New clubs in the East of Scotland

4 hours ago, RobM said:

What's happening to Warout?

Player of the year /casino night for tomorrow cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances and new date and venue being sought, strong rumours about that the social club is getting closed down, dilapidation order served on Warout Stadium, club relegated, it doesn't look promising.

Edited by Truthteller

Player of the year /casino night for tomorrow cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances and new date and venue being sought, strong rumours about that the social club is getting closed down, dilapidation order served on Warout Stadium, club relegated, it doesn't look promising.

It's quite a novelty seeing this large as life fife poster not at the wind ups for a change.

I believe the social club has gone.

The taxpayer may also be owed more than a few quid.

Noticed this regarding Kirkcaldy YM, who have formed a partnership with other clubs and also mentioned ground improvements (i.e. enclosing it).

https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/juniors-renamed-as-kirkcaldy-ym-and-dysart-merge-to-form-community-football-partnership-1-4938138

Cllr Cameron also stated that Kirkcaldy & Dysart FC have no immediate plans to follow the recent mass exodus of junior clubs into the East of Scotland League.

“We’re happy at the moment to stay junior,” he said.

“We’ll look at in year on year, but we’ll definitely be junior next year – it suits us.

“One or two East of Scotland clubs may well come back to the juniors because it’s not been what they wanted.

“The problem is they now need floodlights to get their SFA licence and clubs have no chance of progressing because they’re never going to have the finances to do these things.

“Until we get a bit more competitive and maybe outgrow the league we’re in, we’re happy to stay where we are.”

Noticed this regarding Kirkcaldy YM, who have formed a partnership with other clubs and also mentioned ground improvements (i.e. enclosing it).

https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/juniors-renamed-as-kirkcaldy-ym-and-dysart-merge-to-form-community-football-partnership-1-4938138

Cllr Cameron also stated that Kirkcaldy & Dysart FC have no immediate plans to follow the recent mass exodus of junior clubs into the East of Scotland League.

“We’re happy at the moment to stay junior,” he said.

“We’ll look at in year on year, but we’ll definitely be junior next year – it suits us.

“One or two East of Scotland clubs may well come back to the juniors because it’s not been what they wanted.

“The problem is they now need floodlights to get their SFA licence and clubs have no chance of progressing because they’re never going to have the finances to do these things.

“Until we get a bit more competitive and maybe outgrow the league we’re in, we’re happy to stay where we are.”

The only clubs that are heading to the ERJFA are the ones refused entry by the EOS. Even if clubs can’t get a licence what’s the appeal to move back, are games against Kirkcaldy YM any more appealing than games against Burntisland? The ERJFA won’t exist in 5 years the remaining clubs south of the Tay will be EOS or amateur by then.

The only thing the ERJFA offers that the EOS doesn’t is the Junior Cup and if the best of the WRJFA Leave then that’s gone, if they stay clubs like Kirkcaldy YM would get destroyed by them.

Not having a go at the ERJFA but the fact is the game is a bogey in the East for clubs south of the Tay and clubs really need to wake up to this. 5 years ago the ERJFA had a better league product than the LL and EOS could offer with an attractive national cup contest where as the LL and EOS could only offer club licenses as an incentive. Fast forward and Kelty and Dalkeith opened the floodgates shifting the power. Now the LL and EOS offer the better league product all the ERJFA can offer is the Junior Cup and that’ll be over if the WOS goes ahead.

3 hours ago, Truthteller said:

Dull yin, great wee place for a game.

11 hours ago, Ginaro said:

Given the amount of change they are going through, probably best not to chuck in leaving the Juniors as well next season, although that said they get better access to grants as a senior (EoS) club, which would help in improving Denfield.

Where they get the idea that one or two clubs will go back to the Juniors from the EoS I don't know, I assume it's the pish being spouted at ERJFA meetings. Floodlights/Licence are only relevant if you think you can play LL football or want access to the Scottish Cup, and Kirkcaldy won't trouble the LL anytime soon, meanwhile you can work away over a number of years to raise funds for lights.

8 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

Given the amount of change they are going through, probably best not to chuck in leaving the Juniors as well next season, although that said they get better access to grants as a senior (EoS) club, which would help in improving Denfield.

Where they get the idea that one or two clubs will go back to the Juniors from the EoS I don't know, I assume it's the pish being spouted at ERJFA meetings. Floodlights/Licence are only relevant if you think you can play LL football or want access to the Scottish Cup, and Kirkcaldy won't trouble the LL anytime soon, meanwhile you can work away over a number of years to raise funds for lights.

