Linlithgow Rose 2017-18

Auld Heid

• Replies 1.9k
Come up to the stand with the rest of the old boys.  Or the shed. You must have been the only one standing out in it with no cover.

I like to look up the park as gives the best view (IMO)

Probably not the wisest decision yesterday

1 hour ago, Auld Heid said:

I like to look up the park as gives the best view (IMO)

Probably not the wisest decision yesterday

To be fair, you're not known for your wisdom! 

Chances of a game tomorrow?

Current Forecast for Bo'ness and Linlithgow games is a 50% chance of a flurry of light snow blowing through at noon. But it will blow through quickly and no danger of it putting the games off.
Going to be a bitterly cold day if you are in the wind. Will feel -6C for the players and any exposed fans !!

1 minute ago, bravehearts dad said:

Have the wee Rose got permission from the ref today and Bradley’s instruction to surround the ref if any decisions go against them? A la Bonnyrigg A la Kennoway

Of course,but cant see why the bonnyrigg players would take mark bradleys advice :)

Bonnyrigg were comfortable throughout and punished our every mistake. I thought Hill again looked suspect for a couple of their goals.

Spending fortunes on an infrastructure all very well but not at the expense of the team. People want to come to watch what's on the park.

If you don't balance investment on and off the park results like today are always likely against the better teams.

1 hour ago, Auld Heid said:

Bonnyrigg were comfortable throughout and punished our every mistake. I thought Hill again looked suspect for a couple of their goals.

Spending fortunes on an infrastructure all very well but not at the expense of the team. People want to come to watch what's on the park.

If you don't balance investment on and off the park results like today are always likely against the better teams.

Good to read an honest post from a linlithgow supporter.

3 minutes ago, FuzzyBear said:

By the way was the standside linesman qualified. Offside from a goal kick lol

Seen that a few times this season, you can forgive an honest mistake in the first couple of games but by this stage of the campaign you'd expect them to know the rules of the game.

1 hour ago, findla80 said:

Need a consistent back 4 as well!!! Bonnyrigg deserved the win they outclassed us all over the pitch! Felt a bit for Bradley today he doesn’t have players on the bench to change it!!

We've got a consistent back 4? Thom was ill and Turnbull got carried off. Other than that we've generally played any 4 from 5 across the back.  Which is pretty consistent for a defence.

3 minutes ago, HTG said:

We've got a consistent back 4? Thom was ill and Turnbull got carried off. Other than that we've generally played any 4 from 5 across the back.  Which is pretty consistent for a defence.

HTG  what yer take not spending enough on the team and buying floodlights instead 

19 minutes ago, Sheep77 said:

HTG  what yer take not spending enough on the team and buying floodlights instead 

Floodlights are a red herring. The Rose have spent 60 years trying to get the balance right on and off the pitch. Mostly we get it about right. We've had a difficult time recently that has been hard to take after a brilliant 10 or 12 years. If money was the whole answer there are teams out there who should have won everything  for the period where they had an endless supply from a sugar daddy.  We've had a big turnover of players and we'll have more to come to get us back on track. 

We're a distance better than we were this time last season. We'll be better again next season. This season isn't done and dusted. If we can win our game in hand, we're within 3 points of the favourites for the league.  Anyone giving it up now with 11 to play is off their nut. I'm pretty sure that the Bonnyrigg guys don't think they've won the league yet. 

I didn't think that was a 4 1 game but there's no doubt the better team won on the day. Defended in numbers,  broke with pace and capitalised on our mistakes. We gave the ball away too cheaply and it cost us. We were a bit threadbare because of illness and injury but that's not an excuse because the 11 who started have enough about them and we need to be stronger and better than we showed today.