Junior football, what is the future?

Burnie_man

24 minutes ago, juniorsforme said:

Dundonald can  qualify  for  the Scottish  Cup from  within  the SJFA  by winning either the Super League or Scottish Junior Cup.  

There probably should be a moratorium on this until the Juniors are in the pyramid.

And an embargo on licensed Junior clubs until it's all been cleared up.

28 minutes ago, Dev said:

OK, here goes!

There's already Tier 6 leagues in the East and South so use them! That's by far the simplest route. The SJFA has to come up with convincing reasons why this should not be the case.

In the West those clubs which want into the pyramid should get on with it and join the SoS or form a WoS league. An expanded SoS league would soon see the stronger clubs reach the top. It's about making things happen. There is no reason why the champions of the EoS, Sos and a new WoS cannot be given a right to promotion to the 16 team Lowland league, as it's large enough to take three relegations per season.

The SoS is not fit for purpose, in any way, shape or form, to be the tier 6 vessel for the top Juniors. It's a league that has existed for about 70/80 years as a rural league for clubs in the extreme SW of the country.

A new WoS League is required - set up a management committee and invite clubs / accept applications. Aim for say 14 and pick the best applications.

The Juniors would exist below. How that works with EoS having two divisions I do not know though...

Edited by cmontheloknow

The development of our new ground had zero to do with our membership of the SJFA or any other body.  Good to see it gets under your skin though, the Juniors will be gone soon enough.
EDIT: the SFA CEO opened our new facilities, none of the SJFA heirachy have darkened our door or even spoke to us about the new facilities since they were built, other than one guy from the East Region who "assessed" them.  That's the SJFA for you.

I've been brought through the junior game from top to the bottom and find it really strange for you to be slagging off the SJFA which your club has been very happy to play under for a number of years. To me your getting ahead of yourself in a arrogant way looking and talking down the juniors.

2 minutes ago, cmontheloknow said:

The SoS is not fit for purpose, in any way, shape or form, to be the tier 6 vessel for the top Juniors. It's a league that has existed for about 70/80 years as a rural league for clubs in the extreme SW of the country.

A new WoS League is required - set up a management committee and invite clubs / accept applications. Aim for say 14 and pick the best applications.

The Juniors would exist below. How that works with EoS having two divisions I do not know though...

Do you think there won't be sufficient junior clubs in the west to form two divisions of 16?

2 minutes ago, jc1 said:

I've been brought through the junior game from top to the bottom and find it really strange for you to be slagging off the SJFA which your club has been very happy to play under for a number of years. To me your getting ahead of yourself in a arrogant way looking and talking down the juniors.

If you've been paying any attention to the debate, you'll understand the very valid reasons why clubs are leaving the Juniors and moving on to what they perceive as bigger and better things, There's over 200 pages of debate, try reading it.

I could mention your antics in the dugout are more of an issue for the Juniors to address, but we don't want to go down that route. Tuesdays defeat and league double must have hurt you more than I thought.

If you've been paying any attention to the debate, you'll understand the very valid reasons why clubs are leaving the Juniors and moving on to what they perceive as bigger and better things, There's over 200 pages of debate, try reading it.
I could mention your antics in the dugout are more of an issue for the Juniors to address, but we don't want to go down that route. Tuesdays defeat and league double must have hurt you more than I thought.

PMSL

Anyway enough of the sideshow. 

Re Dundonald, they’ve at least done their due diligence and attended meetings of both Leagues, looked at their own circumstances and made the decision to stick where they are for now.  I think they could address these issues whilst a member of the EoS (and indeed access better grant aid to help them), but they’ve at least they’ve made their decision after thoroughly investigating it. You can’t level any criticism for that.

Re EoS applications, I understand there may have been a late application or two. At least we’ll get some form of clarity at some point tonight/tomorrow, and then those clubs can plan for next season, likewise the ERJFA.

Re SJFA entry, I think they’re due to meet the WRJFA clubs tonight?  They need to be coming out with a lot more information than they currently are at the moment, although part of the problem is that they have very little to go on apart from assumptions from TJ even though the PWG hasn’t even met, or set a date.  The SJFA EGM is no closer to being confirmed either.

The picture may be a little clearer after tonight.

Edited by Burnie_man

2 hours ago, Burnie_man said:

It's a puzzling statement.  I agree they need to upgrade Moor Park quite a bit & establish an U20 team (although that isn't a Licence requirement), but they could have done that next season whilst in the EoS and still have the chance to qualify for the Scottish Cup for 2019/20 by either winning the EoS or winning the trophy that gives access.

