Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2023/24

15 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

Rangers recruit someone who happens to be a member of a Christian fraternal society and the Ps&Ds reckon we should exclude him on the basis of his religion?  And it's we who are the bigots?

I realise that you're on the wind up, but I  would have thought that at least you would agree that, with Rangers background history and the fact that we are constantly told by the club's hierarchy that Rangers want to move on from the bad old days, the appointment of an official from the Orange Lodge as your head of Media and Communications is not so much a backward step, it's a backward bound. No one is saying that he should be excluded, but I would imagine that deep in his soul there are many folk that he would like to be excluded from Ibrox, both the building and the club.

Rangers allow foreign players to return home

Some players have travelled home during the coronavirus shutdown

Rangers will allow their foreign stars to return home while they wait out the coronavirus pandemic.

Steven Gerrard has decided his overseas contingent are best to spend the shutdown nearer their loved ones rather than isolation in Glasgow - if they wish to travel.

It means Light Blues top-scorer Alfredo Morelos has been given the green light return to Colombia, while Croatian pair Borna Barisic and Nikola Katic could also jet home together.

Romanian ace Ianis Hagi, Swedish defender Filip Helander and American utility man Matt Polster may also decide to follow the lead of Sonia O'Neill from Gers women's team, who has already flown home to her native Canada.

Former Liverpool skipper Gerrard, meanwhile, is to continue splitting his time between his family home on Merseyside and Glasgow.

4 minutes ago, bennett said:

Rangers allow foreign players to return home

Some players have travelled home during the coronavirus shutdown

Rangers will allow their foreign stars to return home while they wait out the coronavirus pandemic.

Steven Gerrard has decided his overseas contingent are best to spend the shutdown nearer their loved ones rather than isolation in Glasgow - if they wish to travel.

It means Light Blues top-scorer Alfredo Morelos has been given the green light return to Colombia, while Croatian pair Borna Barisic and Nikola Katic could also jet home together.

Romanian ace Ianis Hagi, Swedish defender Filip Helander and American utility man Matt Polster may also decide to follow the lead of Sonia O'Neill from Gers women's team, who has already flown home to her native Canada.

Former Liverpool skipper Gerrard, meanwhile, is to continue splitting his time between his family home on Merseyside and Glasgow.

Image result for ooh matron ooh kenneth williams

On 19/03/2020 at 11:52, kingjoey said:

I realise that you're on the wind up, but I  would have thought that at least you would agree that, with Rangers background history and the fact that we are constantly told by the club's hierarchy that Rangers want to move on from the bad old days, the appointment of an official from the Orange Lodge as your head of Media and Communications is not so much a backward step, it's a backward bound. No one is saying that he should be excluded, but I would imagine that deep in his soul there are many folk that he would like to be excluded from Ibrox, both the building and the club.

There is, of course, a serious point to my post which is that if 'Everyone, anyone' means anything it includes Lodge members.

Of course, I'm fortunate enough to have been a  member of a local Orange lodge (albeit 40 years ago) so I know from personal experience that they are nothing like the hotbed of reactionary Protestantism as portrayed on here.  The true truth is that, in Scotland, they are a small group of auld men with grey hair who go for a dauner up the road a couple of times a year wearing dark suits, orange-coloured collarattes and white gloves accompanied by a flute band.  Said band, of course, being hired in for the day and usually having none or very few members of any Lodge in its ranks.

OK they celebrate the Protestant Reformation, the Act of Union and the Williamite Revolution but so what?  All were events seminal in the development of modern Scotland and there is no harm in folk remembering them.  Oh and, yes, there are occasional problems caused by band members but these are rare and offenders are dealt with, usually by the band being excluded from future celebrations.

Do I want Rangers associated with the Orange Order?  It is hardly significant, given how small its membership is in Scotland and given how, generally, benign, its members are in my experience.  We have never had formal links with the Grand Lodge of Scotland and this is never going to change 

Do I mind if the bloke who organises our media output is an Orangeman?  Absolutely not at all.  Why would I?

As for you stating that, "I would imagine that deep in his soul there are many folk that he would like to be excluded from Ibrox, both the building and the club." then you're making a huge assumption with no justification and I find it rather puzzling.  How do you know who David Graaham would like to be excluded?  Can you justify this?

Seems to me like a lot of fuss over nothing, but feel welcome to persuade me otherwise.

