Oor Nicola Sturgeon thread.

Pearbuyerbell

I see Wings and Kenny MacAskill are continuing their "bash the FM" personal crusades.   

Wings isn't happy with the SNP because he's wanting votes for his 'Wings party'  - when and if he forms it.  

Kenny MacAskill is still bitter Nicola sacked him from cabinet.   

There isn't too many egos in the Yes movement, just the shouty pushy ones always reach the front.  
There's some in AOUB doing the same - fucking yer da arseholes in the extreme

I love my mum to bits, and she's no Daily Heil reader, but over the Xmas hols, totally unprompted, she picked up the paper (i) and announced 'I'm sick of the sight of that bloody woman'. And to my shame, I fucking went off on one. Asked her if she'd rather see that c*** Johnson instead, and what did she expect as she *is* the most important politician in the country. Told her she'd obviously spent too much time listening to the fuckwit old biddies at the Rural.

She was somewhat taken aback, and hasn't said anything since... 

5 minutes ago, Utter Roaster said:

I love my mum to bits, and she's no Daily Heil reader, but over the Xmas hols, totally unprompted, she picked up the paper (i) and announced 'I'm sick of the sight of that bloody woman'. And to my shame, I fucking went off on one. Asked her if she'd rather see that c*** Johnson instead, and what did she expect as she *is* the most important politician in the country. Told her she'd obviously spent too much time listening to the fuckwit old biddies at the Rural.

My mum is the same. She hates Sturgeon and the SNP but couldn't tell you why or give you policies she disagrees with. Its actually an interesting look into the affect of the constant propaganda from the British media for the last ten years on the average person who only watches BBC or STV and reads local newspapers.  

Know the feeling , been there with my mum as well, but after years of explaining ( and banning newspapers) she finally changed to SNP voting in December. Had to do it without using seeary words , was really hard. Don't give you, keep pushing and explaining. Another trick is always phone her when you know the BBC news will be on!

On 04/01/2020 at 21:41, MixuFixit said:

Hah no doubt. Shows how jarring and tone deaf their attacks on the baby box were. I said at the time criticising giving babies free stuff was a novel approach.

"Yes, but they're doing it on purpose" (c) G Foulkes.

On 06/01/2020 at 23:40, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

My mum is the same. She hates Sturgeon and the SNP but couldn't tell you why or give you policies she disagrees with. Its actually an interesting look into the affect of the constant propaganda from the British media for the last ten years on the average person who only watches BBC or STV and reads local newspapers.  

Girlfriend's parents are prime examples of this too.

Otherwise lovely, sensible people, but they're the generation that still gets the Daily Mail delivered to the front door every day. Her Mother has blamed Nicola Sturgeon for all sorts of nonsensical wrongs and evils. Speed bumps are apparently Sturgeon's brainchild, and to hear how vitriolic she is about this you'd think she's personally caught Sturgeon out laying speed bumps in the middle of the night.

Her Dad also describes the girlfriend as 'staunch' SNP, which is amusing coming from a Mail-reading ex-copper. She nearly belted me when I threatened to ask him if that was a term he picked up at the Lodge. He's no even a Tory or a Rangersy type at all, which is bemusing.

Oh and surprise surprise, both voted 'No' in 2014 and 'Leave' in 2016, even thought her father later admitted to her that they would be fine no matter what thanks to their big pensions, but he was really concerned for her because of what might happen to a woman trying to pay a mortgage on a middling income. So there you have it. The Britnat propaganda is so insidious it causes parents to prioritise the few years remaining of their own lives, which will be perfectly comfortable regardless, over the fates of their children who might yet live for another 40 years+.

I've told her over and over to go around to the newsagent and fucking cancel their Daily Mail delivery, and direct them to something like Reuters if they actually want to read news instead of blatantly biased propaganda, but no, they'll no have it. Sadly, they're indicative of a generation that still hasn't twigged that 'News'papers are no longer anything of the sort, and only serve to promote the interests and agendas of their owners.

Edited by Boo Khaki

Funny my girlfriends family are the same.

Literally begged us before the last referendum to vote anyone but SNP because they want to ruin Brexit.

Needless to say the family are all pretty well off.

I think the telling thing about the continuing influence of print media on the older generations is this -

Whenever I've asked anyone over 60 to explain to me why they voted to leave the EU, half of them can't actually give any coherent, logical reason for it, but the remainder just repeat the same old untruths and factual nonsense you see in the headlines of the Express etc. I put the former lot down to the 'quiet' xenophobes, the 'we didnae win the war to be dictated to by Germans' brigade etc, and then, as sickening as it is, there will be a portion of them who are just flat out racist and see all immigration as inherently problematic and negative. But the main point is, I've never heard a single one make a case that I thought 'Ok, fair enough, I disagree but I can see your point and the sense of your postion'. I'd have no issue at all with anyone who did that even though I voted remain myself.