Let's face it, they're not giving up lots of cash by leaving the SJFA.  Looks like they've swallowed TJ's email.

Burnie you have a lot to say for yourself and portray yourself as the guy with all the answers. Some of your overall points are very valid and some seen through your own agenda for me there are a lack of facts across the board at this time so for clubs whatever they decide it a leap of faith.

I would suggest you were an ardent YES voter during the referendum as your forum tactics used are bordering on bullying. 

A suppose easy to do from the comfort of your keyboard. 

Your comments about junior football  as a whole are embarassing for your club and at times portray a wee bitter man behind a key board if anybody dosent see things thru your glasses. Personally a dont know why you get so up tight. Your club are following your wishes yet you continue to pollute this forum.

Your comments about my own club in the decision we have made  are at best derisory.  You have no financial facts nor detail on our ground requirements but speculate anyway.

Whatever way we went there is a risk factor due to numerous uncertainties around structures, licensing etc and at this moment in time there is no real benefit in rushing. We had budgeted for losing money in our 1st year in the eos  as we worked towards licence criteria.  This is based on our current income being a superleague club.  The uncertainty around licensing and the way forward with that has impacted on our decision but isn’t sole reason.

Different for your club, with the utmost respect Blackburn  are not and never have been a superleague club. So possibly as with any club in the south league or recently in the premier moving has minimal risk.  If it doesn’t work out you apply back to the juniors and enter a league you have mainly always played in.

Am not debating the pyramid as am a firm believer in it and we will join it in a year with hopefully our licence at the same time but for now it’s better together for the bluebell while we await developments.

It’s not a strange statement from us it’s an open and transparent where we are.  You may find it strange as it dosent fully agree with what you perceive will happen but that’s your outlook not ours.

oh and our ground is named Moorside park not Moor Park but don’t let facts get in the way of a good story. You probably haven’t been to many superleague grounds so can understand your mistake 

Burnie you have a lot to say for yourself and portray yourself as the guy with all the answers. Some of your overall points are very valid and some seen through your own agenda for me there are a lack of facts across the board at this time so for clubs whatever they decide it a leap of faith.

I would suggest you were an ardent YES voter during the referendum as your forum tactics used are bordering on bullying. 

Your comments about junior football  as a whole are embarassing for your club and at times portray a wee bitter man behind a key board if anybody dosent see things thru your glasses. Personally a dont know why you get so up tight. Your club are following your wishes yet you continue to pollute this forum.

Your comments about my own club in the decision we have made  are at best derisory.  You have no financial facts nor detail on our ground requirements but speculate anyway.

Whatever way we went there is a risk factor due to numerous uncertainties around structures, licensing etc and at this moment in time there is no real benefit in rushing. We had budgeted for losing money in our 1st year in the eos  as we worked towards licence criteria.  This is based on our current income being a superleague club.  The uncertainty around licensing and the way forward with that has impacted on our decision but isn’t sole reason.

Different for your club, with the utmost respect Blackburn  are not and never have been a superleague club. So possibly as with any club in the south league or recently in the premier moving has minimal risk.  If it doesn’t work out you apply back to the juniors and enter a league you have mainly always played in.

Am not debating the pyramid as am a firm believer in it and we will join it in a year with hopefully our licence at the same time but for now it’s better together for the bluebell while we await developments.

It’s not a strange statement from us it’s an open and transparent where we are.  You may find it strange as it dosent fully agree with what you perceive will happen but that’s your outlook not ours.

oh and our ground is named Moorside park not Moor Park but don’t let facts get in the way of a good story. You probably haven’t been to many superleague grounds so can understand your mistake 

Bringing up the referendum.. and using the term Better Together. f**k sake.

Calling him a wee bitter man... before then going on to sound like a wee bitter man yourself.

‘Dosent’

[emoji51]

1 minute ago, bluebell1 said:

Hal, I'm disappointed you've went down the road of getting personal, there's no need for that.  I have no truck with you or anyone associated with Bluebell, we've had some good tussles on the pitch over the last few seasons and I've enjoyed my visits to Moorside Park.

