Junior football, what is the future?

Burnie_man

2 hours ago, cmontheloknow said:

PPG is PPG, you don't arse about with home and away differences. IMO. Ave PPG can't ever be above 3 (as that kind of defeats the purpose of it!)

Fair enough but it seems to be an option. This is just a theoretical exercise as things stand but at least it gives something to post about until the next announcements etc.

You can have a PPG of 3.0 for Home matches and same for Away matches. Just add them up and they (obviously) come to 6 - which you could divide by 2 to get the adjusted PPG. 

49 minutes ago, FairWeatherFan said:

Bonnyton would only be in the same set of teams if you used serpentine order. Which wasn't the way the EoSFL did the Conferences in 2018-19. If they just go A-B-C-D-A-B-C-D. Bonnyton would either be in Conference A or Conference D.

Given that there's going to be conferences it isn't too critical where the non-Junior clubs are slotted in, provided they are kept apart. They will find their own level as all conferences should be made up of a range of clubs from the Top of the Premiership to the lowest positions in the League Two.

15 minutes ago, theesel1994 said:

Hurry up LL and announce constitution of new league to save page upon page of tables and different permutations on how conferences should be arrived at.

Spoil Sport!

Revised League One with Bellshill Athletic elevated appropriately:

Season 2019/20 League One Overall     Home     Away     PPG PPG   PPG
Seeding Lg Table Pos. (In PPG Pos.) P PTS   P PTS   P PTS   Home Away   Total
30 3 Shettleston 19 43   9 21   10 22   2.33 2.20   4.53
31 1 Ardrossan Winton Rovers 22 44   13 23   9 21   1.76 2.33   4.09
32 2 Lanark United 23 44   12 24   11 20   2.00 1.81   3.81
36 10 Bellshill Athletic 19 31   8 18   11 13   2.25 1.18   3.43
37 5 Lesmahagow Juniors 25 42   11 22   14 20   2.00 1.42   3.42
38 4 Port Glasgow Juniors 24 43   14 32   10 11   2.28 1.10   3.38
39 6 Greenock Juniors 22 35   11 18   11 17   1.63 1.54   3.17
40 8 Glasgow Perthshire 21 32   11 18   10 14   1.63 1.40   3.03
41 9 Larkhall Thistle 22 32   12 13   10 19   1.08 1.90   2.98
42 11 Girvan 19 24   9 14   10 10   1.55 1.00   2.55
43 7 Carluke Rovers 26 33   15 23   11 10   1.53 0.90   2.43
44 12 Maryhill 21 23   10 10   11 13   1.00 1.18   2.18
45 15 East Kilbride Thistle 21 17   7 11   14 6   1.57 0.42   1.99
49 13 Kello Rovers 21 21   10 8   11 13   0.80 1.18   1.98
50 14 Wishaw Juniors 19 18   10 13   9 5   1.30 0.55   1.85
51 16 Royal Albert 22 10   11 8   11 2   0.72 0.18   0.90

It's maybe not an ideal solution but it's a bit of a moot point unless the season had been curtailed much earlier than it was. Two-thirds of the way through the season as the vast majority of teams were, nobody would have failed to play at least a decent proportion of their home or away games.
We had 9 home games and 4 away games left to play.

14 minutes ago, glensmad said:
3 hours ago, Hillonearth said:
It's maybe not an ideal solution but it's a bit of a moot point unless the season had been curtailed much earlier than it was. Two-thirds of the way through the season as the vast majority of teams were, nobody would have failed to play at least a decent proportion of their home or away games.

We had 8 homes and 4 aways still to play. 

The bottom tier as they are to put it mildly they aren't very good.

Yeah I see what you mean but I think the fact they're currently tier 6 and not moving into it will see them be first seed. It wont make much difference either way. Out of curiosity what position in the west region do you think Bonnyton would be in if they were playing their currently? West Region Championship/League One sorta area?

31 minutes ago, glensmad said:
3 hours ago, Hillonearth said:

16 minutes ago, Brig O'Lea said:

We had 8 homes and 4 aways still to play. 

Those ones are definitely disproportionate - what was the cause - Junior Cup postponements? - but the original point was what if a team had played NO games at home and thus would be on a home PPG of 0.00.

Both Glens and Neilston have played enough home games to yield a valid PPG figure...granted both would have no doubt wanted more played in order to perhaps up that figure, but that's probably the case for most teams.

