How would/ will you vote?

Fide

The vote  

287 members have voted

1 minute ago, ftk said:

Makes my stat look even more impressive tbh

No, it just means population and economy ranking is a lot of pish.

Very basic and wrong to suggest any country lower in the population table but higher in economic tables is "punching above it's weight" but i think you know that.

• Replies 531
4 minutes ago, ftk said:

No it wouldn't because we would still be part of Europe?

In which immigration can be controlled in part (as the UK has been controlling it for decades). But that would be Scotland's choice. You'll notice I also said "opportunity" - only with independence can Scotland have an immigration policy (and a European policy). A no vote means Scotland having no control over its own borders. It hasn't for three hundred years, actually. Why would you prefer zero control over the opportunity for full control "on our terms"?

2 minutes ago, ftk said:

No it wouldn't because we would still be part of Europe?

Just vote no then. And we're done.

Big mistake me made last time was endlessly firefighting nonsense from committed unionists instead of getting out to sit voters with 3-5 key messages.

This time it has to be about:

Democratic Deficit

Tory rule for significant future

Our place in the world (ie Europe not Trump).

14 minutes ago, ftk said:

Stat to help people decide.

UK 22nd largest population in the world.

UK 5th largest economy in the world.

We punch well above our weight. Too much of a risk Scotland going on it's own and we will mainly be governed by Europe. Probably also need to adopt the failed euro as our currency too.

Your stats are wrong. UK has been overtaken by France and is down to 6th.

Predicted to be down to 9th by 2021

41 minutes ago, ftk said:

No - Scotland hasn't seen the mass influx of immigrants from eastern Europe yet like the South of England. Let's get out of Europe but stay with the UK the 5th biggest economy in the world. emoji5.png

You're quite content for English politicians to make all the foreign policy decisions for Scotland 

You're quite content for English politicians to decide that Scotland should harbour Trident.

You're quite content for English politicians to decide how much money Scotland gets back from the Exchequer

You're quite content.....etc

I will be voting Yes, provided I am still eligible to vote in Scotland at the time. I am looking for some idealistic, socialist utopia where nobody needs to work and everyone wins. 

I also plan, over the next eighteen or so months, on starting to read The National on a daily basis, eating a f**k off bowl of porridge every morning, and committing myself to relentlessly trolling The Guardian comments section. I will do my extra bit for the cause - I hope you will too. 

28 minutes ago, SamuraiJock said:

I'm a likely yes, but will want to see the plans before fully committing

If you care about the effect on Scotland and its wealth, economy and social cohesion  then you'll soon be a No. 

14 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

I have gone from hardcore Yes to undecided.

I have had enough of an insight into the attitude of Yessers to give me reason to pause.

The abuse handed out to those who voted No is a concern.

Also as I have repeatedly said, I think the Yes side are looking for some idealistic socialist utopia where nobody needs to work and everyone wins. I dont think there are enough people in Scotland with the correct attitude to make independence work. Independence is going to be brutal. Do we really want to be relying on the likes of Fide and Jupe to make it work?

I am not persuaded.

scary_sketches_16.jpg

14 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

You're quite content for English politicians to make all the foreign policy decisions for Scotland 

You're quite content for English politicians to decide that Scotland should harbour Trident.

You're quite content for English politicians to decide how much money Scotland gets back from the Exchequer

You're quite content.....etc

Rather English than French and German but........There have been plenty of Scottish prime ministers of the UK making these decisions.......makes you think, right? ( You DO actually think, right?)

5 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

I have gone from hardcore Yes to undecided.

I have had enough of an insight into the attitude of Yessers to give me reason to pause.

Also as I have repeatedly said, I think the Yes side are looking for some idealistic socialist utopia where nobody needs to work and everyone wins. I dont think there are enough people in Scotland with the correct attitude to make independence work. Independence is going to be brutal. Do we really want to be relying on the likes of Fide and Jupe to make it work?

I am not persuaded.

Whit's the alternative?
Meekly follow English politicians, after all they are the ones who decide UK policies.

As is the abuse handed out tae those who voted Yes.

Also as I have repeatedly said, I think the Yes side are looking for some idealistic socialist utopia
Whit's wrong wi' that ?
Presumably you have an idealistic political utopia.
It's certain that you or anybody else has a greater chance of fulfilling that in an Independent Scotland rather than as a bit player in the UK

3 minutes ago, McSpreader said:

Rather English than French and German but........There have been plenty of Scottish prime ministers of the UK making these decisions.......makes you think, right? ( You DO actually think, right?)

Whit does that prove?
There are 530+ English MPs.
Makes ye think, right?
(you DO actually think, right?)

14 minutes ago, DrewDon said:

I will be voting Yes, provided I am still eligible to vote in Scotland at the time. I am looking for some idealistic, socialist utopia where nobody needs to work and everyone wins. 

I also plan, over the next eighteen or so months, on starting to read The National on a daily basis, eating a f**k off bowl of porridge every morning, and committing myself to relentlessly trolling The Guardian comments section. I will do my extra bit for the cause - I hope you will too. 

If this referendum makes everyone in Scotland eat a big bowl of porridge every morning then it'll have been worthwhile.

I'll probably vote No but might change my mind.  I think that independence will probably have an overall negative affect on Scotland but given Brexit, the Trump Presidency, the prospect of EU meltodwn maybe it won't end up being that bad in the scheme of things.  There's also an inevitability about it all that makes me think maybe it's best just to get it over with.  Pessimists For Yes.

My wife says that she's going to vote Yes but also said that we should start looking into emigrating if it all goes badly :lol: 

I would vote yes but I would like to see more information on how Scotland would get into the EU ideally from some fact checked source rather than something that is going to have a Yes/left or No/right spin on it. Every day there seems to be a new story about how Scotland will or won't get back into the EU. Same for currency.

I also hope stupid political memes are banned from Facebook and Twitter during any campaigning.

35 minutes ago, McSpreader said:

If you care about the effect on Scotland and its wealth, economy and social cohesion  then you'll soon be a No. 

Luckily I don't care about any of those things and would only vote yes because the saltire looks pretty

I always find it strange how people can decide at this stage how to vote, with no information either way and quite literally years before the vote. But that's identity politics for you.

There's valid arguments on both sides (democratic deficit being the clearest one for Yes). Nearer the time it should be clearer where we will be either side of the outcome on the EU and currency. That'll most likely ultimately decide my vote, alongside a few other arguments (mostly economy, but also something that wasn't an issue last time which is the border, if we want to be in the EU bordering England outwith).

Plenty time for these to be cleared up, or perhaps as is usually the case with referendums, muddled further.