St Roch's F.C. 2017-2018

ScottMcCorry

• Replies 942
17 hours ago, Kinky Afro said:

It was night and day and on a day where at half time I could hear the Would’ve won had we kept 11 men on, Should’ve won this game anyway, and Could’ve been in front had we scored (seems obvious I thought!!) the Woulda Coulda Shoulda became a Super Duper Display of heart, passion, fight, control, ability, good movement and confidence. I was impressed by our second half display and the large crowd (testament to the hard marketing work by our Guru Scott) went home happy and smiling and chatting and laughing. There is something about football that you get on days like yesterday. It is the pride in your team, the pride in where you come from and the fact that we are all the same. It is a sort of tribal mob culture that unites and protects and promises so much. It can keep you sharp and alert and safe. It’s a Wonderful thing....

Nice words, however, the (new) merchandise guys Mark Lawson and Chris Reilly, alongside the gaffer...were to thanks for the push in the last month.

ps Sorry for shooshing you on Saturday :o)

I did see Chris and Mark active on Twitter and it certainly paid dividends. I was giving you the credit as our “Media man” but deffo credit to Chris and Mark and others who do a great job with the shop, the bus and the Twitter. It all just adds to the club and I bet some people who were there for the first time loved it on Saturday.

Don’t worry about telling me to shooosh.... I’ve been told to shut up many times in the finest of places....

MTC!

Over the last few years I’ve travelled all over Scotland watching junior football and I was looking forward to my trip to the land of the bard today. Those who know me will know I followed Fauldhouse United home and away and chronicled my adventures and escapades with the lads on match days. They were affectionately known as the Buckie Boys and famed for their partisan and vocal support of the team, good banter and ever presence. We rose to the Superleague through the divisions and the laughs got bigger and better and we made friends in every division and in every wee town and village in the East Region. We battled the biggest teams like Lithgae Rose, Bo’ness, Kelty and Bonnyrigg. We didn’t care where we went or who we played because we pitched the flag and gathered under it, together in football and together in something else. Football for me is not the end result of the day.. football is the glue that sticks all my memories and my love and my pain together. I was due to meet one of the Buckie Boys at the Auchinleck game. He was an Ayrshire lad and since I was following the Roch he was going to “go hame” and introduce me to his pals and his “faimly”. That was not to be and he passed away this week and I am gutted. We shared so much and I loved my times with him and the rest of the lads. They saved me when I needed it and I let them know it. I made a point of tracking down his best mate “Gemmill” today at the game and we shook hands and chatted and laughed and smiled as we talked about our friend. He told me in his broad Ayrshire accent, often using colloquial words I didn’t know, how as kids they would “loup ower the bing an the corry fence” and play on the Talbot’s pitch. I had done similar at StRoch’s pitch when it was black ash and I was a young aspiring Kenny Dalglish. Same stories, different places, United in football. We smiled and hurt at the same time.... never underestimate being part of something and the bonds that can give you. Football has lost another good guy too soon. [emoji173]️

