Junior football, what is the future?

Burnie_man

Guess that depends on if football is just a part of escapism from the dull drudgery that pays the bills, or something  you feel the need to immerse yourself in to a depth that means you can't remember it's supposed to be fun. A page on here about football  for every ten about bureaucracy, in fighting. tedious fart in a suit meetings and everyone claiming to be far more important and in the know than they really are. Makes just turning up and watching a game the joy it is.  Not everything in life is logical and many  that are can be utterly dysfunctional
You're a voyeur who views Junior football as a perverse throwback to a bygone age. You don't really care about the health of the clubs or their long term future, as long as they remain caught in a timewarp for your casual viewing.

Games up I'm afraid old chum, they are finally moving fowards, they have to. If you don't like it then good, means they are making the right decisions and you'll have to move on elsewhere to get your fix.

1 hour ago, froggie said:

Yes...and if means going north of the Tay to spend my money watching what floats my boat, I will. Others are free to think and do otherwise.

me too chap. wonder what mr arrogance thinks the long term future is for a team being pumped . 5-1 by both tranent and bonnyrigg rose. 3-0 by jeanfield and stirling uni. and 2-0 by haddington and craigroyston. all at home on a plastic pitch. in a soulless cage. and conceding 13 goals in 3 defeats away. against the might of preston. broxburn and easthouse lily. 

2 hours ago, Burnie_man said:

You're a voyeur who views Junior football as a perverse throwback to a bygone age. You don't really care about the health of the clubs or their long term future, as long as they remain caught in a timewarp for your casual viewing.

Games up I'm afraid old chum, they are finally moving fowards, they have to. If you don't like it then good, means they are making the right decisions and you'll have to move on elsewhere to get your fix.

Name calling, misplaced self appointed expert and so determined to say a cobblers of a plan is a success. I already have moved elsewhere. Further north and, as luck would have it, further away from the fortified co-op land you love and watching Junior football that might even outlive your Neanderthal bitterness.

Fortified co-op land sounds like Sauchie back in the 1970s. Have no idea why people get their knickers in a twist like this over whether it's junior or senior, if they aren't one of the officeholders that is desperately trying to keep their blazer. It's all just fitba and Bo'ness United vs Crossgates Primrose is still Bo'ness United vs Crossgates Primrose.

Haven't you heard? They now are playing senior and watching those games are drastically different to last season...

1 hour ago, Gingernuts said:

me too chap. wonder what mr arrogance thinks the long term future is for a team being pumped . 5-1 by both tranent and bonnyrigg rose. 3-0 by jeanfield and stirling uni. and 2-0 by haddington and craigroyston. all at home on a plastic pitch. in a soulless cage. and conceding 13 goals in 3 defeats away. against the might of preston. broxburn and easthouse lily.

Half of those teams were above them last season - I'm sure Blackburn will be fine in the EOS First Division next season, the same level they were in the Juniors.

Though I wonder what the long term future is for a team like Lochee who are winning every game? Can't go any higher than the Superleague...

11 hours ago, parsforlife said:

Haven't you heard? They now are playing senior and watching those games are drastically different to last season...

• Have to sit down
  • Can't drink
  • Stewards
  • Risk of playing their big team in a cup tie - jings! Who to support!?
  • Having to pish or crap in a £250,000 toilet
  • Risk of dazzling from floodlight use
  • Playing in a set-up devoid of tradition
  • Playing in a set-up that may prioritise taking advantage of financial opportunities

Any more to add? :lol:

Wrong, they play each other in Elgin on a Tuesday night.

14 hours ago, froggie said:

A page on here about football  for every ten about bureaucracy, in fighting. tedious fart in a suit meetings and everyone claiming to be far more important and in the know than they really are. Makes just turning up and watching a game the joy it is.  Not everything in life is logical and many  that are can be utterly dysfunctional

This is a thread about the future of junior football and the amalgamation into the pyramid. The pros/cons and all that entails. Of course it is going to be about the blazers and bureaucracy and league systems and all the stuff that happens away from the training pitch and match day.

However if you stumble into the EoS forum you'll find threads talking about each conference and cup and a good number of the teams have their own thread. Now that the season has started there is a lot more chat about the football than the direction it may go in. There's been a wee revival here because of the PWG meeting but, even then, most of the fans of ex-Junior clubs are in the EoS forum talking about the football than in here talking about licensing laws.

