Prison

8 hours ago, Dee Man said:

The one I was in in Australia was a weird set up. I got taken to what I thought was my cell but in actual fact was a communal area with a table and chairs - all bolted to the floor -  and a tv, surrounded by about 5 or 6 small cells with thick perspex walls and doors so you were never out of view. Not good for wanking although I don't think having a chug was at the forefront of my mind.

There was a solitary confinement padded cell next door which some nutter kept losing the plot and getting put into despite numerous warnings. 

Reminds me of the jail in Chopper, which is set in Australia right enough. 

• Replies 113
3 hours ago, welshbairn said:

Did you get officially deported? I was told while getting kicked out of Canada that if if I got deported I could only get back in by appealing directly to their equivalent of the Home Secretary. Luckily the judge only gave me a departure notice.

Aye, got deported and a 3 year exclusion order. I got told they would pay my flight out but I would have to repay it if I ever returned so I just paid for it myself. 

2 hours ago, RawB93 said:

Reminds me of the jail in Chopper, which is set in Australia right enough. 

Skim those walls with a bit of plaster and replace the barred cells with nice modern clear plastic boxes and that was basically it. No eye stabbing though.

On 8/4/2016 at 03:03, Dee Man said:

Never been in the big hoose but got held in some remand/detention centre in Australia for an indeterminate length of time in 2001 after overstaying my 3 month tourist visa by a couple of years. Ended up getting released after 5 days but not having a scooby how long you're being held for was brutal. 

Also ended up getting held in four different cells over three days a few years back after a trip to Tynecastle. Got into bother at the turnstiles, police radioed through and discovered I had a warrant out for my arrest in England for skipping my community service. Got arrested and held overnight in St Leonards police station. Taken to the holding cell at Edinburgh airport the next morning until the English coppers arrived who then marched me through the airport in my handcuffs and put me onto the plane first to sit between them down the front while the other passengers filed onto the plane staring at me wondering what sort of mass murderer they were sharing their plane with. The copper on my right sat reading Harry Potter while the one on my left kept exchanging messages on napkins with one of the air hostesses and ended up pulling her, the jammy b*****d. He told me that all the police had been fighting over the shift on the Saturday night when the fax came through as they would be getting double time to fly to Edinburgh and back and thanked me for my troubles. Nae bather mate. Got flown down to Uxbridge cells for the night then transferred to Uxbridge Magistrates court the next morning to sit in the cells there until my case was called that afternoon. Ended up getting a hefty fine and thrown onto the streets of Uxbridge on Monday afternoon to make my own way back to Scotland. Ended up getting home on Tuesday afternoon in the same gear I'd left the house in on Saturday morning, smelling wonderful no doubt.

That would be a headwreck alright getting locked up far away from home and not knowing how long you might be there. At least when you have a sentence you know how long you are going to be there. I had a mate that the same happened to last year in Australia and he was in there for 5 weeks before getting deported. He had got arrested over something else and they found he had overstayed his visa so was getting deported. They seem to take all that seriously over there.

That was some weekend you had alright. Imagine how much it cost them to bring you back to court with the flights and paying those coppers. Must have been weird at the airport – did you have to go through security with the handcuffs on – would have set off those metal detectors? Did they keep you cuffed on the plane also? I’m sure people were staring at you and wondering what you had done.

When I was in prison I ended up in hospital for 2 days. I remember getting there and everybody looking at me because I was in cuffs and prison clothes and with two screws. When I was waiting I started talking to another lad behind me and got told not to. When I was there they kept one arm handcuffed to the bed even there was a guard with me. I’m sure people thought I was a murderer or something.

At least flying is better than being driven back down to London in one of those sweatbox vans in a tiny cell. I was in one getting transferred between prisons and was in one for a few hours and it felt so claustrophobic.

Did you have money with you when you got out to get you back home?

20 hours ago, RawB93 said:

I'd definitely agree with that man. In the Con's everyone is mature enough to know that the best way of getting through your sentence is to keep your head down and chill. Obviously fights break out, as you'll know, but it's usually people who've had beef outside and they've been forced to come face to face.