There is something about the togetherness of the Candy Fans. They gathered at the Ranza and we were already dissecting the day ahead and stories of stag dorks and injuries and bare bones filled the brake as we took the scenic route to Ayrshire, courtesy of the Poundland SatNav stuck by a sucker to the drivers window. We seemed to be heading away then back on ourselves and so the game would prove later...... we get there eventually and enter the ground which is looking resplendent and bowling green-esque under a curdling grey sky, the shrill chill wind reflecting the feelings of my bad news this week. My auld man being cooped up on a bus means he needs 2 things urgently... a pish and a coffee. We are pointed towards the far end and he shuffles off and I follow... I’m thinking he needs to hit the bog first but he actually hits the canvas as the huge terracing steps catch him out he goes arse over tit. As I pick him up one wisecracking Candy fans shouts “hey, auld yin.. I told yay tae stay aff the wine”... I thought about my Buckie pal and smiled. Pish done and coffee is out in preference for the staple drink of the junior fan, a cup of dirty scalding water with a faint almost undetectable whiff of beef that would peel the skin from your lip and leave you skinless but only down a quid so a bargain in my book. It heated the hands and we headed to the shed and stood initially mixed with the local BumbleBee coloured fans before congregating behind the Candy dug out and behind the flags and behind the team. It felt great and I felt strong. Strength in numbers and strength in hope and we watched as that strength was reflected in our play. I can judge a game and although passionate and vocal for my team, I can’t shake the truth. We could and probably should have been behind, perhaps by a couple. As it was a combination of Sebo-like finishing, good defending and good old Lady Luck, we reached 35 mins at 0-0 and then we started to play a bit. We pressed and batted within our shape and got forward a few times with excellent passing interplay that was rewarded with loud cheers and an increase in our vocality. We made another good passing movement which saw a cut back reach Keiron Daw who slotted home on 44mins for an unlikely lead, the candy bench and fans greeting it with delerium as the banter filled and loud home fans were shut up as they were hit with Daw Jaw!!! The half time whistle blew and we cheered like we had won... and it felt like those Halcyon Hoose days and I remembered him again...

After more shared words and shaken opposition fan hands at half time, I rejoin the swaying green Candy mass and things change quickly... we can’t get near the ball and from 2 poor set pieces we lose 2 quick poor goals. Some people thing defending is dirty and I know I am often branded boring and negative and critical. Perhaps I am, I try not to be too critical but boring and negative I can handle! Simple rules, no free headers, do not let attackers get across you in the box, win the first ball and clear your lines. Seems simple. It is simple. Well, it isn’t simple if you don’t do the simple things right. It would be easy to be critical but I can’t be. The lads gave so much today and but for 2 great 2nd half saves by big Courtois in goal for Talbot and for the thickness of a post with a decent header just wide, we could have got something. As it was we left defeated but with our pride and heads held high. I often say that as fans all we can ask for is that the lads give 100% and they did today. No fan can ask more and I thank the players for their efforts. It made the day what it was and the fans really appreciated it. We made it back on the bus and the guy ignored the sat nav and we whizzed home slightly quieter than we did coming but proud to be who we were. It was a great day and nothing was lost in defeat.. conversely I took more away with me.

I feel very reflective recently. I think about things a lot as you know, whether that is my auld man stumbling and realising he isn’t as he was, whether it is losing a close football brother or realising my place in this game and this world. I know there is something of the intangible about feelings and at times that challenges me. I think therefor I am. My overriding feeling from today is one of pride and belonging and the fragility of my football life. I am enjoying it and living it and loving it as much as I can, whilst I can. I just wish I could put it into words worthy of my thoughts.... in the land of Burns, I thought a lot and so I’ll pinch some for my mate... I’ll miss you my friend.

“Fare thee weel, thou best and dearest!

Thine be ilka joy and treasure,

Peace. enjoyment, love, and pleasure...”

Mon the Candy!

MTC! [emoji517][emoji172][emoji460]️[emoji106]IMG_4474.thumb.jpg.7c7912cfb5b21ac1594007a151a6b624.jpgIMG_4484.thumb.jpg.3a262ae00ae33238ba18dd5ad0029af1.jpgIMG_4476.thumb.jpg.b814659234859acd4f0e839f59a5094b.jpgIMG_4490.thumb.jpg.9adb17eda915a45257cc67064f042a79.jpg

IMG_4472.thumb.jpg.ad19ecbaacfaf9bf303c5f60c2d26783.jpg

Best post I've ever read on P&B. What Junior football is all about. I thought St Roch's played well today and loved the backing the team got from the fans. Vocal to the end. Good luck for the rest of the season.

This forum can leave you scratching your head at times with the hate filled comments and the usual bile and animosity levelled at each other,however you my friend Afro have put in to words more than most posters could ever  dream of writing.Im sure your friend would be proud reading your words,they certainly struck a chord with me.Credit to StRochs today,Talbot had to dig deep and though it wasnt pretty got the result,credit also due to the Candy fans,in good voice all through the game.Best of luck for the rest of the season and condolences Afro.