Under 60's, slightly different story. Pished Rangersy type the other night int he pub. He's a decent enough sort in most respects, but when I say 'Rangersy' I mean in the sense that you're never in any doubt where his convictions and political ideologies lie. At least though, he made some sort of coherent case for his leave vote, arguing that as someone who works in catering he's sick of being undercut by what he describes as 'cowboy' eastern europeans, so wants them binned off to benefit his own prospects. Now I argued a bit with him about my take on that, if the cowboys are genuinely shoddy/shadey their customer base wont last, and if he thinks binning EU migratory workers is going to somehow motivate UK residents into doing shitty jobs for peanuts he's deluded, that sort of thing, but at least I could see that he'd given some thought to the issue and at least he tried to give an honest, cogent explanation for his 'Leave' vote.

Now I'm not suggesting that there aren't also complete idiots of all ages who genuinely have no clue why they voted the way they did, or chose to do so for unsavoury reasons, but every time I hear Uberyoon jingoistic bullshit spouted as a reason for leaving, it comes from an over-60. Crap like 'Merkel wants an EU Army', 'They're gonna make us use the Euro', that sort of pish that's endlessly repeated in certain rags.

Folk make the mistake of thinking that because newspaper circulation figures imply they are dying on their arses that the print media is no longer relevant. The problem is, the folk who are still reading shitrags like the Mail and Express, are the very folk who are first in the queue for every election at 7am in the morning, i.e. the over 65's who vote in every single election no matter how important or trivial. If these shitrags are the only thing influencing their world view, as appears to be the case, then it's still a massive problem.

Edited by Boo Khaki

13 minutes ago, Gaz FFC said:

Old folk in being selfish auld dicks shocker.

Said itt before and I will say it again. The worst generation on the planet by quite some distance. Entitled and Gullible, stupid auld cocks

Well this is the thing, Girlfriend's parents are not stupid people. 

Voting for Brexit might be an act of stupidity, depending on your view. What I can't get my head around is otherwise sensible, intelligent people voting for it, who then can not mount any sort of coherent argument for having done so. This, I can only put down to being fed a constant diet of utter shite from practically their only source of news. Like I said, they're not inherently stupid people, on the contrary, her mother is academically remarkably bright for a woman of her era and background.

Edited by Boo Khaki

2 minutes ago, Boo Khaki said:

Voting for Brexit might be an act of stupidity, depending on your view. What I can't get my head around is otherwise sensible, intelligent people voting for it, who then can not mount any sort of coherent argument for having done so. This, I can only put down to being fed a constant diet of utter shite from practically their only source of news. Like I said, they're not inherently stupid people, on the contrary, her mother is academically remarkably bright for a woman of her era and background.

Cannot accept anyone stupid enough to read/believe the DM is clever. Sorry

This is my mother - two degrees but reads and believes every bit of shit she is fed by the Mail.

11 minutes ago, Gaz FFC said:

Cannot accept anyone stupid enough to read/believe the DM is clever. Sorry

They've been reading it since they were teenagers. The issue is that they don't have a comparator, so it's never occurred to them that the Mail is not a source of 'news' despite being considered a 'newspaper'. It's always had an agenda, historically, but the degree to which the newspapers totally ignore fact and print pure conjecture and propaganda as 'news' has ramped up exponentially in the past twenty years or so.

The shite they print is so factually erroneous that they'd never have gotten away with it in the past. The problem is their circulations have shrunk to the point whereby folk with the wherewithal to challenge it don't even read newspapers any more because they recognise it's a diet of biased shite dictated by the owners. You can hardly write off folk with practically no other sources of information as 'stupid', especially when it's self-evident they're far from that.

'Gullible' perhaps, because they are still naive enough to believe that whatever the Mail prints about Sturgeon, Brexit etc must be 'factual' and 'news' because otherwise they'd land themselves in the shit, but they're not stupid. They come from a different era and still think newspapers can be somewhat trusted to report 'fact', that's the issue.

Edited by Boo Khaki

4 minutes ago, Boo Khaki said:

They've been reading it since they were teenagers. The issue is that they don't have a comparator, so it's never occurred to them that the Mail is not a source of 'news' despite being considered a 'newspaper'. It's always had an agenda, historically, but the degree to which the newspapers totally ignore fact and print pure conjecture and propaganda as 'news' has ramped up exponentially in the past twenty years or so.

The shite they print is so factually erroneous that they'd never have gotten away with it in the past. The problem is their circulations have shrunk to the point whereby folk with the wherewithal to challenge it don't even read newspapers any more because they recognise it's a diet of biased shite dictated by the owners. You can hardly write off folk with practically no other sources of information as 'stupid', especially when it's self-evident they're far from that.

