Scottish Islands

8MileBU

On 09/11/2018 at 22:00, virginton said:

You really can't 'spend a night' on an island as big as Skye and do it any justice. If you're limited to three days then I'd ditch spending a night in Glencoe as it's got nothing on the former IMO. 

If you're not really into walking, you can easily see most of the sights of Skye in a day, driving from the ferry at Uig to the Bridge via Trotternish with a return detour down to Strathaird.  Spar Cave is an undervisited attraction of the latter if the tides allow.  If the Cuillin hills are visible then you can see both the Black & Red varieties from the roads in that direction.  Other than that, I don't really think Skye holds all that much to see/do IMO (unless like me you like exploring its underground passages on a soggy day).

Agreed with Glencoe though, which is nothing more than an overrated half an hour drive through (although the Bidean nam Biam walk along the southern ridge is a cracker if the weather is decent).  Would rather spend an extra night on Skye as you suggest, if there's any availability that is.

Edited by Hedgecutter

Looking at doing Western Isles next year with the Calmac Hopscotch and taking in Vatersay to Lewis.  Never been so if anyone can point me in the direction of the highlights, it would be appreciated. Looking at 10 to 14 days. Would this be too much?

Also looking at doing up helly aa in 2020. Looked at it for this January but accommodation was non existent and I reckon Shetland in January is too cold for camping :)

Also going to do a couple of weekends away to Arran and Bute and hopefully also Staffa

This year I've been to :

Gigha :wub:

1.thumb.jpg.16287dbfe50d3a7bd2bda57ced763e09.jpg

Kerrera :thumsup2

7.thumb.jpg.74230ab66b88a766e6fc71a71d3f9af6.jpg

Islay :wub:

9.thumb.jpg.0b8573d63b2cea3fcb914427db321c7b.jpg

Jura :wub:

8.thumb.jpg.193c6a009eddbcb53f2bafd9345e7146.jpg

Mull :thumbsdown

6.thumb.jpg.28ac90c456df9c77cf722e145d0cdeb6.jpg

Iona ^_^

10.thumb.jpg.f87ccf8ccb95570f7c5e8785568d2299.jpg

Seil :)

4.thumb.jpg.e164177769bebdb6940aa1be6fa853aa.jpg

Skye :wub:

2.thumb.jpg.077a71748d8d4f821f543e2308ef8447.jpg

and Cumbrae :)

3.thumb.jpg.a5092516f661d36e48fd2422b8e40e07.jpg

If anyone is under any illusions the islands are tremendous...except Mull. I hated Mull :(

Great pictures there I’m Brian.

Me and my wife did the hopscotch thing about 10 years ago and really enjoyed it. Started in Barra and headed north to Lewis.

I think we did it in 8 days so if your going for longer you’ll get chance to do more exploring.

We took the car and bikes so that gave us a chance to cycle to Vatersay from Barra and we got on the spectacular beaches there. We didn’t do too much cycling after that as we were moving north, but would have liked to have spent more time on the wee islands like Eriskay and  Bernaray on the bikes.

Highlights were:

First night at the Castlebay Bar, vatersay boys were playing and we were taken up by the locals for a dance. Very friendly people on Barra.

We took a day trip on the flight from Barra to Benbecula. Fantastic views over South Uist. Great landing back on the beach in Barra.

A wee round of golf on North Uist. 

Driving the east coast of Harris. It’s like driving on the moon. Unbelievable that people could live there.

Luskentyre beach on the west coast of Harris.

The trip to St Kilda. We left from Leverburgh and it took around 3.5 hours to get there. The sea was rough and it’s best to stay out of the cabin if you don’t want to be sea sick. St Kilda was spectacular. Well worth the effort and money.

Callanish standing stones.

Great Bernera. We had great weather as we wandered around the beach there.

It’s a great opportunity to bag loads of islands too, we got onto Kirkibost, Grimsey etc.

Intersting cultural change between the Catholic south and Protestant North although I think things are changing in Lewis even in the last ten years. We arrived at our hotel on a Sunday in Lewis and it appeared shut. They were open but the doors were shut and lunch was only served for half an hour. Went out for a wander after lunch and found out the loads of locals had parked their cars round the back and were in a back bar carrying on as normal.