No two meals in your favourite resturant are ever the same and so proved my footballing food as yesterday’s 1st round cup tie left me stuffed when I wasn’t hungry...I felt greedy and glutinous as I ate my first game of 6 in 8 days starter... but I couldn’t get going and left with a stomachy feeling of nonplussedness. It was forever thus. I spoke to the gaffer before the game about our Ayrshire feast the week before and he lamented and wondered if perhaps he was the only one disappointed that we didn’t Beat the Bot? It is evident that as a fan your footballing food fix is satiated by a different druggy dish than that of a player or manager. I can take it or leave it at times whereas actually playing meant you ate when you weren’t hungry but devoured it with a passion anyway, never knowing if this meal was your last for a while. I was Gordon Ramsay-esque when I played and along with the colourful language came a desire for quality and doing things right that frustrated me and teammmates alike in equal measure. Now my place on the terraces is governed by other factors and like a seasoned resturant critic, I normally sample my food in bite size portions, I eat frequently but pickily and p***kly of mind, it takes a rare dish to make me salivate. This was standard Fayre and it did little to excite.. a poor playing plain dish served up cold and wet and uninspiring. Not every meal can be an event, sometimes it is just a necessary refuelling exercise for me. Our bread and butter is the League and I have a table booked for Wednesday night which I’m looking forward to. Whilst Chez McGrory has an enticing ambiance, the decor is improving and the clientele are a colourful bunch from across the palate, I left having tasted better.. much better... and feeing slightly flat. Sometimes after a good meal you want to sit down and enjoy the aftertaste... I didn’t sit down.

It was a day of promise though as chocolate eggs sat atop the 1920 shop table, a “help yourself” for all children. I was refused mine however, even after I pointed out I was my dad’s kid. It was an unsuccessful start to what would prove to be an unsuccessful day and I headed to the club house with my dreams of a “My little pony” chocolate egg melting in my memory. Maybe that spoiled my appetite? The sweeteners had been found though and this cheered me up as I left the auld man nursing his Nescafé and took mine outside and caught up on the gossip. “Alright Stephen?” As I spot a player under the shed and 3 Stephens turn and offer me their hands at the same time. It was a day where too much was on offer and I got little and couldn’t take it all in. The game started and Glens never did a thing for 30 minutes after the Candy took an early lead. After the early Candy starter the game struggled to get going and I felt bored waiting for the main course to be brought out. Glens started to get a hold of the ball and made some ground but the game changed on 44 minutes as a long ball looked to be getting dealt with as the man in yellow stepped out his box to lash it away I thought... he decided to cook up a calamity and chest it then missed the ball with his voluminous boot and as he dove body long to block a shot with his belly, the Wacky Whistler (WW) blows up and produces an unjustified Red to match the face of our Man in yellow and we are down to 10. WW gets the expected pelters as he walks off and claims of “you’ve spoiled the game ya clown” reverberate. Such is football that when you make claims like this then they often transpire and so it was. We were nowhere near for the first 15 of the second half and they equalised. We then settled down and the game became end to end edgy without little real goalmouth action bar a Starkie save. They began to control things again and it was no real surprise when they went ahead from another ref abuse inducing free kick award and then went 2 up with an unlucky deflection. They were worthy of it. A helicopter hovered overhead as WWs after match taxi/escape plan turned up early. “Need help to get out of a sticky situation? Call AIRWOLF AVIATION TAXIS and we will pick you up.. literally” he must have cancelled it after he chucked us a soup bone and gave the Candy a soft 89th minute penalty which reduced the deficit and gave us a couple of minutes to try to equalise. We didn’t and WW may have regretted cancelling AIRWOLF as he had to negotiate a spicy verbal mouthful as he left the dinner hall pitch. There is nothing worse than a few loud mouth customers taking through their upset stomachs. Not all ref chefs are Michelin Star.... we were packed lunch whilst they were a slightly better chippy... both teams a notch below our tuxedo wearing dinner suited opponents last week where we scrubbed up well and enjoyed the event. We just scrubbed yesterday..... and as an event, for me, as the rain fell heavier and heavier, it was a wash out.

