3 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Start with Ben Kensall.  Bullshitted it from the day appointed and blames everyone else for his failings.  Then tell Gordon Jnr to pack his rucksack and bolt tae. 

This club would better be run by the characters from Sesame Street than the current ownership. 

Edited by Lyle Lanley

3 hours ago, Cardle is Magic said:

Lol.

Spoiler - Celtic or Rangers will win the cup.

Occasionally you'll get a side like St Johnstone avoiding drawing the big two and winning it but not very likely.

St Johnstone knocked Rangers out when they won the Scottish cup...

39 minutes ago, Cardle is Magic said:

You can't just include years where the group stage wasn't being used because you think it helps your argument. You could make any point you want if you just pick out stats arbitrarily without context.

Celtic have won 5 of the 6 League Cups since the group stage was introduced. I believe only three sides who competed in the group stage have gone on to reach the final; Motherwell (2017) St Johnstone and Livingston (both 2021).

As it takes place during July, most - if not all - of the clubs taking part will be using it as part of their pre-season preparations. You can disagree with them doing that, call me a loser etc all you want but it doesn't make it any less true.

Leaving aside Celtic, nearly as good as teams who don't take part in the group stages.

1 hour ago, Hoose Rice said:

Start with Ben Kensall. 

Bizarrely, I was meant to be at an event with Kensell and Lee Johnson this evening.

I cancelled as I'm not 100% sure I could have sat in the same room as Kensell without losing my shit at the p***k.

Edited by Leith Green

47 minutes ago, Merkland Red said:

St Johnstone knocked Rangers out when they won the Scottish cup...

At Ibrox too.

4 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

Bizarrely, I was meant to be at an event with Kendall and Lee Johnson this evening.

I cancelled as I'm not 100% sure I could have sat in the same room as Kensell without losing my shit at the p***k.

Dont blame you mate. RG thinks Kensell is doing a great job so is Ian and the signings are all brilliant with no need for a forward.   We just need patience so can see LJ getting all the blame when things get worse - and they will.  Boys deluded out his nut. 

We should get everyone to feck then replace them all (manager included) with all the Queens Park guys and not even joking.

They are currently playing at Ochilview because they haven't got round to building a stadium, and are having to move their games to Friday nights to accomodate an 8th tier side who have priority on the ground.

1 hour ago, Cardle is Magic said:

You can't just include years where the group stage wasn't being used because you think it helps your argument. You could make any point you want if you just pick out stats arbitrarily without context.

Celtic have won 5 of the 6 League Cups since the group stage was introduced. I believe only three sides who competed in the group stage have gone on to reach the final; Motherwell (2017) St Johnstone and Livingston (both 2021).

As it takes place during July, most - if not all - of the clubs taking part will be using it as part of their pre-season preparations. You can disagree with them doing that, call me a loser etc all you want but it doesn't make it any less true.

I started from the point where my own club won it because it felt like the right place to start. If we'd just turned up for that final assuming that Celtic were nailed on winners then I doubt we'd have had the same outcome. Playing in the group stage doesn't magically make it any harder to win the competition than it did when it was a knock-out - you just have to beat some rubbish teams to make the last 16 and then go from there.

Any manager of a full-time club who treats this as pre-season rather than as a winnable competition deserves to be ridiculed.

Heres to an hour of long winded gash for the next hour:

Just listened to this, not all terrible but certain things got my goat.

Ron mentioning a supporter talking about lower ticket prices and better players and saying the guy hadn't hadn't joined up his thoughts on the two. I get his general point about more resources = better players by law of averages, but we've seen that it doesn't necessarily need to apply this way. As it looks now we're spunking resources on bad players. Towards the end of the Farmer/Petrie era we were generally doing alright in player acquisitions, Boyle/McGinn/Allan/McGeough/Bartley/Fontaine over the course of two seasons. They didn't cost the earth, they were just smart acquisitions, something we've been lacking of late.

On talking about season ticket sales for this season he was talking up the hospitality offerings and saying that everyone doing that should be commended for the income they're putting in. They ought to be commended, but the tone of that particular part of the discussion made it sound like those not handing over those big sums aren't, as if there are lesser tiers of supporter. From a financial perspective I suppose he's right in saying that, in the short run at-least. Treat us like chumps and in the long run we'll stop coming. 

Talking about the professionalism within the club having improved, well I don't need to go over that given that's basically the last 10 pages of the thread. But he really bangs on about that, and again I feel that's disrespectful to those who came before. Perhaps my green tinted glasses but I can't remember us having made mistakes similar to the two Bushiri incidents. Also professionalism and nepotism generally don't dovetail well, and when we see things like the Chris Mueller saga, initially touted as being one of Ian Gordon's big accomplishments before he was officially given his new role, we can see that the guy has yet to live up to the professional standards of his forebears, so regardless of his potential in that area at-least professionalism has declined.

I still think Ron could be fine, but what I worry about is the mistakes that we've seen made before - and that the club post relegation learned from - appear to be being made again. He may learn from those, but had he not insisted on bringing in his own people for every position in the club (which in some cases seems to be hiring people he doesn't particularly know but just does it to put his stamp on things) he may not have needed to be burned in this way.

