Brexit slowly becoming a Farce.

John Lambies Doos

21 minutes ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:

You're probably too young to relate to this

I'm afraid that middle-aged morons like yourself really can't pull off that patronising trick on here; try again. 

Or better yet, don't bother.

someone who has reached the status of (massively popular) LOTO while retaining his principles.

You must be thinking of someone else entirely. Here's the last ten polls of the Mumbleclown's actual approval rating:

-40; -50; -44; -40; -46; -45; -41; -48;-50; -42.

So 'massively unpopular' then. 

Edited by vikingTON

1 minute ago, virginton said:

Will continue voting for the only show in town champ, while you waste your ballot on another losing donkey in a red rosette; no doubt with Union Jack cufflinks as well.

Thanks for playing anyway.

Image result for salmond smug

I thought you weren't voting for anyone who was complicit in helping Corbyn become PM.

Nicola has already come out and backed Jezza.

2 minutes ago, Jim McLean's Ghost said:

I thought you weren't voting for anyone who was complicit in helping Corbyn become PM.

Nicola has already come out and backed Jezza.

Erm no I didn't; try reading posts for the sake of comprehension next time.

Truly gutted for you. 

40d6e07c-8087-4fac-886f-d8a3ace370a1.thumb.jpg.011d2833fd557b3d37042d17af91c156.jpg

8 minutes ago, virginton said:

Erm no I didn't; try reading posts for the sake of comprehension next time.

Truly gutted for you. 

40d6e07c-8087-4fac-886f-d8a3ace370a1.thumb.jpg.011d2833fd557b3d37042d17af91c156.jpg

So in supporting Corbyn for PM the SNP would be "electoral asbestos" but you would still vote for them.

If your vote for the SNP remains strong, why wouldn't other people take the same stance? SNP support would remain strong so "a suicide note for an entire generation " was just you talking bullshit?

Edited by Jim McLean's Ghost

10 minutes ago, virginton said:

I'm afraid that middle-aged morons like yourself really can't pull off that patronising trick on here; try again. 

Or better yet, don't bother.

You must be thinking of someone else entirely. Here's the last ten polls of the Mumbleclown's actual approval rating:

-40; -50; -44; -40; -46; -45; -41; -48;-50; -42.

So 'massively unpopular' then. 

Nope. I know exactly who I'm thinking of. While you sit on your arse reading MSM polls which ask the questions they want of the people they want,  I have seen Corbyn speak many times, from a couple of thousand in York four years ago to the six-figure crowds the Big Meeting attracts. Funny thing is, unlike the much-mentioned Glastonbury appearance, there's not what you'd call entertainment on offer. Just an honourable man speaking to people who want to hear what he's saying. He is an excellent orator - even allowing that he rarely gets a hostile crowd...

Never mind Labour, I cannot recall any politician or political speaker outside of Party Conferences pulling crowds like Corbyn does. And these are crowds of ordinary people. Mostly, given my location, in the northern "Brexit Heartlands" we're supposedly throwing away. 

"Opinion polls are a device for influencing public opinion, not a device for measuring it." (Peter Hitchens - a Tory cúnt, but bang on on this occasion)

Oh, and I enjoyed being middle-aged. If that's what I am now, then my Birthday Cakes will be like fucking bonfires by the time I'm done. 

1 minute ago, Jim McLean's Ghost said:

So in supporting Corbyn for PM the SNP would "electoral asbestos" but you would still vote for them.

If your vote for the SNP remains strong, why wouldn't other people take the same stance? SNP support would remain strong so "a suicide note for an entire generation " was just you talking bullshit?

None of those rambling sentences make sense; try wiping away tears and not thumping your fists on the keyboard and try again. 

With independence in tow and a crushing dominance of Scottish politics the SNP have far more tactical flexibility on this issue than any other party. Indeed it is very much in their interests to show how much they want to co-operate in fighting Brexit right now, only to throw their hands in the air when England and Wales delivers an entirely opposite outcome at a general election. Now I don't think Sturgeon has been maneuvering events towards that at all but there is really no bad outcome for her or the cause of Scottish independence from a government collapse and an autumn election. 

What's ironic is that old Labour dinosaurs like our Yorkshire correspondent are the ones who would be on the receiving end of the decade-long shoeing once PMMumbleclown gets emptied from office, yet they just can't help themselves cheerleading for their man to get his wee shot in the big seat regardless. 

11 minutes ago, Baxter Parp said:

Brexit: Tory MP Guto Bebb backs Corbyn as caretaker PM to avoid no-deal

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/guto-bebb-corbyn-pm-government-block-no-deal-brexit-boris-a9061261.html?utm_source=reddit.com

Probably old news but holy hell.

Aye, he was on 5 Live (Emma Barnett?) this morning. I sat and listened to it in the car, even once I'd parked. The times are, indeed, beginning to change. Even if it boils down to "Corbyn? He'll be gone in a couple of years. Brexit is going to fúck us all for decades.", I'll take it. 

2 hours ago, Paco said:

Astonishing anyone can blame Corbyn for literally providing a solution that the Lib Dem leader has rejected for personal gain, but has Tory MPs giving it serious consideration. Maybe it wouldn’t work but Swinson has made it impossible to get off the ground with a reactionary statement.

Would Cable have been so stupid? Is Swinson actually going to come out and say she’d prefer a Tory as Prime Minister than Jeremy Corbyn?

She would, she's a Tory herself.

Just now, WhiteRoseKillie said:

Nope. I know exactly who I'm thinking of. While you sit on your arse reading MSM polls which ask the questions they want of the people they want,  I have seen Corbyn speak many times, from a couple of thousand in York four years ago to the six-figure crowds the Big Meeting attracts. Funny thing is, unlike the much-mentioned Glastonbury appearance, there's not what you'd call entertainment on offer. Just an honourable man speaking to people who want to hear what he's saying. He is an excellent orator - even allowing that he rarely gets a hostile crowd...

Never mind Labour, I cannot recall any politician or political speaker outside of Party Conferences pulling crowds like Corbyn does. And these are crowds of ordinary people. Mostly, given my location, in the northern "Brexit Heartlands" we're supposedly throwing away. 

"Opinion polls are a device for influencing public opinion, not a device for measuring it." (Peter Hitchens - a Tory cúnt, but bang on on this occasion)

^^^ Living in a state of complete and utter denial. 

Think you'll find that in a contest between the rigorous evidence provided by modern-day polling versus your Hovis-themed, anecdotal drivel (coupled with a swivel-eyed journalist like Peter Hitchens) any rational observer will place your cause in the bin where it belongs.

3 minutes ago, virginton said:

None of those rambling sentences make sense; try wiping away tears and not thumping your fists on the keyboard and try again. 

With independence in tow and a crushing dominance of Scottish politics the SNP have far more tactical flexibility on this issue than any other party. Indeed it is very much in their interests to show how much they want to co-operate in fighting Brexit right now, only to throw their hands in the air when England and Wales delivers an entirely opposite outcome at a general election. Now I don't think Sturgeon has been maneuvering events towards that at all but there is really no bad outcome for her or the cause of Scottish independence from a government collapse and an autumn election. 

What's ironic is that old Labour dinosaurs like our Yorkshire correspondent are the ones who would be on the receiving end of the decade-long shoeing once PMMumbleclown gets emptied from office, yet they just can't help themselves cheerleading for their man to get his wee shot in the big seat regardless. 

You know that schadenfreude  a lot of folk are expressing towards farmers and fishermen as Brexit approaches? I get a little bit of the same when Snp fans (and you're not an informed politically aware person, so don't kid yourself - this might as well be the x-factor or the SPFL second tier for you) cannot see beyond Independence. All those Tories aren't going to f**k off, you know, and idiots like you will have chased the socialist alternative. Then we'll see how progressive the SNP really are. You are aware of their old nickname, I assume?

1 minute ago, virginton said:

You are the one spouting bullshit.  I'll take you through it slowly.

1. You said it would be electoral suicide for parties that back Corbyn.
  2. The SNP have said they are backing Corbyn.
  3. You maintain you will still vote SNP (and so will I)
  4. Labour voters will be happy with a Labour PM
  5. So where is the electoral suicide for the parties backing Corbyn???

Also Mumbleclown is the worst patter on here since Cockwomble.

Think you'll find that in a contest between the rigorous evidence provided by modern-day polling versus your Hovis-themed, anecdotal drivel (coupled with a swivel-eyed journalist like Peter Hitchens) any rational observer will place your cause in the bin where it belongs.
Five thirty eight (one of the most prestigious looking organisations, albeit in the US) have said that polling data outwith am election campaign is useless for predicting election winners.