Some good banter though and one young lad left his Easter egg with a rotund family member..”that’s a bad idea son.. look at the size ae that belly.. that bstd will eat the cardboard tae”...and as we waited for the downpour to cease after the game, we watched the Candy youth team Practice Rain Pouring Penalties. The 5 young takers were Minging in the Rain as the young Candy Artur Boruc look alike saved 4 and used his Holy Goalie status to envoke some Devine intervention and send the other over the bar. It was the most I had smiled as the fans gave encouragement to the young gloved stopper who made some outstanding saves. The kids were having a ball with a ball and it made me think again about what really matters to me. Yes we got beaten but I wasn’t that bothered unfortunately.

My day ended as I took in a Richard Ashcroft tribute act supporting The Complete Stone Roses and that got my passions relit. On my way home I stopped off for the late night Kebab only to bump into our Ex Skip who asked me how the game was... Had he seen it, Ashcroft would not have been a Lucky Man and the Roses would not have been Banging any Drums. There are times when the glorious gourmet game is more important than the result and that is where I take my sustenance sometimes. Not everything you taste is wonderful and fulfilling even if it is Sent to me From Heaven and even when you are eating Candy. If football is my drug, then sometime the Drugs really Don’t Work.... I hope you understand?

Mon the Candy!

MTC! [emoji517][emoji172]

IMG_4715.thumb.jpg.ab2c234c6f46d035814d336c1570df34.jpgIMG_4717.thumb.jpg.fa39a0b28f88dc62313d2cc8c229e60c.jpgIMG_4721.thumb.jpg.5e44df44c5ebd170f53c63be0cfc38cd.jpg

I have a different view on Saturday

The day started early 05.30 to be precise as I made my way to work while most of glasgow was still a slumber .

11.30 work done for the weekend and a quick glesga breakfast of roll and sausage and cuppa tea devoured I found myself on the bus to the garngad .

On arrival I found the ground not as empty as I thought with the gaffer getting everything ready to prepare his team ken and billy getting the pitch prepared , stevie doing the butcher run and taking a 100 other phone calls and paul manning the gate everyone working flat out to ensure we had a match on to spend our Saturday afternoon enjoying or even ripping the hair out our heads watching.

A few greetings with those already there and a quick chat with everyone about last week's match before the gaffer asked if I could get the table and sort out the easter eggs for the arrival of the kids for the match something I did without question as that's what I love about st rochs it's all hands on deck and if your willing to help then a task will be found .

Everything set the punters started to appear along with players officials etc the nerves had started to kick in as I would love to see the candy in a cup final so today could be the start of that magical journey but alas the referee and an improved second half by glencairn put paid to that for another year.

As much as I like and respect kinky indeed I look forward to meeting him on matchday and reading his stories on a Sunday morning I must strongly disagree with his comment regarding some fans colourful language as chip shop fans for me these guys maybe not have the tactical knowledge of others but they are there and there always there they give heart commitment and love cos in this day and age with so much else on offer it takes a lot to turn up every week home and away to watch league one junior football and are the same guys that have supported the homeless , foodbank , toybank and easter eggs give away drives to help those who don't have much despite not having much themselves which for me is real socialism in action a community coming together to help each other in these dire times of austerity and poverty.

