The Famous Aberdeen European Tour 17/18

NorthernLights

How? The Cypriot league is a higher standard than ours.

This is the mentality we seem to have learned from the English. Some sort of divine right to be better than smaller nations.

Our game is stagnating while other countries players are getting better.

It's only going to get worse as well unless the entire game is shaken up.

I'm sure Doncaster is all over it [emoji21]

Spot on. It's just complete ignorance or arrogance to think losing to a Cypriot team is embarrassing.

In the last 8 season Cyprus have had a team play in the CL 3 times, once making the QF. Also had a team in the EL 3 times, once making the L16. APOEL knocked out A Bilbao in the L32 of the EL last season and are guarenteed at least the EL this season. They have 3 teams competing in the upcoming playoff rounds but it's embarrassing if a Scottish team lose to one of them. Mental attitude

• Replies 1.6k
Fucking hell. Our 2nd best team got humped off a Cypriot team.
I'm sorry there's no recourse for that.

The Cypriot league is rated higher than Scotland's.

There is more money there. Kari arnason played for a team below the team that beat us tonight and he took a wage cut to come here.

That team was full of Brazilians, argentinians, Spaniards and the like. It's no disgrace going out to them. What I'm annoyed about is the manner if the defeat, we just didn't turn up.

7 minutes ago, Duszek said:

Are you sure Hamilton offer "far higher" wages than a European top-flight median?

Hamilton might be a wee club in the Scottish Premiership, but considering they're not paying that much less than the majority of the clubs around them (otherwise all their players would leave and join the likes of Killie, Well, Thistle, County), I'd guess compared to any of the Baltic or Balkan countries, as well as the likes of Hungary, Slovakia, etc already mentioned, they offer substantially higher wages, yes.

Guest Bob Mahelp
2 minutes ago, Slenderman said:

Fucking hell. Our 2nd best team got humped off a Cypriot team.

I'm sorry there's no recourse for that.

I'm not sure you meant to say 'recourse', but we get what you mean.

It's too black and white to say 'Scottish team must beat Cypriot team because Cypriots are pish at football'.......especially when this 'Cypriot' team only had one Cypriot in it and was packed full of Brazilians Argentinians and other foreign mercenaries.

The guy who scored the first goal was a Portuguese player just signed from Porto.

Aberdeen had a bad day at the office, but you really need to start taking a wee look at the players that play for the top Cypriot clubs and the record of these teams in European competitions over the last 5 years or so. 

Aberdeen confirm it was a steward that punched an AFC fan which started the trouble. Stewards were already in the Aberdeen end directing them to the exits. Club also state McInnes and Docherty repeatedly spat at and complaints will be made over flares particularly one thrown at Lewis, and why there was no reaction from Apollon officials whilst all this was going on during the game.

3 minutes ago, GTG_03 said:

The Cypriot league is rated higher than Scotland's.

There is more money there. Kari arnason played for a team below the team that beat us tonight and he took a wage cut to come here.

That team was full of Brazilians, argentinians, Spaniards and the like. It's no disgrace going out to them. What I'm annoyed about is the manner if the defeat, we just didn't turn up.

1 minute ago, Bob Mahelp said:

I'm not sure you meant to say 'recourse', but we get what you mean.

It's too black and white to say 'Scottish team must beat Cypriot team because Cypriots are pish at football'.......especially when this 'Cypriot' team only had one Cypriot in it and was packed full of Brazilians Argentinians and other foreign mercenaries.

The guy who scored the first goal was a Portuguese player just signed from Porto.

Aberdeen had a bad day at the office, but you really need to start taking a wee look at the players that play for the top Cypriot clubs and the record of these teams in European competitions over the last 5 years or so. 

Gonnae back down.

Didn't want to wind the Dons up after that.

Guest Bob Mahelp
1 minute ago, Slenderman said:

Gonnae back down.

Didn't want to wind the Dons up after that.

Dinnae worry, it's no winding us up . We acknowledge the Dons were piss poor tonight and deservedly booted oot. 

