Junior football, what is the future?

Burnie_man

7 minutes ago, virginton said:

That’s not a rivalry - as you claimed they’d miss out on - but rather a distinctly one-sided trading relationship given that Greenock are Central region permadiddies. There’s nothing to stop them still being a feeder club to larger teams while staying in the rump juniors.

No that’s not the purpose: the objective is to provide a clear path for any club that wants to progress up the pyramid to do so; whether they all play under the same umbrella body is irrelevant. You’d be as well claiming that amateur leagues should be disbanded in the event of Oban or Glasgow Uni entering the new league.

There’s a place for a rump junior league as well as amateur divisions in west-central Scotland for clubs that don’t want to participate in the pyramid food chain. So long as their league’s blazers don’t have the power to stop clubs from moving to the pyramid setup at a later date then that’s a suitable outcome for everyone.

At least 5 of the current Largs side are from the Greenock area. There is no 'place' for a rump Junior league cut off from the rest of the semi pro clubs. If anything, there should be a coming together of the SAFA the lower reaches of the SJFA. No idea what you're on about re: Oban and Glasgow Uni. I think, like most other parts of the world, you should be able to go from public park to top flight, provided standards are met along the way. Greenock is one of those odd parts of the country that has Senior, Junior, Amateur and Welfare football within it. Give me a wand and I'd wave all that away under one umbrella, like the FA down south. As noted a few posts back, give more powers to county FAs to run the really small scale stuff. The SJFA doesn't fit.

Surely to end all the confusion of if the wos didnt want fauldhouse or any other west Lothian teams it would state the areas eligible to apply make things crystal clear
They appear to have worded their release in a very particular manner about geographical integrity. We will see in a few weeks when applications are made and accepted/rejected.

This is my poor attempt at a map of Luncarty showing the boundary. As can be seen, just over half the village is south of the line, so are most of the facilities they have. The ground is just north of it.
image.png.c802b613c13f6a98bc824f09543cdf27.png

Let’s hope the residents of the care home don’t decide to set up a team or we really will be in trouble [emoji6]

The conundrum if the ERJFA is about to implode:

Geographical integrity v flexible common sense

Tweedmouth
are in England. Geographically they should not be in the EOSFL but it is common sense that we include them. We all agree.

Tayport are in northern Fife. Geographically they should be in the EOSFL but common sense says they should be allowed to play in a newly created Tayside League should they wish given their juxta-position with Dundee.

Newburgh are in northern Fife. Geographically they should be in the EOSFL but a case can be made that they should be allowed to play in a newly created Tayside League should they wish given their proximity to Dundee.

Scone are in Perth and Kinross. Geographically they should be in the EOSFL. Common sense says they should follow the route provided by Kinnoull and Jeanfield if they wish but they could opt for a Tayside League.

Luncarty are in Perth and Kinross. Geographically the ground is a whisker outside the EOSFL while much of the village itself is inside the EOSFL. Common sense says they should follow the route provided by Kinnoull and Jeanfield if they wish but they could opt for a Tayside League.

Harthill ground is in West Lothian but the village is in North Lanarkshire. Geographically they should be in the EOSFL but common sense says they should be able to choose whether to follow the EOSFL or WOSFL route.

Fauldhouse are in West Lothian. Geographically they should be in the EOSFL but common sense says they are so near North Lanarkshire they should be able to choose whether to follow the EOSFL or WOSFL route (providing flexibility as in the EOSFL /Tayside options above).

Other issues:

Kello moved to SOSFL?

Caledonian Braves Reserves exit the SOSFL?
Bonnyton Thistle exit the SOSFL?

- if Geographical integrity v flexible common sense is won by the former.

Edited by Pyramidic

9 minutes ago, the sniper said:

Surely to end all the confusion of if the wos didnt want fauldhouse or any other west Lothian teams it would state the areas eligible to apply make things crystal clear

They can't really do this yet because they haven't established the exact boundaries with the EoS and SoS. Kello are a particular sticking point in this respect.

4 hours ago, EdinburghBlue said:

Let’s hope the residents of the care home don’t decide to set up a team or we really will be in trouble emoji6.png

The line isn't doing any favours for my beloved Navarac Caravans FC

Edited by RossBFaeDundee

The conundrum if the ERJFA is about to implode:

Geographical integrity v flexible common sense

Tweedmouth
are in England. Geographically they should not be in the EOSFL but it is common sense that we include them. We all agree.

Tayport are in northern Fife. Geographically they should be in the EOSFL but common sense says they should be allowed to play in a newly created Tayside League should they wish given their juxta-position with Dundee.

Newburgh are in northern Fife. Geographically they should be in the EOSFL but a case can be made that they should be allowed to play in a newly created Tayside League should they wish given their proximity to Dundee.

Scone are in Perth and Kinross. Geographically they should be in the EOSFL. Common sense says they should follow the route provided by Kinnoull and Jeanfield if they wish but they could opt for a Tayside League.

Luncarty are in Perth and Kinross. Geographically the ground is a whisker outside the EOSFL while much of the village itself is inside the EOSFL. Common sense says they should follow the route provided by Kinnoull and Jeanfield if they wish but they could opt for a Tayside League.

Harthill ground is in West Lothian but the village is in North Lanarkshire. Geographically they should be in the EOSFL but common sense says they should be able to choose whether to follow the EOSFL or WOSFL route.

Fauldhouse are in West Lothian. Geographically they should be in the EOSFL but common sense says they are so near North Lanarkshire they should be able to choose whether to follow the EOSFL or WOSFL route (providing flexibility as in the EOSFL /Tayside options above).

Other issues:
Kello moved to SOSFL?
Caledonian Braves Reserves exit the SOSFL?
Bonnyton Thistle exit the SOSFL?
- if Geographical integrity v flexible common sense is won by the former.
Not for me.