The vast majority of folk don't pay any attention to politics until they need to and there's no evidence to suggest polls taken 6 months or so before an election have any credibility.

Corbyn made a mockery of polling and media predictions in 2017. It's not inconceivable that he could do so again.

Just now, WhiteRoseKillie said:

You know that schadenfreude  a lot of folk are expressing towards farmers and fishermen as Brexit approaches? I get a little bit of the same when Snp fans (and you're not an informed politically aware person, so don't kid yourself - this might as well be the x-factor or the SPFL second tier for you) cannot see beyond Independence. All those Tories aren't going to f**k off, you know, and idiots like you will have chased the socialist alternative. Then we'll see how progressive the SNP really are. You are aware of their old nickname, I assume?

Scotland hasn't voted for any form of Tory government in its history; your country does it every five years. 

So I think we can safely file your concern about the Scottish electorate alongside your delusional rating of the Mumbleclown, your tinfoil hat view of rigorous political science and your laughable attempts to patronise based on nothing other than your University of Life, anecdotal experiences  - actual value to the discussion: zero - in the bin then. 

Better luck next time. 

5 minutes ago, virginton said:

Aye, like the rigorous evidence provided in the recent Peterborough by-election. 

There's only one poll that matters.

And (at least south of the border) there's only one Party not shitting themselves at the prospect. 

The Yellow Tories have just shot themselves in both feet, tig/change/whoever will all be gone the minute their constituents get the chance, and more and more ordinary, not registered for polling, punters are getting pissed off with the absolute fucking state of their lives, it's got to be unfortunately good news for the only Party which actually says their going to try and make things better, 

Never mind "Traditional Labour Voters", traditional WC Tories are gradually realising that this Establishment is a very exclusive club, and they will never, ever be welcome in it. 

3 minutes ago, virginton said:

Scotland hasn't voted for any form of Tory government in its history; your country does it every five years. 

So I think we can safely file your concern about the Scottish electorate alongside your delusional rating of the Mumbleclown, your tinfoil hat view of rigorous political science and your laughable attempts to patronise based on nothing other than your University of Life, anecdotal experiences  - actual value to the discussion: zero - in the bin then. 

Better luck next time. 

My country? Dear oh dear oh dear.

Swing and a miss used to be the catchphrase, I believe.

10 minutes ago, pandarilla said:

Five thirty eight (one of the most prestigious looking organisations, albeit in the US) have said that polling data outwith am election campaign is useless for predicting election winners.

'Five thirty eight' is a website: websites can't express opinions or judgments, what with them being inanimate and all. The fact that you haven't even grasped that suggests that you're desperately cherry-picking anything you can find to try and save your Mumbleclown leader, which is not a credible strategy but at least a step up from the tinfoil hat nonsense deployed by his other white knight on the thread.

The vast majority of folk don't pay any attention to politics until they need to and there's no evidence to suggest polls taken 6 months or so before an election have any credibility.

Except that the vast majority of people have already seen enough to form their opinion of the Mumbleclown: and the vast majority of them consider him to be useless. The number of 'don't knows' on the polling are never much higher than 20% and often far less than that. 

Corbyn made a mockery of polling and media predictions in 2017. It's not inconceivable that he could do so again.

It is to anyone with a brain, given that he is now by far the most unpopular major party leader in British political history, which wasn't actually the case two years ago.

Edited by vikingTON

6 minutes ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:

Aye, like the rigorous evidence provided in the recent Peterborough by-election. 

There's only one poll that matters.

And (at least south of the border) there's only one Party not shitting themselves at the prospect. 

The Yellow Tories have just shot themselves in both feet, tig/change/whoever will all be gone the minute their constituents get the chance, and more and more ordinary, not registered for polling, punters are getting pissed off with the absolute fucking state of their lives, it's got to be unfortunately good news for the only Party which actually says their going to try and make things better, 

Never mind "Traditional Labour Voters", traditional WC Tories are gradually realising that this Establishment is a very exclusive club, and they will never, ever be welcome in it. 

Five wild swings and misses in a row - turns out you were actually better off relying on Hitchens. 

Just let that sink in.