There is, of course, a serious point to my post which is that if 'Everyone, anyone' means anything it includes Lodge members.
Of course, I'm fortunate enough to have been a  member of a local Orange lodge (albeit 40 years ago) so I know from personal experience that they are nothing like the hotbed of reactionary Protestantism as portrayed on here.  The true truth is that, in Scotland, they are a small group of auld men with grey hair who go for a dauner up the road a couple of times a year wearing dark suits, orange-coloured collarattes and white gloves accompanied by a flute band.  Said band, of course, being hired in for the day and usually having none or very few members of any Lodge in its ranks.
OK they celebrate the Protestant Reformation, the Act of Union and the Williamite Revolution but so what?  All were events seminal in the development of modern Scotland and there is no harm in folk remembering them.  Oh and, yes, there are occasional problems caused by band members but these are rare and offenders are dealt with, usually by the band being excluded from future celebrations.
Do I want Rangers associated with the Orange Order?  It is hardly significant, given how small its membership is in Scotland and given how, generally, benign, its members are in my experience.  We have never had formal links with the Grand Lodge of Scotland and this is never going to change 
Do I mind if the bloke who organises our media output is an Orangeman?  Absolutely not at all.  Why would I?
As for you stating that, "I would imagine that deep in his soul there are many folk that he would like to be excluded from Ibrox, both the building and the club." then you're making a huge assumption with no justification and I find it rather puzzling.  How do you know who David Graaham would like to be excluded?  Can you justify this?
Seems to me like a lot of fuss over nothing, but feel welcome to persuade me otherwise.

Nae Surrender. We get it.

On 18/03/2020 at 23:39, The_Kincardine said:

The ET is talking sense shocker

Fans tipped to rally round crisis-hit Scottish clubs - just like Rangers supporters on "The Journey"

SCOTTISH football fans were last night tipped to rally around any club that is at risk of going out of business due to the coronavirus shutdown – just like Rangers supporters after the Ibrox club’s cataclysmic financial implosion in 2012.

There was an astonishing upsurge of backing for the stricken Glasgow giants when they were placed in the old Third Division and forced to take on part-time opponents eight years ago.

Ally McCoist’s men attracted huge crowds despite playing against minnows like Annan, Elgin City and Montrose – and the attendance of 50,048 at their final league match against Berwick Rangers was a world record for a fourth tier fixture.

Rangers' three main supporters groups at the time, the Assembly, Association and Trust, also endorsed a "fighting fund" which was set up to safeguard the Govan club's future and which raised almost £500,000.

I do find the Daily Mash to be quite funny some days.

Guest Moomintroll

Give it up Kincy, no one can even start to excuse this unacceptable arseholes beliefs.

1 minute ago, Moomintroll said:

Give it up Kincy, no one can even start to excuse this unacceptable arseholes beliefs.

That's the entire point of my post.  The rump of the OO in Scotland do little more than organise some celebrations of the three things that I mentioned.

However, I have no doubt that you'll describe these 'unacceptable arseholes beliefs' in detail.

Leaving aside the question of whether your wholesome version or the more demonic portrayals of them are closer to the truth.

if I wanted to hire people who are good at PR I’d stay clear of the orange order

They’re really not very good at it

2 minutes ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

Leaving aside the question of whether your wholesome version or the more demonic portrayals of them are closer to the truth.

if I wanted to hire people who are good at PR I’d stay clear of the orange order

They’re really not very good at it

He has, of course, no 'official' connection to the OO as he is only the Worthy Master of a local lodge - a bit like being president of a bowling club.

He's a media professional recruited by Rangers to organise our press relations and seems admirably suited to the task.

The rest is utter flannel and it's disappointing to see sane posters like you, @Moomintroll and @kingjoeyreducing yourselves to the level of Daft Wee Drew and the half wit.

12 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

A lot of fuss about nothing? I suppose you’re not too wrong in that, but I’ll stand by my thoughts that as a PR exercise it’s not great for Rangers  to employ their media and communications guru from the Orange Order, and to persuade a former Orangeman and Rangers supporter like yourself otherwise, is an impossible task. As for knowing who David Graham would like excluded from Ibrox? Of course I don’t know who he would like excluded from Ibrox, I said that I would imagine who he would like excluded from Ibrox. Surely I am allowed to imagine things in ma wee heid.

8 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

He has, of course, no 'official' connection to the OO as he is only the Worthy Master of a local lodge - a bit like being president of a bowling club.

He's a media professional recruited by Rangers to organise our press relations and seems admirably suited to the task.

The rest is utter flannel and it's disappointing to see sane posters like you, @Moomintroll and @kingjoeyreducing yourselves to the level of Daft Wee Drew and the half wit.

An insult too far being compared to Daft Wee Drew and (particularly) the half wit.

Cant be arsed quoting all the bigots posts but first of all he has a go at people because the orc is apparently just part of a christian fraternal group and that we are the bigots, then gets right pulled up about that claim. He then tries to distant the orc in question from having any official capacity about said organisation . Then his Korsakoff's kicks in and starts pretending the oo is just some cuddly group again.

Edited by gannonball

11 hours ago, Flybhoy said:

Rangers showing their generosity by digging deep during this crisis by donating a bottle of hand sanitizer to a local hospice.... such a grand gesture 🙄

Screenshot_20200320-223615_WhatsApp.jpg

When I stumbled across this on twitter I genuinely thought it was one of us with a terribly ill thought out wind up.