Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2023/24

22 minutes ago, Sting777 said:

25,000 max at Ibrox, 30,000 at Parkhead?..... won’t affect many clubs but it will deffo affect clubs like  Sevco, Celtic, Hearts, Hibs and Aberdeen

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5460945/celtic-rangers-news-old-firm-half-empty-grounds/

2 metres from anyone = half empty?      WOW!

What size are these seats?

59 minutes ago, Sting777 said:

25,000 max at Ibrox, 30,000 at Parkhead?..... won’t affect many clubs but it will deffo affect clubs like  Sevco, Celtic, Hearts, Hibs and Aberdeen

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5460945/celtic-rangers-news-old-firm-half-empty-grounds/

Not just as simple as cutting capacity by half. Seats infront, behind and to either side are all closer than 2m. Can't have crowds back until this is sorted, you also have turnstiles and concourses....

4 minutes ago, bennett said:

Not just as simple as cutting capacity by half. Seats infront, behind and to either side are all closer than 2m. Can't have crowds back until this is sorted, you also have turnstiles and concourses....

I think what is implying is that once the lockdown is eased, when and if the infections start reducing, there is no way any of the clubs are going to have packed stadiums for a very, very long time!

Edited by Sting777

4 hours ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Question for you - Are there any teams other than St Johnstone who give Rangers and Celtic fans the majority of their stadium when it’s meant to be their own home game ??

Believe it's only us, Hamilton and Livingston who give OF the majority of the stadium.

7 hours ago, The DA said:

I've never really followed this issue before but I assume that Rangers are lobbying for their B team being allowed into the league set up for financial reasons and are looking for a full house at Ibrox every weekend rather than every second weekend?

Why would the other teams vote for this?  It would mean reduced Rangers away supports and therefore less money through turnstiles elsewhere.

It is a myth that if, heaven forbid, Rangers and Celtic B teams were allowed to enter League 2, their matches would be sell outs wherever they went. This has been proved by these teams being in the Challenge Cup, it just doesn’t happen. A bit like the myth that Celtic v Rangers matches have the best atmosphere of any derby in the world. You just have to look at, for instance, Boca Juniors v River Plate, or Red Star Belgrade v Partizan Belgrade to see the myth in all its glory. These two Glasgow clubs fans, and Scottish journalists, have a huge opinion of themselves not shared by anyone outwith Scotland.

7 hours ago, The DA said:

I've never really followed this issue before but I assume that Rangers are lobbying for their B team being allowed into the league set up for financial reasons and are looking for a full house at Ibrox every weekend rather than every second weekend?

Why would the other teams vote for this?  It would mean reduced Rangers away supports and therefore less money through turnstiles elsewhere.

Absolutely no way would Ibrox sell out for a Colts vs Cove League 2 match though it may do for a game vs 'them' at the start of the season or if we were close to a title clincher so the idea that it's for financial reasons is nonsense.

I can see Craig Mullholand's intent - he wants to 'blood' players earlier than we do now and get them stepped up more quickly.  Let's face it, the 3rd and 4th tier is likely where most of our colts will end up anyway given how few move up to the first team.

OTOH 3rd and 4th tier football in Scotland is fucking brutal and most players think they'll be penalised if they kick the ball less than 30 yards.  Add in the neanderthal attitude of players and the mediaeval mindset of many diddy fans wherein, "half the wee 'h' b*****d, Tam', is likely to be a common cry, then I can't see this ending well.

On balance, it's a no from me.

2 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Absolutely no way would Ibrox sell out for a Colts vs Cove League 2 match though it may do for a game vs 'them' at the start of the season or if we were close to a title clincher so the idea that it's for financial reasons is nonsense.

I can see Craig Mullholand's intent - he wants to 'blood' players earlier than we do now and get them stepped up more quickly.  Let's face it, the 3rd and 4th tier is likely where most of our colts will end up anyway given how few move up to the first team.

OTOH 3rd and 4th tier football in Scotland is fucking brutal and most players think they'll be penalised if they kick the ball less than 30 yards.  Add in the neanderthal attitude of players and the mediaeval mindset of many diddy fans wherein, "half the wee 'h' b*****d, Tam', is likely to be a common cry, then I can't see this ending well.

On balance, it's a no from me.

OK - full houses were a bit of a stretch.  What if the normal travelling support were to attend the colts' matches instead?  Some cash for Rangers and less cash for the big team's opponents.

1 minute ago, The DA said:

OK - full houses were a bit of a stretch.  What if the normal travelling support were to attend the colts' matches instead?  Some cash for Rangers and less cash for the big team's opponents.

I was looking at it, mostly, from a football POV but you're beginning to sell me on the idea...

The only way to get reserve teams into the league would be if the big2 were hoisted into some European LGE set up, what would that leave behind ? Can only see the spfl being regionalised before long, then they could use the floodlights for a local derbies midweek and hopefully an increase in attendances.

5 hours ago, bennett said:

Livi, County, a cies, st mirren? , a few others that I'm not 100% sure about without checking.  Surely if it's meant to be their home game then their fans would applaud any decrease in our away support?

Not us. this season and last Celtic and Rangers were given 3200 tickets out of a capacity of 8000 so nowhere near "a majority".

1 hour ago, Andy groundhopper said:

The only way to get reserve teams into the league would be if the big2 were hoisted into some European LGE set up, what would that leave behind ? Can only see the spfl being regionalised before long, then they could use the floodlights for a local derbies midweek and hopefully an increase in attendances.

200.gif