Overall it’s well worth a visit.

Thanks for the reply BR

Sounds like a braw trip. Luskentyre and Seilbost are obviously the famous beaches but as I've started to research it pretty much every one I have seen looks utterly stunning.

I really want to do the St Kilda trip, and would probably be stupid not to when I am as close to it as you can get. 

Fingers crossed next May's weather will be as good as this years.

Looking at doing Western Isles next year with the Calmac Hopscotch and taking in Vatersay to Lewis.  Never been so if anyone can point me in the direction of the highlights, it would be appreciated. Looking at 10 to 14 days. Would this be too much?

Also looking at doing up helly aa in 2020. Looked at it for this January but accommodation was non existent and I reckon Shetland in January is too cold for camping [emoji4]

Also going to do a couple of weekends away to Arran and Bute and hopefully also Staffa

This year I've been to :
Gigha :wub:

1.thumb.jpg.16287dbfe50d3a7bd2bda57ced763e09.jpg

Kerrera :thumsup2

7.thumb.jpg.74230ab66b88a766e6fc71a71d3f9af6.jpg

Islay :wub:

9.thumb.jpg.0b8573d63b2cea3fcb914427db321c7b.jpg

Jura :wub:

8.thumb.jpg.193c6a009eddbcb53f2bafd9345e7146.jpg

Mull :thumbsdown

6.thumb.jpg.28ac90c456df9c77cf722e145d0cdeb6.jpg

Iona [emoji5]

10.thumb.jpg.f87ccf8ccb95570f7c5e8785568d2299.jpg

Seil [emoji4]

4.thumb.jpg.e164177769bebdb6940aa1be6fa853aa.jpg

Skye :wub:

2.thumb.jpg.077a71748d8d4f821f543e2308ef8447.jpg

and Cumbrae [emoji4]

3.thumb.jpg.a5092516f661d36e48fd2422b8e40e07.jpg

If anyone is under any illusions the islands are tremendous...except Mull. I hated Mull [emoji20]

Why didn’t you like Mull?

11 hours ago, 8MileBU said:

Why didn’t you like Mull?

The black clouds at Salen  in the picture may provide part of the answer.  But the rain of Biblical proportions  through the night, leading to my tent becoming a swimming pool was the main reason.  Also I didn't find the locals that welcoming, which is the only island where I have found that.

I'm probably being harsh though and when I do get round to going back it will be a different experience.

16 hours ago, I'm Brian said:

Thanks for the reply BR

Sounds like a braw trip. Luskentyre and Seilbost are obviously the famous beaches but as I've started to research it pretty much every one I have seen looks utterly stunning.

I really want to do the St Kilda trip, and would probably be stupid not to when I am as close to it as you can get. 

You’ve got to do the St Kilda trip whilst you are up there if you can IB. Obviously it’s weather dependent (and not cheap) but it’s an unforgettable trip.

The black clouds at Salen  in the picture may provide part of the answer.  But the rain of Biblical proportions  through the night, leading to my tent becoming a swimming pool was the main reason.  Also I didn't find the locals that welcoming, which is the only island where I have found that.
I'm probably being harsh though and when I do get round to going back it will be a different experience.

Where did you camp? Site at Craignure? It battered the rain the day we arrived and we got soaked putting the tent up, but thankfully kept us dry when it battered down again through the night.

We kind of just roamed and explored ourselves so didn’t mix much with the locals, but found the staff and food in the Craignure Inn pleasant enough, and the staff in the Aquarium were really good with my wee girl too.

19 minutes ago, 8MileBU said:

Where did you camp? Site at Craignure? It battered the rain the day we arrived and we got soaked putting the tent up, but thankfully kept us dry when it battered down again through the night.

We kind of just roamed and explored ourselves so didn’t mix much with the locals, but found the staff and food in the Craignure Inn pleasant enough, and the staff in the Aquarium were really good with my wee girl too.

