Elgin City vs Arbroath

• Replies 100
7 minutes ago, AFC360PUNK1320 said:

Great result considering being down to 10 men and one of our best players being sent off.

Well done the Red Lichties as not many teams can go up there and get a clean sheet.

Whit!! happy with a point at Elgin dinnae be silly that's a terrible result....just joking:).Best defence in the league although you wouldn't know it by some of the comments on here.C'mon the lichties.

All things considered I'd take the draw with Elgin. Down to 10 men for 20 minutes against league top scorers & come away with a clean sheet. Forfar slip up keeping us in the hunt.

Club establish a new league unbeaten away record which now stands at 10 games. A great achievement on it's own.

Mon the Lichties!!

6 hours ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Well depends what happens in Forfar game to be fair, Clyde surely get a boost today with the new management team and Forfar on a poor run.

We've 1 less point than both you and Elgin in the last 10 games and 2 less in the last 5 games.

After losing the game at Gayfield despite being 2-0 up and then not being able to score against 10 men today, our inability to beat Arbroath is worrying with the playoffs in mind. Would rather they caught Forfar than have to play them. 

Ridiculous decision from Northcroft not to give the penalty, his record of shite decisions against us continues. 

Thought Elgin had a bit more of the game than us but we have a really solid look to our team and are tough to beat. Also thought we were very dangerous on the break even with 10. Not sure about the sending off would need to see it again. The referee was awful in general

Well.. I thought we played some fantastic stuff at times and it was a fantastic end to end game with plenty of chances.

To start with, the penalty, now we've had some stonewallers turned down in recent weeks so maybe it's evened itself out BUT I think it wasn't given as Hammy didn't even put a challenge in did he? More a case of the guy running hitting his heel off Hammys shin no?

Regardless of that we defended incredibly well as a unit and as a team. Felt we controlled the first half but they had the better chances, start of second they were on top a bit which lead to the change to 4-4-2 then after that it was anyone's. We had a few absolutely brilliant chances there, in particular the one Stevie crossed when it was 2 on 1 in the box, the 1 off the bar from McCord and the ball that was put across the six yard box from Omar that only needed a wee bit more of a touch from either Doris or the 2 defenders.

Very good performances in particular from Sukar, Linn, McCord and Hodge.

Linn and McCord are two of the best midfielders in the league easily, Linn runs rings round folk and McCord oozes class. Some shift he put in by the way.

All in all happy with a point and it remaining the way it is. Could've been worse. Arguably our hardest game of the last 10.

Thankful to be back south of Johnshaven too by the way, they fucking accents up there by the way..

Played well, couple of good chances especially the one where kadar sent it low across the box, doris missed it and defender seemed to hit it out for a corner...obviously the linesman signals for goal kick.

Our red card...ricky little was on a booking already, but I am absolutely certain Ryan mccord put in the challenge and little was sent off for it. Maybe I am wrong but it looked like it. He got a straight red also (was never ever a straight red). Hopefully we can appeal.

Good support from us today and a good point.

1 hour ago, 1320Lichtie said:

To start with, the penalty, now we've had some stonewallers turned down in recent weeks so maybe it's evened itself out BUT I think it wasn't given as Hammy didn't even put a challenge in did he? More a case of the guy running hitting his heel off Hammys shin no?

Dick Campbell's thoughts on the penalty...

Screenshot_20170304-212225.thumb.jpg.7488bbeb2791a85675dffe494d743948.jpg

Dick Campbell's thoughts on the penalty...

Screenshot_20170304-212225.thumb.jpg.7488bbeb2791a85675dffe494d743948.jpg

He was as far away as we were to be fair. Maybe things have evened themselves out a bit afterall, another 2 stonewallers for other teams to be denied and were all squared up. [emoji6]

Seriously though, refs seem to fucking shite it at this level when it comes to making any sort of big decision. Felt like you a good few times this year never mind season.