Bsc Glasgow

bpek

Bsc spent money on the pitch as well when they were there but we had about 4 months of heavy rain and the pitch just couldn't cope with it but a lot of pitches in the league were the same there was a massive back log of matches for both Maryhill and Bsc so the pitch just wasn't getting time to recover

1 hour ago, bpek said:

Bsc spent money on the pitch as well when they were there but we had about 4 months of heavy rain and the pitch just couldn't cope with it but a lot of pitches in the league were the same there was a massive back log of matches for both Maryhill and Bsc so the pitch just wasn't getting time to recover

I remember it well that was 4 months without a home game. We played our final home game of the season down at Queen of the South. 2 teams playing on a grass pitch just isn't the answer.

There were other factors involved in their departure, and it's disingenuous to claim that it was solely down to the proneness of the pitch to waterlogging at that time. The reason they're no longer at Lochburn, and possibly by extension no closer to Glasgow than Alloa was very little to do with the pitch and a lot more down to off-field issues as anyone in the know will be well aware.

If it were, it would mark the first time in history that two clubs ended up in SFA arbitration over a leaky bit of grass...

I love how people "in the know" come on here and hint at knowing something but never tell you what it is. If you want to use words like disingenuous Hillonearth, how about trivialising a club being unable to play a home game for almost 4 months because of a leaky bit of grass. If we had stayed at Lochburn I think we could have got sponsorship from Deep Sea World.

20 minutes ago, Jerry Macguire said:

I love how people "in the know" come on here and hint at knowing something but never tell you what it is. If you want to use words like disingenuous Hillonearth, how about trivialising a club being unable to play a home game for almost 4 months because of a leaky bit of grass. If we had stayed at Lochburn I think we could have got sponsorship from Deep Sea World.

Fair enough then if that's what you really want...I should stress that these are my personal recollections of the sequence of events and as such are Maryhill-centric, although I imagine they'll ring more true to the impartial observer than some of the assertations earlier in the thread.

The first season BSC were model tenants and to be fair we didn't have any problems with them at all...the only criticism would be their initial misrepresentation of exactly how many home games they'd be playing, although that may have been naivete on their part in not realising the amount of cups they were obligated to compete in. Relations were sufficiently cordial that they invited some of our committee members on to theirs - no takers though - you have to have an affinity for a club to want to take on that role.

There was some initial sounding us out of the possibility of an actual merger...we did give it some degree of consideration to be fair, but came down on the side of saying no. Frankly, there wasn't enough in it for us, we have 130+ years of history as an independent club and were unwilling to give that up and we'd also have been left very much junior partners in the enterprise (forgive the pun) with second call on our own ground, which perhaps was the BSC endgame all along...you'd need to answer that one.  Our long term future were this to happen also was far from clear...anyone remember Spartans Juniors?

The first close season was a bit of a comedy of errors...as we freely admit, the pitch required urgent attention which we wanted to address as soon as possible. BSC "knew a guy who could fix it" however, so we waited. And waited. Finally, said guy showed up about two or three weeks prior to the start of the season and proceeded to drive something that apparently looked like an armoured personnel carrier over the park doing more harm than good, leaving us to patch it up as best we could before the start of the season...obviously the lack of work on it over the close season meant it was even worse the following season. As alluded to, postponements piled up for both sides the next season, though being lectured to about the state of your ground by a side that's never owned or had to maintain one is a bit like being criticised for your fashion sense by a pish stained jakey.

At any rate, the second season was where things unravelled. Once we'd made it clear that there was to be no merger (and no first call for them on the ground?), it became progressively more difficult to extract their end of the deal from them, to the point we were ready to lock the gates and flip the lights off an hour prior to one of their midweek games unless they fronted some of it up. 

And then they were gone. Owing.

As I said, it eventually went to SFA arbitration - several meetings actually, as they were cavalier enough not to show up for the first couple. They tried every trick they could think of to get out of the contract they'd signed .including attempting to make out that we were prevented by our terms of occupation of Lochburn from subletting it, and thus they couldn't possibly owe us. False obviously and proven so by a letter from a certain Crown Dependency.

And that comes back to why they're playing in Alloa. Closer to Glasgow, the juniors are really the only game in town if you're looking for a groundshare that isn't prohibitively expensive for the crowds they attract, and it's unlikely in the extreme any side would entertain them as a tenant after our experiences - and also those of Ashfield, who they walked out on without kicking a ball - word's out.

And that's "what it is" - sometimes you should be careful what you wish for.