So instead of the quoting the roses or the verve I will instead quote gerry cinnamon

"No the best place but there's diamonds in the mud "

I don’t think I have ever called our fans anything like that? I am not actually sure what you think I have said... ? ???? I have only called out our fans rarely when they (or anyone) does anything ridiculously bad and usually everyone else calls it too. I thought the banter from our fans was top notch on Saturday and I enjoyed it. As I stood by the dug out one of our lads went through their team “number 8.. ya wee ride” a minute later it was “haw number 4.. XYZ” and and as he ran off 5 other numbers too in quick succession someone commented he only needed legs 11 for a double line....The banter was better than the game which swung on the red card I thought. Mr GOTW, you and I often discuss and disagree on things in person and in real time face to face..never mind on here... so I am happy to clarify, I think you have mis read it. .... the packed lunch, chip shop, tuxedo dinner suit reference were just an attempt to keep the food theme going to indicate the levels of the different teams’ performance.. I thought we weren’t great, they were slightly better and neither of us was as good as our opponents (or indeed us) the previous week. I used the word we as I include myself as a supporter and take the good when it is given and feel it when our club and fans get criticised unfairly. I don’t really believe you think I would just slag off our fans do you?
Sometimes we go to the game and it swamps you with emotion and hope... I didn’t have that on Saturday and that was all I was saying. It had a much ado about nothing to it for me, the gaffer himself saying after in his interview that their are more important things on the horizon.. I felt that too. To keep the food theme going, I understand the hunger of some fans to win every game, that doesn’t mean I feel it too. I’d rather we won than lost but not all games feel the same to me. I actually used the word “unfortunately” as sometimes I miss the “we must win” I felt when I played.
It would be easy to say “the ref wiz shite and we wiz robbed“ but I try to paint things a little more colourfully and if that gets taken the wrong way or literally (I’m not sure what is a chip shop fan?? I think we were the packed lunch actually but that is me just being a picky eater!) then it isn’t the intention.
Anyone who casts any aspersions over the Candy fans gets short shrift from me and I extoll the virtues of both them and the good work of them and the club to many a doubter or the unenlightened. If you have lost your appetite you often still find yourself looking in the Greggs window, that’s fine, that’s what I was doing on a Saturday as it turns out, I thought I was peckish but didn’t feel hungry when I was there, you don’t have to buy anything.....even if the Gerry Cinnamon Cake is drawing you in. [emoji6]
MTC! [emoji517][emoji172][emoji460]️[emoji106]

On 31/03/2018 at 21:06, Kinky Afro said:

Over the last few years I’ve travelled all over Scotland watching junior football and I was looking forward to my trip to the land of the bard today. Those who know me will know I followed Fauldhouse United home and away and chronicled my adventures and escapades with the lads on match days. They were affectionately known as the Buckie Boys and famed for their partisan and vocal support of the team, good banter and ever presence. We rose to the Superleague through the divisions and the laughs got bigger and better and we made friends in every division and in every wee town and village in the East Region. We battled the biggest teams like Lithgae Rose, Bo’ness, Kelty and Bonnyrigg. We didn’t care where we went or who we played because we pitched the flag and gathered under it, together in football and together in something else. Football for me is not the end result of the day.. football is the glue that sticks all my memories and my love and my pain together. I was due to meet one of the Buckie Boys at the Auchinleck game. He was an Ayrshire lad and since I was following the Roch he was going to “go hame” and introduce me to his pals and his “faimly”. That was not to be and he passed away this week and I am gutted. We shared so much and I loved my times with him and the rest of the lads. They saved me when I needed it and I let them know it. I made a point of tracking down his best mate “Gemmill” today at the game and we shook hands and chatted and laughed and smiled as we talked about our friend. He told me in his broad Ayrshire accent, often using colloquial words I didn’t know, how as kids they would “loup ower the bing an the corry fence” and play on the Talbot’s pitch. I had done similar at StRoch’s pitch when it was black ash and I was a young aspiring Kenny Dalglish. Same stories, different places, United in football. We smiled and hurt at the same time.... never underestimate being part of something and the bonds that can give you. Football has lost another good guy too soon. emoji173.png