Depends on how in the loop they are over the bo'ness & linlithgow junior teams. There's been some confusion over that.

2 minutes ago, FairWeatherFan said:

Depends on how in the loop they are over the bo'ness & linlithgow junior teams. There's been some confusion over that.

You'd have to be a special kind of stupid if you think that's the real clubs moving back.

12 hours ago, San Starko Rover said:

...The ERJFA won’t exist in 5 years the remaining clubs south of the Tay will be EOS or amateur by then...

There are still some welfare teams kicking about and the juveniles lingered for a long time after they lost their relevance so never say never on this one.

1 hour ago, FairWeatherFan said:

Some might think it, especially after being led to believe it.

The floodlights bit doesn't fit though. Might not go down well on this particular subforum but would anybody be hugely shocked if Oakley decided that the ERSJFA might be a better fit? The main thing that's clear from that article is that it's only one or two that might move back, because the pecking order has now been clearly established as SPFL > LL > EoS > ERSJFA.

14 minutes ago, LongTimeLurker said:

The floodlights bit doesn't fit though. Might not go down well on this particular subforum but would anybody be hugely shocked if Oakley decided that the ERSJFA might be a better fit? The main thing that's clear from that article is that it's only one or two that might move back, because the pecking order has now been clearly established as SPFL > LL > EoS > ERSJFA.

Oakley in particular were considered a surprise move last year as I remember they were seen as staunch juniors.

It was also about a month or so ago they announced a tie up with a youth club and I believe are looking to put in a u20s LL team.

They might not necessarily having licensing in mind but they've been putting those types of moves together which suggests they are happy enough.

There often seems an assumption that clubs only moved to get licensed and go for promotion into LL. That is surely an over-simplification. No doubt a few moved because everyone else were going (near enough) and they wanted to remain with clubs in their own area. Literally everyone in East Lothian, Midlothian and Edinburgh moved... If we take Fife as an example there are only about 5 left in the Juniors, IIRC - Thornton, Lochgelly, Rosyth, Kirkcaldy, Kennoway? - so there will be as many or more senior clubs next season, even without counting Kelty or SPFL quartet. Geographically speaking Blackburn alone must be "camped in Junior country" nowadays.

Others may have moved as they regarded it as a better environment, more attractive proposition, higher profile or for specific reasons e.g. U20s league (Arniston are also running a team next season IIRC).

With the arrival of Glenrothes some 27 clubs will have left the Juniors for the EOSL between 2017 and 2019, but only three-fifths of those seem to have gone for a license so far, IIRC.

There often seems an assumption that clubs only moved to get licensed and go for promotion into LL. That is surely an over-simplification. No doubt a few moved because everyone else were going (near enough) and they wanted to remain with clubs in their own area. Literally everyone in East Lothian, Midlothian and Edinburgh moved... If we take Fife as an example there are only about 5 left in the Juniors, IIRC - Thornton, Lochgelly, Rosyth, Kirkcaldy, Kennoway? - so there will be as many or more senior clubs next season, even without counting Kelty or SPFL quartet. Geographically speaking Blackburn alone must be "camped in Junior country" nowadays.

Others may have moved as they regarded it as a better environment, more attractive proposition, higher profile or for specific reasons e.g. U20s league (Arniston are also running a team next season IIRC).

With the arrival of Glenrothes some 27 clubs will have left the Juniors for the EOSL between 2017 and 2019, but only three-fifths of those seem to have gone for a license so far, IIRC.
Not like you to make so many errors.
Newburgh, lochore, Tayport you can add to Fife
Makes that only about 8

Did forget Lochore. Granted if include Newburgh and Tayport up on the Tay, but they aren't local to other Fife teams (indeed have Tayport not always played in Tayside not Fife cups/leagues etc?).
Tayport played in Tayside Junior League when they joined in 1990. Before that the Midlands Amateur League (they also ran a 3rd XI in Fife in the 80s).

Just to correct you before they turned junior their 1st team did indeed play in the Midlands amateurs. The fife xi they ran in the east fife league was their 2nd team in terms of ability. In turn they ran also ran a team in the Midlands alliance (reserve) league at that time. By the time the juniors were formed the amateurs were down to one team in the Midlands. That team unfortunately folded in due course.

My point to hibee was they are "local" to eos territory just the same as St Andrews.