Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2023/24

Delighted he has signed an extension, you’d need to spend an awful lot to replace his numbers in the team.

Hopefully this will deservedly mean he gets a testimonial as well. He’s an iconic player for the club.

23 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Hearing Souttar has broken a bone in his foot and Davies has a serious knee problem.

Wee shame :lol: 

It's almost as if Souttar is injury prone and everyone was predicting this before he even signed.

38 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Hearing Souttar has broken a bone in his foot and Davies has a serious knee problem.

Wee shame :lol: 

If Rangers don’t get to the group stages, it’s getting to the stage where, Europa League run aside, GVB has been a disaster for them. He had a disastrous January and from this window, so far it looks like only Tillmans and Colak are decent. He’s sold their 2 best players in Bassey and Aribo and hasn’t replaced McGregor even though he knew he was at the end of his career. Add to that the guys like Morelos, Kent, Jack, Roofe and Kamara who were very good for Gerrard in their league winning season, just are not performing for him and won’t sign contracts with him therefore reducing there value.

Last season he had to end up playing Aribo up front as he had no depth to the squad, now he’s frozen out Morelos, Roofe and Sakala he’s down to only Colak already. He doesn’t have his problems to seek and a lot of them seem down to him.

Lose on Wednesday then to Celtic in September (I think they’ll lose both) then he’s fucked.

Edited by Grangemouth Bairn

34 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

If Rangers don’t get to the group stages, it’s getting to the stage where, Europa League run aside, GVB has been a disaster for them. He had a disastrous January and from this window, so far it looks like only Tillmans and Colak are decent. He’s sold their 2 best players in Bassey and Aribo and hasn’t replaced McGregor even though he knew he was at the end of his career. Add to that the guys like Morelos, Kent, Jack, Roofe and Kamara who were very good for Gerrard in their league winning season, just are not performing for him and won’t sign contracts with him therefore reducing there value.

Last season he had to end up playing Aribo up front as he had no depth to the squad, now he’s frozen out Morelos, Roofe and Sakala he’s down to only Colak already. He doesn’t have his problems to seek and a lot of them seem down to him.

Lose on Wednesday then to Celtic in September (I think they’ll lose both) then he’s fucked.

tenor.gif

27 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Without strongly disagreeing with your overall sentiment, I think there are a few points you've included in there that are rather unfair to hold against Gio alone.

Firstly, you've bizarrely held the sale of Bassey against him. Our record transfer that will see us receive around 23M Euros was never going to get turned down no matter how much Gio would've loved to have kept him. I don't understand why that is a black mark against him.

Then, the fact that players haven't signed a new deal with us you've put down as Gio's fault as well. These are players that hadn't signed new deals before he arrived under Gerrard. Gio will have nothing to do with contract negotiations other than to say "I'd like to keep x player, try and make it happen". 

And even when we cash in on Aribo after it became apparent he wouldn't be signing a new deal rather than lose him for nothing, you've again included that as a negative against Gio for "selling one of our best players". So in essence, you are saying if a player won't sign a new deal = Gio bad. If we sell a player because they won't sign a new deal = Gio bad?

Roofe has not been frozen out, he has been injured and is not fit which was the story of last season as well. I also have to question the claim he won't perform for Gio considering when he was fit and available, he had one of, if not the best goals/minutes ratio in the league.

It's also disingenuous to discount the EL run as well, as that was without a doubt the greatest highlight of ours last season and likely would've been even had we won the league.

The McGregor comments are fair, and I don't think anyone can argue that he has had a good hit rate on his transfers or that our collapse in the league was acceptable. Morelos also missed 15 games for us last season through injury but I don't disagree that players like him, Jack and Kamara have performed better under Gerrard than Gio.

But some of the things you are holding against Gio personally are bizarre.

Just now, AJF said:

Without strongly disagreeing with your overall sentiment, I think there are a few points you've included in there that are rather unfair to hold against Gio alone.