There is something about the togetherness of the Candy Fans. They gathered at the Ranza and we were already dissecting the day ahead and stories of stag dorks and injuries and bare bones filled the brake as we took the scenic route to Ayrshire, courtesy of the Poundland SatNav stuck by a sucker to the drivers window. We seemed to be heading away then back on ourselves and so the game would prove later...... we get there eventually and enter the ground which is looking resplendent and bowling green-esque under a curdling grey sky, the shrill chill wind reflecting the feelings of my bad news this week. My auld man being cooped up on a bus means he needs 2 things urgently... a pish and a coffee. We are pointed towards the far end and he shuffles off and I follow... I’m thinking he needs to hit the bog first but he actually hits the canvas as the huge terracing steps catch him out he goes arse over tit. As I pick him up one wisecracking Candy fans shouts “hey, auld yin.. I told yay tae stay aff the wine”... I thought about my Buckie pal and smiled. Pish done and coffee is out in preference for the staple drink of the junior fan, a cup of dirty scalding water with a faint almost undetectable whiff of beef that would peel the skin from your lip and leave you skinless but only down a quid so a bargain in my book. It heated the hands and we headed to the shed and stood initially mixed with the local BumbleBee coloured fans before congregating behind the Candy dug out and behind the flags and behind the team. It felt great and I felt strong. Strength in numbers and strength in hope and we watched as that strength was reflected in our play. I can judge a game and although passionate and vocal for my team, I can’t shake the truth. We could and probably should have been behind, perhaps by a couple. As it was a combination of Sebo-like finishing, good defending and good old Lady Luck, we reached 35 mins at 0-0 and then we started to play a bit. We pressed and batted within our shape and got forward a few times with excellent passing interplay that was rewarded with loud cheers and an increase in our vocality. We made another good passing movement which saw a cut back reach Keiron Daw who slotted home on 44mins for an unlikely lead, the candy bench and fans greeting it with delerium as the banter filled and loud home fans were shut up as they were hit with Daw Jaw!!! The half time whistle blew and we cheered like we had won... and it felt like those Halcyon Hoose days and I remembered him again...

After more shared words and shaken opposition fan hands at half time, I rejoin the swaying green Candy mass and things change quickly... we can’t get near the ball and from 2 poor set pieces we lose 2 quick poor goals. Some people thing defending is dirty and I know I am often branded boring and negative and critical. Perhaps I am, I try not to be too critical but boring and negative I can handle! Simple rules, no free headers, do not let attackers get across you in the box, win the first ball and clear your lines. Seems simple. It is simple. Well, it isn’t simple if you don’t do the simple things right. It would be easy to be critical but I can’t be. The lads gave so much today and but for 2 great 2nd half saves by big Courtois in goal for Talbot and for the thickness of a post with a decent header just wide, we could have got something. As it was we left defeated but with our pride and heads held high. I often say that as fans all we can ask for is that the lads give 100% and they did today. No fan can ask more and I thank the players for their efforts. It made the day what it was and the fans really appreciated it. We made it back on the bus and the guy ignored the sat nav and we whizzed home slightly quieter than we did coming but proud to be who we were. It was a great day and nothing was lost in defeat.. conversely I took more away with me.

I feel very reflective recently. I think about things a lot as you know, whether that is my auld man stumbling and realising he isn’t as he was, whether it is losing a close football brother or realising my place in this game and this world. I know there is something of the intangible about feelings and at times that challenges me. I think therefor I am. My overriding feeling from today is one of pride and belonging and the fragility of my football life. I am enjoying it and living it and loving it as much as I can, whilst I can. I just wish I could put it into words worthy of my thoughts.... in the land of Burns, I thought a lot and so I’ll pinch some for my mate... I’ll miss you my friend.

“Fare thee weel, thou best and dearest!

Thine be ilka joy and treasure,

Peace. enjoyment, love, and pleasure...”

Mon the Candy!

MTC! emoji517.pngemoji172.pngemoji460.pngemoji106.pngIMG_4474.thumb.jpg.7c7912cfb5b21ac1594007a151a6b624.jpgIMG_4484.thumb.jpg.3a262ae00ae33238ba18dd5ad0029af1.jpgIMG_4476.thumb.jpg.b814659234859acd4f0e839f59a5094b.jpgIMG_4490.thumb.jpg.9adb17eda915a45257cc67064f042a79.jpg

IMG_4472.thumb.jpg.ad19ecbaacfaf9bf303c5f60c2d26783.jpg

Another masterclass piece of writing by the best poster that P&B has. 

