12 hours ago, Les Cabbage said:

2 years ago he was crying about us sacking Jack Ross, a man who has gone on to sensational things since he was sacked.

Would rather we bought 15 Momodou Bojangs than paid his wages working at HibsTV (albeit I’m aware he was punted, thank you Ben Kensell).

He had a point about Ross.  Look who we have appointed since.

Sounds a bit personal your dislike of McManus.  I'll leave you to it. 

4 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

Ross deserved the cup final at least then should have been gone. 

His tactics in the final against St.Johnstone still annoys me to this day. 

1 hour ago, Lyle Lanley said:

Ross deserved the cup final at least then should have been gone. 

His tactics in the final against St.Johnstone still annoys me to this day. 

Only if there was better around to bring in for me matey. Maloney and Johnson are not they managers.

13 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

Would rather have Lee Johnson every day of the week than that boring b*****d.

Would argue that last seasons team would beat Jack Ross’ team that finished 3rd, better style of football, actual tactics rather than just hoping that Boyle/Nisbet do something.

4 hours ago, Les Cabbage said:

Would rather have Lee Johnson every day of the week than that boring b*****d.

Would argue that last seasons team would beat Jack Ross’ team that finished 3rd, better style of football, actual tactics rather than just hoping that Boyle/Nisbet do something.

Fair enough.  You prefer clowns to bores, I get that. 

No it wouldn't. :lol: the football was fuckin crap last season and Johnson made it up as he went along.   We lost to every single team in the league and couldnt beat the team bottom of the table over 3 games.  But aye we beat hertz 1-0 after they sacked their manager and a celtc team on holidays so great eh?   Forget about being humiliated in the league cup, Scottish Cup, Parkhead, pbs and a bottle job againt 10 men hertz to make 4th (wow) deciding to put on Devlin up top instead of the actual striker we had on the bench and that's even before we could look into not giving Fish a chance apart from right back and hooked (meant) at half time for half a season while persisting with Donkey Bushiri. 

Willing to give Johnson a bit of a break as he's come in at what is (hopefully) the end of a period of a revolving manager's door and clowncar recruitment.

He's huffed and puffed into 5th place and Europe which should be the bare minimum for Hibs and their budget. It probably could and should have been better. Maybe having Boyle and Nisbet available all season might have helped, that's all ifs and buts though.

There's a decent base to work from and dare I say it, maybe some stability with the new DOF structure. Let's see how it goes from here.

13 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

Only if there was better around to bring in for me matey. Maloney and Johnson are not they managers.

Not a fan of Johnson myself mate but deserves a crack In Europe and next season at least. 

29 minutes ago, Crawford Bridge said:

Ross had 3 relatively easy bites at a trophy in the same season and shat it every single time. That season's wasted opportunities boils my pish to this day

As @Lyle Lanley says, he was outsmarted by the tactical genius of Callum Davidson.

Ross should have been sacked for that ridiculous disgusting performance in the final against St.Johnstone. 

Edited by Lyle Lanley

1 hour ago, Hoose Rice said:

Fair enough.  You prefer clowns to bores, I get that. 

No it wouldn't. :lol: the football was fuckin crap last season and Johnson made it up as he went along.   We lost to every single team in the league and couldnt beat the team bottom of the table over 3 games.  But aye we beat hertz 1-0 after they sacked their manager and a celtc team on holidays so great eh?   Forget about being humiliated in the league cup, Scottish Cup, Parkhead, pbs and a bottle job againt 10 men hertz to make 4th (wow) deciding to put on Devlin up top instead of the actual striker we had on the bench and that's even before we could look into not giving Fish a chance apart from right back and hooked (meant) at half time for half a season while persisting with Donkey Bushiri. 

There were even some defeats/draws last season that were more exciting than the majority of Ross’ football, Johnson has a clear style, I’m not for one second suggesting that he’s perfect but he’s a tenfold improvement on Ross.

Ross failed to finish in the top 6 in his first season, getting pumped at home to a Hearts team that couldn’t buy a win, secured 3rd via default in a season that doesn’t really count anyway before more dismal boring football without results.

The league is clearly a lot stronger last season than it was the year before, we had some truly shite spells, no getting away with that but overall it was a lot more fun to watch, there were some decent results and we secured Europe (in the exact same round as we did in 2020/21 btw.)

If you’ve actually watched Matthew Hoppe you’d probably realise why we chucked a centre half up front and if you’ve actually seen Rocky since the summer you’d know that he’s a different player to last season. If he’d stayed fit there’s a fair chance he would have been our PoTY.

Jeezo mate, your takes on here are suspect at the best of times but that’s a shocker of a post.

Just now, Les Cabbage said:

There were even some defeats/draws last season that were more exciting than the majority of Ross’ football, Johnson has a clear style, I’m not for one second suggesting that he’s perfect but he’s a tenfold improvement on Ross.

Ross failed to finish in the top 6 in his first season, getting pumped at home to a Hearts team that couldn’t buy a win, secured 3rd via default in a season that doesn’t really count anyway before more dismal boring football without results.

The league is clearly a lot stronger last season than it was the year before, we had some truly shite spells, no getting away with that but overall it was a lot more fun to watch, there were some decent results and we secured Europe (in the exact same round as we did in 2020/21 btw.)

If you’ve actually watched Matthew Hoppe you’d probably realise why we chucked a centre half up front and if you’ve actually seen Rocky since the summer you’d know that he’s a different player to last season. If he’d stayed fit there’s a fair chance he would have been our PoTY.

Jeezo mate, your takes on here are suspect at the best of times but that’s a shocker of a post.

There has been no game under Johnson that beats the excitement of scudding the **** at hampden.  Not a single one.  Then there was a great day pumping hertz away too.    What is Johnsons clear style?  I fail to see.  We change players positions and formations on a week to week basis.

Erm Ross took over us bottom of the table.   We have been pumped at home of a shite Hearts team last season too.  That same hearts team that beat us put the **** out the cup a week earlier so they could buy a win. 

Explain how we finished 3rd by default?  Arent you talking about the previous season that covid ended the season that we finished bottom half by default? 

In what was it stronger?  Hearts and Aberdeen that crap they sacked managers.  Darvel ffs and look who finished above us?

If Lee Johnson had actually seen Mattew Hoppe why bring him to the club and play him ahead of the youngsters we never play?   

Rockys crap.  The whole of the league can see that.  POTY means nothing this year, Joe Newell  won it ffs.

All about opinions.  No harm in seeing things differently.

3 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

There has been no game under Johnson that beats the excitement of scudding the **** at hampden.  Not a single one.  Then there was a great day pumping hertz away too.    What is Johnsons clear style?  I fail to see.  We change players positions and formations on a week to week basis.

Erm Ross took over us bottom of the table.   We have been pumped at home of a shite Hearts team last season too.  That same hearts team that beat us put the **** out the cup a week earlier so they could buy a win. 

Explain how we finished 3rd by default?  Arent you talking about the previous season that covid ended the season that we finished bottom half by default? 

In what was it stronger?  Hearts and Aberdeen that crap they sacked managers.  Darvel ffs and look who finished above us?

If Lee Johnson had actually seen Mattew Hoppe why bring him to the club and play him ahead of the youngsters we never play?   

Rockys crap.  The whole of the league can see that.  POTY means nothing this year, Joe Newell  won it ffs.

All about opinions.  No harm in seeing things differently.

Personally enjoyed the game against Celtic recently a lot more, secured us a European trip and we actually battered them, against Rangers it was a win, but they were allover us, the result was enjoyable but the match wasn’t, 71% possession for Rangers and 18 shots at goal, of course I enjoyed myself afterwards but the game was very much a steal, we had 3 shots on target ffs.

We were 8th when Jack Ross took over and we finished 7th so you’re wrong on that one once again, he then lost to them in a cup semi final not long before they were beaten by the mighty Brora Rangers.

In terms of the league being stronger, a competent Hearts team was in it for one, Aberdeen also didn’t go 8 games without scoring a goal this season, they had a poor run in the winter but then won about 10 games in a row, they’ve got a striker who’s being touted for £7m and another international regular for a team that beat Italy last year.

Can’t disagree on Hoppe but you don’t get every signing right, we have brought in some muck but we’ve also seen the likes of Egan-Reilly, Youan, Fish, Khukareyvch which are an upgrade on probably all of Ross’ signings other than Nisbet and maybe Greg Docherty.

Just now, Les Cabbage said:

Personally enjoyed the game against Celtic recently a lot more, secured us a European trip and we actually battered them, against Rangers it was a win, but they were allover us, the result was enjoyable but the match wasn’t, 71% possession for Rangers and 18 shots at goal, of course I enjoyed myself afterwards but the game was very much a steal, we had 3 shots on target ffs.

We were 8th when Jack Ross took over and we finished 7th so you’re wrong on that one once again, he then lost to them in a cup semi final not long before they were beaten by the mighty Brora Rangers.

In terms of the league being stronger, a competent Hearts team was in it for one, Aberdeen also didn’t go 8 games without scoring a goal this season, they had a poor run in the winter but then won about 10 games in a row, they’ve got a striker who’s being touted for £7m and another international regular for a team that beat Italy last year.

Can’t disagree on Hoppe but you don’t get every signing right, we have brought in some muck but we’ve also seen the likes of Egan-Reilly, Youan, Fish, Khukareyvch which are an upgrade on probably all of Ross’ signings other than Nisbet and maybe Greg Docherty.

Against 3rd choice Celtic side on their holidays?  Fair enough.   And you enjoyed that more than the League Cup Semi?  Wow!

Wrong once again?  You're the one that made up we came 3rd by default and got the seasons wrong.  We finished 7th by default actually Ross came in mid November and the season was stopped in March.  Hardly a lot of time is it?  Yet you only said that to try and make our amazing 5th this year sound so great.  A Cup Semi?  What's that again?  As under Johnson emptied out right away you dont make semi finals losing to League 1 Falkirk and drawing at home to Morton, you mention Broara but just ignore Darvel when trying to make up the league was stronger this year.  Weird logic that.  

