The Dalbeattie star Thread

Match of the Day

9 minutes ago, Aguerooooo said:

Dalbeattie struggling squad number wise as no one wants to move and play for the manager. Boys who are their are very good players and been unfortunate with some of results. Wasn't much in the game v BSC yesterday.

Seriously? I must have been at a different match. BSC won it at a canter. Fast start 2 quick goals a 3rd at the start of the second half and that was it as a contest. The pen gave some hope but by then BSC were in second gear and cruising.

• 2 months later...
Dalbeattie struggling squad number wise as no one wants to move and play for the manager. Boys who are their are very good players and been unfortunate with some of results. Wasn't much in the game v BSC yesterday.

Team looks like relegation candidates,not playing well,Is it down too bad management.Degnan red carded again probs better off without him anyway.Maybe time for change at Islecroft before it's too late.

• 8 months later...

Dalbeattie could struggle this season. Hope not but don’t think it will be pretty.
Watched game last night v a Hamilton XI. Well beat against good side.
Team selection not good.
Played probably there best CB Wells in midfield and there two best CM Graham and Todd were on the sub bench.
Plus no striker. Oh and not sure who GK was.

11 minutes ago, Aguerooooo said:

Dalbeattie could struggle this season. Hope not but don’t think it will be pretty.
Team selection not good.
Played probably there best CB Wells in midfield and there two best CM Graham and Todd were on the sub bench.

Is Lewis Sloan still at the Star for next season Aguero? 

6 minutes ago, Aguerooooo said:

Yes he was playing. Looks a bit heavier than he used to.

Thanks Aguero. I’m stating the obvious but he’s such s big player for them they missed him badly for most of last season. 

On ‎26‎/‎07‎/‎2018 at 08:52, Aguerooooo said:

Team selection not good.

Am sure Lee Wells sometimes played as a holding midfielder before at the Star. 

Are pre season games not about trying different formations and giving the whole squad a run out. Star played 3 friendlies in 6 days.

Hopefully this season Star will avoid the possible relegation woes of last season, a consistent regular team every week would help. Budget nowhere near some of the figures being mentioned of the central belt teams but everybody loves an underdog. Top ten would be a decent finish in my opinion

1 hour ago, gogsy said:

So Dalbeattie manager will be expecting a comfortable win tomorrow, considering he thinks Beith are a better team than Kelty and Dalbeattie beat Beith a few weeks ago.:)

No idea, why don't you ask him?

• 3 months later...
  • 4 months later...

Surprise result for the Star today, beating Kelty 2-1,  what happened , was it a great performance ? Star finally getting the rub of the green? Or were  Kelty rubbish? 

Out of interest, has the play off/relegation issue been settled?  i.ve lost track of what's happening!  ie if it stays as it is will Star be in a play-off and Whitehill relegated or will Whitehill be in the play-off?

18 minutes ago, Sermani said:

Out of interest, has the play off/relegation issue been settled?  i.ve lost track of what's happening!  ie if it stays as it is will Star be in a play-off and Whitehill relegated or will Whitehill be in the play-off?

There's no play-off at the bottom of the LL. As far as we know 15th gets automatically relegated (replaced by the EOS/SOS winner if licensed) and 14th might also go down if Cove Rangers beat club 42 (Berwick/Albion Rovers), but both would be able to re-apply to get the league back to 16 teams http://slfl.co.uk/applications-for-membership/

2 hours ago, Larry Hood said:

Wonder what man-management genius is in charge at Kelty these days?

The same kelty that know they won't win the league and took to the field against a team battling to stay up ?

Congratulations to the star for sealing another year at this level  by the way always loved a day oot doon there ?

There's an elective place considering selkirks demise should we be considered  ? There's pros and cons it's easy t work oot what they are but if I was ww sure as fcuk I would nae take it lying doon considering one o the teams that's expected to apply for it did nae give a fcuk yet applied late last season and got in the EOSFL ? 

I'm just bitter following a team wi nae floodlights,I'm just happy one of the teams like us  in the LL in its current format are having a fantastic season  though  :whistle 

Deserved win for Star.  Kelty better side in the first half but Star defended well and went in at half time one down. Scored within seconds of the re-start and though you wouldn't say the second goal was coming, it was deserved. Still had a number of experienced players out injured or suspended but was still a strong starting Xi. Two teenagers started the match with another four on the bench. Kelty played well in the first half but run out of ideas in the second. 

16 hours ago, gogsy said:

That's one win in four games for Kelty against Dalbeattie this season, home team has to be given some credit given the fact that their last home league win was 8th September. Dalbeattie were 3-1 up against Civil Service a few weeks ago and were drawing with Spartans when that game was abandoned so although todays result was a surprise it isn't coming out of nowhere. Add to that Kelty were probably still rubbish as well.

Certainly in the Scottish Cup game at Islecroft, Dalbeattie were the better team, probably should of won and the Spartans game Dalbeattie should have been ahead at ht, but you might you might say the pitch was a leveller and they had a howling wind on there back as well.  Onward and upward it is then.

16 hours ago, Ginaro said:

There's no play-off at the bottom of the LL. As far as we know 15th gets automatically relegated (replaced by the EOS/SOS winner if licensed) and 14th might also go down if Cove Rangers beat club 42 (Berwick/Albion Rovers), but both would be able to re-apply to get the league back to 16 teams http://slfl.co.uk/applications-for-membership/

Cheers. C'mon Berwick/Rovers!!!!!!!!!!!! Mind you everybody likes a day trip to Dalbeattie

3 hours ago, Ross O'Neri said:

Deserved win for Star.  Kelty better side in the first half but Star defended well and went in at half time one down. Scored within seconds of the re-start and though you wouldn't say the second goal was coming, it was deserved. Still had a number of experienced players out injured or suspended but was still a strong starting Xi. Two teenagers started the match with another four on the bench. Kelty played well in the first half but run out of ideas in the second. 

I'll agree with that, we were poor yesterday & Star deserved the win.

Certainly no argument with that.