I didn’t know the Hoose supporter, but shivered when reading your words. 

Negativity does not come close when reading your script. What comes over is the honesty of a man who knows what you are writing about and as fair a poster that ever is/was on this forum. Loved how you sought out your friend’s pal. Reminiscing about older times and sharing commonalities proves that being a Junior supporter is a joy. There can be hard rivalries between fans, but we can still stand side by side and chat.

Hope your dad is okay and not too shaken by his fall.

Cheers K A!

I don’t think I have ever called our fans anything like that? I am not actually sure what you think I have said... ? ???? I have only called out our fans rarely when they (or anyone) does anything ridiculously bad and usually everyone else calls it too. I thought the banter from our fans was top notch on Saturday and I enjoyed it. As I stood by the dug out one of our lads went through their team “number 8.. ya wee ride” a minute later it was “haw number 4.. XYZ” and and as he ran off 5 other numbers too in quick succession someone commented he only needed legs 11 for a double line....The banter was better than the game which swung on the red card I thought. Mr GOTW, you and I often discuss and disagree on things in person and in real time face to face..never mind on here... so I am happy to clarify, I think you have mis read it. .... the packed lunch, chip shop, tuxedo dinner suit reference were just an attempt to keep the food theme going to indicate the levels of the different teams’ performance.. I thought we weren’t great, they were slightly better and neither of us was as good as our opponents (or indeed us) the previous week. I used the word we as I include myself as a supporter and take the good when it is given and feel it when our club and fans get criticised unfairly. I don’t really believe you think I would just slag off our fans do you?
Sometimes we go to the game and it swamps you with emotion and hope... I didn’t have that on Saturday and that was all I was saying. It had a much ado about nothing to it for me, the gaffer himself saying after in his interview that their are more important things on the horizon.. I felt that too. To keep the food theme going, I understand the hunger of some fans to win every game, that doesn’t mean I feel it too. I’d rather we won than lost but not all games feel the same to me. I actually used the word “unfortunately” as sometimes I miss the “we must win” I felt when I played.
It would be easy to say “the ref wiz shite and we wiz robbed“ but I try to paint things a little more colourfully and if that gets taken the wrong way or literally (I’m not sure what is a chip shop fan?? I think we were the packed lunch actually but that is me just being a picky eater!) then it isn’t the intention.
Anyone who casts any aspersions over the Candy fans gets short shrift from me and I extoll the virtues of both them and the good work of them and the club to many a doubter or the unenlightened. If you have lost your appetite you often still find yourself looking in the Greggs window, that’s fine, that’s what I was doing on a Saturday as it turns out, I thought I was peckish but didn’t feel hungry when I was there, you don’t have to buy anything.....even if the Gerry Cinnamon Cake is drawing you in. [emoji6]
I think some HUMBLE PIE is coming in my direction m8 as I think I did read it out of context and thought it was a jibe aimed at our support well the more colourful ones lol and I see where your coming from now you explained to it to me

Standing watching the match and I felt the kinky afro bear hug and the big man greeted me warmly then mocked my stupidity of me misreading the post the other night lol

A good night in disagreement with kinky as usual in minus artic condition but we had a laugh and got the win and that's all that matters

Next stop Benburb gonna be tough but will be a vital 3 points if we can collect them

We saw off our football brother yesterday and I spent the day reminiscing, laughing and crying with the lads during the afternoon and then at the Candy I reminisced, laughed then cried with the cold. It was the first time that every guy in the picture I posted last week had been together since the pic was taken. Of course he was missing and missed. We raised a glass to him, mine a Diet Coke which was fitting as I always drove us to away games and was probably the only one who could really remember every second and minute and hour of the trips and you know how I loved to write about them. I love to write and paint the picture... for myself and for anyone else who is interested in hearing about My Football Life. Its for me, by me, my thoughts and my gibberish... it’s not the opinion or words of anyone else and you can take it or leave it. It’s another chapter and now it is time to close that one and move on. My Ayrshire friend is at peace with this piece and whilst we all hurt we all loved and laughed and healed a little bit together.

