The Candy Shop- St Roch's 2016-17

Kinky Afro

• Replies 1.3k

The Candy are heading through to Fauldhouse on 30th December for a friendly against the East Region Superleague team which is sure to be hard fought and a good test for us against a team playing their 3rd consecutive season in the top Junior league in the East. That league has saw several players go senior over the last few years, notably Jordyn Sheerin who signed for Livingston from Musselburgh and went from playing Fauldhouse at Park View to Rangers at Ibrox in the space of a few months. It is a good standard....Last years East Region Superleague winners were Bonnyrigg Rose and they have just beaten Dumbarton tonight in the senior Scottish Cup replay...they play HIBS in the next round. Make no mistake, this will be a tough game for us despite Fauldhouse's struggles with a new young team this season, under former Airdrie Youth Coach Stevie Findlay they are picking up and my mates there say they have turned the corner. When we play them they will be 3 weeks away from a home Scottish cup 4th round tie against Maryhill which they expect to win and progress.

What I would like to stress is that this will be a great day out for supporters and I know for a fact that we will be welcomed enthusiastically into the ground by everyone. There is a bar at the ground "The Howff" and everyone is welcome and is a favourite stop for travelling away fans before the game, at half time and after the game. Fauldhouse folk are known for their hospitality and the club committee are sure to put out the welcome mat. They have won admirers from all the big junior clubs through there who enjoy their visits to Park View, many away fans stand with the home fans in the "CooShed" and enjoy the banter with the "Buckie Boys". The Coo Shed is famed for a vocal home support, pungent smells, barbed banter and dogs abuse given to any moaning inhabitant of the away dug out who dares to pop his head out. It is a place where the decent football fan is welcomed and is what makes junior football, honest guys just supporting their team, giving and taking stick in the right manner, having a laugh and enjoying the game. Fauldhouse gained 2 straight promotions and went from the bottom league to the top league and are mixing it with the big boys. It will be a fabulous occasion and I can think of nowhere better for us to end 2016. It truly will be a great day it and I for one can't wait.

All my Fauldhouse friends will give me a warm welcome and dogs abuse. I would expect nothing less as what divides us as opposition supporters is what actually unites us. The Hoose are like the Candy... fighting to do the best they can in the face of some difficult challenges. They are the furthest west team in the entire east region and that makes it difficult to attract players, as does the fact that some of their opponents have been known to pay 3/400 a week to some players. I have travelled miles supporting them and saw them fight doggedly to stay up last season with the last kick of the ball away at St Andrews. I know they are all looking forward to welcoming us and it will be a great day for the fans and a great work out for the lads.

See you all at JMcG on Saturday.. unless it freezes.... or a pipe bursts.... again.

Mon the Candy!

That was a disappointing afternoon for us. Congratulations to Forth who looked neat and tidy at times and took some of their chances. This was not a game where defences were on top and we missed about 8 and they missed about the same. Both keepers also made saves but I don't think we can say we were unlucky. I'll try to spin something positive tomorrow but I hope the beers on my work night out lighten my mood. It was a red sky tonight, but no Roch delight.
Mon the beers!
MTC
IMG_1481387308.668157.jpg.567300289d2140

23 hours ago, Kinky Afro said:

That was a disappointing afternoon for us. Congratulations to Forth who looked neat and tidy at times and took some of their chances. This was not a game where defences were on top and we missed about 8 and they missed about the same. Both keepers also made saves but I don't think we can say we were unlucky. I'll try to spin something positive tomorrow but I hope the beers on my work night out lighten my mood. It was a red sky tonight, but no Roch delight.
Mon the beers!
MTC
IMG_1481387308.668157.jpg

An enjoyable first trip to St.Rochs yesterday. Good set up with the DJ and decent atmosphere from big home support. Would say Forth deserved the win on the back of a great 2nd half performance with a makeshift back four including 2 18 year olds. St.Rochs no.67 has a future career in comedy. His banter with the away fans was top notch - if he put as much effort into his game he would be world class. 

After our 3-2 home defeat I was disappointed but pragmatic. At this level it is rare that you get top performances every week and even if you are playing well (we didn't yesterday) you sometimes come across a team like Forth (and Benburb earlier this season) who frustrate and perform more effectively and take the spoils. I needed cheering up. I went out for a few beers last night with my old workmates and mid pub crawl, which ended at the excellent Corinthian (I was dressed Casual), we spend an hour or two and plenty of cash in Waxy O'Connor's and found myself for the second time yesterday desperately knowing something should happen and feeing uncomfortable whilst waiting for it to happen. Sometimes hope can kill a man. It happened too late on one occasion and just in time on the other.
At both places, surrounded by happy souls and plenty of chat and laughter, I waited for the Candy to kick into gear at JMcG, it happened in the last 5 mins..too late. Whilst utilising the famous bucket urinals at Waxy's, I stood uncomfortably waiting and hoping like the old guy I am till the pish came just in time, just as fellow utilisers began doubting my intentions. It is good to know that not only can I write and talk pish but the main parts still work too so no need to worry.. yet. Same goes for the Candy... it wasn't so much start stop more stop start stop stop start. There is no need for concern yet as we have seen their ability and free flowing football over the last few months and just like not getting over excited by a great win, I am not getting over anxious by a lack lustre performance yesterday.