You are complicating, again, a simple process.

Ersjfa stay eos.

Wrsjfa go wosfl.

North of tay boundary go HL.

South go LL.

Really, really simple and straight forward. No ambiguity.

4 minutes ago, G4Mac said:

Not for me.

You are complicating, again, a simple process.

Ersjfa stay eos.

Wrsjfa go wosfl.

North of tay boundary go HL.

South go LL.

Really, really simple and straight forward. No ambiguity.

It really isn't that difficult is it.

26 minutes ago, the sniper said:

I'm sure that will be made clear once the application process is confirmed in a a couple of weeks.  No point encouraging clubs to submit expressions of interest if they are not going to be accepted.

Edited by Burnie_man

I'm sure that will be made clear once the application process is confirmed in a a couple of weeks.  No point encouraging clubs to submit expressions of interest if they are not going to be accepted.
A couple of weeks scottish junior fitba will have had 28 more meltdowns alan Camelon fan will try to force more people into his way of thinking and the hoose will be linked to the Estonian first division

Been sitting trying to figure out a potential setup below the Highland League for the forseeable future, would this be viable? In my mind Banks O' Dee will be in the Highland League before this would happen. Also unsure if Newburgh would favour a Tayside league over the EoSFL, so did not include them.

Tier 6 – North Caledonian League (16 teams)

Tier 6 – Tayside Premier League (10 teams)

Orkney
Golspie Sutherland
Thurso
Invergordon
Inverness Athletic
Bonar Bridge
St Duthus
Halkirk Utd
Bunillidh Thistle
Bridge of Don Thistle
Montrose Roselea
Hermes
Culter
Maud
Nairn St. Ninian
Dyce Juniors

Lochee Utd
Broughty Athletic
Downfield
Dundee North End
Luncarty
Carnoustie Panmure
Forfar West End
Kirriemuir Thistle
Scone Thistle
Tayport

Tier 7 – North Caledonian First Division (12 teams)

Tier 7 – Tayside First Division (8 teams)

Colony Park
Hall Russell Utd
Aberdeen East End
Ellon Utd
Dufftown
Stonehaven
Banchory St. Ternan
Buckie Rovers
Burghead Thistle
Deveronside
Forres Thistle
Fraserburgh Utd

Arbroath Victoria
Brechin Victoria
Blairgowrie
Coupar Angus
Dundee Violet
East Craigie
Forfar Albion
Lochee Harp

Tier 8 – North Caledonian Second Division (12 teams)

Longside
Stoneywood Parkvale
Sunnybank
Aberdeen Uni
Buchanhaven Hearts
Cruden Bay
Glentanar
Islavale
New Elgin
Newmachar Utd
Spey Valley Utd
Whitehills

14 minutes ago, the sniper said:
28 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

A couple of weeks scottish junior fitba will have had 28 more meltdowns alan Camelon fan will try to force more people into his way of thinking and the hoose will be linked to the Estonian first division

What makes you think they should get straight in at that level? 😉

Edited by Burnie_man

The good thing about Luncarty's situation is that the line of latitude can easily be moved north of their ground without it affecting the status any Dundee club. Or there could be a trade deal with Luncarty going south the and Tayport going north. 🙃

3 hours ago, Griffin said:

No decisions made yet. We dont want to rush into anything until we are sure we are making the right decision for the club.

Grade is not something we are tied up in. It is about making sure we are sustainable and able to continue playing competitive football for another 110 years as a club

Well one club has left and apparently another is to follow, plus whatever happens in West Lothian - so I'm not sure how competitive a league you think you're it's going to be with Kennoway, Lochore, Lochgelly, the four new clubs and West Calder.

3 minutes ago, RossBFaeDundee said:

Been sitting trying to figure out a potential setup below the Highland League for the forseeable future, would this be viable?

No. The Aberdeen teams should be going to Dundee not Inverness and beyond.

1 hour ago, cmontheloknow said:

At least 5 of the current Largs side are from the Greenock area.

Erm yes - so of course in the event of Largs being in a WoS league there'll be a hard border set up between Wemyss Bay/Skelmorlie, with Junior officials searching the 901 bus to stop non-league footballers from betraying 'the grade'.

I'm really not sure what point you're trying to make any more: the first reason for them to move was a non-existent 'rivalry'; then it was transfers between them and other clubs possibly entering the pyramid; now its individual players who play outwith their local catchment area. A new league inside the pyramid changes nothing in terms of transfers or player contracts though. Indeed, you could argue that clubs like Greenock could benefit from gaining a higher profile as a bigger fish in a much reduced junior pond.

If either that consideration or the 'tradition' of the juniors holds them back, then that's fine. They stand to gain very little from entering the pyramid and vice versa.

There is no 'place' for a rump Junior league cut off from the rest of the semi pro clubs. If anything, there should be a coming together of the SAFA the lower reaches of the SJFA. No idea what you're on about re: Oban and Glasgow Uni. I think, like most other parts of the world, you should be able to go from public park to top flight, provided standards are met along the way.

We disagree on the objective here entirely so there's not much else to point out other than that your goal is:

i) unlikely to be shared by a majority of fans in Scottish football as a whole, never mind the non-league ranks and

ii) utopian and unrealistic, given that it's 20-and-fucking-20 and yet we're only now on the brink of setting up a feeder league for by far the largest population catchment area in the country.

Given how ridiculously difficult it has been to get the current stage, I fail to see where any drive will come from to 'sort out' the rest of non-league football on behalf of participants who really don't want change to happen. It's best to let sleeping dogs lie and if that annoys the OCD contingent who want to draw an ever bigger and shinier pyramid on the Wikipedia page of Scottish football then that's just tough.

Edited by vikingTON