Junior Committee Vacancies

ScottL90

Hi everyone,

Have seen from alot of comments on numerous threads that Junior football is in need of new bodies for ageing committee's so thought I would make up a thread for clubs to post any roles they are needing people to fill and for those interested in getting involved to note their interest for any prospective clubs.

Although I have limited knowledge and experience I would be interested to hear from clubs in Aberdeen + Shire about potentially getting involved and helping out.

Hopefully this can help some teams out in some way.

Cheers

I'd certainly say to anyone out there thinking about going onto the committee of their team to go for it!.
It's hard work,can be extremely frustrating,costs you a fortune!!,but every now and again you have a wee moment that makes it all worthwhile.Ive had a couple spells at it and must admit I miss it all.It's amazing the people you meet and friends you make.You'll certainly never be short of story to tell.

The hard work feels less like hard work the more of a connection that you have to the side. To the OP, I say take a few months to visit grounds and clubs and find the one that you're most drawn to. Get to know the existing committee, offer your help. I was asked to join the Pollok committee when I was only 25 and had a great time over the following 6/7 years but the smaller the committeee the more the burden falls on fewer shoulders (ok not a problem at Pollok per se but there still were drawbacks). Midweek games are the pits - kicking off at 6.30pm means committee being on site well before kick off to get things set up and gates manned etc... The more it bites into 'work' time the more attractive it is to the retired and less attractive to people with families etc.