In the YO's, everyone's at the age where they don't know any better and are usually hyper-active wee neds. Putting them in an environment like that can only go one way. One of the things that I hated most about the system was that there were no means of rehabilitating offenders, or at the very least education regarding anti social behaviour. You can't just put someone in a box for X amount of time, exposing them to crime and voilence on a daily basis, then expect them to have learned their lesson. But I digress, that's another topic. I remember reading stats on an article about Polmont being the most voilent jail in Scotland, possibly even UK? I'd been in 4 over my 5 stays and I only started 1 of them. It's very much the unwritten rule that you must stand your ground or else be a bully victim. I'm really not a voilent person but you quickly learn to respond to the slightest bit of cheek with "who the f**k you talking to?". I'm actually laughing reading that back. I was basically a well spoken, good mannered boy undercover as a ned. :lol: Intelligence and empathy are seen as weaknesses by most others - you don't want to stand out. There was actually one or two other boys from Dundee I could have a proper conversation with, along with Alison who was a screw. She was a bit of a tank who could squat 100kg but amongst all the mutant offenders she was like an angel.. 

I was only in the digger for 3 days, so it was effectively like a weekender in police custody. That's when I spoke to that mental swastika guy. He'd been down there for over 9 months and was never gonna get back to the hall. We'd shout to each other through the door and talk about music and all sorts, he even lent me The Clash - Greatest Hits album. But he would not stop talking. Like, he just didn't get when it was time to take a natural break from speaking. So I would ignore him and he would start screaming abuse at me kicking his door, saying I was getting "taken out". Then we'd go back to chatting. 

I was on the pass when I did my sentence so I was serving up the cartons of orange juice and fruit bowls as part of a Sunday brunch. There was a boy from Maryhill who I'd had a scuffle with a couple days before. Screws had broken it up before it got serious and told me I could keep my job if we shook hands and ensured that was the end of it. He'd got his brunch, walked over to where I was sitting and he asked me if there was any apple juice left. Before I could reply, he'd flipped his tray into my face covering me in the contents of a fry up. I'll never forget the feeling of burning hot beans running down my face and neck while we rolled about the hall floor with everyone watching on. Managed to land a few good hits and heard people cheering me on as he was a known arsehole who no-one liked but were feart of him. I heard screws shouting at us to stop while they waited for backup with the riot alarm ringing in the background. At this point though I was running on pure adrenaline. The final punch was like when you see superman punch the ground, causing the surrounding buildings to be thrown in the air. Except superman doesn't then get rugby tackled by two wardens! I had a meeting with the Governor and tried explaining that it was between that or being bullied for the rest of my sentence but he didn't want to know. So it was 3 days in the digger then moved to a different hall.

As for the kettle thing - it was actually in the over 18s bit, we just didn't have a lighter :lol: Though when getting moved from Perth to Polmont (U18s) I had to bank baccy, skins and a lighter... It was certainly an experience, I'll say that much. Another guy who was getting moved with me had used shampoo for lube and it burned his arsehole the whole way there.. Extreme measures, perhaps, but it made me a very rich man for a short while. Tobacco in a normal jail is about double the price, in an U18s you can sell it for up to 5 times as much.

There were enough scraps in regular prison too but like you said mainly between younger lads and those only in for a few months. The older cons would be telling them to calm down. A lot of the hassle is brought in from the outside and also people getting into debt for all sorts. It’s bound to happen though when you have hundreds of lads being kept locked up.

I only had one proper fight inside and it happens if you don’t want people to take you as a pushover. I stood my ground and gave as good as I got. That’s how I ended up in hospital but it was worth it and I sort of got respect for it. You don’t want to stand out as a weakling. It felt like I was there reading your story about the beans! That’s the thing you never know when things are going to kick off. Not bad you only got 3 days. Police custody for the weekend is rough – that happened to me before going to court for the GBH. Just stuck in the cell – nothing to do, nobody to talk to and not allowed smoke. At least you have TV and your own stuff in a prison cell.

How come you never went to prison after being in so much when you were young? Thought  most people in Young Offenders end up in prison? I agree as well that prison doesn’t rehabilitate people like they say. Especially if you are only in for a few months. When you get a longer sentence it gives you time to think about things but it’s only if you want to change things yourself – nobody else is going to do it for you. When I was there I saw lads getting out and then ending up back inside a few weeks later. You can’t blame them all as many people have issues and when they get out have nowhere to go, no job or anything like that and just get into trouble again.

