Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2023/24

1 hour ago, AJF said:

They can. My sibling was educated at a Catholic school despite our family being atheist. They were put on a waiting list though and only admitted after Catholics were given priority and there was space remaining.

It was a rhetorical question mate. 

11 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

There is if you care to go find it. The OO in Scotland’s first tentative steps into politics was to join an under the table informal alliance with anti-popery tories at Westminster to combat the Catholic Emancipation. This prompted the Whigs to become suspicious about the alliance and played a small part in why a select committee where instructed to investigate OO activities across GB.

What an odd response since, of course, The Tories were originally the party of the Jacobites and to describe them as 'anti-popery' is just ignorant.

Edit:  I think your opposition to the OO is just a symbol of the anti-Irish disease that seems to plague Scotland.

Edited by The_Kincardine

9 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Celtic fans eh. Read a point, completely ignore it, then make up their own version to make it sound like they're being personally attacked.

I couldn't give a single f**k if someone walked into my house covered in an Irish flag. Celtic make a point of having a kit, or team wear, with those colours on it simply to help continue the Irish v British/Catholic v Protestant/Celtic v Rangers mentality within their supports. 

Both clubs and fanbases actively encourage and revel in creating a Catholic v Protestant mentality. That is an undeniable fact yet here we are, with 3 Celtic fans claiming that their club putting out an anti-Protestant message in a major kit launch, lyrics within an anti-Protestant song their fans sing, isn't them promoting an anti-Protestant message.

Celtic promote themselves as a Catholic/Irish club because its part of the rivalry with Rangers. Rangers promote themselves as Protestant/British because its part of the rivalry with Celtic. Both clubs turn a blind eye to songs their fans sing that promote bigotry/sectarianism as its part of the rivalry. Both clubs sell club wear designed to annoy the other side because its part of the rivalry. Both clubs put out public slogans designed to encourage anti-Catholic/anti-Protestant sentiments as its part of the rivalry.

Both clubs get away with it, and the fans get away with it, because theres thousands of mewling wee pathetic boot lickers like you three, on both sides, who'd rather circle the wagons around a bunch of bigots and protect them than understand that you're as big a part of the issue as they are by blocking others from taking action.

I guess I'll end up with some bizarre wee history lesson from 150 years ago, or I'll be told I'm the bigot, or some other weirdo deflective bullshit, tbh. Its like a fucking cult.

Oh no I'm not a Celtic fan just thought your comment was pretty abhorrent that's all. Whether it's Ireland or India, flying the flag of a sovereign nation isn't an invitation to racially abuse someone or to continue a cycle of hatred and bigotry. 

1 minute ago, The_Kincardine said:

What an odd response since, of course, The Tories were originally the party of the Jacobites and to describe them as 'anti-popery' is just ignorant.

No it isn’t since there was a breakaway faction of Tories who were anti-popery and in opposition to Catholic emancipation such as George Spencer Churchill.

It’s actually ignorant to deny the existence of such Ultra Tories 

1 minute ago, Buckets said:

Oh no I'm not a Celtic fan just thought your comment was pretty abhorrent that's all. Whether it's Ireland or India, flying the flag of a sovereign nation isn't an invitation to racially abuse someone or to continue a cycle of hatred and bigotry. 

Well yes, of course, which is why I never tried to claim any different.

I merely said Celtic participate in promoting the Irish v British/Catholic v Protestant farce with Rangers by purposely putting Irish colours into their strips/team wear every season, much like how Rangers put orange into theirs. Its all part of selling the brand.

Quite why you, a "neutral", has read that through blurry eyes and launched into a wee tear stained rant about me "hating the Irish" is beyond me.

2 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

No it isn’t since there was a breakaway faction of Tories who were anti-popery and in opposition to Catholic emancipation such as George Spencer Churchill.

It’s actually ignorant to deny the existence of such Ultra Tories 

The Tories were, by any measure, the party of the Jacobites!  Why are you even contending this?

Why are you also taking issue with an organisation such as the OO with Irish roots?  Is it anti-Irish intolerance?

17 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Celtic fans eh. Read a point, completely ignore it, then make up their own version to make it sound like they're being personally attacked.

I couldn't give a single f**k if someone walked into my house covered in an Irish flag. Celtic make a point of having a kit, or team wear, with those colours on it simply to help continue the Irish v British/Catholic v Protestant/Celtic v Rangers mentality within their supports. 

Both clubs and fanbases actively encourage and revel in creating a Catholic v Protestant mentality. That is an undeniable fact yet here we are, with 3 Celtic fans claiming that their club putting out an anti-Protestant message in a major kit launch, lyrics within an anti-Protestant song their fans sing, isn't them promoting an anti-Protestant message.

Celtic promote themselves as a Catholic/Irish club because its part of the rivalry with Rangers. Rangers promote themselves as Protestant/British because its part of the rivalry with Celtic. Both clubs turn a blind eye to songs their fans sing that promote bigotry/sectarianism as its part of the rivalry. Both clubs sell club wear designed to annoy the other side because its part of the rivalry. Both clubs put out public slogans designed to encourage anti-Catholic/anti-Protestant sentiments as its part of the rivalry.

Both clubs get away with it, and the fans get away with it, because theres thousands of mewling wee pathetic boot lickers like you three, on both sides, who'd rather circle the wagons around a bunch of bigots and protect them than understand that you're as big a part of the issue as they are by blocking others from taking action.

I guess I'll end up with some bizarre wee history lesson from 150 years ago, or I'll be told I'm the bigot, or some other weirdo deflective bullshit, tbh. Its like a fucking cult.

You keep repeating yourself and I'm not disagreeing with you. But you don't realise you are proving the point being made by other posters. 

You are making it abundantly clear that expressions of Irishness in Scotland are seen as an "issue". That's the view taken in Scotland but from an outsider's perspective its not really a great reflection on your country. If waving an Irish flag stirs up feelings of hatred and anger maybe they are the issue rather than a flag that represents peace. 

6 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Edit:  I think your opposition to the OO is just a symbol of the anti-Irish disease that seems to plague Scotland.

No my opposition to the OO is an early memory of walking past a local lodge in my centenary Celtic top as a young 9 year old with mum and being shouted at by these people dressed in fancy clothes and sashes and called a “a wee chinky ****** b*****d”

My wife also when she was younger was member of a lodge in her youth. She became a Catholic to marry me and I’ve seen first hand how she is treated by members of that lodge and by some elements of her family.

But I suppose I’m making that up too? 

4 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Well yes, of course, which is why I never tried to claim any different.

I merely said Celtic participate in promoting the Irish v British/Catholic v Protestant farce with Rangers by purposely putting Irish colours into their strips/team wear every season, much like how Rangers put orange into theirs. Its all part of selling the brand.

Quite why you, a "neutral", has read that through blurry eyes and launched into a wee tear stained rant about me "hating the Irish" is beyond me.

Celtic were founded as an Irish club. That's probably why they put a tricolour on their strips. 

I don't think you hate the Irish but if you see the Irish flag as anti-protestant or even anti-British then I think that's a poor reflection on British society. 

Anyway, I can see you are quite adamant in your beliefs which is fine so I'll leave it there. 

3 minutes ago, Antony said:

You are making it abundantly clear that expressions of Irishness in Scotland are seen as an "issue". 

I've said nothing of the sort. I'm saying its an issue to Rangers fans, just like waving a Union Jack or walking about in bright orange gets Celtic fans enraged.

Its an issue between two sets of fans, which is encouraged and promoted by the clubs.

Theres undoubtedly an issue with people related to neither club, but while the two highest profile clubs in the country, and their fans, continue to promote and normalise that behaviour then nothing much can be done about the dregs of society who act this way outside of a football rivalry.

It constantly amazed me how many intelligent, reasonable, fans of either Celtic or Rangers just completely bury their heads in the sand when faced up with this, and try and turn the issue into either something else, or pass the buck to someone else. It'll never not be an issue until the fans from both side decide so, the clubs make too much money off it to stop it.

3 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

The Tories were, by any measure, the party of the Jacobites!  Why are you even contending this?

Why are you also taking issue with an organisation such as the OO with Irish roots?  Is it anti-Irish intolerance?

Because it is factual? And my own surname comes from Wexford so you can read into that what you will 

7 minutes ago, Antony said:

You keep repeating yourself and I'm not disagreeing with you. But you don't realise you are proving the point being made by other posters. 

You are making it abundantly clear that expressions of Irishness in Scotland are seen as an "issue". That's the view taken in Scotland but from an outsider's perspective its not really a great reflection on your country. If waving an Irish flag stirs up feelings of hatred and anger maybe they are the issue rather than a flag that represents peace. 

Maybe I'm being dim, but in what way does the Irish flag represent peace more than any other flag, apart from the Jolly Roger.

Just now, Buckets said:

if you see the Irish flag as anti-protestant or even anti-British then I think that's a poor reflection on British society. 

I don't, I see the consistent use of Celtic using it alongside anti-Protestant messaging as an attempt at promoting and encouraging their fans to think in such a way.

Just now, kingjoey said:

Maybe I'm being dim, but in what way does the Irish flag represent peace more than any other flag, apart from the Jolly Roger.

Green is for Ireland/Catholic, white is for peace and Orange is for unionism (protestants).

10 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

No my opposition to the OO is an early memory of walking past a local lodge in my centenary Celtic top as a young 9 year old with mum and being shouted at by these people dressed in fancy clothes and sashes and called a “a wee chinky ****** b*****d”

This is definitely made up pish.  Embarrassed for you.

You're doing the empty-headed diddy thing of thinking that the OO has something to do with Rangers - and it hasn't.

Edited by The_Kincardine

I don't, I see the consistent use of Celtic using it alongside anti-Protestant messaging as an attempt at promoting and encouraging their fans to think in such a way.

Well I suppose if that's how you view the slogan "this is our city" it just comes down to opinion. That line has probably been used by every club ever to exist in a 2 team city. Personally I don't see that as anti-protestant but fair enough. 

I've said nothing of the sort. I'm saying its an issue to Rangers fans, just like waving a Union Jack or walking about in bright orange gets Celtic fans enraged.

Its an issue between two sets of fans, which is encouraged and promoted by the clubs.

Theres undoubtedly an issue with people related to neither club, but while the two highest profile clubs in the country, and their fans, continue to promote and normalise that behaviour then nothing much can be done about the dregs of society who act this way outside of a football rivalry.

It constantly amazed me how many intelligent, reasonable, fans of either Celtic or Rangers just completely bury their heads in the sand when faced up with this, and try and turn the issue into either something else, or pass the buck to someone else. It'll never not be an issue until the fans from both side decide so, the clubs make too much money off it to stop it.

It’s not an issue between two sets of fans

its an issue within Scottish society when it comes to its catholic population and Irish heritage 

It wasn’t that long ago Ross County put out an apology when a small number of its fans was caught on camera using anti catholic slurs.

At political level, Labour have had to apologise for its members using similar language 

Its far too convenient for people to say this is a football problem when it’s clearly now.

Again though, celebrating your Irish roots shouldn’t be an issue for anyone, and if it does upset some people. The problem is with them. 

12 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

This is definitely made up pish.  Embarrassed for you.

Apologies for not capturing it on Facebook live for evidence for you as it didn’t exist back then however let me assure you it was a very real experience and it hurt my mum very fucking deeply.

And don’t be embarrassed for me mate, be embarrassed for the organisation you are defending and be embarrassed for the post you have just made here. I know you can be a bit cunty but you are crossing a bit of a line here and showing yourself up as a deluded and dare I say bigoted old fool.

Edited by Jinky67

5 minutes ago, Buckets said:

Well I suppose if that's how you view the slogan "this is our city" it just comes down to opinion. That line has probably been used by every club ever to exist in a 2 team city. Personally I don't see that as anti-protestant but fair enough. 

4 team city to be fair

5 if you want to include Clyde as they’re originally a Glasgow team also