I'm reasonably encouraged by how many people are treating this whole on-going saga with the humour it deserves, I will be too. I don't think in the medium term there will be much scope for taking the club seriously, so better to enjoy it for the comedy-drama that it's shaping up to be.

I miss you, Leanne. 

Leeann Dempster - News, views, gossip, pictures, video - Daily Record

Also that shit about Hibs kids not existing. I won't pretend I know more than FA about it but as far as I'm aware the woman who ran this initiative and other community outreach projects to engage the youth with Hibs was fired not too long ago. 

Edited by Chefki Kuqi

27 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

I started from the point where my own club won it because it felt like the right place to start. If we'd just turned up for that final assuming that Celtic were nailed on winners then I doubt we'd have had the same outcome. Playing in the group stage doesn't magically make it any harder to win the competition than it did when it was a knock-out - you just have to beat some rubbish teams to make the last 16 and then go from there.

Any manager of a full-time club who treats this as pre-season rather than as a winnable competition deserves to be ridiculed.

Obviously a team's chances of winning the trophy will be increased if they reach the final. Not sure why that point needed to be made but I agree.

Of course it's going to be harder to win. While the Premiership teams *should* still defeat lower league sides, the first games are now played a week or two after they're back from their holidays, instead of late September.

I think it's been recognised that clubs don't take it seriously, as seen by the attempt to boost prize money this season.

24 minutes ago, Chefki Kuqi said:

Just listened to this, not all terrible but certain things got my goat.

Ron mentioning a supporter talking about lower ticket prices and better players and saying the guy hadn't hadn't joined up his thoughts on the two. I get his general point about more resources = better players by law of averages, but we've seen that it doesn't necessarily need to apply this way. As it looks now we're spunking resources on bad players. Towards the end of the Farmer/Petrie era we were generally doing alright in player acquisitions, Boyle/McGinn/Allan/McGeough/Bartley/Fontaine over the course of two seasons. They didn't cost the earth, they were just smart acquisitions, something we've been lacking of late.

On talking about season ticket sales for this season he was talking up the hospitality offerings and saying that everyone doing that should be commended for the income they're putting in. They ought to be commended, but the tone of that particular part of the discussion made it sound like those not handing over those big sums aren't, as if there are lesser tiers of supporter. From a financial perspective I suppose he's right in saying that, in the short run at-least. Treat us like chumps and in the long run we'll stop coming. 

Talking about the professionalism within the club having improved, well I don't need to go over that given that's basically the last 10 pages of the thread. But he really bangs on about that, and again I feel that's disrespectful to those who came before. Perhaps my green tinted glasses but I can't remember us having made mistakes similar to the two Bushiri incidents. Also professionalism and nepotism generally don't dovetail well, and when we see things like the Chris Mueller saga, initially touted as being one of Ian Gordon's big accomplishments before he was officially given his new role, we can see that the guy has yet to live up to the professional standards of his forebears, so regardless of his potential in that area at-least professionalism has declined.

I still think Ron could be fine, but what I worry about is the mistakes that we've seen made before - and that the club post relegation learned from - appear to be being made again. He may learn from those, but had he not insisted on bringing in his own people for every position in the club (which in some cases seems to be hiring people he doesn't particularly know but just does it to put his stamp on things) he may not have needed to be burned in this way.

I'm reasonably encouraged by how many people are treating this whole on-going saga with the humour it deserves, I will be too. I don't think in the medium term there will be much scope for taking the club seriously, so better to enjoy it for the comedy-drama that it's shaping up to be.

I miss you, Leanne. 

Leeann Dempster - News, views, gossip, pictures, video - Daily Record

Also that shit about Hibs kids not existing. I won't pretend I know more than FA about it but as far as I'm aware the woman who ran this initiative and other community outreach projects to engage the youth with Hibs was fired not too long ago. 

Top post.  Would add that I found him patronizing to some of the questions asked and makes himself sound a footballing guru.

"who hasnt got the experience and first time in the role?" he questioned.  Felt the podcasters shat it in saying BK instead of saying erm your son mate. 

Constantly throws people at the club before under the bus too. "Everything is much more professional in every capacity and the roles of everyone is doing have higher capabilities" aye looks like it Ron, professional as anything fielding a player who was banned. "the silver lining is because we lost on penalties last night this error doesnt change anything" erm it does pal, we could have still qualified.  Get the impression Doidge will be gone pronto.  Named about 20 forwards or forward thinking players including Demi Mitchell but couldn't be arsed saying Doidge :lol:  The french striker is different gravy apparently too - just as well he's a qualified football scout/coach/dof etc. 

"what supporters feel the club is losing it's attachment to the club?  We sent out surveys god dammit and nobody and I mean nobody at the club has ever done this before!!!"  Survey yasssss whoooohoooo. 

Hibs kids stopped during covid reintroduced last season, my kids are in it so he's talking out his arse there. 

Bring back LD and get Stubbsy up too and you want to make it up to the fans Ronnie boy and show you mean business?  Make every effort to sign the former player who was sitting watching that shit last night. 

Edited by Hoose Rice

40 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

They are currently playing at Ochilview because they haven't got round to building a stadium, and are having to move their games to Friday nights to accomodate an 8th tier side who have priority on the ground.

They are moving back to redeveloped Lesser next month.