2 hours ago, Matt30 said:

That would be a headwreck alright getting locked up far away from home and not knowing how long you might be there. At least when you have a sentence you know how long you are going to be there. I had a mate that the same happened to last year in Australia and he was in there for 5 weeks before getting deported. He had got arrested over something else and they found he had overstayed his visa so was getting deported. They seem to take all that seriously over there.

That was some weekend you had alright. Imagine how much it cost them to bring you back to court with the flights and paying those coppers. Must have been weird at the airport – did you have to go through security with the handcuffs on – would have set off those metal detectors? Did they keep you cuffed on the plane also? I’m sure people were staring at you and wondering what you had done.

When I was in prison I ended up in hospital for 2 days. I remember getting there and everybody looking at me because I was in cuffs and prison clothes and with two screws. When I was waiting I started talking to another lad behind me and got told not to. When I was there they kept one arm handcuffed to the bed even there was a guard with me. I’m sure people thought I was a murderer or something.

At least flying is better than being driven back down to London in one of those sweatbox vans in a tiny cell. I was in one getting transferred between prisons and was in one for a few hours and it felt so claustrophobic.

Did you have money with you when you got out to get you back home?

I can't remember going through security at the airport but I know I was cuffed all the way from the holding cell at the airport until I was on the plane. When I was on the plane one of the coppers said he would take the handcuffs off if I "promised to try not to escape". He was deadly serious. I was sat inbetween two polis on an airplane, where the f**k was I going to go? My brother who had gone to the match with me had stuck up for me at the turnstiles and ended up getting himself arrested. They radioed through for a check on him and found out he'd a warrant out in Northampton. He got taken down by train and was kept cuffed for the entire 7hr journey :lol:

Aye those sweatboxes in the prison vans are brutal. Sitting handcuffed in an uncomfortable moulded plastic seat inside a compartment that couldn't be any smaller as you watch the outside world go by is as grim as it gets. 

I had some money put by over in Oz so by the time I paid for my flight I had about £500 left over by the time I got back to the UK. I'm surprised they never seized my money considering they knew it had come from cash in hand work.

I've posted this before somewhere, but got arrested working illegally in British Colombia and a night in the local cells, then flown down to Vancouver. Thought my mate had already been caught, so grassed him up to look honest, turned out he hadn't. Still feel shit about that. Anyway, in handcuffs at the local airport I asked my ex-mate loudly why he shot the security guard. Didn't go down well with our escorts.

On ‎30‎/‎07‎/‎2016 at 23:07, Dindeleux said:

This was all fine for the guy in question and he had been ready for him.

Then the judge gave him bail.

The rest of the story is questionable but apparently he began to argue this with the judge and say that he wouldn't come back and should be remanded - because in his words (when telling me in the pub not telling the judge this of course) that "packing stuff up was sore and taking it out was even worse and now he would need to unpack and then pack again in a couple of weeks".  The judge was having none of it though and gave him "one last chance" to turn up at court and confirmed it would be beneficial to his sentence if he could prove himself reliable by not missing the next court date.

He did make the next court date and got the jail.

if hed told the sheriff to f**k off in the court hed have almost certainly have been jailed for contempt and im sure hed know that

I mind once there was a boy who got 14 months for house breaking and he told the judge he'd do that sentence standing on his head. The judge said "here's another 14 to help you get back on your feet then" :lol: boy was absolutely scunnered.

On 04/08/2016 at 18:24, RawB93 said:

I'd definitely agree with that man. In the Con's everyone is mature enough to know that the best way of getting through your sentence is to keep your head down and chill. Obviously fights break out, as you'll know, but it's usually people who've had beef outside and they've been forced to come face to face.

In the YO's, everyone's at the age where they don't know any better and are usually hyper-active wee neds. Putting them in an environment like that can only go one way. One of the things that I hated most about the system was that there were no means of rehabilitating offenders, or at the very least education regarding anti social behaviour. You can't just put someone in a box for X amount of time, exposing them to crime and voilence on a daily basis, then expect them to have learned their lesson. But I digress, that's another topic. I remember reading stats on an article about Polmont being the most voilent jail in Scotland, possibly even UK? I'd been in 4 over my 5 stays and I only started 1 of them. It's very much the unwritten rule that you must stand your ground or else be a bully victim. I'm really not a voilent person but you quickly learn to respond to the slightest bit of cheek with "who the f**k you talking to?". I'm actually laughing reading that back. I was basically a well spoken, good mannered boy undercover as a ned. :lol: Intelligence and empathy are seen as weaknesses by most others - you don't want to stand out. There was actually one or two other boys from Dundee I could have a proper conversation with, along with Alison who was a screw. She was a bit of a tank who could squat 100kg but amongst all the mutant offenders she was like an angel.. 