Name calling, misplaced self appointed expert and so determined to say a cobblers of a plan is a success. I already have moved elsewhere. Further north and, as luck would have it, further away from the fortified co-op land you love and watching Junior football that might even outlive your Neanderthal bitterness.
Never knew calling someone a voyeur was name calling [emoji23] keep going north, you'll eventually reach Iceland. Not as good as the Co-op though, their fish fingers are a bit soggy.

On 06/10/2018 at 20:04, Burnie_man said:

My clubs attendance is immaterial, are you saying the minutes of the EoS meeting are therefore wrong? What you posted earlier bears no similarities to what the EoS are saying the PWG discussed and agreed?

Both cant be right. Who is wrong?

Are you referring to the draft minutes.  The terminology of tayside league is wrong.  Confirmed at meeting this is reference to the current east superleague when the top table was asked.

A don’t get the bitterness what’s the problem with the current junior east  superleague coming in at tier 6 next season and playing off with eos, West super and sosl for promotion ?

Are you referring to the draft minutes.  The terminology of tayside league is wrong.  Confirmed at meeting this is reference to the current east superleague when the top table was asked.
A don’t get the bitterness what’s the problem with the current junior east  superleague coming in at tier 6 next season and playing off with eos, West super and sosl for promotion ?

No bitterness, only logic. What happens if Lochee win the play-off? They aren't in the Lowland League catchment area. What happens if Kelty Hearts finish bottom of the Lowland League? Where would they go? There would be two feeder leagues covering the same geographical area. Why would the Lowland League effectively punish teams who committed to the pyramid by joining the East of Scotland League last season by allowing the East Juniors In particular to jump ahead of two thirds of the clubs who did so? The only people who ever mention bitterness are those fans of Junior clubs who can't see that there are no logical arguments for anything that TJ thinks in his ideal world would work best. And that's best for him, not best for the clubs btw.

Problems are:

1) Tayside clubs are not currently eligible for the Lowland League

2) The East juniors includes clubs outwith Dundee and Angus who cover the same geographical area as the EoS.  How can there be two different leagues competing at the same level and covering similar areas?  Where do clubs go if they are relegated from the Lowland League?  Who decides which league the east clubs are in?  Makes little sense to me so far.

Its the Highland / Lowland dividing line that means the proposal of moving the East Superleague as a whole doesn't make sense.

Didn't a team from north of the line enquire last year and was told it was a non starter, so what's suddenly changed to allow teams in the Highland League catchment area to be eligible for promotion to the Lowland League. You can't have one rule for some and another for others so, for example, could Wick decide they fancy playing EoS / LL and Tweedmouth decide they fancy playing in the North as they've more chance of avoiding a weekly thumping.

Odd that the issued minutes are wrong.

I'm sure you appreciate why a competitor league at tier 6 covering the same territory as the EoS would cause issues to some clubs who made the move.

This is before addressing the issue of Tayside clubs feeding into the LL. Doesnt make sense.

1 hour ago, bluebell1 said:

Are you referring to the draft minutes.  The terminology of tayside league is wrong.  Confirmed at meeting this is reference to the current east superleague when the top table was asked...

That would throw the cat amongst the pigeons in a big way and arguably in a very good way from a pyramid standpoint, but if the minutes were circulated after the meeting they should have been amended to reflect what actually happened. Were you at the meeting or is this second hand information?

In the east the power has shifted. If the east junior teams want to be part of the pyramid they can either join the EOS or for those above the line, lobby for something else. Have the ones who moved missed playing the ones who haven't?

What was the answer when clubs above the line enquired about joining the Eos / LL?

Clubs who potentially get relegated from lowland league at anytime go back to the league they were promoted from.  Hypothetically For example Kelty to eos and lochee to east region junior superleague.

Geographic boundaries are being reveiewrd.

Not rocket science to be fair.  

I was at the meeting yes.  

For me it’s fine we get on with the eos and the juniors stay intact within the pyramid.

This season isn’t great as far as we’re concerned income is down from last years superleague but we expected that and am sure next season the newly formed eos 16 team league will be a good league.

Am looking forward to it all getting revealed officially and we move on.

Would be good from next season to have a cup competition across all clubs and hopefully that can be sorted as well.