Saltcoats statement:

Saltcoats Victoria FC - an update, Fri 10th April 2020

Hi folks please find the following update, for your information.
Due to the current Covid 19 Pandemic it has been decided that this season of the West Region SJFA is now finished as of today. So, nae mair fitba’ for us this season! 😟 However, we look forward with anticipation to the new season (whenever it starts!) ☺️.
Further to what you may have read via the press or social media, all 63 Clubs in West Region SJFA - including Saltcoats Victoria FC - have applied to join the new West of Scotland League in the Lower League set up. At this point, many of the details as to how this works out remain to be determined.
Saltcoats Victoria also intend to retain, for the time being, our membership of West Region SJFA, for administration purposes and also to be eligible to play in the Scottish Junior Cup.
Yours in Sport,
Don Currie,
Club Chaplain / Secretary,
Saltcoats Victoria FC.

https://www.facebook.com/Saltcoatsvictoria/?__tn__=kC-R&eid=ARAfTCo3kglMO7-sXPDdCd03h9v5F_m2F4GfVGtSXe6IJPAAOC0K7CKpny9UQNTTiP7nXkofh2gc1EoZ&hc_ref=ARQ_48TrChFT0arQkkvZYmn0iygmbw9ZLlAMDjK5OJrQJnLdKzeJAzoOSbdUc65mhDU&fref=nf&__xts__[0]=68.ARBXqjAqeh3TRdoUOC9r7JwAqX9IAP5S9RXg3lUUij3xItbr7C-4RMzkU7s8dFyjtvsdLHb1tXoKduXa5HBKLFr0BfY4731wByEJ8Gogm14BXA1tQG8y7kcfkYch1EZa4OhHH0SeTOpFQTc3zm0rnA2scBocIv0LG33ush8oOGbONH9S8D5fEZq4YlKV9ppvHjkNOt9jKC7QQx5GjFUux46J-oO2nSV8mGZGX5yUY5aCutHF3Iqy1MZZDgRVKgoNFMeaUm-Z6tHNkMOLrNLQjvdbOWXuKXytwUhCQ3EgC_4d39e7t_p2R2DnZ7oMU-H3VUZK_45q0ppOXCsVZroDvT5YDQUJfkFfuZF6OCv6yDgPl4YP0rXOPw

3 hours ago, FairWeatherFan said:

EOS went sequential. So class them 1st overall seed  = A. Class them 64th they're = D.

Snake/Serpentine would go back on itself so that 1st and 64th are Conference A.

Can't believe the EOS went sequential and nobody challenged it, that is absolutely idiotic. It means the best team in each group ends up in conference A and the worst team ends up in Conference D so overall A is much stronger than D.

As an example it is better to be seeded 8th rather than 5th as 5th ends up with the number 1 seed and 8th ends up with the number 4 seed.

Lets hope the west see sense

Saltcoats statement:

Saltcoats Victoria FC - an update, Fri 10th April 2020
Hi folks please find the following update, for your information.
Due to the current Covid 19 Pandemic it has been decided that this season of the West Region SJFA is now finished as of today. So, nae mair fitba’ for us this season! [emoji45] However, we look forward with anticipation to the new season (whenever it starts!) [emoji3526].
Further to what you may have read via the press or social media, all 63 Clubs in West Region SJFA - including Saltcoats Victoria FC - have applied to join the new West of Scotland League in the Lower League set up. At this point, many of the details as to how this works out remain to be determined.
Saltcoats Victoria also intend to retain, for the time being, our membership of West Region SJFA, for administration purposes and also to be eligible to play in the Scottish Junior Cup.
Yours in Sport,
Don Currie,
Club Chaplain / Secretary,
Saltcoats Victoria FC.
https://www.facebook.com/Saltcoatsvictoria/?__tn__=kC-R&eid=ARAfTCo3kglMO7-sXPDdCd03h9v5F_m2F4GfVGtSXe6IJPAAOC0K7CKpny9UQNTTiP7nXkofh2gc1EoZ&hc_ref=ARQ_48TrChFT0arQkkvZYmn0iygmbw9ZLlAMDjK5OJrQJnLdKzeJAzoOSbdUc65mhDU&fref=nf&__xts__[0]=68.ARBXqjAqeh3TRdoUOC9r7JwAqX9IAP5S9RXg3lUUij3xItbr7C-4RMzkU7s8dFyjtvsdLHb1tXoKduXa5HBKLFr0BfY4731wByEJ8Gogm14BXA1tQG8y7kcfkYch1EZa4OhHH0SeTOpFQTc3zm0rnA2scBocIv0LG33ush8oOGbONH9S8D5fEZq4YlKV9ppvHjkNOt9jKC7QQx5GjFUux46J-oO2nSV8mGZGX5yUY5aCutHF3Iqy1MZZDgRVKgoNFMeaUm-Z6tHNkMOLrNLQjvdbOWXuKXytwUhCQ3EgC_4d39e7t_p2R2DnZ7oMU-H3VUZK_45q0ppOXCsVZroDvT5YDQUJfkFfuZF6OCv6yDgPl4YP0rXOPw

They won't be retaining membership of the West Region SJFA, as there won't be such an organisation.

31 minutes ago, archieb said:

Archie I just opened this up and read the first thing that caught my eyes

"Rovers committee man Stevie Kane said: “I think organisers are giving clubs next season to meet stadium criteria to join the new league like having floodlights, which we do. Probably 90 per cent of the clubs don’t meet the criteria, so I think they’re giving them next season to meet it for the following season.”"

I just think to myself WTF

There are obviously people who know a lot about the pyramid and its workings and idealism behind it and there are people who do not.  If anyone is going to be interviewed why cant these guys do the research to make sure they are saying the correct crap and not leaving their self wide open.

Edited by Bestsinceslicebread