Brexit slowly becoming a Farce.

John Lambies Doos

18 hours ago, trainspotter said:

Assuming it’s not a parody (and it’s getting harder to tell the difference these days) then you have to ask why a self-confessed Brexiteer is howling that he didn’t vote to stand for 55 minutes in a passport queue.

Not a parody given his timeline. Saw a report of similar in Berlin yesterday. There are gonna be lots of dumb gammons throwing tantrums like this once the transition period is over.

3 hours ago, Crùbag said:

Not a parody given his timeline. Saw a report of similar in Berlin yesterday. There are gonna be lots of dumb gammons throwing tantrums like this once the transition period is over.

Oddly, I took a look at the timeline and my instant thought was that it was a blatant parody.

10 hours ago, welshbairn said:

There was talk about pricing it based on the per head UK contribution to the EU, about £400. Guy Verhofstadt talked about it but I don't think anything came of it.

Could see some "frequent flyers" and folk with a specific job lined up paying that. Can't see your average household coughing up £1600 per year just to avoid being held up and touched up at Palma airport. They'll just start going to Turkey instead.

It's almost as though the EU knows that having a satellite on its border offering cut-price, low standards deals to foreign investors would be harmful to the interests of their member states.

tenor.gif?itemid=7307056

34 minutes ago, John Lambies Doos said:

Well this is going well.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-51526784

Of course the British press will say EU bad when in fact it's the UK that are c***s.

I can only see one possible outcome at the end of the year.

Thanks to the UK Gov/t we will be leaving without a deal, and Parliament won't be able to do a thing about it. 

Edited by ICTJohnboy

I don't remember seeing any mention of the EU's reasoning for its demands on the BBC. There's always, however, a little sob story from the UK government about wanting friendly cooperation with the unreasonable meanies of Europe.

This journalism lark seems like a piece of piss. You could do that from your bed.

35 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

I don't remember seeing any mention of the EU's reasoning for its demands on the BBC. There's always, however, a little sob story from the UK government about wanting friendly cooperation with the unreasonable meanies of Europe.

This journalism lark seems like a piece of piss. You could do that from your bed.

Reasoning - apart from spite - for demanding tax and standards and legal controls that they don't demand in their trade deals with Korea, Japan and Canada? From whom they get almost zero intelligence and defence help. Fire away Dave. We're all ears.

"but, but, but we're on their doorstep..." LMFAO before you even concoct your reply.

30 minutes ago, Pet Jeden said:

Reasoning - apart from spite - for demanding tax and standards and legal controls that they don't demand in their trade deals with Korea, Japan and Canada? From whom they get almost zero intelligence and defence help. Fire away Dave. We're all ears.

"but, but, but we're on their doorstep..." LMFAO before you even concoct your reply.

Because they are in a position of strength, and as such would be stupid to not push for the most advantageous terms possible. And there's the very obvious motivation of showing other member states that there is no easy rosy get everything you want decoupling.

But I'm sure you already know this. 

1 hour ago, Pet Jeden said:

I don't recall any of Korea, Japan or Canada having previously been EU members and then choosing to leave.  The EU is in a completely new situation here and as such they will be bargaining for the most advantageous trading outcome for their member states - would anyone seriously expect them to do otherwise ?  And the poster above is correct; of course they will play hardball 'pour encourager les autres'.

Successive UK Governments have now had the opportunity to agree a sensible trading arrangement with the EU but they have declined it in favour of f**k knows what.  Understandably then the EU is not going to sit idly by whilst some sort of casino-economy Singapore-of-the-North-Sea is created on their doorstep.  And I would hope, neither is the vast majority of the UK population who never voted for this shitfest. 

3 hours ago, ICTJohnboy said:

I can only see one possible outcome at the end of the year.

Thanks to the UK Gov/t we will be leaving without a deal, and Parliament won't be able to do a thing about it. 

Again, can large numbers of those MP's go back to their constituents and tell them they supported a no deal?

With emphasis on the "Red Wall" seats that the Tories won in December, that's also 2 fingers up to them.

1 hour ago, Genuine Hibs Fan said:

Because they are in a position of strength, and as such would be stupid to not push for the most advantageous terms possible. And there's the very obvious motivation of showing other member states that there is no easy rosy get everything you want decoupling.

But I'm sure you already know this. 

So you accept that they are being unreasonable - but because they are strong it’s alright? Sort of gun boat diplomacy. The international version of “what you gonnae dae aboot it, ya radge”? That kind of thinking belongs back in the colonial era.

And you want to stay close to an organisation that behaves like that? 

D9BBCAF4-FE4B-44F2-9CC0-0D90580C0BDB.png