The St. Mirren FC 2023/24 thread

5 hours ago, Buttocks Brown said:

Our best opening 7 matches in the top flight for 54 years (68/69 season).  If it had been 3 points for a win back then we'd have been on 13 points after 7 games. This season we're on 12.

The last time we won 4 of our first 7 games in the top flight was 59 years ago (63/64 season). Coincidentally, the 4th win in that run was 2-1 v Celtic at Love Street.

Season 1968/69 St Mirren were unbeaten in first 7 games and had equivalent of 13 points on a 3 points for a win basis.

The undefeated run lasted for 11 games and culminated in a 1-0 over Rangers at Love Street in front of a crowd of 42,653 which saw us top of the league with 6 wins and 5 draws (23 points in an equivalent 3 points for a win basis)

Failure to win any of our final 12 games saw us finish 11th

8 hours ago, Captain Saintsible said:

Season 1968/69 St Mirren were unbeaten in first 7 games and had equivalent of 13 points on a 3 points for a win basis.

The undefeated run lasted for 11 games and culminated in a 1-0 over Rangers at Love Street in front of a crowd of 42,653 which saw us top of the league with 6 wins and 5 draws (23 points in an equivalent 3 points for a win basis)

Failure to win any of our final 12 games saw us finish 11th

My first game (as a 5-y-0) - lifted over the turnstyle, absolutely no memories other than the score other than the goal was scored by Hugh GilSHAN. @Arch Stanton

Second in the league!  St Mirren table(s) on 1968-11-16 (fitbastats.com)

18 minutes ago, glenburn bud said:

I wonder what happened to the footballing experts from Lanarkshire who told us our players were rejects and the manager would be hopeless. 

Having seen their comedy defending yesterday, Gallagher and Dunne would walk into their team.

The difference between League Cup and League form is astonishing.

Even in the games we've lost we've not played that badly.

Way better than Well in first game, yet lost.

Down to 10 men after 25 minutes away to Aberdeen was always going to hard.

And IMO, we weren't anywhere near as bad against St J as the 0-3 scoreline suggests.

Yesterday wasn't a back to the wall fluke where we needed a keeper to have the game of his life; we deserved that win.

Can't wait for the next game now!

1 hour ago, Bobby_F said:

The difference between League Cup and League form is astonishing.

Even in the games we've lost we've not played that badly.

Way better than Well in first game, yet lost.

Down to 10 men after 25 minutes away to Aberdeen was always going to hard.

And IMO, we weren't anywhere near as bad against St J as the 0-3 scoreline suggests.

Yesterday wasn't a back to the wall fluke where we needed a keeper to have the game of his life; we deserved that win.

Can't wait for the next game now!

A wee rub of the green would have seen us win the well game

Love that in close season, Jon Obika told Ayunga to come north to Saints as he'd be loved up here and the big guy has just been revelation more or less right away. He's suited perfectly to Scottish football. Big, physical, skillful and strong in possession to bring others into play.

It's no coincidence that he's been best player on park for both Utd and Celtic matches now. Though a lot of credit does go to the reborn, rejuvenated Curtis Main who has complimented him perfectly.

2 hours ago, Doctor Sanchez said:

Aye, we had enough chances to win a few games against Motherwell.  

The St J game still haunts me.  Just didn't turn up at all.  

Think it was at 2-0 that we hit both post and bar in quick succession?

Either of those goes in and we're winning that game, or at least getting a draw.

Not saying that as an 'if only' thing, just pointing out that the 3-0 loss wasn't indicative of how we played that day.

Looking back at last season, we were 3-5-2 and clearly failing at it. Goodwin just couldn’t get it to work.

For all Goodwin performed well for us, Robinson is a much better manager tactically and getting more out of players that Goodwin failed to. And, he’s got the right profile of player in - e.g Ryan Strain who can actually play the RWB role.

11 hours ago, btb said:

My first game (as a 5-y-0) - lifted over the turnstyle, absolutely no memories other than the score other than the goal was scored by Hugh GilSHAN. @Arch Stanton

Second top indeed!

Little wonder you can’t remember anything. Looking at the fog it’s unlikely anyone else can either! 

6CA5C706-9768-427B-A222-A11D53A6E2A5.jpeg

Edited by Captain Saintsible

1 hour ago, Bobby_F said:

Think it was at 2-0 that we hit both post and bar in quick succession?

Either of those goes in and we're winning that game, or at least getting a draw.

Not saying that as an 'if only' thing, just pointing out that the 3-0 loss wasn't indicative of how we played that day.

That's a bit optimistic. We played poorly and it would have pulled us back to 2-1 with something like 12 minutes left.

Not outwith the realms but unfair to say we'd have gotten at least a draw, we were second best to most things at McDairmid that day and didn't really deserve anything, even if 3-0 was flattering.

1 hour ago, aldo_j said:

Looking back at last season, we were 3-5-2 and clearly failing at it. Goodwin just couldn’t get it to work.

For all Goodwin performed well for us, Robinson is a much better manager tactically and getting more out of players that Goodwin failed to. And, he’s got the right profile of player in - e.g Ryan Strain who can actually play the RWB role.

Yeah, Goodwin's 3-5-2 was a lot different and just didn't work at all. Firstly his insistence on playing Fraser on the left, Dunne in the middle and Shaughnessy on the right was mental. He also had the fullbacks so high, with two number 10's, so there was effectively no midfeild apart from Alan Power, who wasn't a good enough passer anyway to be in there, so all we did was hump the ball forward everytime we got it.

The balance now is so much better. Fraser and Dunne look comfortable and Gallagher has been a great signing. O'Hara and Baccus bring and energy to midfeild we didn't have before, and Erhahon is simply a far better player than Power. Strain is a much better player than pretty much anyone we had on the right last season.

The bench also makes a huge difference. Tait can cover both sides without losing much. Our strikers can run themselves into the ground knowing they won't have to play the full 90, we can move to one up with a 10 easily with Kiltie. That's not even mentioning quality players like Shaughnessy and Gogic ready to step in. It's a much better squad than last season.

15 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

That's a bit optimistic. We played poorly and it would have pulled us back to 2-1 with something like 12 minutes left.

Not outwith the realms but unfair to say we'd have gotten at least a draw, we were second best to most things at McDairmid that day and didn't really deserve anything, even if 3-0 was flattering.

I know we're not exactly Celtic (we're better obviously) but the reason there's a cliché about 2-0 being a dangerous score is because it's true.

St J were low on confidence.  We'd won 3 games on the trot.  We score at that point and they absolutely start bricking it and our tails are up.

We might not have scored but in that last 15 minutes it'd have been one way traffic.

We were very poor against the fakes but so were they. We could have been 1 up before two mistakes by Dunne and Henderson gave them a two goal lead. After that it was pretty much one way traffic, although it was toothless, with them getting a very late pen on a breakaway. Greive made a huge difference when he came on and should have been on sooner. The fakes were worthy of their victory as they took their chances and didn't make the two stupid mistakes that we did. But the scoreline flattered them and had we got one back we had 15 mins and the momentum to get a draw. They deserved their win but there was little between two poor team performances on the day.

38 minutes ago, GAD said:

The bench also makes a huge difference. Tait can cover both sides without losing much. Our strikers can run themselves into the ground knowing they won't have to play the full 90, we can move to one up with a 10 easily with Kiltie. That's not even mentioning quality players like Shaughnessy and Gogic ready to step in. It's a much better squad than last season.

Something I really liked yesterday was the negligible effect the loss of both Strain and Tanser had on our play. We were forced into 3 changes in position across that back 5 with more than 20 minutes still to play:

Strain-Fraser-Gallagher-Dunne-Tanser

Fraser-Gogic-Gallagher-Dunn-Tait

The last thing you want is that kind of disruption to your defence when trying to hold onto a lead against Celtic. However, our depth of squad coupled with how well-drilled the players are meant that we could cruise to the final whistle.

19 hours ago, btb said:

I remember that Hughie Gilshan goal Scored in the fog Half the ground didn’t see it! Featured on the cover of programmes for a few weeks The other notable point about that game was Rangers new goal machine Colin Stein failed to score for the first time in a number of games

ETA Oops just noticed the Captain has posted that very photo!

Edited by Danny

9 hours ago, Buttocks Brown said:

Something I really liked yesterday was the negligible effect the loss of both Strain and Tanser had on our play. We were forced into 3 changes in position across that back 5 with more than 20 minutes still to play:

The last thing you want is that kind of disruption to your defence when trying to hold onto a lead against Celtic. However, our depth of squad coupled with how well-drilled the players are meant that we could cruise to the final whistle.

Some change from last season when we would be starting games with only 4 or 5 players on the bench, 2 of them goalkeepers.

16 hours ago, Captain Saintsible said:

Second top indeed!

Little wonder you can’t remember anything. Looking at the fog it’s unlikely anyone else can either! 

6CA5C706-9768-427B-A222-A11D53A6E2A5.jpeg

What a season that was we were 1 point behind Celtic flying in the league. Cold fogey November Hugh Gilshan wins the game for Saints.. We had a great team back then Murray,  Connell , Blair,  Kane Pinkerton who loved taking players on.  Sadly the last quarter of that season we had many injuries dropping points slipping down the table to 11th. 

15 hours ago, Buttocks Brown said:

Yes. Equally good players in the waiting if we lose a player through injury, suspension or tiredness as the game goes on. When Tait came on, I thought this is a great option to have on the bench at this moment in the game and he fits in perfectly and gets up and down the park.

Something I really admired about our tactics, was that we kept our shape, started with 2 upfront and really only dropped to one off the striker (Kiltie) late on, still with the intention of getting forward. Under Goodwin, we would start with a negative formation against Celtic and Rangers and hope that we see a game out late enough to change the shape late on to try and snatch a point or a win. Well done Robinson for having belief and being brave.