Favourite quirks of Scottish stadiums.

4 minutes ago, PauloPerth said:

That corner stand at Pittodrie was bizarre. It didn't even curve round the corner, it just stood facing the opposite end.  I used to think it must have been weird sitting in it when the action was at the near goal as you'd be sitting looking over your left shoulder!

Building the Richard Donald Stand at the Beech End was a big mistake for me, the old Beech End was the best stand at the ground.  If they'd replaced either side stand with the Richard Donald design of stand,Pittodrie would be a vastly superior stadium today.

BZtSmljCcAAkhhA.jpeg.60fea48921fb388894ece6840e39c79d.jpeg

Did that bit in the corner have fans in it?

1 hour ago, PauloPerth said:

Yes, if you go higher up this page to lewisnorthfield's post has a picture. If you can enlarge it, you can see them all sitting there with sore  necks.  As recently as the late 1980's/ early 90's as well I'm pretty sure.

IMG_0900.JPG

The Richard Donald Stand was opened at the start of season 1993/94. So the last match with the wee corner stand would have been at the end of season 1991/92.

On 8/29/2016 at 15:35, CityDave said:

A view of the unusual J shaped covered standing area at Links Park. Was this meant to go all the way round opposite the Main Stand to behind the other goals to make a c shaped covered standing area? 

Football travels March 08 to May 08 001.jpg

Don't know if this was ever answered but far too many pages to scroll through.
However, before redevelopment, the old main stand was on the opposite side of the park so the terracing you see in the picture was never meant to wrap around the pitch.
There was a terracing of similar height to the one behind the goal where the new stand is now. It stretched from about the ends of the 18 yard box at both ends.

One quirk about Links Park though. Nipping in to the Legion at half time for "refreshments" (quite often never re-appearing for the second half)

Some other pictures showing the old stand and terracing

40188023_2196503547300293_1975088797519446016_n.jpg

45693894_10215586324350073_2188127898479624192_n.jpg

Thought that looked like a very very very very young and mouserless Hamish McAlpine but didn't think he'd played for Montrose so checked Wiki and was rather surprised to see he was there on loan from United during 67/68 as I didn't realise loans were a thing that far back. I'd have thought it all started in the 80s as a guess. One lives and learns.

37 minutes ago, 7-2 said:

Thought that looked like a very very very very young and mouserless Hamish McAlpine but didn't think he'd played for Montrose so checked Wiki and was rather surprised to see he was there on loan from United during 67/68 as I didn't realise loans were a thing that far back. I'd have thought it all started in the 80s as a guess. One lives and learns.

The Rooney in the front row is Jimmy Rooney who ended up going to Australia at the end of that season. He was capped 57 times and scored 20 goals for Australia and probably the only player in that picture to have played in a World Cup (1974).

1 hour ago, PortyMo said:

Don't know if this was ever answered but far too many pages to scroll through.
However, before redevelopment, the old main stand was on the opposite side of the park so the terracing you see in the picture was never meant to wrap around the pitch.
There was a terracing of similar height to the one behind the goal where the new stand is now. It stretched from about the ends of the 18 yard box at both ends.

One quirk about Links Park though. Nipping in to the Legion at half time for "refreshments" (quite often never re-appearing for the second half)

Some other pictures showing the old stand and terracing

40188023_2196503547300293_1975088797519446016_n.jpg

45693894_10215586324350073_2188127898479624192_n.jpg

Never mind Hamish the Goalie, is "Hacket" a young Father Jack on loan from Craggy Island?! 

The old Mo stand was rather small- IIRC it was an old Hieland Games stand. 

I sat in the old Corner Stand (Wing Stand?) at Pittodrie a couple of times. The view was decent AFAIR. I mind looking over the side at the away fans and thinking it was a really big drop but it probably wasn't, it was just that I was eight.

12 hours ago, tamthebam said:

The old Mo stand was rather small- IIRC it was an old Hieland Games stand. 

Think you're right. Plus it was on the far side. Last time I was there you could still walk over bits of the foundations.

48 minutes ago, The Mantis said:

Think you're right. Plus it was on the far side. Last time I was there you could still walk over bits of the foundations.

At one point after the big stand was built there were still parts of tiles remaining from the showers.

22 hours ago, PauloPerth said:

Yes, if you go higher up this page to lewisnorthfield's post has a picture. If you can enlarge it, you can see them all sitting there with sore  necks.  As recently as the late 1980's/ early 90's as well I'm pretty sure.

IMG_0900.JPG

That is the second last match played before the Old Beach End. I am sitting in there with all the end of season 'fancy dress' Falkirk fans just so I could 'Be There' one last time.

http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=4053&season=1991-92&squad=Senior

A week later it was full of supporters of the now defunct Rangers, so getting a place was not an option.....

Edited by Ken Fitlike

2 minutes ago, Ken Fitlike said:

That is the second last match played before the Old Beach End. I am sitting in there with all the end of season 'fancy dress' Falkirk fans just so I could 'Be There' one last time.

http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=4053&season=1991-92&squad=Senior

A week later it was full of supporters of the now defunct Rangers, so getting a place was not an option.....

Fit were you ?....centre .?........or a left-sider ?

Quite sad really that the Hvns got the Beach End for its last game

4 minutes ago, Ken Fitlike said:

Thats right aye! I was at the Rangers game the week after, in the Merkland end. Did the knuckle draggers not get a section of the main stand too? Nearest the Merkland road end?

18 hours ago, 7-2 said:

Wasn't only McAlpine from that photo that went on to bigger and better things.

I'm pretty sure the wee guy next to him is Bruce Martin who went on to skipper Keith to glory in the 70's and 80's.

49 minutes ago, Ken Fitlike said:

Looking at that programme you've linked to, it's a pity Graeme Shinnie wasn't playing for Aberdeen in that era.

A back four including Shinnie Winnie and Mckimmie.

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  SneldersMcKimmieWinnieGrantIrvineWrightGibson (Booth), BettKaneTen Caat (Mason), Paatelainen.

Thats right aye! I was at the Rangers game the week after, in the Merkland end. Did the knuckle draggers not get a section of the main stand too? Nearest the Merkland road end?
Didn't away fans used to get a wee bit of the Main Stand at the Merkland Road End all the time? I sat at that end of the Main Stand as a visiting Dunfermline supporter when we played Aberdeen in a midweek Scottish Cup replay (we'd drawn 0-0 at East End but lost 4-1 at Pittodrie). My Dad couldn't stand for long periods so we would always get tickets for the away end of the stand (the only place we never managed was Firs Park, as their wee stand only held about 60 odd and it was full of directors, players wives and other comps) and I'm sure my Dad asked someone at the ticket office which end of the Main Stand was for away fans.

I also bizarrely remember we were super early for the game (my Dad picked me up from school and we went straight up to Aberdeen; he hadn't been there since the A92 as it was then had been dualled so wildly overestimated how long it would take) and about half an hour before kick off some police or stewards came along the stand and looked under everyone's seat. Not sure if they had intel there was something dodgy or a bomb threat or what but it sticks in my mind.

1 hour ago, Salvo Montalbano said:

about half an hour before kick off some police or stewards came along the stand and looked under everyone's seat. Not sure if they had intel there was something dodgy or a bomb threat or what but it sticks in my mind.

Probably somebody had lost 20p.

5 hours ago, PauloPerth said:

Looking at that programme you've linked to, it's a pity Graeme Shinnie wasn't playing for Aberdeen in that era.

A back four including Shinnie Winnie and Mckimmie.

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  SneldersMcKimmieWinnieGrantIrvineWrightGibson (Booth), BettKaneTen Caat (Mason), Paatelainen.

they could have signed pre drugs bust Alan Dinnie to add to that back 4 - Shinnie, Winnie, Dinnie, McKimmie. 

mind you "Dinnae McKimmie" was heard often!