We all need to accept the changed realities of European football though and acknowledge that the old certainties about which countries are rubbish at fitba no longer apply. 

Nobody played well for us. Stewart and Mackay-Steven were especially poor after their performances in the first half last week; neither got fully going nor created a notable opportunity. Stewart looked particularly sluggish. Christie buzzed around a lot and occasionally looked as if he might create an opening, but nothing came off for him. We really missed a natural ball-carrier like Hayes at 1-0 to drive us up the pitch and deliver a good end product. 

I was just about still in the 'Stockley has his uses' camp before tonight, but that was another nothing contribution; he looked every inch an EFL League Two jobber, just like he did against Siroki Brijeg. Maynard contributed more when he came on; he is also is far from perfect, but certainly looked as if he would have been the better option from the start.

Reynolds and Considine also had poor games, and both can be exposed against technically better teams than they are accustomed to playing every week in the Scottish Premiership. Too often Reynolds resorted just to hoofing the ball aimlessly long, and Considine either did the same or slowed our play down when we needed to be upping the tempo. 

McLean tried to influence the game a bit more when he was pushed into a more advanced role, but struggled to stamp any sort of authority in the first hour or so. It wasn't Shinnie's best game either, but he just about scraped pass-marks. 

They are a decent team from middle to front, but it was a really good opportunity to get to the play-offs and we didn't take it. Poor result and a really disappointing away performance. Last year we could just about point the finger at poor refereeing and some bad luck, but this time we really only have ourselves to blame. 

1 minute ago, GTG_03 said:

Of course emoji58.png

Disappointing result but not the disaster some people are desperate to want it to be.

For goodness sake Aberdeen, it's not the end of the world but it IS a financial disaster. And it wasn't Real Madrid  we were playing.

First week in August and only one team left in Europe. How embarrassing is that?

For goodness sake Aberdeen, it's not the end of the world but it IS a financial disaster. And it wasn't Real Madrid  we were playing.
First week in August and only one team left in Europe. How embarrassing is that?

Financial disaster?!
Calm doon captain catastrophe!

It's pretty difficult for a club like aberdeen to reach the group stages. The previous 3 years we had to negotiate 4 qualifying rounds, we beat some good teams and had a go against real sociedad.

Tonight was disappointing due to how we played, not because of the opposition.

UEFA make it this difficult for the 'poorer team's' because they want all the higher profile teams in and all the viewers and money that comes with it.

It's hardly embarrassing.

OK. Aberdeen should really be winning this type of tie imo. However any Sevco fan who trys to claim parity with their European exit is in fukin cloud cuckoo land. You lost to a Luxembourg team who had never won a game or even scored a goal in Europe.

Sevco: Scotlands laughing stock and cringworthy stain.

2 minutes ago, GTG_03 said:

Financial disaster?!
Calm doon captain catastrophe!

It's pretty difficult for a club like aberdeen to reach the group stages. The previous 3 years we had to negotiate 4 qualifying rounds, we beat some good teams and had a go against real sociedad.

Tonight was disappointing due to how we played, not because of the opposition.

UEFA make it this difficult for the 'poorer team's' because they want all the higher profile teams in and all the viewers and money that comes with it.

It's hardly embarrassing.

It's not embarrassing just because Aberdeen lost, it's the fact that only one Scottish club remain in Europe and even they might not last much longer.

That's par for the course for a middling association like Scotland - nothing "embarrassing" about that at all.

Scottish clubs need to improve their scouting and transfer policies to have better football teams and greater financial rewards. That would improve the domestic league first and foremost. As a byproduct of that improvement, Scottish clubs would do better in Europe.

5 minutes ago, John Lambies Doos said:

OK. Aberdeen should really be winning this type of tie imo. However any Sevco fan who trys to claim parity with their European exit is in fukin cloud cuckoo land. You lost to a Luxembourg team who had never won a game or even scored a goal in Europe.

Sevco: Scotlands laughing stock and cringworthy stain.

Not one rangers fan has compared aberdeens defeat to ours . You are seething at something which has not even happened :lol: