League 2 Attendances

• Replies 374
More bollocks Simon, we have the best supported club in Angus and have shown our potential, no other club in Angus would/could have taken that support down to Stirling = FACT. 
Also Farfirs and the Hedgetrimmers crowds tonight combined was 1,600 in MASSIVE games for both clubs with no major fitba on the box = PATHETIC.

Haha calm down lad.

Sort of agree, our crowds have been good but could be better, the period between losing to Forfar and getting right back within a few points of them was pretty poor. Like we'd given up.

Think a good season for us should be about the 800 odd mark. Where we were without any bigger away supports or derbies when we were at the right end of league 1.

Only in the Edinburgh City at home and Elgin at home games when we were within touching distance did we better that.

Hopefully see a wee bump next season.

More bollocks Simon, we have the best supported club in Angus and have shown our potential, no other club in Angus would/could have taken that support down to Stirling = FACT. 

Also Farfirs and the Hedgetrimmers crowds tonight combined was 1,600 in MASSIVE games for both clubs with no major fitba on the box = PATHETIC.

That % of Arbroaths population stat is causing you some butthurt is it not = MASSIVE PATHETIC FACT........3% was it.Very poor...

We could just do a Forfar and say there's 1000 every week tbf..

3% mate 3%mate No place at the bragging table for you im afraid.Strip out the glory hunters at Stirling as a measure of Arbroaths "massive" fanbase and you're not much different from the rest really.Worse actually....

Aye. We could and should just lie, like Forfar

48 minutes ago, RedLichtie86 said:

If we had a table that shows only the home fans at the games, that would give a more accurate percentage table.

There is a logic to that.I reckon if Forfar had made it to the Premier division in the 80s we could have recorded our highest ever home attendance without any home fans.Dundee Dundee Utd Celtic Rangers Aberdeen cant mind the rest but we would have been packing them in.

13 hours ago, AFC360PUNK1320 said:

While I completely agree we are the best supported club in Angus and that none of the others would have taken the support we did to Stirling, that is our opinion.

Arbroath has a population roughly 3.5 times greater than Brechin. We also have a population that is verging on double that of Forfar. Neither of these are my opinion, they are facts based on data collated to show the population of each town.

This being the case, we should NEVER be comparing ourselves with Brechin. Brechin is a fucking village while Arbroath is the biggest town in Angus by some margain, no-where comes close to Arbroath population wise. That being the case, based on facts (population of each town) Arbroath should have crowds verging on double that of Forfar and Montrose, and several times bigger than Brechin.

As a club, Arbroath should have much more ambition than to just be slightly bigger than non entities like Brechin. They have consistently over achieved for the last 20 years, whereas we have under achieved for the vast majority of this period both on and off the park. We should be aiming to be at the level of teams like Alloa and Dumbarton in recent years, with a core home support of 7/800 which rises considerably for the bigger games.

We shouldn't be sitting about lording it up over the other Angus clubs about our slightly bigger gates - we should be asking ourselves how we can fufill our potential and increase our core support to the level it should be at based on our population, and based on what other far smaller towns around us manage to do.

While I completely agree we are the best supported club in Angus and that none of the others would have taken the support we did to Stirling, that is our opinion. Arbroath has a population roughly 3.5 times greater than Brechin. We also have a population that is verging on double that of Forfar. Neither of these are my opinion, they are facts based on data collated to show the population of each town.

This being the case, we should NEVER be comparing ourselves with Brechin. Brechin is a fucking village while Arbroath is the biggest town in Angus by some margain, no-where comes close to Arbroath population wise. That being the case, based on facts (population of each town) Arbroath should have crowds verging on double that of Forfar and Montrose, and several times bigger than Brechin.

As a club, Arbroath should have much more ambition than to just be slightly bigger than non entities like Brechin. They have consistently over achieved for the last 20 years, whereas we have under achieved for the vast majority of this period both on and off the park. We should be aiming to be at the level of teams like Alloa and Dumbarton in recent years, with a core home support of 7/800 which rises considerably for the bigger games.

We shouldn't be sitting about lording it up over the other Angus clubs about our slightly bigger gates - we should be asking ourselves how we can fufill our potential and increase our core support to the level it should be at based on our population, and based on what other far smaller towns around us manage to do.

Agree

ETA: although lording it over the other Angus diddies can be fun sometimes ;)

Of course support isn't only drawn within a town. Berwick's support isn't all from Berwick-upon-Tweed.

You could compare attendances within local authority areas - e.g. this season the 4 Angus clubs average attendances were 2.1% of estimated Angus population for 2015.

However some people will travel to Dundee or Glasgow.

In 2015-16 the average attendance across all 42 SPFL clubs was 3.8% of estimated Scottish population for 2016 - i.e. 1.9% per weekend.

Having a larger population means nothing. Its the make up of that population thats the key factor. There is no correlation to population to core supporters. There is no magic percentage each club is guaranteed to get.

Arbroath's population is larger but it has people who moved from all over the country for many diffetent reasons. The Glasgow Overspill moved some families here in the 60's and 70's. And they carried through the love for the OF.

People have moved here for more affordable housing compared to Dundee and Aberdeen and they may support those teams.

And the same can be said for any town, city and village in Scotland.

Brechin's over achievment is down to good management from their board and their staff, luck, etc

Our under achievment is down to poor management, bad luck, etc.

Thats the life of a football fan. You are always envious or glad of another clubs success or failures.

While I completely agree we are the best supported club in Angus and that none of the others would have taken the support we did to Stirling, that is our opinion.
Arbroath has a population roughly 3.5 times greater than Brechin. We also have a population that is verging on double that of Forfar. Neither of these are my opinion, they are facts based on data collated to show the population of each town.

Does this mean we can put the frankly ridiculous Arbroath "crowdwank" theme behind us now ? Save anymore statistical punctures to the anecdotal guff.Thanks.

You seem to be really bothered by all of this. Obviously touched a raw nerve, you yourself must've been looking round Station Park last week wondering why nobody had bothered turning up.

Fwiw. Decent support by Brechin standards on the TV last night for their play off so fair play to them.

You seem to be really bothered by all of this. Obviously touched a raw nerve, you yourself must've been looking round Station Park last week wondering why nobody had bothered turning up.

Fwiw. Decent support by Brechin standards on the TV last night for their play off so fair play to them.

I hope they get a good amount of money for it being on TV because that was a pretty poor crowd considering.

Thought it was ok. Seen most of them second half.

Cracking crowd at the Links by the way for the Peterhead game looks great on the highlights.

3 hours ago, RedLichtie86 said:

Having a larger population means nothing. Its the make up of that population thats the key factor. There is no correlation to population to core supporters. There is no magic percentage each club is guaranteed to get.

Arbroath's population is larger but it has people who moved from all over the country for many diffetent reasons. The Glasgow Overspill moved some families here in the 60's and 70's. And they carried through the love for the OF.

People have moved here for more affordable housing compared to Dundee and Aberdeen and they may support those teams.

And the same can be said for any town, city and village in Scotland.

Brechin's over achievment is down to good management from their board and their staff, luck, etc

Our under achievment is down to poor management, bad luck, etc.

Thats the life of a football fan. You are always envious or glad of another clubs success or failures.

Which negates the whole basis of your argument.