Clydebank Fc thread 2016-2017

BANKIEBILL

• Replies 735
On ‎28‎/‎08‎/‎2016 at 00:18, Ardenvohr6 said:

I remember being in your big teams club where the curtains were pulled to obscure the view but no carry outs allowed in the ground. And then drinking upstairs at Yoker and not dreaming of taking a can into your ground.

Drinking upstairs at Yoker? Heaven forfend!!!! LOL

Are you guys expecting much of a crowd on Saturday even though the two Glasgow Blue and Green Neds play each other same day?? 

Hopefully it doesn't affect what should be a cracking game with usually a decent atmosphere. 2 teams on decent form by all accounts!! 

Hope so. Might be difficult to prize them away from the telly though. Yoker have started well and they always give us a game ( even when they're having a rotten season ). They've got a cpl of guys scoring for fun. We're creating chances though and are likely to be at full strength for the first time in a league game. I fancy us by 3-1. 

That was embarrassing at times today, lumsden set the tone with a poor kick and passing it to a yoker player within the first ten seconds. First goal simple corner not defended,second looked over the line to me but no way the ref could be sure from where he was standing, he looked at his lino but he didn't have a clue either. 2 nil down and we finally start playing, get a goal back and give away a stupid penalty and it was game over from there.

Darroch had a really poor game, lyden was worse, although being played out of position doesn't help his cause, we have good players who can play nice football but continue to hit the ball high towards two small wingers, its food and drink for any defender in the air.

13 minutes ago, kilbowie2002 said:

Second goal was absolutely no where near over the line. Saying that we didnt deserve anything from that game. We will struggle this season against hoofing teams like yoker who will capitalise on stupid mistakes. Who was the idiot who tried to do a stupid cryiff turn which caused the 4th goal?

Totally refute the 'hoofing' reference.... until the ordering off everything went through Henry, Marshall & Maxwell in midfield then we tried to use wide guys who had fresh legs including Tiny whose superb turn and finish proved to be the winner

Oh no lets not make mistakes, yoker were terrible too, anti football hoof it up the park, but hey it wins games. Think we could struggle this year. Players showed no fight whatsoever, trying to play stupid wee turns etc.

You are being really unfair to Yoker there mate. I thought they were miles better than Bankies today and played some good football at times. Whilst the hoof the ball tactic is an accusation that may have been levelled at Yoker in previous derby games they certainly couldn't be accused of that today. Thought Mark Maxwell was the best player on the park and was really impressed by the lad Hynes up front - much more of a threat than anything we had and his work rate was excellent.

No complaints from this Bankies fan at all - better team won the game. Bankies were awful today and defensively were all over the place . Too lightweight in midfield - badly need a ball winner in there or Phil Barclay fit - whichever comes sooner.

Well done to the Whe Ho.

Here's hoping Wednesday's council meeting offers good news for both teams and can help cheer this depressed Bankies fan up !![emoji22]

Thought Yoker were far superior today and thoroughly deserved their win.

Anybody able to identify who it was from the Yoker bench that threw the ball at our player and started the wee stramash near the end?

The guy ? George got sent off by the ref - pretty certain it was him that threw the ball and hit Peter McGill.

Yoker better team today and too many of our better players had an off day. Their front 2 led line really well and looked dangerous even after the sending off. Really not fair to talk about hoofing etc they were good to watch. 

Agree about not a sprint comment so let's get back in saddle. 

Hoof it tactics is very unfair criticism on the game I watched yesterday and the only team hoofing it was us! This was obviously Yoker's tactic in pressing Josh to make sure he had to kick from his hands especially as neither of the full backs were making themselves available to receive the ball. As someone has already said it played right into Yoker's hands and Yoker certainly played more football than I have ever seen from them before.

On 12 July 2016 at 13:19, BANKIEBILL said:

I can recall certain teams in the seniors judged our football. All because we never went toe to toe with them. Couldn't handle our style. Soor grapes mare like. End of day it's all about putting ball in the pokey. Anyhoo! Well done to the Whe Ho. Till we meet again. 

Statement.jpg?resize=696%2C392

West Dunbartonshire Council have today agreed plans that will see the regeneration of Holm Park as a community sports stadium as a permanent home for both Clydebank FC and Yoker Athletic.

The decision is an important milestone, and marks the formal start of the process in securing a long term home for the club.

A club spokesman said:  “In recent years, West Dunbartonshire Council have committed to helping the club find a new place to call home, and we are delighted that promise has now been realised.

The investment in Holm Park will see a modern sporting facility fully equipped with a synthetic playing surface and floodlights which will see the facility available for the community every day throughout the year.

The facility will be a boost to sports teams in the community, and a number of teams will be able to make regular use of Holm Park.

The club would like to place on record our gratitude for the efforts so far made by Councillor Lawrence O’Neill, Provost Douglas McAllister and Ronnie Dinnie, whose commitment has helped ensure the modernisation of Holm Park has become a reality.”

Today’s announcement is a positive step forward for the club. There is plenty of work still to do and we anticipate work starting in the course of this season.  We will share regular progress updates with Bankies fans.