Polling: 2017 General Election, Council Elections and Independence

Just now, Baxter Parp said:

Er...yes?

Eh...naw.

It has nothing to do with immigration.....or reserved trade powers.....It's about boosting Scottish infrastructure and transport links to the continent, which most definitely does not come under the auspices of reserved powers. It's completely within the competence of Holyrood.

If Scotgov are in any way serious about independence and rejoining the EU in any of our lifetimes, then it's exactly the kind of project they need to be seriously looking at.

Just now, git-intae-thum said:

Eh...naw.

It has nothing to do with immigration.....or reserved trade powers.....It's about boosting Scottish infrastructure and transport links to the continent, which most definitely does not come under the auspices of reserved powers. It's completely within the competence of Holyrood.

If Scotgov are in any way serious about independence and rejoining the EU in any of our lifetimes, then it's exactly the kind of project they need to be seriously looking at.

But this is nonsense.  There is an existing ferry port at Rosyth, what possible justification is there for building/improving another one if that one is already unused? ScotGov would get torn apart by Audit Scotland, the UK Government, Holyrood and the MSM.

43 minutes ago, Baxter Parp said:

But this is nonsense.  There is an existing ferry port at Rosyth, what possible justification is there for building/improving another one if that one is already unused? ScotGov would get torn apart by Audit Scotland, the UK Government, Holyrood and the MSM.

...You are maybe getting yourself a wee bit confused between ferry ports and container/cargo ports.

If Scotland is to become an independent state and specifically an EU member we will require ports. Not passenger ports but freight/container ports. Without them all our import/export goods will continue to transit rUK and attract probable delays and punitive tariffs. It is something that needs addressed pre independence.

Fwiw, I was just using the unused facilities at Methil as an example. I am not making a point about Methil docks in particular

Scotlands only sizeable container port on the East coast is Grangemouth, which is understandably mainly adapted to suit the petrochemical industry. We do not have a freight container port.

Now if Independence in Europe is the goal, then long term Strategic thinking would suggest that targeted investment for regeneration of deprived East coast port towns and their facilities ain't a bad idea.

Despite the nonsensical blabber about trade and immigration you came out with, such regeneration initiatives are completely within Scotgovs competence. If they are marketed as regeneration and show some creation of wealth and enterprise, Audit Scotland would have no reason to criticize. If an intended consequence  is increased port capacity, then job done. ......and who cares what the Yoon opposition or MSM thinks...they would criticize anyway.

It is something that is long overdue serious consideration.

Edited by git-intae-thum

5 hours ago, git-intae-thum said:

...You are maybe getting yourself a wee bit confused between ferry ports and container/cargo ports.

If Scotland is to become an independent state and specifically an EU member we will require ports. Not passenger ports but freight/container ports. Without them all our import/export goods will continue to transit rUK and attract probable delays and punitive tariffs. It is something that needs addressed pre independence.

Fwiw, I was just using the unused facilities at Methil as an example. I am not making a point about Methil docks in particular

Scotlands only sizeable container port on the East coast is Grangemouth, which is understandably mainly adapted to suit the petrochemical industry. We do not have a freight container port.

Now if Independence in Europe is the goal, then long term Strategic thinking would suggest that targeted investment for regeneration of deprived East coast port towns and their facilities ain't a bad idea.

Despite the nonsensical blabber about trade and immigration you came out with, such regeneration initiatives are completely within Scotgovs competence. If they are marketed as regeneration and show some creation of wealth and enterprise, Audit Scotland would have no reason to criticize. If an intended consequence  is increased port capacity, then job done. ......and who cares what the Yoon opposition or MSM thinks...they would criticize anyway.

It is something that is long overdue serious consideration.

Have to agree with you here. No doubt Covid hit at the wrong moment for the proposed Groningen route, though apparently securing commercial funding had proved difficult.

There had been plans for a Rosyth container port as far back as 2010? I guess that we would need to regenerate some of the rail links around Rosyth to cope with the large freight trains?

It absolutely is something that needs looked at and is well overdue. 

The most vital part of a port's success is road access and with dual carriageways north and south and west to all parts of the central belt then Rosyth is in a prime location.

Scandinavian trade could be dealt with from Aberdeen, presently the largest port project in the UK is at Aberdeen's South Harbour expansion costing £350 Million, have a look at their website.

Eh? Rosyth is a cargo port.

https://www.forthports.co.uk/our-ports/rosyth/

And Grangemouth is not mainly adapted to the petro-chemical industry.

https://www.forthports.co.uk/our-ports/grangemouth/

If you have to make up shit to support your argument, maybe you should have a rethink.

9 minutes ago, Pato said:

I hope Labour can overtake the tories into second place. The lib dems must surely be close to disintegrating into islands autonomy parties.

I briefly thought the same, but I’ve come round to thinking that independence is a thing made more likely by the Tories fronting pro-London-rule Scottish puppetry rather than Labour. Labour were a force against Indy in 2014; they’ve been hollowed out north and south of the border since then, but a resurgence might well lead to a rerun of 2014 in any future Indyref debate, in which they’re in a position to hoodwink swathes of the public into thinking the future of the UK will be brighter and less Tory. So aye, f**k ‘em. The Tories being the opposition party of hard, NI-style unionism is probably better for independence. Their loathsomeness deserves maximum attention.

1 hour ago, Highland Capital said:

So there could well be Salmond's desired 'supermajority' afterall - it'll be due to a Green surge though, not from his ragtag mob.

If anything, I think Alba has led to SNP supporters actually thinking about their constituency vote. Hence the Greens picking up more. Its not the outcome he wanted but it still achieves the fabled super majority. 

2 hours ago, Antlion said:

I briefly thought the same, but I’ve come round to thinking that independence is a thing made more likely by the Tories fronting pro-London-rule Scottish puppetry rather than Labour. Labour were a force against Indy in 2014; they’ve been hollowed out north and south of the border since then, but a resurgence might well lead to a rerun of 2014 in any future Indyref debate, in which they’re in a position to hoodwink swathes of the public into thinking the future of the UK will be brighter and less Tory. So aye, f**k ‘em. The Tories being the opposition party of hard, NI-style unionism is probably better for independence. Their loathsomeness deserves maximum attention.

you could also add the comedy factor of DRoss facing up to Nicola every week in FMQ's

4 hours ago, Highland Capital said:

So there could well be Salmond's desired 'supermajority' afterall - it'll be due to a Green surge though, not from his ragtag mob.

What he has done is made people think about the list vote - and they are choosing The Greens.

5 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

What he has done is made people think about the list vote - and they are choosing The Greens.

Seems like it.  The people on the more left side of the SNP will listen to what he's said and realise that in essentially every region apart from H&I and probably the South, an SNP list vote is basically pointless and are backing a party with a much stronger base and a much better track record than Salmond's gang of Jimmy Hat-wearing, Wings-adoring, Saltire-flying-from-their-fence weirdos.