Junior football, what is the future?

Burnie_man

14 minutes ago, Kilbowie Benches said:

The disbenefits disappear when the ERJFA is in the pyramid.

In fact they will have the benefit of still being in the biggest non league cup competition.

Even if the ERJFA gain access to the Pyramid there remain in my view many disbenefits for West Lothian and Fife clubs, including:

- unbalanced nature of the Super League

- geographical spread of clubs north of the Tay

- cost of travel to Tayside

- poor attendances

- lack of local interest

- low income generation

- weak sponsorship opportunities

- continued migration of players to EoSL

- duplication of product

- feeling of being left behind

Many of these points are of course interrelated.

But shouldnt be because the Highland League is given equal standing to the LL despite having an incredibly smaller proportion of the population, adding to that imbalance by allowing Tayside clubs in the LL would be madness. Why can’t you see that? Could essentially have a league representing 80% Scotlands population and 1 representing 20%?
Counter argument to this is move the line to the forth or even south of Lothian. Then they all become hl feeders in a 50/50 population split. That would be unpopular.

Even if the ERJFA gain access to the Pyramid there remain in my view many disbenefits for West Lothian and Fife clubs, including:
- poor attendances
- lack of local interest
- low income generation
- duplication of product
Id imagine getting refs etc would be a mess with two leagues in same area

2 minutes ago, Pyramidic said:

- poor attendances

- lack of local interest

- low income generation

- duplication of product

If clubs feel that way then they can join the EoSL simples.

37 minutes ago, Pyramidic said:

The chap from Kelty Hearts last year did a very useful appraisal of the advantages of leaving the ERJFA and joining the EoSL.  Perhaps now would be a good time to outline the current benefits for West Lothian and Fife clubs (and a few from Angus maybe) leaving the ERJFA for the EoSL next season.

At the same time I think it would be helpful if Kilbowie Benches outlines the disbenefits.

This process might contribute in a small way to the difficult decision that some ERJFA clubs now face.

Off the top of my head;

Access to SFA Licencing

Access to the Scottish Cup by winning Alex Jack Cup (only for non-Licenced clubs) and a play-off with the SoS winners. Camelon won it this year

Access to Scottish Cup by winning EoS (no Licence required)

Access to Lowland League play-offs

Access to the Lowland U20 Development League (effectively a reserve side, players also considered part of senior squad)

Season long fixture lists

No player re-instatement rules

Assistant referees for the majority of games

Access to larger grants from the Scottish Football Partnership

Grants from the EoS towards improvements for Licence

Contributions to bus hire for Southern Counties Cup away games

No cup competition disrupts the season for weeks on end

Use of the devils lanterns encouraged

A more engaged and enlightened Board running the league and cups.

9 minutes ago, superbigal said:
39 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

But shouldnt be because the Highland League is given equal standing to the LL despite having an incredibly smaller proportion of the population, adding to that imbalance by allowing Tayside clubs in the LL would be madness. Why can’t you see that? Could essentially have a league representing 80% Scotlands population and 1 representing 20%?

Counter argument to this is move the line to the forth or even south of Lothian. Then they all become hl feeders in a 50/50 population split. That would be unpopular.

This is why I said before that the juniors north/east/west split could work. That would become roughly 20/40/40 which is acceptable imo and easier to manage with Scottish geography. Will the SPFL agree to 3 feeders to SPFL2 though?

1 minute ago, Burnie_man said:

Off the top of my head;

Access to SFA Licencing

Access to the Scottish Cup by winning Alex Jack Cup (only for non-Licenced clubs) and a play-off with the SoS winners. Camelon won it this year

Access to Scottish Cup by winning EoS (no Licence required)

Access to Lowland League play-offs

Access to the Lowland U20 Development League (effectively a reserve side, players also considered part of senior squad)

Season long fixture lists

No player re-instatement rules

Assistant referees for the majority of games

Access to larger grants from the Scottish Football Partnership

Grants from the EoS towards improvements for Licence

Contributions to bus hire for Southern Counties Cup away games

No cup competition disrupts the season for weeks on end

Use of the devils lanterns encouraged

A more engaged and enlightened Board running the league and cups.

Most,except diddy cups will be available to Junior clubs next season in the pyramid.

1 minute ago, Marten said:

This is why I said before that the juniors north/east/west split could work. That would become roughly 20/40/40 which is acceptable imo and easier to manage with Scottish geography. Will the SPFL agree to 3 feeders to SPFL2 though?

Another way to look at it is 3 feeders:

Highland / Mid / Lowland.

Fed by the 6six SFA regions:

North = HL

Central + East = ML

West + S.West + S.East = LL

Sorted.

3 minutes ago, Kilbowie Benches said:

Most,except diddy cups will be available to Junior clubs next season in the pyramid.

But your club is comitted to moving to the EoS - I hope you enjoy the journey.

9 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

Hopefully they end up in our Conference, last time we played them we humped them at Yoker in the Scottish :thumsup2

We’ve committed to nothing but believe what you like,that’s what you do on here.

As for Blackburn I’d wager any money you want that we’d take them apart no problem now as opposed to our 1st season back when we started with no players and not even a set of strips 15 years ago!

Just now, Kilbowie Benches said:

We’ve committed to nothing but believe what you like,that’s what you do on here.

As for Blackburn I’d wager any money you want that we’d take them apart no problem now as opposed to our 1st season back when we started with no players and not even a set of strips 15 years ago!

6 hours ago, Midge said:

Absolutely nothing. ERSJFA will be part of pyramid at tier 6 but they don’t want that so are scaremongering the remaining clubs to move over. What part of you’re not allowed to have an opinion unless it’s of the same as Burnieman don’t you understand?

F*ck sake this heid the baw isnae still around is he :rolleyes: