"The ICT Thread - The Championship Years"

On 03/08/2022 at 08:26, RiG said:

He scored some very nice goals for us but I think he flattered to deceive a lot of the time. Showed some nice flashes of talent but other times he was pretty quiet.

I can't agree with pal, I'd love to have him back with us.  Obviously the goals he scored for us were a joy but I also really liked him in general, you're right he had some quiet games but I think it seems that way because we often expected him to be scoring peaches all the time.  I thought his attitude when he was with us, especially considering he was a loan player was really good.  We've certainly had some loan players over the years who think they are far too good to be at ICT.
I'd have him back in a heartbeat.

On 09/08/2022 at 12:19, Stephen Malkmus said:

Re-sign Edward Ofere for fan morale reasons @scotgardiner

Was he not a bit of a dick when it came to negotiations regarding a new contract previously?
I think someone told me that he turned down an offer, both parties decided it wasn't going to happen and then he expected the club to pay for his flight tickets to somewhere.
I could be thinking of another player or remembering a drunken pub chat wrong, so the above could be bollocks.  To be honest with my memory after more than 4 or 5 pints I'm probably confusing that chat with whatever late night pish was on ITV4 when I got in that night.
If his negotiations had a wee speccy woman wi a cardigan in the corner doing sign language then it's true.

10 minutes ago, KingBeastie said:

Was he not a bit of a dick when it came to negotiations regarding a new contract previously?
I think someone told me that he turned down an offer, both parties decided it wasn't going to happen and then he expected the club to pay for his flight tickets to somewhere.
I could be thinking of another player or remembering a drunken pub chat wrong, so the above could be bollocks.  To be honest with my memory after more than 4 or 5 pints I'm probably confusing that chat with whatever late night pish was on ITV4 when I got in that night.
If his negotiations had a wee speccy woman wi a cardigan in the corner doing sign language then it's true.

He was wanting a ridiculous wage to sign a new deal but I’ve no idea about the flight tickets stuff.

Had a keek at the Dundee v Arbroath thread, right off when the game is on TV is mentioned a Dundee fan mentions that Dundee are clearly box office in the Championship.

WTF? Dundee is more like a disaster fuckin movie akin to the Titanic when you consider the yo-yoing between leagues over the last ten years.

I have to laugh at them, what a fuckin joke, their fans must have some sort of clinical memory wipe at the start of each season.

Cue Ali.

18 hours ago, SandyCromarty said:

Had a keek at the Dundee v Arbroath thread, right off when the game is on TV is mentioned a Dundee fan mentions that Dundee are clearly box office in the Championship.

WTF? Dundee is more like a disaster fuckin movie akin to the Titanic when you consider the yo-yoing between leagues over the last ten years.

I have to laugh at them, what a fuckin joke, their fans must have some sort of clinical memory wipe at the start of each season.

Cue Ali.

Agreed Sandy. We need a win today - can't let these vermin get too far ahead of us.

After reading the Scott Allan article on the BBC Football page (its basically a come get me plea to Scottish clubs that he isn't discarded and done). While I'm very much an advocate for the club cutting its cloth within the transfer market, paying wages in accordance with budgets and not having as many high risk injury prone players as we may do, there is also a time when gambles need to be made where the reward may outweigh the risk. Personally SA is a talent which in this league could be the difference and the give that bit extra to move us from play-offs to title winners. Being only 30, there is still time to sell the club to high (again) and show it as a platform to get back to the Premiership.

It's puzzling why he hasn't signed for anyone yet however I still think he can get a lower half Premiership gig, with a Livi/County/St Johnstone, despite fans of those clubs saying hes done at that level.

3 hours ago, bdu98196 said:

After reading the Scott Allan article on the BBC Football page (its basically a come get me plea to Scottish clubs that he isn't discarded and done). While I'm very much an advocate for the club cutting its cloth within the transfer market, paying wages in accordance with budgets and not having as many high risk injury prone players as we may do, there is also a time when gambles need to be made where the reward may outweigh the risk. Personally SA is a talent which in this league could be the difference and the give that bit extra to move us from play-offs to title winners. Being only 30, there is still time to sell the club to high (again) and show it as a platform to get back to the Premiership.

Couldn't agree more, with Sean Welsh out a talented midfielder such as Allen would be a major asset, but has the heart conditioned worsened on top of his type 1 Diabetes, no doubt that it is odd that he hasn't been picked up but is the aforementioned medical conditions the reason?

3 hours ago, SandyCromarty said:

Couldn't agree more, with Sean Welsh out a talented midfielder such as Allen would be a major asset, but has the heart conditioned worsened on top of his type 1 Diabetes, no doubt that it is odd that he hasn't been picked up but is the aforementioned medical conditions the reason?

Maybe his condition/s have not worsened however I'd think that the insurance premiums (and any other healthcare, physio, medical costs) that would be involved with him having these known conditions, on top of his wage demands, would be far too much for ICT and clubs with similar budgets.  And even if we did take the risk, the problem is that is what it is - a risk.
It's a shame, he's definitely a good player.

C*unty have money to burn, I wouldn't be surprised to see him end up there.

On 12/08/2022 at 16:17, SandyCromarty said:

Cue Ali.

On 13/08/2022 at 10:32, Stephen Malkmus said:

Agreed Sandy. We need a win today - can't let these vermin get too far ahead of us.

😂 A scary level of obsessed which not even Hearts or Partick fans can manage.