Work Events/Nights out.

I've signed up for ours, right across from the office in Merchant City. First time for me as I didn't go last year.

Looking forward to dripping with fear the next day already.

• Replies 306
2 hours ago, John Lambies Doos said:

Can't stand them tbh. I work for a large corporate company, good at my job and like all my colleagues. However, there seems to be an expectation that to get on you need to also socialise with work. I hate this, anyone else feel the same or can supply tips...

Same, hated that many works make it pretty much a unofficial requirement that you go to them. Im happy to be civil and even friendly to people i work with, but im a quiet person by choice, i have a small group of close friends and have no interest in making more, i like doing my own thing. I have no desire to mix my personal life with work life. Got railroaded into going to a Christmas party at my old work, i had no desire to go and when i was asked i told them i wasn't planning to go. Firstly, not being a drinker i dont exactly enjoy myself at social gatherings, people tend to get shitfaced and talk absolute bollocks, not even the entertaining bollocks. Fast forward a week later of constant nagging by both my manager(who didn't go herself) and a manager of another team that i "should" go, with not so subtle hints that it was important i do go i agreed to show up.

3 hours of boredom, 4 large cokes, pretending whenever i was asked if i was enjoying myself and wasted taxi fares. Was a absolute waste of my time. 

A couple of years ago I had to work the following day after the Christmas night oot, well the night went great or so I thought, staggered home by about 3am pretty pleased with myself for not being to rubbered, to be met my the wife for the obligatory question and answer session, who was there ? Who did you speak to ? Etc Etc seem to pass with flying colours or so I thought ..... went to work later that morning a bit rough but been worse lol the day passed without incident and finally it was home time ..... walked in the door through to the kitchen where I glanced at the shirt I had on the night before hanging over a bar stool !!! Unusual place for that to be I thought !!! The wife appears with a face as if I have shat in her handbag, I thought oops something's up lol EXPLAIN this mark on your shirt !!!! Awww f**k went through ma heid that looks very much like make up !!!! The sofa was comfy for a few nights !!!

5 minutes ago, kilbowie2002 said:

This! I hate works nights out. I dont drink either and all the alkies come up and pat you on the back like you're overcoming some kinda disability by not drinking. I cannot be arsed with work nights, I like most of my office, I even enjoy playing fives but the thought of paying an absolute fortune for crap food and a 'disco' in Glasgow Science Centre (wtf??) just to fit in? Screw that!

Absolutely pal. I've worked in loads of Call Centers and there is definitely a connection between that kinda job and heavy drinking, honestly get so fed up of muppets being shocked and surprised to learn someone doesn't drink. Which always leads to the team idiot trying to talk you into having a drink. I'd love to give in and say "Grow up you fucking idiot"

Xmas night out is bearable.

Place I worked few years ago, had night out every Friday ffs. It was like work was their social life.

You spend more time at work, than with your friends and family. Last thing I want is more work related crap.

Currently working in a smallish team at work. Had a few drinks in Walkabout a few months ago which was okay.

Last Friday one of my colleagues had organised a race night (horses, no white hoods and burning crosses).

Was a really good night as a lot of effort had been put into it by my colleague and their family as it was part of a fund raising cause very close to them. Got a couple of nice whiskys on an auction and a paintballing day for a fiver. 

Christmas do is over at some hotel in Rutherglen.  Will probably be #carnage but that's the way these things go sometimes.

I guess it comes down to the company and where you go largely. I used to hate work dos but I don't go out of my comfort zone too often these days so I'm more amenable to them at the moment. 

Our main night out is Party night in one of the city centre hotels, our wee team didn't fancy it so are doing our own thing the day before. We've all get on and have been out a couple of times during the year so it should be better than party hats and a disco Not sure what everyone else thinks of us tho.

We usually have a Christmas lunch and then the Christmas night out the following week. The lunch is always, 100% better than the night out as more of the sound folk go this night and we're usually on it from about 12.30pm. After our scran we always end up on a pub crawl, but usually by 8pm most of the 40 + have surrendered. 

I smoke (shoot me) so whenever I've had a few pints I'm always paranoid outside in case the bouncers think I'm a little bit too tipsy and might get asked to vacate the premises. This is especially worsened on these nights as we usually start off with our favourite tipple, then move on to champagne, daiquiris, martinis, tequila and horribly flavoured shots (Turkish delight and mint aero spring to mind). 

Not a massive fan of the nights out but it's usually only £5 a ticket and you get a good buffet, decent tunes and drink is really cheap (£2.30 a pint). Maybe I've not enjoyed them as much because everyone else had been on it as soon as they left work and turned up to the party at 7pm. Whereas I would spend about 4 hours fannying about and end up turning up at 9pm...sober. Think I'll go round to one of my workmates' house before it as he usually has a few folk up for a pre-sesh. 

FTFY

I would think Tina Turner riding you would be simultaneously the most thrilling and scary experience of your life. Thighs like Graeme Souness in his prime with the added threat that you might dislodge her wig in the heat of the moment. A danger bang for sure...

1 minute ago, pittsburgh phil said:

I would think Tina Turner riding you would be simultaneously the most thrilling and scary experience of your life. Thighs like Graeme Souness in his prime with the added threat that you might dislodge her wig in the heat of the moment. A danger bang for sure...

As if by magic, here is the mustachioed one himself demonstrating your point.

I have been in my current job for four and a half years and have never been on a night out with my colleagues. I get on with 99% of them but only speak to one or two of them outside of work, so the thought of getting drunk on a works night out does not appeal to me!

I'm quite lucky in my office, a lot of the folk are around the same age as me & we sometimes have an impromptu night out. The inferiors have a quiz night at their office tomorrow & we fully intend on showing up rat arsed and ruining it.

Christmas night out is with the other bunch who are quite sour faced, it's in that sky bar that looks on to the castle which might be awrite.

I would imagine my worlk would be alright for a night out.  Our Christmas  (winter I think they said :lol:) night out.  Is at some fucking castle in the middle of nowhere nearish to the Kincardine bridge....on fitba day.  Horrendous idea.  

If they have a night out in civilisation I will consider it.  

My office have decided that this year's Christmas night out will be a £35 a head trip to see a Tina Turner impersonator at a local hotel. Last year it was a Dolly Parton impersonator.

How exactly did "your office" decide on this?

Is there some mouth-breathing middle-aged simpleton arranging it all, or was this actually a popular, voted for, option?

I've genuinely never heard of anything so shite for a Christmas night out before.