29 minutes ago, Hillonearth said:

Fair enough then if that's what you really want...I should stress that these are my personal recollections of the sequence of events and as such are Maryhill-centric, although I imagine they'll ring more true to the impartial observer than some of the assertations earlier in the thread.

The first season BSC were model tenants and to be fair we didn't have any problems with them at all...the only criticism would be their initial misrepresentation of exactly how many home games they'd be playing, although that may have been naivete on their part in not realising the amount of cups they were obligated to compete in. Relations were sufficiently cordial that they invited some of our committee members on to theirs - no takers though - you have to have an affinity for a club to want to take on that role.

There was some initial sounding us out of the possibility of an actual merger...we did give it some degree of consideration to be fair, but came down on the side of saying no. Frankly, there wasn't enough in it for us, we have 130+ years of history as an independent club and were unwilling to give that up and we'd also have been left very much junior partners in the enterprise (forgive the pun) with second call on our own ground, which perhaps was the BSC endgame all along...you'd need to answer that one.  Our long term future were this to happen also was far from clear...anyone remember Spartans Juniors?

The first close season was a bit of a comedy of errors...as we freely admit, the pitch required urgent attention which we wanted to address as soon as possible. BSC "knew a guy who could fix it" however, so we waited. And waited. Finally, said guy showed up about two or three weeks prior to the start of the season and proceeded to drive something that apparently looked like an armoured personnel carrier over the park doing more harm than good, leaving us to patch it up as best we could before the start of the season...obviously the lack of work on it over the close season meant it was even worse the following season. As alluded to, postponements piled up for both sides the next season, though being lectured to about the state of your ground by a side that's never owned or had to maintain one is a bit like being criticised for your fashion sense by a pish stained jakey.

At any rate, the second season was where things unravelled. Once we'd made it clear that there was to be no merger (and no first call for them on the ground?), it became progressively more difficult to extract their end of the deal from them, to the point we were ready to lock the gates and flip the lights off an hour prior to one of their midweek games unless they fronted some of it up. 

And then they were gone. Owing.

As I said, it eventually went to SFA arbitration - several meetings actually, as they were cavalier enough not to show up for the first couple. They tried every trick they could think of to get out of the contract they'd signed .including attempting to make out that we were prevented by our terms of occupation of Lochburn from subletting it, and thus they couldn't possibly owe us. False obviously and proven so by a letter from a certain Crown Dependency.

And that comes back to why they're playing in Alloa. Closer to Glasgow, the juniors are really the only game in town if you're looking for a groundshare that isn't prohibitively expensive for the crowds they attract, and it's unlikely in the extreme any side would entertain them as a tenant after our experiences - and also those of Ashfield, who they walked out on without kicking a ball - word's out.

And that's "what it is" - sometimes you should be careful what you wish for.

Wow you feel better now getting all that out? Now breath.

What about your comment  about being no closer to Glasgow, since your in a sharing mood?

10 minutes ago, Jerry Macguire said:

Wow you feel better now getting all that out? Now breath.

What about your comment  about being no closer to Glasgow, since your in a sharing mood?

Well, you did ask.  Congratulations though - I assumed you'd come back with a "none of that stuff happened" type post.

I literally have no idea what your second sentence means thanks to the sketchy spelling, punctuation and syntax. I only actually used the phrase "no closer to Glasgow" in my initial post

5 hours ago, Hillonearth said:

The reason they're no longer at Lochburn, and possibly by extension no closer to Glasgow than Alloa was very little to do with the pitch and a lot more down to off-field issues as anyone in the know will be well aware.

I meant by extension of the same reasoning, which I assumed would be clear enough.

Wrongly, it transpires - and they talk about junior thickos.... :)

11 minutes ago, Hillonearth said:

Well, you did ask.  Congratulations though - I assumed you'd come back with a "none of that stuff happened" type post.

I literally have no idea what your second sentence means thanks to the sketchy spelling, punctuation and syntax. I only actually used the phrase "no closer to Glasgow" in my initial post

I meant by extension of the same reasoning, which I assumed would be clear enough.

Wrongly, it transpires - and they talk about junior thickos.... :)

If the rest of the Maryhill committee are as welcoming and friendly as you I cannot understand how this big fall out could have possibly happened. Off you pop now back to the juniors board.  Ya miserable auld sod:) (hope I used the emoji correctly).

This is what happens. People start picking holes in everything your club does when yous are top of the league. Get used to it[emoji51] hillonearth had a very well put together post there which he put across as he saw it. Fair play to him. He was called out as being a kid on in the know. So he served up what seemed like an honest account of how he saw things. Trying to chase him out of thread is a poor defence to what he had to say. Makes it look like everything he said was true.