2 minutes ago, HaikuHibee said:

I do like Efe, but he's a bombscare at times. Surprised clubs want him.

Because his youtube showreel will see him striding out of defence like a black Beckenbauer

It wont show him losing the ball and looking like hes been deep throating a blunt all day...............

Yes, but what about a Championship/ Bottom Six club with one freak season in the top four, like Hibs?

We’re talking about top end premiership sides here.

If I want the opinion of bottom six riff raff or even need advice on what hay is the best for a horse to eat, I’ll give you a shout.

48 minutes ago, Snifter Pee Rot said:

I hope McGinn plays a blinder in August and goes to England on deadline day. Eff Lawell.

He will have to have an absolute blinder given the EPL transfer window closes on the 9th. Lawell is a renowned sh*tebag but he is no different to Petrie or any other competent CEO by trying to get the best deal for a player whether its going in or out. Offering 2 million for a player up here who is out of contract next year is hardly buttons though.  

17 hours ago, Lebowski said:

I can't imagine what those Hibbies who dislike Efe think about Hanlon and Macgregor who've objectively cost us more goals through individual mistakes than he has since joining...

Really? I can't say I've been keeping count but it certainly seems like Hanlon has performed much better than Efe and has made way less mistakes. The fact that Hibs' form has fallen off a cliff every time he's had injuries in recent years would suggest Hanlon's been doing a good job. McGregor's legs seem to be going a bit now (not a surprise given his stop-start career)  and he was starting to look a bit dodgy towards the end of last year. Before that he was solid as f**k imo and even now, I'd comfortably have him in my starting XI ahead of Efe.

What's clear is we desperately need defensive signings. We've got four proper CB's for three places; two of them who miss at least 10 league games a year through injury,  a 19 year old and Efe Ambrose. 

If some of these rumours come true in terms of attacking players but we don't improve the defence, 9/10 goal games won't even be a novelty after a while.

12 minutes ago, gannonball said:

He will have to have an absolute blinder given the EPL transfer window closes on the 9th. Lawell is a renowned sh*tebag but he is no different to Petrie or any other competent CEO by trying to get the best deal for a player whether its going in or out. Offering 2 million for a player up here who is out of contract next year is hardly buttons though.  

The cost to Hibs of selling cheap is measured not just in the lost money now, but in the next deal and the one after that when offerors - possibly Celtic - take the view _  _  _ kit, it’s only Hibs, just offer them a bag of Jelly Tots. The biggest part of any price offered is the perception of what it will take to force the sellers hand. Armstong for £7m was astonishing but just reflected the strength of Celtic’s position and reputation of a club you can’t mess with when buying - even if you are oozing English Premier money from every pore. 

I’m not sure why Celtic are so confident about low-balling (twice) the McGinn offers. Can only speculate that they and McGinn and the agent are all happy to wait one more year - which isn’t the worst outcome for Hibs if he gets them through another round or two in europe, into a cup semi, into Europe again  with 10 extra points and prize money. My other speculation about what could be leading Celtic to be so bullish would be potentially libellous.

Really? I can't say I've been keeping count but it certainly seems like Hanlon has performed much better than Efe and has made way less mistakes. The fact that Hibs' form has fallen off a cliff every time he's had injuries in recent years would suggest Hanlon's been doing a good job. McGregor's legs seem to be going a bit now (not a surprise given his stop-start career)  and he was starting to look a bit dodgy towards the end of last year. Before that he was solid as f**k imo and even now, I'd comfortably have him in my starting XI ahead of Efe.
What's clear is we desperately need defensive signings. We've got four proper CB's for three places; two of them who miss at least 10 league games a year through injury,  a 19 year old and Efe Ambrose. 
If some of these rumours come true in terms of attacking players but we don't improve the defence, 9/10 goal games won't even be a novelty after a while.
Aye really. Hanlon is a solid defender. So is Ambrose, and so is Macgregor. They all make mistakes, if they didn't they wouldn't be at Hibs. But Efe has really been fine with us. I'd say his mistakes have maybe cost us 4-5 goals in a year and a half. There have been about 5-6 from Hanlon, and 7-8 from Macgregor in that time period. None of these are excessive for a centre half over that time period.

We've lost one game since January, I'm not sure how Efe is suddenly back to being a bombscare again after a mistake in a game we were up 6-1 in. I do think his concentration tends to go to f**k in less important games, but he's been completely fine. Him and Hanlon both playing also gives us defenders willing to carry the ball out which causes other sides all kinds of problems.

2 minutes ago, Lebowski said:

Aye really. Hanlon is a solid defender. So is Ambrose, and so is Macgregor. They all make mistakes, if they didn't they wouldn't be at Hibs. But Efe has really been fine with us. I'd say his mistakes have maybe cost us 4-5 goals in a year and a half. There have been about 5-6 from Hanlon, and 7-8 from Macgregor in that time period. None of these are excessive for a centre half over that time period.

