Investment

Just now, Tartantony said:

Yes those that suggest that are morons.

However here I am, a Celtic fan, suggesting to you a system that would allow your team to remain as they are financially but have a better chance to win the league as well as playing teams less times a season and you're pissing all over it.

Because you've not actually told us how it'll work financially, theres no real reasoning behind how it would be easier to win, considering we'd still be massively, massively behind Celtic in terms of resources, and your plan is for us to play three teams four times, which doesn't get rid of the problem of overplaying teams at all, as we could meet them in a Cup, and then in the "Play-Offs", which I assume would be two legged, which means we could end up playing two sides seven times in a season.

• Replies 214
How about Celtic and Rangers f**k off to the atlantic league you were wanting to join, or go down south where you wanted to go.... Ahh thats right nae c**t wants you lot

I assume you mean the clubs when you say "you" because I have no interest in either. I'm quite happy here in Scotland thank you very much

2 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

There is absolutely no need for Celtic and Rangers to merge. We accept our place in European football and don't hate every big club in Europe for having better resources than us. You like to piss and moan about not having the resources and you despise celtic and Rangers because we do. That's the difference here, if you don't like it then do something to be more competitive or simply accept your place and get on with it like we do in Europe

So its ok for you to accept your place in European competition but when I explained the very same over my club and where they are in comparison to Celtic right now you claimed I showed lack of ambition, surely you aren't contradicting yourself here. Why is it alright for Celtic and not for anyone else? Aren't you showing a complete lack of ambition for your club? And I was under the impression Celtic were one of the best supported clubs in Europe?? Do you not have enough money nor resources to compete with Barca' or Chelsea?

And if anyone tries to remind you on why their club is unable to compete with Celtic for the title you come out with some pish about smaller club's supporters moaning about it and this is the reason why Celtic are hated by everyone else. I'm flabergasted by this bombshell you dropped there, I always thought Celtic were disliked simply because of the baggage they carry around, the baggage being some of their fuckwit fans and how the idea of supporting Celtic somehow makes them superior to supporters of other clubs. But reality most Celtic fans have an inferiority complex with added paranoia, especially when the subject of their friends over in Govan come up.

Because you've not actually told us how it'll work financially, theres no real reasoning behind how it would be easier to win, considering we'd still be massively, massively behind Celtic in terms of resources, and your plan is for us to play three teams four times, which doesn't get rid of the problem of overplaying teams at all, as we could meet them in a Cup, and then in the "Play-Offs", which I assume would be two legged, which means we could end up playing two sides seven times in a season.

Financially it would work like any other league system. The winner gets the most and so on down to bottom place with some of the funds going to the leagues below.

Unfortunately, while the chairman of our clubs continue to be desperate for the money we will need to have to play each other 4 times a season. At least my way cuts down the number of teams you need to play 4 times

Just now, Tartantony said:

Financially it would work like any other league system. The winner gets the most and so on down to bottom place with some of the funds going to the leagues below.

Unfortunately, while the chairman of our clubs continue to be desperate for the money we will need to have to play each other 4 times a season. At least my way cuts down the number of teams you need to play 4 times

Well yeah, but we need a bit more detail than that, obviously. Nor have you explained how we wouldn't just end up with dominant sides in every division.

9 minutes ago, Bobby Skidmarks said:

Partick Thistle playing Rangers and Celtic all the time, those poor c***s won't have any functional toilets or seats left.

Aye but that apparently gives them more chance of winning the title, somehow.

21 minutes ago, CityDave said:

So its ok for you to accept your place in European competition but when I explained the very same over my club and where they are in comparison to Celtic right now you claimed I showed lack of ambition, surely you aren't contradicting yourself here. Why is it alright for Celtic and not for anyone else? Aren't you showing a complete lack of ambition for your club? And I was under the impression Celtic were one of the best supported clubs in Europe?? Do you not have enough money nor resources to compete with Barca' or Chelsea?

We are one of the best supported clubs in Europe and no we don't have enough resources to compete with the likes of Barca. That's down to the market we compete in.

We don't need to merge with anyone because we are already at the top of our market, a merge wouldn't be a merger at all, it would be us buying out our competition to ensure we remain at the top. In terms of European football, a buy out would likely make no difference as we would still be shopping in the same market and making similar revenues as we were pre buy out and in fact it would probably be worse for us as we would have bought out our biggest competition.

This is completely different from two smaller clubs in Scotland merging in order to earn more revenue to attract a better calibre of player to provide growth in order to close the gap on their competitors and provide their fans a chance of success, something they didn't have pre merger. 

17 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Aye but that apparently gives them more chance of winning the title, somehow.

To be fair I'm thinking more about teams like Aberdeen and Hearts winning the league, not Thistle. 

Aye it's hard to understand that a team playing against Celtic in a one off cup final to win the league isn't a hell of a lot easier than a team catching them over a 38 game season. 

5 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

We are one of the best supported clubs in Europe and no we don't have enough resources to compete with the likes of Barca. That's down to the market we compete in.

We don't need to merge with anyone because we are already at the top of our market, a merge wouldn't be a merger at all, it would be us buying out our competition to ensure we remain at the top. In terms of European football, a buy out would likely make no difference as we would still be shopping in the same market and making similar revenues as we were pre buy out and in fact it would probably be worse for us as we would have bought out our biggest competition.

This is completely different from two smaller clubs in Scotland merging in order to earn more revenue to attract a better calibre of player to provide growth in order to close the gap on their competitors and provide their fans a chance of success, something they didn't have pre merger. 

Again, who are you talking about here, the Edinburgh clubs, Dundee??

20 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

To be fair I'm thinking more about teams like Aberdeen and Hearts winning the league, not Thistle. 

Right, so it doesn't matter about anyone else.

22 minutes ago, CityDave said:

Again, who are you talking about here, the Edinburgh clubs, Dundee??

The Edinburgh teams don't need to merge but the Dundee clubs should Imo. 

I'm not talking about any particular teams here, there are areas in the country that we all know about with multiple teams who do not attract enough fans/ revenue to even reach the top flight. 

Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar and Montrose is a perfectly good example of 4 clubs going nowhere but if they merged could attract crowds similar to mid table Championship clubs or Hamilton 

Speaking of investment, I have it on good source, I.e my pal shared on Facebook the works of some balloon with an internet blog, that thanks to the Green Brigade's Palestine flag protest, the UAE Royal Family are planning to invest some of their billions into Celtic.  There is no danger of this being filed under "700 million pound casinos". :rolleyes:

2 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

If a non OF team win the league, would you really care which team It was? 

Well yes, obviously, as I'm a St Johnstone supporter. Unless its us then I'm hardly going to celebrate it am I.

3 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

I think we both know you would love every minute of it no matter what team it was 

I really wouldn't. Aberdeen and Hearts fan are insufferable c***s as it is, them winning the league would be horrendous. Dundee or United winning it would be even worse.

1 minute ago, Tartantony said:

The Edinburgh teams don't need to merge but the Dundee clubs should Imo. 

I'm not talking about any particular teams here, there are areas in the country that we all know about with multiple teams who do not attract enough fans/ revenue to even reach the top flight. 

Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar and Montrose is a perfectly good example of 4 clubs going nowhere but if they merged could attract crowds similar to mid table Championship clubs or Hamilton 

How long would it take for an Angus Utd to attract similar crowds to say Raith Rovers or Morton? 15 years, 50 years??? Who's to say that most of the original fans will either shift their support to the local Junior sides or be lost to the game completely. That post of yours just shows how little respect for the smaller clubs and their fans you have. These fans have a pride in their club and their towns and enjoy a rivalry with other clubs in the area. Merging all four clubs would take that identity away. Also if you reduce the clubs by merging you also reduce the number of footballers, meaning less clubs less opportunities for aspiring young players who would be lost to the game instead of being given a chance by a small team to develop and then move on to bigger things. 

Supporting a small club and what that takes is something you obviously can't get your head around being a Celtic fan. Maybe being a Celtic fan you see little point in supporting other teams since they don't win trophies.

Why don't you ask supporters of these clubs what they think?

In answer to the original question, if one of Hearts, Aberdeen, Dundee, United, Hibs or Falkirk could qualify for the EL groups on a couple of occasions then they could begin to challenge to OF. It would help as well if there was an increase in Television Money to cancel out the attendance advantage.

The Sporting Intellegence Report that came out shows us how much each side pays there players:

Avg Wages p/week:

1. Celtic - £13,802
  2. Rangers - £6,094
  3. Aberdeen - £2,590
  4. Heart of Midlothian - £1,671
  5. Dundee - £1,189
  6. Inverness - £1,025
  7. -12th - £948-819

Aberdeen will be able to spend more when they move to Kingsford as will Hearts when they're selling out 21,000 instead of 17,000. If/When United, Falkirk and Hibs come back up they'll also have the ability to spend money and will probably all be spending £1500+ p/week on players in the Premiership