman paedos, just c***s like Glitter and saville, who both had a liking for children and child pornography. Not something I agree with but a fact. They’re all creepy b*****ds IMO. 

Edited by Drew Brees

16 minutes ago, True Dat said:

Too right mate. I would have cut the c***s balls off already. His MO precedes him. Facts are, he's a fucking nonce and anyone trying to defend that c**t's behaviour are little better. 

2 hours ago, Jinky67 said:

There are a lot of nasty fucking people with mental health issues including depression, anxiety disorders etc etc.

None of us are in a position to diagnose LG and the more who cast doubt on someones mental health because of their character is quite frankly a dangerous line to walk in todays society and could go someway to discourage other people who at times display less than desirable behaviour to come out.

Also let me be clear, what LG is accused of here is fucking wrong on every level. He should be held to account by Celtic and the police regarding these allegations, there is no one excusing this behaviour however you also cannot say because he displays at times vile behaviours that he then cant have mental health issues....you just can't

I'd go as far to say his addiction issues, behaviours on and off the park and now this point to someone who needs professional psychological help and again i'll stress needing help in no way excuses what he has done or should he avoid being held to account for that behaviour. He should have the book thrown at him and then given the help he needs 

f**k all to do with diagnosis. It's what he's done and done previously. He's a fucking nonce and needs jailed, right after his bawz are severed. 

He's a disgusting reprobate of a human being. 

What if it were yours ffs??! 

Ah but he needs help. f**k off. 

2 minutes ago, BlueBear said:

f**k all to do with diagnosis. It's what he's done and done previously. He's a fucking nonce and needs jailed, right after his bawz are severed. 

He's a disgusting reprobate of a human being. 

What if it were yours ffs??! 

Ah but he needs help. f**k off. 

Quite clearly state in the very post you quoted that what he is done is very very wrong and he deserves the book thrown at him by both Celtic and the police.

Its a sentiment that should be easy to understand even for an utter fuckwit like yourself