Down at Fidden, close to Fionnphort. Great location, but perhaps not for wee ones, unless they like the sheep which freely roamed around.

On 28/11/2018 at 16:20, I'm Brian said:

Thanks for the reply BR

Uig sands would give the Harris ones a run for their money but they’re not on the main drag. However you would have more chance of getting them to yourself. Where the Lewis Chessmen were found, and also a tiny wee distillery at Abhainn Dearg. Lots of eagles, both types. Some tremendous cliff scenery at Mangurstadh (Mangersta) and a wee cliff top bothy if you know where to look. Last time I checked, if you search google images under  Mangurstadh it’s my images that come up first :cheers

4 hours ago, The Mantis said:

Uig sands would give the Harris ones a run for their money but they’re not on the main drag. However you would have more chance of getting them to yourself. Where the Lewis Chessmen were found, and also a tiny wee distillery at Abhainn Dearg. Lots of eagles, both types. Some tremendous cliff scenery at Mangurstadh (Mangersta) and a wee cliff top bothy if you know where to look. Last time I checked, if you search google images under  Mangurstadh it’s my images that come up first :cheers

Cheers for that Mantis

Off the main drag is what I do best :) One of these days I'm going to break down in some remote spot and try and describe where the hell I am :lol:

The stacks at Mangersta look amazing. Can imagine a stiff Atlantic breeze would add to the scene there.

On 11/27/2018 at 17:04, I'm Brian said:

I don't think the Hopscotch ticket is available anymore as it has been replaced by RET, which is cheaper. 

In 2017we did the following islands in this order - Coll, Tiree, Barra, South Uist, Benebecula, North Uist, Harris & Lewis, then finished in Skye.   We hd no problems with Calmac, everything ran smoothly.  

We were booked for St Kilda -   You get a 2 day slot to allow for a cancellation. Unfortunately for us our trip was cancelled on both the Monday and Tuesday, as the swell was too high to allow the boat to leave St Kilda.  

On ‎30‎/‎11‎/‎2018 at 10:20, paul wright scores said:

I don't think the Hopscotch ticket is available anymore as it has been replaced by RET, which is cheaper. 

In 2017we did the following islands in this order - Coll, Tiree, Barra, South Uist, Benebecula, North Uist, Harris & Lewis, then finished in Skye.   We hd no problems with Calmac, everything ran smoothly.  

We were booked for St Kilda -   You get a 2 day slot to allow for a cancellation. Unfortunately for us our trip was cancelled on both the Monday and Tuesday, as the swell was too high to allow the boat to leave St Kilda.  

It's still available, but RET means it doesn't offer any discount. The combined costs of the individual legs is the same if you booked them seperately

16 hours ago, Le Tout P'ti FC said:

The Calmac hopscotch is alive and well: https://www.calmac.co.uk/island-hopping.

I'm on board this beauty headed to Islay. A week of whisky tasting and long walks awaits. 20181201_122513.jpg

Last time I was on that I shared it with several politicians and van loads of specialist police officers.

Enjoy

15 hours ago, welshbairn said:

I don't get why the St Kilda trip is so horrendously expensive, a few hours on a boat for the price of transatlantic flight. What makes it worth the money?

For me it would be the mystique surrounding the place, it's history and remote location. Trying to make sense of why such a remote community who were constantly at the mercy of the weather would be so reluctant to move. Plus pictures I've seen of it are stunning. 

Aye it's pricey, but to me a price worth paying

Missus and I are moving back to Scotland (well... I'm moving back. She's coming with) and her pal's visiting over New Year and fancies taking in a few islands. I'm not so keen on being trapped on Colonsay for nearly a week again anytime soon so think might just do a Bute/Arran/Kintyre hopscotch.

Anyone know if these places are worth a visit in early January (or are any of the islands?) Or should we just limit it to a road trip?

A cheapskate option is a tour of the Small Isles; Eigg, Rum, Muck and Canna from Mallaig with Calmac. Costs about £20 quid for a 5 hour cruise (ish) and you should see lots of wildlife. Costs more if you get off the boat but if the weather's shite you might not want to.