Polling: 2017 General Election, Council Elections and Independence

5 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

For sure the 'being Scottish' agenda is being cranked up but they are forgetting who holds the balance of power:  Voters in Scotland who aren't native Scots.

When they do their wee parades in their Jimmy bunnets accompanied by bagpipes they feel all proud - but are missing the main point:  To put together a credible case for an independent Scotland you have to talk sense to the 17/18% of the Scottish electorate who weren't born in Scotland.  I see no evidence of this happening.

How about we just let time do its job and the bigoted fuckwits in Scotland die out. Then a native majority and EU citizens will see us through to Indy.

3 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

That's you just appointed Snipper campaign manager.  That subtle approach will work wonders.

Subtlety doesn't work in politics anymore. Just look at the complete shite show called Brexit. Boris is an absolute bellend with the temperment of a 3 year old. But he'll still get his majority regardless.

5 minutes ago, git-intae-thum said:

How about we just let time do its job and the bigoted fuckwits in Scotland die out. Then a native majority and EU citizens will see us through to Indy.

It was the non-Scots - some EU and some not - who cunted you last time.  If there is a next time they will do the same as the rhetoric has got even worse.

11 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

It was the non-Scots - some EU and some not - who cunted you last time.  If there is a next time they will do the same as the rhetoric has got even worse.

"Dear EU citizens..... vote against your own self interests. We promise to set you free after helping us trap Scotland forever." - Westminster xx

1 minute ago, git-intae-thum said:

Yeah very good...........but total pish.

Glad you think so.  Carry on with the brain-dead "we'd be independent were it not for Rangers fans, Orangemen and coffin-dodgers" routine whilst ignoring where the balance of power lies.

15 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Glad you think so.  Carry on with the brain-dead "we'd be independent were it not for Rangers fans, Orangemen and coffin-dodgers" routine whilst ignoring where the balance of power lies.

Statistically speaking....

giphy.gif

10 hours ago, welshbairn said:

One with customs checks and physical infrastructure? The kind they want to avoid in Ireland?

f**k me, you really are stupid. 

I take it you've flown before - maybe to somewhere in Europe. Have you not noticed the green "nothing to declare" channel where you simply walk out of the airport without any physical checks? 

That's exactly what is in your picture. A road off to the left for nothing to declare, and a customs check point for those who wish to make declarations. 

7 hours ago, oaksoft said:

Ach it's not going to be a disaster no matter who gets into power.

I know. Sometimes you have to wonder if any of these Nationalists have left primary school yet. The way they role out some of the most ridiculous hyperbolic rhetoric is utterly laughable.

15 hours ago, welshbairn said:

Here's a picture of the hard border between Sweden and Norway.

1280px-%E8%BF%9B%E5%85%A5%E6%8C%AA%E5%A8

Interesting that they have bumps in the road to prevent flatulence.

What will they think of next?

7 hours ago, Pet Jeden said:

Are you the sort that tries to take the piss out of foreign names? Not Scottish enough for you, eh?

Na pet, i find the over-privileged p***k that is about to be crowned as head boy totally abhorrent.  I'll never refer to him with the same "borus" affection you do and if he had a "Scottish" name, it would be tumshie.

Instead of getting a rage-boner about me referencing one of his middle names, why not get angry that this cretin will be shafting your country in favour of london and the south east ??

Now, that's worth getting angry about, n'est ce pas ??

5 minutes ago, hearthammer said:

Na pet, i find the over-privileged p***k that is about to be crowned as head boy totally abhorrent.  I'll never refer to him with the same "borus" affection you do and if he had a "Scottish" name, it would be tumshie.

Instead of getting a rage-boner about me referencing one of his middle names, why not get angry that this cretin will be shafting your country in favour of london and the south east ??

Now, that's worth getting angry about, n'est ce pas ??

Aye, very good. Pas de problème.  But play the ball...

9 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

For sure the 'being Scottish' agenda is being cranked up but they are forgetting who holds the balance of power:  Voters in Scotland who aren't native Scots.

When they do their wee parades in their Jimmy bunnets accompanied by bagpipes they feel all proud - but are missing the main point:  To put together a credible case for an independent Scotland you have to talk sense to the 17/18% of the Scottish electorate who weren't born in Scotland.  I see no evidence of this happening.

1. Independence marchers in Jimmy bunnets - really? Not been on such a march myself, but (to stereotype),  I would expect a more, CND hippyish, cord jacket lecturer, tweed jacket old school Nat, and youngsters in whatever youngsters wear look. But not the lad-on-a-stag-weekend fancy dress look.

2. wtf is wrong with bagpipes ? (played well)

3. A vote is a vote, whoever it comes from.

I hate to break this to you but you are screwed on 3 points as regards independence.
1. We are not going to be getting permission for Indyref2 any time soon and nobody seems to have a clue how to change that.
2. There's no polling evidence of much change in opinion since 2014 despite everything which has happened since then so even if we get Indyref2 there's no evidence at all that we'll get a different result. Then the issue really would be permanently put to bed.
3. Even if we get independence, the country absolutely isn't ready. We have too much dependency. I've spoken elsewhere about the chip on shoulder problem and the attitude problem of blaming others for our problems, the culture of avoiding responsibility and the endless grievance culture as well. We are not entrepeneurial enough. We have a population with too many expecting a socialist utopia of milk and honey. When that inevitably fails to materialise those same people will bring the country to its knees with their negativity and their anger.
The timing is all wrong and people are not ready IMO. I won't vote for independence until I see evidence of that changing.

So we're too dependent and lack the self confidence as a nation to go it alone and your solution is to ....ehm continue being dependent and lacking the self confidence to go it alone.

Cool [emoji106][emoji23]

I hate to break this to you but you are screwed on 3 points as regards independence.
1. We are not going to be getting permission for Indyref2 any time soon and nobody seems to have a clue how to change that.
2. There's no polling evidence of much change in opinion since 2014 despite everything which has happened since then so even if we get Indyref2 there's no evidence at all that we'll get a different result. Then the issue really would be permanently put to bed.
3. Even if we get independence, the country absolutely isn't ready. We have too much dependency. I've spoken elsewhere about the chip on shoulder problem and the attitude problem of blaming others for our problems, the culture of avoiding responsibility and the endless grievance culture as well. We are not entrepeneurial enough. We have a population with too many expecting a socialist utopia of milk and honey. When that inevitably fails to materialise those same people will bring the country to its knees with their negativity and their anger.
The timing is all wrong and people are not ready IMO. I won't vote for independence until I see evidence of that changing.

Point number 3 really sums your depressing attitude up

9 hours ago, Malky3 said:

f**k me, you really are stupid. 

I take it you've flown before - maybe to somewhere in Europe. Have you not noticed the green "nothing to declare" channel where you simply walk out of the airport without any physical checks? 

That's exactly what is in your picture. A road off to the left for nothing to declare, and a customs check point for those who wish to make declarations. 

Any form of customs declaration point means a border by definition is most definitely not "soft". A soft border has no customs clearance procedure in place.  Using your example all UK airports are "soft" borders currently.  This isn't about soft and hard anyway it's about whether there is a physical border or not. There most definitely is between Norway and Sweden and most definitely isn't on the Island of Ireland so stop talking utter keich on subjects you clearly have absolutely no knowledge on what-so-ever.