A footballing flood famine saw us play for the first time in weeks and it showed. I bought my Candy scarf (I used it but am giving it to someone as a present.. I AM Glaswegian!) and Tammy combo to keep out the cutting cold wind and the game started with a seasonal sprinkling of opposition fans finding the Twinkling Christmas Star in the red sky above the green fields of JMcG, calling our opponents to leave Forth and head Forth for the census. They may have came on the backs of donkeys but they would be lucky to find a virgin in Glasgow. There may not be any room at the Inn but there was in our defence. When you don't concentrate and stay smart then you get punished. You can't give 3 goals away in a manger or in this league and expect to get anything. We needed wise men. There is a difference between shouting for shouting's sake (making noise) and communicating effectively. There is a difference between showing fight and wanting to fight somebody. Individually and collectively we were short of the standards we have set ourselves and it was a resigned home support standing near me. The First Festive goal For Forth was a well taken goal by a nibble footed and clever forward, although we were complaining to the ref about something. We got back in it straight away and missed a few clean through on goal chances as the game limped poorly towards half time. I thawed out and had my usual Bovril with my dad in the clubhouse and we were convinced the Candy would come out fired up. 3 mins into the second half and we were 3-1 down! It was freezing outside and our defence were caught cold again. We huffed and puffed and the subs made a big difference. But at 3-1 down I'm not sure whether Forth just sat back and soaked it up because in truth they never looked in any danger of getting pegged back. We had a five minute festive flourish late on and got a second after 92 mins but it was too little too late. Disappointing.

There was some good banter though and you can always rely on junior football supporters to bring a smile to a cold face. There is no discrimination at the Roch... the LGBT community should be happy with "boot that wee c*nt in the baws"... we are nothing if not inclusive!!
The day can be summed up by- "Get me 2 Bovrils"
"What do you want in it?"
"Hot Water"
It was a day for the obvious. Mastermind music....."Your name please" -Kinky Afro,
"Your specialist subject?" - Stating the bloody obvious. As the red skies darkened we had one last attack but it would have been an undeserved point (although welcomed) if Steph's last touch of the game header hadn't gone wide. We looked a long winter shadow of ourselves.

Forth passed simply and effectively and gained confidence from their early 1st and 2nd half heroics and although we had 3 one on ones in the first half and two scooped bar shavers and on target efforts saved, we really were standing at the bucket and watching piss waiting for something to happen. This was no Christmas cracker, it was a poor game overall and had the feel of the last day at work before the Christmas break about it. We looked disjointed and our usual link up play wasn't there often enough. A thoroughly frustrating day at the office.

Their pink haired goal keeper got some friendly abuse "Yer tyres ur doon ya wee ride" from the lads behind the goal but when you are winning you just do what he did, smile, laugh and not take it too seriously. He made a few good saves and almost palmed Big B's well struck and placed penalty to safety. A mixture of a misfiring Candy, good goalkeeping and good fortune meant he and his teammates took a well earned 3 points.

The lads trudged off to Simple minds and it is a simple game ..you win games like this and you lose games like this and you can't take them too seriously..we are what we are. Christmas is coming, we gave away 3 goal presents and 3 points presents. I just hope that we live up to our Glaswegian stereotype and get a little more stingy in the new year. Good luck and well done to Forth, the highest ground in the west. Well, if it isn't it should be... sometimes facts are just pish, in the bucket and on the keyboard. I should know. I can still do both.

Mon the Candy!
MTC
IMG_1481482031.850134.jpg.f672ad4b0c9a5d

Can you send big chuckie back to clyde please[emoji172]

I spoke to the big lad yesterday and he is waiting for test results and thinks he will need another cruciate operation and will most likely be out for this season. Damn shame as he was coming onto a game early in the season.

It's not a Celtic Rangers thing

Yesterday, with my daughter, I attended one of her regular appointments at the sick kids hospital in Glasgow. A new building and team of doctors for her having attended Edinburgh Sick Kids hospital for the last 10 years. Whilst there Celtic players (accompanied by Celtic TV, numerous press photographers and club officials) were there visiting the kids. It was amazing to see the reaction on the kids' faces as they shook hands and high fived the lads. Some like my daughter are not what you would call big fans (She said to me "but dad, I thought you supported St Roch's?") but some were awestruck. She got her pic taken with "Mouse, Is he Gerry, Shifty and Coolio" amongst others and was given a gift bag with a Calendar and a Hoopy. It has given her a bit of a lift and she might get some Kudos today showing off her pics and telling her tale to the 'tic mad lads in her class. But it's not all about the Celtic....

Rangers were there a few days before and I like to think if I had seen them I would have gone up to them too and said thanks for coming. In this busy world and in the football hotbed of the West of Scotland it is great that the clubs took the time out. Both these teams play a big part in the life's of millions and doing something to put a little back and show you care deserves big praise. Of course they spin it and use the clips and photos and publicity (we had to sign a media rights disclaimer so they could use the footage) but, if you believe in the good of man, then you must take it at face value. I read today a small report on the Candy's recent clothing collecting from the Invisibles charity and how thankful they were as they try to put something back to the homeless and people who are really struggling. Despite all the challenges of life, I do sometimes count my blessings as should we all.