I post my opinions on here as myself, I refer you to my signature.  Some will agree with them, some don't, that's life and that's what this forum is all about.   You may have guessed that I believe passionately in a Pyramid and also that the "Juniors" as a grade  is well past it's sell by date and does nothing but hold clubs back. I post from that stand point and will continue to do so.  I try to be constructive as I can but if this rubs people up the wrong way then so be it, I can take it if they stick to the point they disagree with.

So don't take it personally or get all huffy and get personal with me because someone is questioning the decision taken by your club, that's the nature of the beast, that's what this place is all about.  If you have an issue, send me a message as you have done in the past.

Good luck next season.

32 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

Hal, I'm disappointed you've went down the road of getting personal, there's no need for that.  I have no truck with you or anyone associated with Bluebell, we've had some good tussles on the pitch over the last few seasons and I've enjoyed my visits to Moorside Park.

I post my opinions on here as myself, I refer you to my signature.  Some will agree with them, some don't, that's life and that's what this forum is all about.   You may have guessed that I believe passionately in a Pyramid and also that the "Juniors" as a grade  is well past it's sell by date and does nothing but hold clubs back. I post from that stand point and will continue to do so.  I try to be constructive as I can but if this rubs people up the wrong way then so be it, I can take it if they stick to the point they disagree with.

So don't take it personally or get all huffy and get personal with me because someone is questioning the decision taken by your club, that's the nature of the beast, that's what this place is all about.  If you have an issue, send me a message as you have done in the past.

Good luck next season.

Got to agree with Bluebell1 you have continually put the boot into Junior football and  Tom Johnston along with any poster who disagrees with your take on things. I have to  laugh when you say " your passion for the pryamid "  Your passion should  have seen you work to  guide Blackburn into  the SL and at least then  you would have been  able to claim we have went as far as we could at Junior level  ! I also find it amusing you think the EoS is the land of milk  and honey....if so why are the current clubs mediocre both on and off the park. 

7 minutes ago, juniorsforme said:

Got to agree with Bluebell1 you have continually put the boot into Junior football and  Tom Johnston along with any poster who disagrees with your take on things. I have to  laugh when you say " your passion for the pryamid "  Your passion should  have seen you work to  guide Blackburn into  the SL and at least then  you would have been  able to claim we have went as far as we could at Junior level  ! I also find it amusing you think the EoS is the land of milk  and honey....if so why are the current clubs mediocre both on and off the park. 

Hi Larry,  your "land of milk and honey" jibe has been heard before, we've been hearing it for years at various meetings and it's done nothing more that hold clubs back, people see right through it now.  It's embarrassing frankly.

As for Blackburn, people can judge for themselves where we currently are as a club compared to where we were 6 years ago both on and off the pitch, and I help them where I can. A very hard working committee.

Your point about the SL just shows how some people are so blinded that they cannot see the bigger picture.

Edited by Burnie_man

5 minutes ago, juniorsforme said:

Got to agree with Bluebell1 you have continually put the boot into Junior football and  Tom Johnston along with any poster who disagrees with your take on things.

Which to be fair is something you have done in the majority of your posts on this thread with your seeming hatred for Burnieman.

Junior football is dying, if you cant see that then you are being blinkered - the pyramid offers a way for current Junior clubs to survive and thrive as Senior clubs.

5 hours ago, Auld Heid said:

why would Camelon be prepared at this moment in time rush into this and give up local derbys with Linlithgow Rose Boness Utd sauchie Juniors ect to travel to extreme places like Eyemouth Tweedmouth Ormiston

Camelon to;

Eyemouth 1hr30

Tweedmouth 1hr45

Ormiston 50 mins

Hardly the ends of the earth. On the other hand, Camelon to;

St Andrews 1hr 20

Kirriemuir 1hr 40

Blairgowrie 1hr 20

Brechin 1hr 45

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

1 hour ago, bluebell1 said:

I'm not on Burnie's side of this debate, but that's so uncalled for that I didn't read any further. That sort of comment has absolutely no place on this thread, or on this board, and you should apologise for it and keep your politics for the forums where they belong.

8 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

Hi Larry,  your "land of milk and honey" jibe has been heard before, we've been hearing it for years at various meetings and it's done nothing more that hold clubs back, people see right through it now.  It's embarrassing frankly.

As for Blackburn, people can judge for themselves where we currently are as a club compared to where we were 6 years ago both on and off the pitch, and I help them where I can. A very hard working committee.

Your point about the SL just shows how some people are so blinded that they cannot see the bigger picture.

Junior football is not dying anymore than any other level of football in Scotland. As for embarrassing you should  know all about that McGinty