Scottish Islands

8MileBU

Being meaning to do this. I enjoy staring at rusty hulks like most people, but is there anything like a pub or cafe on the Nigg side if you're on foot?
I was on foot, but with five year old in tow, so we didn't get further than the wee beach on Nigg side. I didn't spy any cafes or pubs. Really would recommend the coffee shop on the Cromarty side though, opens until 2pm daily.

Had a wee overnighter with the missus in Brodick on Arran, nae kids [emoji106]

We stayed at The Glenartney B & B. We booked a table at The Crofters Bar. Food and drink were excellent as was the live music.

A local called Mike Bailey played guitar and sang Scottish/Irish folk songs along with some classics and some of his own material.

I love these wee unexpected gems. Great night and great atmosphere. Worth a visit if you're on Arran.

Another "island of the mind" today. Was coming down the A82 so took a detour crossing on the Corran Ferry as a foot passenger.

It was a fine use of a half hour to break up a long journey, and I was delighted to see an ice cream van drive onto the ferry and then start selling hot dogs to the ferry staff.

Love the Corran Ferry, especially when I get off and take the left turn into the wilderness. Magic! IMG_20190706_181608.jpgIMG_20190706_182514.jpg

9 hours ago, Le Tout P'ti FC said:

Another "island of the mind" today. Was coming down the A82 so took a detour crossing on the Corran Ferry as a foot passenger.

It was a fine use of a half hour to break up a long journey, and I was delighted to see an ice cream van drive onto the ferry and then start selling hot dogs to the ferry staff.

Love the Corran Ferry, especially when I get off and take the left turn into the wilderness. Magic! 

Been over a few times for hillwalking trips. Hoor of an expensive short trip for a car though.

Love the Corran Ferry, especially when I get off and take the left turn into the wilderness. Magic! IMG_20190706_181608.jpg.24ee0dcafef9ad2bbbd9e22d210214d1.jpgIMG_20190706_182514.jpg.a54a828afb1b651be80a530639e2e7f7.jpg
I really like the Corran ferry reminds me of going hillwalking with my old man, took it last year after visiting Castle Tioram, the guy taking the money on the ferry had the hairiest neck i've ever seen.

19 hours ago, Le Tout P'ti FC said:

Love the Corran Ferry, especially when I get off and take the left turn into the wilderness. Magic! IMG_20190706_181608.jpgIMG_20190706_182514.jpg

Did exactly this a few weeks ago. When I discovered it was hee-haw for a foot passenger I was on it like a shot!! Cheers Highland Council

Quite fancy a cheeky wee lunch in the Inn on the other side next time

28 minutes ago, I'm Brian said:

Did exactly this a few weeks ago. When I discovered it was hee-haw for a foot passenger I was on it like a shot!! Cheers Highland Council

Quite fancy a cheeky wee lunch in the Inn on the other side next time

Hard without a car all the same. Try doing Garbh Bheinn in a day 🤣 

Been at Ariundle a couple of times for a weekend. The bunkhouse type place there does meals and beer. Decent grub down at Strontian although again you really need a car.

Spent Saturday-Tuesday visiting the Small Isles with my free ferry tickets. After getting the train up on Saturday morning, the afternoon was spent with a carryout doing almost all of the Small Isles' cruise. Here's some views of Eigg and Canna from the boat:

SAM_3075.thumb.JPG.b83d68ff97f709b745a6b702bc0842dc.JPG

SAM_3117.thumb.JPG.6c829b9f471c188f2296947ae8b2a64d.JPG

Muck looked a bit boring tbh but I'd like to explore Canna another time. After five hours I got off on Rum to spend a couple of nights camping.

The Kinloch campsite is halfway between the ferry terminal and the village centre, with a good shop for essentials and beer as well as meals served in the village hall. Being down at loch side the midges were swarming both nights but with a midge head net they soon chucked it. 

SAM_3150.thumb.JPG.75bf660cdfe7b7722c4b62733d3e3918.JPG

Sunday was a cracking day to head into the interior of Rum, going past the Rum Cuillin on the path to the west coast at Harris, and then up to the beach at Kilmory Bay with views over Skye.

SAM_3167.thumb.JPG.088e33486aab99f9837cc29e30068a74.JPG

SAM_3183.thumb.JPG.dd7107749bc1dfa768d828c30c2c06ef.JPG

Rum is the thinking man's Skye - completely devoid of the tourist traffic that blights the latter throughout the summer. There wasn't a single other person on the tracks going across the island, a handful of cars on the entire island and the amenities are there for the locals to use instead of screwing fat American tourists. A superb island for a weekend away. 

On Monday I left Rum for Eigg, which coincided with the weather breaking. In truth it would have been better to stay on the ferry to Mallaig than spend a night in a (thankfully dry) tent getting lashed with rain on the island, but it will require another visit to fully appreciate the place. Galmisdale Cafe at the ferry terminal does some superb food though and serves the local Laig Bay Brewing Company's terrific beer as well. 