Hearts were shite (even though they pumped us with ease twice because of team selection bingo) Aberdeen utterly pap until February.  Both sacked managers for being so shite yet Johnsons good even though he finished behind both of them somehow?  Hes only in a job because Ron passed away and hes got his tongue so far up the rest of thems arsehole. 

He doesn't get many signings right.    Check all the shite in the summer.    The same Fish he never played for 6 months?  Same Kuchy who seems injury prone?  What about the rest of the mince including the ones that cost us money?  Kenneh Taveres McKirky Cajarba? McGeady?   

We still have Cadden in the team, Jackson Irvines better than any midfielder we have at the moment and Ross wasn't backed at all in the market either.

3 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

Against 3rd choice Celtic side on their holidays?  Fair enough.   And you enjoyed that more than the League Cup Semi?  Wow!

Wrong once again?  You're the one that made up we came 3rd by default and got the seasons wrong.  We finished 7th by default actually Ross came in mid November and the season was stopped in March.  Hardly a lot of time is it?  Yet you only said that to try and make our amazing 5th this year sound so great.  A Cup Semi?  What's that again?  As under Johnson emptied out right away you dont make semi finals losing to League 1 Falkirk and drawing at home to Morton, you mention Broara but just ignore Darvel when trying to make up the league was stronger this year.  Weird logic that.  

Hearts were shite (even though they pumped us with ease twice because of team selection bingo) Aberdeen utterly pap until February.  Both sacked managers for being so shite yet Johnsons good even though he finished behind both of them somehow?  Hes only in a job because Ron passed away and hes got his tongue so far up the rest of thems arsehole. 

He doesn't get many signings right.    Check all the shite in the summer.    The same Fish he never played for 6 months?  Same Kuchy who seems injury prone?  What about the rest of the mince including the ones that cost us money?  Kenneh Taveres McKirky Cajarba? McGeady?   

We still have Cadden in the team, Jackson Irvines better than any midfielder we have at the moment and Ross wasn't backed at all in the market either.

We were getting absolutely battered for 90 minutes and scored from a corner and 3 counter attacks, very different to a game where we absolutely battered the best team in the country, there were a couple of fringe players in (Bain, Iwata, Ralston) but the rest had played a lot for them.

Ross managed to get us up 1 league place in that time and the 3rd season wasn’t enjoyable in any sense whatsoever, I honestly don’t remember enjoying any games during the whole season, it was mind numbing.

No one is saying 5th is great either, I’m just happier with the style of play and the direction the club is going in.

And Brora and Darvel aren’t comparable either, different manager, pretty different personnel aswell after the January window. And come on mate, you can’t seriously suggest to me the league was stronger in 2020/21 when everyone was skint and working from smaller budgets due to covid compared to now where teams get more European money and are spending pretty heavily.

No one is saying Johnson is tremendous either he’s just a better manager than Jack Ross, his record shows it over time, he’s had success everywhere he’s went, that can’t be said about Ross.

You can make a list of shite signings by any manager, Ross signed Drey Wright, Jamie Murphy, Chris Mueller, Marc McNulty, Stephen McGinn, Matt Macey and spunked about half a million on Dan MacKay & Dylan Tait, not every signing will be a hit.

Jackson Irvine missed a sitter in the cup final and wasn’t really that good for us was he?

17 hours ago, Les Cabbage said:

We were getting absolutely battered for 90 minutes and scored from a corner and 3 counter attacks, very different to a game where we absolutely battered the best team in the country, there were a couple of fringe players in (Bain, Iwata, Ralston) but the rest had played a lot for them.

Ross managed to get us up 1 league place in that time and the 3rd season wasn’t enjoyable in any sense whatsoever, I honestly don’t remember enjoying any games during the whole season, it was mind numbing.

No one is saying 5th is great either, I’m just happier with the style of play and the direction the club is going in.

And Brora and Darvel aren’t comparable either, different manager, pretty different personnel aswell after the January window. And come on mate, you can’t seriously suggest to me the league was stronger in 2020/21 when everyone was skint and working from smaller budgets due to covid compared to now where teams get more European money and are spending pretty heavily.

No one is saying Johnson is tremendous either he’s just a better manager than Jack Ross, his record shows it over time, he’s had success everywhere he’s went, that can’t be said about Ross.

You can make a list of shite signings by any manager, Ross signed Drey Wright, Jamie Murphy, Chris Mueller, Marc McNulty, Stephen McGinn, Matt Macey and spunked about half a million on Dan MacKay & Dylan Tait, not every signing will be a hit.

Jackson Irvine missed a sitter in the cup final and wasn’t really that good for us was he?

A relatively meaningless 4-2 against Celtic being better than skelping the **** at hampden is certainly an interesting opinion.