I was only in the digger for 3 days, so it was effectively like a weekender in police custody. That's when I spoke to that mental swastika guy. He'd been down there for over 9 months and was never gonna get back to the hall. We'd shout to each other through the door and talk about music and all sorts, he even lent me The Clash - Greatest Hits album. But he would not stop talking. Like, he just didn't get when it was time to take a natural break from speaking. So I would ignore him and he would start screaming abuse at me kicking his door, saying I was getting "taken out". Then we'd go back to chatting. 

I was on the pass when I did my sentence so I was serving up the cartons of orange juice and fruit bowls as part of a Sunday brunch. There was a boy from Maryhill who I'd had a scuffle with a couple days before. Screws had broken it up before it got serious and told me I could keep my job if we shook hands and ensured that was the end of it. He'd got his brunch, walked over to where I was sitting and he asked me if there was any apple juice left. Before I could reply, he'd flipped his tray into my face covering me in the contents of a fry up. I'll never forget the feeling of burning hot beans running down my face and neck while we rolled about the hall floor with everyone watching on. Managed to land a few good hits and heard people cheering me on as he was a known arsehole who no-one liked but were feart of him. I heard screws shouting at us to stop while they waited for backup with the riot alarm ringing in the background. At this point though I was running on pure adrenaline. The final punch was like when you see superman punch the ground, causing the surrounding buildings to be thrown in the air. Except superman doesn't then get rugby tackled by two wardens! I had a meeting with the Governor and tried explaining that it was between that or being bullied for the rest of my sentence but he didn't want to know. So it was 3 days in the digger then moved to a different hall.

As for the kettle thing - it was actually in the over 18s bit, we just didn't have a lighter :lol: Though when getting moved from Perth to Polmont (U18s) I had to bank baccy, skins and a lighter... It was certainly an experience, I'll say that much. Another guy who was getting moved with me had used shampoo for lube and it burned his arsehole the whole way there.. Extreme measures, perhaps, but it made me a very rich man for a short while. Tobacco in a normal jail is about double the price, in an U18s you can sell it for up to 5 times as much.

In about 2004, I did a volunteer course with the Prince's Trust and one of the participants was a boy who was a couple of years into a stretch in Polmont. He had been done for causing death by dangerous driving but maintains he was innocent. Had apparently been up for parole a few times for good behaviour but kept getting knocked back as a condition of parole meant admitting his guilt and apologising, which he refused to do. He was in the open part which meant he was allowed home at the weekends.

He did pretty well. Studied whilst in prison and got a couple of degrees and now works in financial services. I actually got on really well with him. He got out in 2005 but we don't keep in touch, although I believe he lives in Falkirk now (was from Glasgow).

I stay just a couple of miles from Polmont and if I'm ever at the Tesco in Redding I can hear all the inmates shouting and screaming at each other. Sounds utterly mental.

On 8/5/2016 at 18:14, Dee Man said:

I can't remember going through security at the airport but I know I was cuffed all the way from the holding cell at the airport until I was on the plane. When I was on the plane one of the coppers said he would take the handcuffs off if I "promised to try not to escape". He was deadly serious. I was sat inbetween two polis on an airplane, where the f**k was I going to go?

You've obviously never seen Catch Me if You Can?

14 hours ago, The Chlamydia Kid said:

Not necessarily boy I know called the sheriff a "rodent" and swore it him in court. Came out and told my pal the story and we all thought he was a jackanory.......then this story appeared in the local paper the following week.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/local-news/airdrie-sheriff-called-a-rodent-2825558#l3ZOBfIVPslv5JbZ.97

very much an exception I think;generally speaking sherrifs may or may not be lenient with all manner of behaviour but verbally or physically abuse them or the lawyers and you will be going to jail,not passing go and not collecting £200

On ‎06‎/‎08‎/‎2016 at 00:05, RawB93 said:

I mind once there was a boy who got 14 months for house breaking and he told the judge he'd do that sentence standing on his head. The judge said "here's another 14 to help you get back on your feet then" :lol: boy was absolutely scunnered.

:lol::lol:telt!