A quick drive back and I’m late for kick off. I come in from the cold, wrapped up as I cross Check Point Charlie Paul only to have my credentials checked and I get a feeling I am being watched. A covert spy is at large and it seems I could be the object of their attentions. The thought police are a dangerous bunch and any attempt to reign in freedom of speech and expression and more dangerously, thought, should always be resisted. There were some shocking revelations, namely that a referee had been shouted at by some fans and I think that was about that. I was horrified. I mean... at a JUNIOR game?? Someone shouting at the ref? Good forbid anyone calls him a name or the game is a bogey. I am sure Mr GOTW (P&B confusion cleared up and we ate dinner together last night!) has a flag standing up against that sort of thing... even Father Ted backs me and my say it as you see it stance. It always surprises me when some people get worried about someone commenting on a fact rather than worrying or condemning the fact it’s self. Who is wrong? Someone shouting at a ref or someone who comments about it? Probably neither I think. Everyone knows where the line is and I know I do. I’ll always stay on the right side of it and so on I will go.....

Match report 1- an abridged and approved by the Party version:

*Very windy, dull and wet.

*Candy 1 up at half time

*Thorney Wid equalise with a good finish

*Candy score 4 after that

*The referee, one of Scotland’s finest and thoroughly good chap I might add, blows the final whistle to shouts of “Hurrah” and “Three Cheers for ThorneyWid”

Match report 2:

We huffed and puffed and at one point it looked like our poor finishing would cost us. As it was however we were far better than them despite our attempts at times to disprove that! I have really been impressed by some of the Candy players over the last few games I have watched. Some seem to be playing with added confidence and with a freedom of expression which has manifested itself into solid and eye catching performances. I won’t call out anyone specifically but the consensus when I have discussed these lads on the terraces seems to validate my opinions. Some look a million times better than they did to my critical early season eye and whatever that is down to, I say well done. I suspect that the stability and strength in our dug out has helped because every ship needs a good captain at the bridge. That captain needs a few decent officer types he can trust and between them they can steer the ship and get the crew into shape and all pulling in the same direction. A few rogue sailors get dropped off ashore during the journey but the Good Ship Candy Lollipop [emoji517] seems to be heading in the right direction, perhaps not with a full head of steam but we look stable at the stern end, the bow can be erratic and will ultimately decide whether we are allowed to dock or whether we have to keep sailing for another season. I think it is all aboard as we head into what are notoriously choppy end of season run in waters. I don’t think we need life jackets on yet but just make sure you know where they are kept, because we have tried navigating this route before and missed our berth. I feel it could be different this journey.

And so a mad day finished and we had 3 points and I had my memories and my future to look towards. Thanks to all who wished my auld man well, he called me at half time from the hospital to find out the score. “We are one nil up, Kieron Daw scored”... “Aye good, he’s been playing well that lad. He is a good player”... he can judge a player... and he is never one to hold back on an opinion... “Say what you see son and be honest with a bit of wit and intelligence. Some may not get it but as long as you know... as long as you know.” It isn’t easy sometimes. But who ever said love and friendship and football and standards was ever easy?? I am my father’s son and words come easy to us. It’s not about what you say, it is about how you say it. My Glaswegian words for my Glaswegian team and my Glaswegian thoughts for my Ayrshire friend.. an Honest Man.. i hope I am too...it was a privilege.....

“Had we never lov'd sae kindly,

Had we never lov'd sae blindly,

Never met-or never parted,

We had ne'er been broken-hearted.”

Mon the Candy!

IMG_4770.jpg.1a2f92f6f3c0760fcf7cb5e699aec53e.jpg