Reynolds Arena

Just passed it as I go home past Darlington. Has there been a bigger white elephant?

Probably Not.

Aberdeen should buy it for their new stadium......could easily be transported up the road.

Is it no the northern echo arena now ? Darlington rugby union team play oot of it so despite it being a white elephant least it gets used by a couple of hundred rugby fans now and again. Darlington fitba team has plans to move back into the town I think on the site of the former rugby union park.Edit: The fitba team are playing 2 friendlies v Newcastle and Sunderland at the arena this month as part of the celebrations of playing back in the town after 4 seasons at Bishop Auckland.

Just passed it as I go home past Darlington. Has there been a bigger white elephant?

I have no idea where Darlington is or what the Reynolds Arena is.

I do know what a white elephant is.

Darlington Mowden Park RUFC play at the Arena now, a different team to Darlington RUFC. Darlington FC have been playing home matches in Bishop Auckland last few seasons. They're hoping to move back to Darlington to groundshare with Darlington RUFC at Blackwell Meadows now they've been promoted to the Conference North.

I thought it was all agreed.

newbrightonfc-towerground-1963-postcard.

Not quite at the level of Thames FC above, but New Brighton's Tower Grounds was something of a white elephant; theotetically capable of holding about 100,000, but rarely holding more than 1500 by the time that New Brighton left the place in the 1970s, in a very run down state.

The club has long since folded and this is now a housing estate.

T

Marine Gardens was a large stadium on the Edinburgh-Portobello boundary, built for the Scottish Exhibition in 1908.

As can be seen in these photos it was pretty huge, but when in late use by Leith Athletic and Edinburgh City was probably barely occupied.

http://www.speedwayplus.com/images/marine_gardens.jpg

http://www.speedwayplus.com/images/MarineGardens3.jpg

http://res.cloudinary.com/jpress/image/fetch/w_700,f_auto,ar_3:2,c_fill/http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.3082646.1378732257!/image/3473067417.jpg

I suppose you could say the same of Meadowbank Stadium.

Marine Gardens was a large stadium on the Edinburgh-Portobello boundary, built for the Scottish Exhibition in 1908.

As can be seen in these photos it was pretty huge, but when in late use by Leith Athletic and Edinburgh City was probably barely occupied.

http://www.speedwayplus.com/images/marine_gardens.jpg

http://www.speedwayplus.com/images/MarineGardens3.jpg

http://res.cloudinary.com/jpress/image/fetch/w_700,f_auto,ar_3:2,c_fill/http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.3082646.1378732257!/image/3473067417.jpg

I suppose you could say the same of Meadowbank Stadium.

Was Meadowbank larger than it currently is when it hosted the Commonwealth games in 70 and '86?

Edinburgh%2BCity%2B%25282%2529.jpg

Yes. In 1970 it was fairly simple - the embankments on the 3 open sides were deeper than the stadium has today.

3356312983.jpg

Kip-Keino-Commonwealth-Games-1970..jpg

In 1986 it was more elaborate with a series of temporary stands providing a full second tier, including continuously down all of the back straight, and a series of boxes around the first bend.

_66239560_stadium_saltire_1986.jpg

hqdefault.jpg

16-Meadowbank-Stadium-PA.jpg

I thought it was all agreed.

I think the funding and planning permission is now in place. Forgive me for being a cynic, but the announcement that 'we're moving back to Darlo' has been heard every Summer for the last three years...

Blackwell Meadows looks like it'll be a nice wee ground. Played rugby there, will take a bit of work to get to Conference standard though and a bit of a walk from the town centre.