Football can do so much good, whether that is St Roch's, Celtic or Rangers. Saturday is all about the Rangers for us as we visit Cambuslang for a too of the table clash. No doubt we will be partisan and vocal and I would expect it back. But at a time of year when it is goodwill to all men (*and women Ref: inclusion policy!!) it is obvious to me that there is far more that unites the football family than will or can ever divide us. I want us to win, in fact, if we hammered them I would be delighted. I just hope that like a fat Santa, we don't get stuck up the Cambuslang Chimney. What I am looking forward to though is a good game, spending time with my dad, having a bit of banter with the fans of both teams and letting the football help us to forget the real life worries we all have, even for just a few hours. If the Sellik and Gers can do it then so can The Candy.

I look forward to seeing you all there tomorrow. I'm like my daughter on Christmas Eve. I can't wait!

Mon the Candy!
MTCIMG_1481882443.074745.jpg.c8e059f9a4db55

And right there, in that last post, is what this forum should be about. A real antidote to all this petty nonsense in other threads.
I hope you and your daughter have a fantastic Christmas, Kinky....and my New Year prayers will be with you both.

What a Festively Fantabulously Fantastic Free points today. As an old skool defender, I can appreciate the black art of killing a game and destroying attacks. I often long to see the old Wolves centre half George Berry mantra of "the ball may go past me, the man may go past me, but never the two together". Today wasn't quite as ruthless as that but there can be no denying the endeavour and bravery and the hanging-in-togetherness that carried the brave Candy through this match today. How good is it to go away from home to the runaway free scoring league leaders and keep a clean sheet and nick a winner?? Fortunate perhaps to be 1 up at half time, we battled and fought and could have doubled our lead but we could also have capitulated under intense pressure. We didn't... and if you work hard in football you often get your rewards. We did and I am absolutely thrilled.

A huge vocal away support helped keep the lads going but credit to Andy, his staff and the players for bouncing back after last week's blip. I'm off out for a few celebratory beers tonight but I'm sure I'll find something to write about tomorrow. Till then... we'll done lads. Christmas Tree-mendous!

Mon the Candy!IMG_1481994900.900777.jpg
MTC

Looking forward to the review kinky. I'm sure there will be lots to dispute but all in good manner and as for the candy support may have got their club in bother this season they were to the clubs credit superb atmosphere brewed , had a right good laugh at the boy with tits windmilling his t shirt for about 10 mins solid

On 16/12/2016 at 10:00, Kinky Afro said:

It's not a Celtic Rangers thing

Yesterday, with my daughter, I attended one of her regular appointments at the sick kids hospital in Glasgow. A new building and team of doctors for her having attended Edinburgh Sick Kids hospital for the last 10 years. Whilst there Celtic players (accompanied by Celtic TV, numerous press photographers and club officials) were there visiting the kids. It was amazing to see the reaction on the kids' faces as they shook hands and high fived the lads. Some like my daughter are not what you would call big fans (She said to me "but dad, I thought you supported St Roch's?") but some were awestruck. She got her pic taken with "Mouse, Is he Gerry, Shifty and Coolio" amongst others and was given a gift bag with a Calendar and a Hoopy. It has given her a bit of a lift and she might get some Kudos today showing off her pics and telling her tale to the 'tic mad lads in her class. But it's not all about the Celtic....

Rangers were there a few days before and I like to think if I had seen them I would have gone up to them too and said thanks for coming. In this busy world and in the football hotbed of the West of Scotland it is great that the clubs took the time out. Both these teams play a big part in the life's of millions and doing something to put a little back and show you care deserves big praise. Of course they spin it and use the clips and photos and publicity (we had to sign a media rights disclaimer so they could use the footage) but, if you believe in the good of man, then you must take it at face value. I read today a small report on the Candy's recent clothing collecting from the Invisibles charity and how thankful they were as they try to put something back to the homeless and people who are really struggling. Despite all the challenges of life, I do sometimes count my blessings as should we all.

Football can do so much good, whether that is St Roch's, Celtic or Rangers. Saturday is all about the Rangers for us as we visit Cambuslang for a too of the table clash. No doubt we will be partisan and vocal and I would expect it back. But at a time of year when it is goodwill to all men (*and women Ref: inclusion policy!!) it is obvious to me that there is far more that unites the football family than will or can ever divide us. I want us to win, in fact, if we hammered them I would be delighted. I just hope that like a fat Santa, we don't get stuck up the Cambuslang Chimney. What I am looking forward to though is a good game, spending time with my dad, having a bit of banter with the fans of both teams and letting the football help us to forget the real life worries we all have, even for just a few hours. If the Sellik and Gers can do it then so can The Candy.

I look forward to seeing you all there tomorrow. I'm like my daughter on Christmas Eve. I can't wait!

Mon the Candy!
IMG_1481882443.074745.jpg

Great article Kinky, she looks as if she had a great day, much more things important in life than kicking a ball. Best wishes.