We've lost one game since January, I'm not sure how Efe is suddenly back to being a bombscare again after a mistake in a game we were up 6-1 in. I do think his concentration tends to go to f**k in less important games, but he's been completely fine. Him and Hanlon both playing also gives us defenders willing to carry the ball out which causes other sides all kinds of problems.

I've backed Efe most of the time at Hibs but his recent form (including end of last season) has me questioning him. The stat about losing one game since January doesn't really tell the full story. Hibs barely kept clean sheets in that time, including a few banter scorelines towards the end.  

I disagree with your assessment on the number of mistakes but that is going on rough memory/instinct, so I'm potentially willing to admit I'm wrong about that. In any case, being the player most responsible for a particular goal going in also doesn't tell the full story. When Efe is good, he's very good but he has these games where he chucks in absolutely bizarre decisions all over the shop. Whether any of them directly cost us a goal or not, it makes the whole team weaker. 

It's annoying because when you look at him in the last derby at ER, he is class. When he stays concentrated and keeps things simple, he is brilliant. Until I see him doing that 7/8 games in a row, I'd be looking to bring in another CB and let him be a squad player. 

1 hour ago, Pet Jeden said:

I’m not sure why Celtic are so confident about low-balling (twice) the McGinn offers. 

Celtic have not low balled at all. I would say Mcginn would be worth 4million if he had 3 yr on his contract. He doesn't though, he has one and you only get a fraction of a players true worth when they are in their last year. I doubt any Hibbees would argue he's worth more than 4 million in general. 

- What is pish though is things like Scott Brown out talking about Mcginn and that as if it's a forgone conclusion. 

- The Armstrong fee was bonkers and a reflection of the fu(ked up English market.

1 hour ago, Guts said:

Celtic have not low balled at all. I would say Mcginn would be worth 4million if he had 3 yr on his contract. He doesn't though, he has one and you only get a fraction of a players true worth when they are in their last year. I doubt any Hibbees would argue he's worth more than 4 million in general. 

- What is pish though is things like Scott Brown out talking about Mcginn and that as if it's a forgone conclusion. 

- The Armstrong fee was bonkers and a reflection of the fu(ked up English market.

Who you kidding? If McGinn had 10 years left on his contract you would still come in with a derisory offer, it's what you do, that and complaining about the lack of competition when you get hit for 6 by a big team or get pumped out of europe by a diddy team. It's Celtic's way.

I've backed Efe most of the time at Hibs but his recent form (including end of last season) has me questioning him. The stat about losing one game since January doesn't really tell the full story. Hibs barely kept clean sheets in that time, including a few banter scorelines towards the end.  
I disagree with your assessment on the number of mistakes but that is going on rough memory/instinct, so I'm potentially willing to admit I'm wrong about that. In any case, being the player most responsible for a particular goal going in also doesn't tell the full story. When Efe is good, he's very good but he has these games where he chucks in absolutely bizarre decisions all over the shop. Whether any of them directly cost us a goal or not, it makes the whole team weaker. 
It's annoying because when you look at him in the last derby at ER, he is class. When he stays concentrated and keeps things simple, he is brilliant. Until I see him doing that 7/8 games in a row, I'd be looking to bring in another CB and let him be a squad player. 
You're not being unfair here, but my opinion is that Efe was expected to be a bombscare and a lot of our support haven't adjusted to the fact that he hasn't been. He tries to do much more with the ball than the rest of the defence (except Hanlon) and that does lead to more mistakes from him, but he's also been responsible for us actually getting up the park a lot quicker as well because of the way he plays. I don't think he's doing that off his own back, I think that's what Lennon has told him and Hanlon to do.

Fwiw I wouldn't object to him playing in midfield instead of Bartley. His mistakes would get hidden more there, he's as capable physically, and he'd give a lot more attacking wise than Bartley can.

1 hour ago, Joe Terrapin said:

Who you kidding? If McGinn had 10 years left on his contract you would still come in with a derisory offer, it's what you do, that and complaining about the lack of competition when you get hit for 6 by a big team or get pumped out of europe by a diddy team. It's Celtic's way.

2 million for a scottish league player out of contract in a year isnt derisory.  There is a diffrence between derisory and not acceptable. I cant remember the last time Hibs got over 2 million for a player? 

Edited by gannonball

9 minutes ago, gannonball said:

2 million for a scottish league player out of contract in a year isnt derisory.  There is a diffrence between derisory and not acceptable. I cant remember the last time Hibs got over 2 million for a player? 

You got £7m for a Scottish league player in the last year of his contract this summer. 

Hibs have set an asking price which Celtc are yet to meet or negotiate an acceptable deal towards. If they don’t want him now we’ll gladly keep him and he can go for free next summer. Keeping this saga ongoing isn’t doing Hibs or McGinn and favours.