SAM_3205.thumb.JPG.bb7f6e1bc964d9f700aa6a52c7650662.JPG

Will be returning to Arran to complete the island's coastal path over this weekend as well. 

Just realised I hadn't posted since I got home. I spent a weekend on Arran which was mainly about catching up with pals but I did squeeze in a visit to the standing stones at Machrie followed by a tour at the newly opened Lagg distillery in the south of the island. A good weekend was had before I set off for Mull. 20190630_120610.jpg20190630_135327.jpg20190630_144816.jpg

On to Mull, I camped at Salen which was a good site with everything you need at a campsite. It was only a 15 minute walk to a hotel which was next to an airfield. It was great watching the wee planes coming in and out whilst having a beer. I pretty much drove round the whole island in the two full days I was there. I visited Tobermory, Duart castle and Calgary beach as seen below. I climbed Ben More too but the view at the top was non existent in the cloud. 20190701_190429.jpg20190702_213622.jpg20190703_113243.jpg20190702_144410.jpg

I also had a three hour trip to Iona. I just took a walk which included climbing its highest peak, Dun I, at the mighty height of 100m. Despite there being a few folk about, it was the most peaceful place of my holiday.
20190702_102123.jpg20190702_104811.jpg20190702_112123.jpg20190702_124620.jpg

On to Mull, I camped at Salen which was a good site with everything you need at a campsite. It was only a 15 minute walk to a hotel which was next to an airfield. It was great watching the wee planes coming in and out whilst having a beer. I pretty much drove round the whole island in the two full days I was there. I visited Tobermory, Duart castle and Calgary beach as seen below. I climbed Ben More too but the view at the top was non existent in the cloud. 20190701_190429.thumb.jpg.94c09d86de00925ef621eb4b144e3191.jpg20190702_213622.thumb.jpg.411538d0ef66c611bc0c9d5d5f31b37b.jpg20190703_113243.thumb.jpg.080a3f69bb8833e1a3714750f0406a65.jpg20190702_144410.thumb.jpg.c0f272a4e767438050bf5a3240d59326.jpg
Did you see anything unusual at that airfield?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b066fqcr

Spent Saturday-Tuesday visiting the Small Isles with my free ferry tickets. After getting the train up on Saturday morning, the afternoon was spent with a carryout doing almost all of the Small Isles' cruise. Here's some views of Eigg and Canna from the boat:
SAM_3075.thumb.JPG.b83d68ff97f709b745a6b702bc0842dc.JPG
SAM_3117.thumb.JPG.6c829b9f471c188f2296947ae8b2a64d.JPG
Muck looked a bit boring tbh but I'd like to explore Canna another time. After five hours I got off on Rum to spend a couple of nights camping.

How did you end up with free ferry tickets?

https://www.bigferryfortnight.com/

Cal Mac gave away loads of tickets for this contest in the spring; all you do is register your details and pick which ticket ballots you'd like to enter (one for each route). If you get a shiter then there is an offer to hand it back and apply for other routes, but the chances of winning on two ballots are obviously reduced. 

https://www.bigferryfortnight.com/
Cal Mac gave away loads of tickets for this contest in the spring; all you do is register your details and pick which ticket ballots you'd like to enter (one for each route). If you get a shiter then there is an offer to hand it back and apply for other routes, but the chances of winning on two ballots are obviously reduced. 

Cool, cheers.

Week in the Uists now coming to an end and tomorrow I move on to Lewis and Harris. May as well share some photos from the week!

First up is the traditional photo of Eriskay Football Pitch. They were actually playing later that day but my wife decided we should go climb a hill instead. 

FB_IMG_1562923152002.jpg.c900f7cda260752a1c5872706913c23a.jpg

Next up we stopped at the Lady of the Isles statue on South Uist 

FB_IMG_1562923196492.thumb.jpg.8d86dba316e98d48f87c88ced1973c48.jpg

The best day of the week involved a visit to Berneray West Beach which was stunning.

FB_IMG_1562923096730.jpg.1e13e3e48aa23acce5c3295c3220a4e3.jpg

I also visited a stone circle of Pobull Fhinn which was on the same hill as the Cairn of Barpa Langass on North Uist.

FB_IMG_1562923113952.jpg.b8d005582a9dd3c7242e1385dbf120fc.jpg

We also dragged the kids up Rueval the highest point on Benbecula and toom some photos.

20190708_133339.thumb.jpg.8ad7b05ed876ab0a64bafa3a49809ffa.jpg

Final photo was the best bit of our trip to the Isle of Flodaigh to see some Seals. There weren't any!

FB_IMG_1562923069034.thumb.jpg.b52b219a631289e6df293a8db37aefe8.jpg

Edited by ArmadaleKillie
Remove extra photo

5 hours ago, ArmadaleKillie said:

Week in the Uists now coming to an end and tomorrow I move on to Lewis and Harris. May as well share some photos from the week!

First up is the traditional photo of Eriskay Football Pitch. They were actually playing later that day but my wife decided we should go climb a hill instead. 

I was in Eriskay years ago and there was this all  green house called Celtic View 😂

Wish I'd taken a pic now