I wouldn't have thought so either but here we are

My parents are the same. Both well into their 70s, and believe everything the Daily Mail prints. The really depressing thing is that my old man used to be fairly socialist in outlook. He worked in manufacturing in the 80s, lost a few jobs as Thatcher's de-industrialisation closed company after company down, and times were pretty hard. Now that he's retired, he's transformed into an out and out right-wing Tory, and utterly seethes at all things SNP-related and will believe virtually anything printed about them. A shining example is prior to the 2014 Referendum a fake meme was doing the rounds on Facebook of John Swinney next to a pile of money, claiming this was Scotland's new currency "exposed". It was clearly total nonsense but he fell for it hook, line and sinker and was going mental. He also voted for Brexit, no surprise as he's been going on about "immigrants" for years, despite never having worked in a job or being in competition with them in any way when he had his own business. I've only recently managed to stop him using the word "coons" ffs. 

The cherry on top of the cake of his total minterness was when he spent a while trolling the local town's Facebook page with Tory shite, and ended with him posting a rant about folk should have to pay for the NHS as it's no longer sustainable in it's current form. He'd just had several months of potentially lifesaving treatment, btw. Someone called him out on his right-wing pish, so his response was to write to the Courier to complain about nationalists bullying him online 😂

My mum just goes along with whatever his views are. Are the pair of them get older I find it increasingly hard to have any respect for either of them. 

My bird's parent's aren't quite as bad, but both voted Tory, and for brexit. This after having their disabled son left in financial difficulty after having his PIP stopped and my partner having a serious brain injury and herself having a pretty traumatic time going through the assessment and appeal process. 

So yeah, old folk are largely arseholes (not ALL of them before old man Danger gets triggered)

Different set of circumstances for me. My Father in law is a weegie. Rangers fan but not one I'd describe as being a *** (which probably doesn't make sense). Has voted SNP for years and as soon as my wife was old enough to vote he'd make her go to the polling station and vote SNP.

4 hours ago, Day of the Lords said:

My parents are the same. Both well into their 70s, and believe everything the Daily Mail prints. The really depressing thing is that my old man used to be fairly socialist in outlook. He worked in manufacturing in the 80s, lost a few jobs as Thatcher's de-industrialisation closed company after company down, and times were pretty hard. Now that he's retired, he's transformed into an out and out right-wing Tory, and utterly seethes at all things SNP-related and will believe virtually anything printed about them. A shining example is prior to the 2014 Referendum a fake meme was doing the rounds on Facebook of John Swinney next to a pile of money, claiming this was Scotland's new currency "exposed". It was clearly total nonsense but he fell for it hook, line and sinker and was going mental. He also voted for Brexit, no surprise as he's been going on about "immigrants" for years, despite never having worked in a job or being in competition with them in any way when he had his own business. I've only recently managed to stop him using the word "coons" ffs. 

The cherry on top of the cake of his total minterness was when he spent a while trolling the local town's Facebook page with Tory shite, and ended with him posting a rant about folk should have to pay for the NHS as it's no longer sustainable in it's current form. He'd just had several months of potentially lifesaving treatment, btw. Someone called him out on his right-wing pish, so his response was to write to the Courier to complain about nationalists bullying him online 😂

My mum just goes along with whatever his views are. Are the pair of them get older I find it increasingly hard to have any respect for either of them. 

My bird's parent's aren't quite as bad, but both voted Tory, and for brexit. This after having their disabled son left in financial difficulty after having his PIP stopped and my partner having a serious brain injury and herself having a pretty traumatic time going through the assessment and appeal process. 

So yeah, old folk are largely arseholes (not ALL of them before old man Danger gets triggered)

Bit of a strange caveat to the final paragraph as you obviously think I am an arsehole.

There was an bit in the Independent a couple of weeks back showing the GE results based upon age.  Frightening and thoroughly depressing.  Age has become the determining factor in voting.  Kill off all the 45+ people and we would have a far more progressive society.

I would love to think that things will change over the next 10 or 20 years but I am frightened by the prospect that most of those in their 30s and 40s will morph politically into their existing 50 and 60 year old counterparts in the years to come.

The cherry on top of the cake of his total minterness was when he spent a while trolling the local town's Facebook page with Tory shite, and ended with him posting a rant about folk should have to pay for the NHS as it's no longer sustainable in it's current form. He'd just had several months of potentially lifesaving treatment, btw. Someone called him out on his right-wing pish, so his response was to write to the Courier to complain about nationalists bullying him online [emoji23]

Mum's the same - went from Communist voting leftwinger to a Tory to the right of Ghenghis Khan. No in 2014. Rabid Brexiter. Obsessed with how much foreign aid the UK spends.