Firstly, you've bizarrely held the sale of Bassey against him. Our record transfer that will see us receive around 23M Euros was never going to get turned down no matter how much Gio would've loved to have kept him. I don't understand why that is a black mark against him.

Then, the fact that players haven't signed a new deal with us you've put down as Gio's fault as well. These are players that hadn't signed new deals before he arrived under Gerrard. Gio will have nothing to do with contract negotiations other than to say "I'd like to keep x player, try and make it happen". 

And even when we cash in on Aribo after it became apparent he wouldn't be signing a new deal rather than lose him for nothing, you've again included that as a negative against Gio for "selling one of our best players". So in essence, you are saying if a player won't sign a new deal = Gio bad. If we sell a player because they won't sign a new deal = Gio bad?

Roofe has not been frozen out, he has been injured and is not fit which was the story of last season as well. I also have to question the claim he won't perform for Gio considering when he was fit and available, he had one of, if not the best goals/minutes ratio in the league.

It's also disingenuous to discount the EL run as well, as that was without a doubt the greatest highlight of ours last season and likely would've been even had we won the league.

The McGregor comments are fair, and I don't think anyone can argue that he has had a good hit rate on his transfers or that our collapse in the league was acceptable. Morelos also missed 15 games for us last season through injury but I don't disagree that players like him, Jack and Kamara have performed better under Gerrard than Gio.

But some of the things you are holding against Gio personally are bizarre.

PSV have managed to keep their best players until after Wednesday.  Rangers board have sold the manager and the fans down the river as shite a coach he seems to be.

3 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

PSV have managed to keep their best players until after Wednesday.  Rangers board have sold the manager and the fans down the river as shite a coach he seems to be.

And that's good for them. But as you allude to, I hardly think the fact that we sold players like Bassey and Aribo bringing in record transfer sums can exactly be held against Gio. Nor do I think the decision to sell them when we did was the wrong one.

Edited by AJF

1 hour ago, Empty It said:

It's almost as if Souttar is injury prone and everyone was predicting this before he even signed.

They cant resist the lure of a freebie especially if its the best players of other Scottish Clubs despite underlying serious injury issues. 

Just now, AJF said:

And that's good for them. But as you allude to, I hardly think the fact that we sold players like Bassey and Aribo bringing in record transfer sums can exactly be held against Gio.

True.  Dropping players and signing majorly inferior players can be though as well as throwing the league away last season. 

4 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

True.  Dropping players and signing majorly inferior players can be though as well as throwing the league away last season. 

I already stated that his transfer record would need to improve. As for dropping players, is anyone really suggesting that Gio is in the wrong to drop Morelos if there are questions over his attitude and fitness?

6 minutes ago, AJF said:

And that's good for them. But as you allude to, I hardly think the fact that we sold players like Bassey and Aribo bringing in record transfer sums can exactly be held against Gio. Nor do I think the decision to sell them when we did was the wrong one.

Probably not but the players he’s replaced them with are nowhere near the same level and bizarrely he knows it as the Polish right back, the Turkish left back and Matondo aren’t getting regular starts and Sands is only playing because his recruitment of a new centre back was absolutely appalling.

Just now, AJF said:

I already stated that his transfer record would need to improve. As for dropping players, is anyone really suggesting that Gio is in the wrong to drop Morelos if there are questions over his attitude and fitness?

No but he also randomly drops others like Davis and Jack, brings Kamara in, released a steady CH and plays a midfielder there.  All the marks of a guy that doesnt have a club what his best team is.

1 minute ago, Hoose Rice said:

No but he also randomly drops others like Davis and Jack, brings Kamara in, released a steady CH and plays a midfielder there.  All the marks of a guy that doesnt have a club what his best team is.

Since Gio came in we have played pretty much every single weekend/midweek and will continue to do so up until December pretty much. I don't think we can select the same starting 11 each week or the players will get burnt out, especially players like Davis who is probably in his last season before retiring and Jack who is prone to picking up niggles when playing too much.