13 hours ago, Lebowski said:

He was fucking shite with us. Couldn't beat a man. Final ball woeful. Zero game awareness. I think his only goal was against Dundee Utd in the league cup. He then missed a penalty in the shoot out the same game.

He was a winger and young, so the epitome of expected to be inconsistent, but we never even got a good 90 minutes out of him.

Pretty much agree with this, he continually flattered to deceive.  One thing I would say is in his favour is that Stubbs always played a diamond so Kennedy had to play more centrally rather than get 1v1 with the full backs where he was more comfortable. 

2 hours ago, Drew Brees said:

Celtic should just wait it out, if he’s still there in Jan then offer about £500,000 or try to get him on a pre contract for nowt. No rush and no great loss if he goes elsewhere.

We are in no desperate need to sell for £2 million now or £0.5 million in January. Especially not with the cut St Mirren get. 

We’re on course to make at least £1 million from being in Europe this season, and holding onto McGinn for another year could feasibly see us reap those rewards again next summer. 

5 hours ago, Drew Brees said:

Celtic should just wait it out, if he’s still there in Jan then offer about £500,000 or try to get him on a pre contract for nowt. No rush and no great loss if he goes elsewhere.

Aye, very good. That being the case, why bid three times for the player?

Some Celtic fans are making the comedy assumption that Hibs either want or need to sell him. Neither is true, and he will only go in this window if we get an offer that reflects his worth to Hibs.

Kinda like what happened when Armstrong went down south.

Your £500k in January offer is effectively worthless due to the St Mirren cut - so won't happen for all the reasons noted above.

He can certainly sign a pre contract in January, that's his right. What's the money then? Perhaps £10k a week at Celtic (?) or 3 times that from some TV cash rich championship club down south.........wonder if the pull of playing in Scotland will be quite as strong then??

Mcginn will also stay professional, no toys will be getting chucked out his pram - whatever happens he has a good career and plenty cash coming his way.  

10 hours ago, Crawford Bridge said:

Unless a deal involving Scott Allan is offered I'd just keep him.

Or be really cheeky and try to get Griffiths as part of the deal.

That is a shout. Straight swap....Griffiths for McGinn? Hibs fans would surely be happy with that and StMirren would get f**k all.

In other (hypothetical) news, the Europa League third round draw is at 1pm.

Hibs / Asteras will get one of the following:

1 Sevilla (ESP) v Újpest (Hungary)
2 Molde (NOR) v Laç (ALB)
3 Kairat Almaty (KAZ) v AZ Alkmaar (NED)
4 Rapid Wien (AUT)
5 Rudar Velenje (SVN) v FCSB (ROU)

Hmm. One is glamorous but impossible (Sevilla), the others are not very glamorous but still bloody hard. Molde might be the "easiest" draw there, they lost the first (away) leg 2-1 to Glenavon. Molde then thrashed them 5-1 at home, but two injury time goals made it look easier than it was. A late goal for Glenavon would have knocked them out on away goals. Molde might struggle to get past the Albanian team, I suppose.

Kairat (who beat Aberdeen recently) / AZ is hard either way.

FCSB is (part of?) what used to be Steaua Bucharest. That's a bit of a strange one. The club basically split in two, with a lot of the fans going off to watch the team that kept the name (CSA Steaua), but they now play in the fourth division, ala Rangers / Sevco. The other part changed its name to FCSB and kept the honours, European coefficient and place in the top division.

Edited by JamesM82
Pie and Bovril's obsession with the H-U-N word

19 minutes ago, JamesM82 said:

In other (hypothetical) news, the Europa League third round draw is at 1pm.

Hibs / Asteras will get one of the following:

1 Sevilla (ESP) v Újpest (Hungary)
2 Molde (NOR) v Laç (ALB)
3 Kairat Almaty (KAZ) v AZ Alkmaar (NED)
4 Rapid Wien (AUT)
5 Rudar Velenje (SVN) v FCSB (ROU)

Hmm. One is glamorous but impossible (Sevilla), the others are not very glamorous but still bloody hard. Molde might be the "easiest" draw there, they lost the first (away) leg 2-1 to Glenavon. Molde then thrashed them 5-1 at home, but two injury time goals made it look easier than it was. A late goal for Glenavon would have knocked them out on away goals. Molde might struggle to get past the Albanian team, I suppose.

Kairat (who beat Aberdeen recently) / AZ is hard either way.

FCSB is (part of?) what used to be Steaua Bucharest. That's a bit of a strange one. The club basically split in two, with a lot of the fans going off to watch the team that kept the name (CSA Steaua), but they now play in the fourth division, ala Rangers / Sevco. The other part changed its name to FCSB and kept the honours, European coefficient and place in the top division.

Aren’t Molde half way through their season? Sure they pumped Celtic out of Europe a couple of seasons ago too. 

10 minutes ago, Austinho said:

Aren’t Molde half way through their season? Sure they pumped Celtic out of Europe a couple of seasons ago too. 

I didn't say it would be easy. It's plausible, unlike most of the others.

8 hours ago, Austinho said:

We are in no desperate need to sell for £2 million now or £0.5 million in January. Especially not with the cut St Mirren get. 

We’re on course to make at least £1 million from being in Europe this season, and holding onto McGinn for another year could feasibly see us reap those rewards again next summer. 

How'd you work that out? Genuine question. 

I remember some of the Scottish clubs moaning previously that they actually lost money due to travelling costs of Europa qualifying. Looking at potential ties in the next round for Hibs, you may have a fair way to go.

12 minutes ago, Londonwell said:

I remember some of the Scottish clubs moaning previously that they actually lost money due to travelling costs of Europa qualifying. Looking at potential ties in the next round for Hibs, you may have a fair way to go.

We get €240k playing Runavík, €260k for playing Asteras, and we’d get a further €280k if we make it to the 3rd round. Another €300k on top of that if we make it to the playoff round. 

So €600k prize money so far, plus gate money from 2 decent home crowds at the very least. I haven’t taken travel costs into account tbf.

Edited by Austinho

13 minutes ago, Londonwell said:

UEFA have upped the prize money for teams in the qualifying rounds, which is now just over £200K per round. That has stopped the scenario of a few years ago where teams lost money if they had to travel to eastern Europe and got knocked out. Hibs should also get a decent crowd for Asteras, given that they got 12,500 for Runavik (neither game was on the season ticket). Say 14,000 v Asteras average price of £18 (£23 adults / £14 kids) = 12,500 + 14,000 x £18 = £477,000 gate. Not exactly rolling in it once you take out VAT and costs (security for home games, travel for away games), but they should be able to clear £1M from the whole thing if they beat Asteras and get a third tie.

Edited by JamesM82

UEFA have upped the prize money for teams in the qualifying rounds, which is now just over £200K per round. That has stopped the scenario of a few years ago where teams lost money if they had to travel to eastern Europe and got knocked out. Hibs should also get a decent crowd for Asteras, given that they got 12,500 for Runavik (neither game was on the season ticket). Say 14,000 v Asteras average price of £18 (£23 adults / £14 kids) = 12,500 + 14,000 x £18 = £477,000 gate. Not exactly rolling in it once you take out VAT and costs (security for home games, travel for away games), but they should be able to clear £1M from the whole thing if they beat Asteras and get a third tie.
It was 14k against Runavik. Average price of about 20 quid. Expect more on Thursday tbh.

There's probably about 50k costs for travel per game for the away legs, but we're going to get about a million quid even if we get no further.

8 minutes ago, Lebowski said:

It was 14k against Runavik. Average price of about 20 quid. Expect more on Thursday tbh.

There's probably about 50k costs for travel per game for the away legs, but we're going to get about a million quid even if we get no further.

12,501 per BBC.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44770078

I was up for the game and it seemed like 12-13. Away end empty except for ~50 Faroese. Posh seats in the west were pretty empty and the lower tier of the FF was less than half full. Rest of the ground was fairly full but there were empty seats here and there.

12,501 per BBC.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44770078
I was up for the game and it seemed like 12-13. Away end empty except for ~50 Faroese. Posh seats in the west were pretty empty and the lower tier of the FF was less than half full. Rest of the ground was fairly full but there were empty seats here and there.
Figure was announced at the game as 14 and a half. About a thousand short in the FF, same in the west and close to full in the east. 14 sounds about right to me. Could be that corporate and freebies weren't included in the BBC figure which would match up roughly.

I'm not 100% convinced that this match will have the same crowd as the Faroes game.

Most people can only afford one match a week and any tourists in town looking for an "authentic Scottish football experience" might be swayed by the Hearts v Cowdenbeath fixture tomorrow night

Petriesmug.jpeg.471d4e6239d27ec47756e08343998c75.jpeg

13 minutes ago, HaikuHibee said:

Bring on the Molde lads! Is it groups IF we got through? If so, what a chance!

Nope, one more tie after Molde to win and then finally the groups. Laughably rigged against us diddy nations. :lol: