Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2023/24

6 hours ago, bennett said:

So who is going to George Square and who is watching in the hoose with a cargo? I was considering going up but I'd probably get photographed doing something that I shouldn't if I went. 

RANGERS fans have been fired a warning against marching to celebrate trophy day by the city's top cop. 

Fans are planning to walk from Ibrox, along Govan Road to George Square this Saturday to celebrate their side lifting the Scottish Premiership cup

But Chief Superintendent Mark Sutherland, above, the divisional commander for Greater Glasgow warned Light Blues supporters not to go along for the party.

He said: "Under the current restrictions no-one should be gathering in numbers of more than six at the stadium or any other location and Police Scotland supports the club in urging its fans to do the right thing and follow the coronavirus regulations around gatherings

The city's top brass have a secret policing plan in place to "minimise any disruption to the community, he added

Stay aff the benches this time 

On 08/05/2021 at 16:09, The_Kincardine said:

Thanks all for the notes and messages and it's taken a wee while to recover from 55 Sunday's Ginfest.  Obviously delighted at another notch on our bedpost.  I'd rank it as 6th in my list of title wins:

Dude, you're alive!!   Thought you had passed. 

Now you can say the reports of your death were greatly exaggerated.

13 hours ago, bennett said:

So who is going to George Square and who is watching in the hoose with a cargo? I was considering going up but I'd probably get photographed doing something that I shouldn't if I went. 

RANGERS fans have been fired a warning against marching to celebrate trophy day by the city's top cop. 

Fans are planning to walk from Ibrox, along Govan Road to George Square this Saturday to celebrate their side lifting the Scottish Premiership cup

But Chief Superintendent Mark Sutherland, above, the divisional commander for Greater Glasgow warned Light Blues supporters not to go along for the party.

He said: "Under the current restrictions no-one should be gathering in numbers of more than six at the stadium or any other location and Police Scotland supports the club in urging its fans to do the right thing and follow the coronavirus regulations around gatherings

The city's top brass have a secret policing plan in place to "minimise any disruption to the community, he added

Whilst they may not be able to stop the gathering surely this time they could stop the public drinking, urinating, racism, sectarianism, vandalism, brawling and sex offending

53 minutes ago, Drew Brees said:

Whilst they may not be able to stop the gathering surely this time they could stop the public drinking, urinating, racism, sectarianism, vandalism, brawling and sex offending

Are celtic fans also considering gathering?

6 hours ago, Drew Brees said:

Hope the guy with the arse belly goes. He’s cool.

15 hours ago, AmericanFan said:

Dude, you're alive!!   Thought you had passed. 

Now you can say the reports of your death were greatly exaggerated.

Thanks, buddy.  How're you doing?  Talk us through your first season as a Bluenose...

On 10/05/2021 at 19:46, alta-pete said:

Was it ever proven that there was a spike in Covid infections when we (they!!) all gathered before and after the St Mirren game? 

Was a  proven spike of unhinged bigoted morons in the centre of Glasgow.

12 hours ago, red23 said:

Was a  proven spike of unhinged bigoted morons in the centre of Glasgow.

So, in answer to the question of whether it was ever proven that there was a spike in Covid cases after Rangers fans title celebrations in March, the answer would be ‘no’ then? 

Mind you, not that Covid was the real reason of concern for those who drenched their knickers over the big George Sq party was it? Seeing as half the ones moaning about it were probably at the BLM(a cause I have a great deal of admiration for) protests last summer during full lockdown and at a time when no vaccine was available.

But then again they know that deep down. The problem with the Rangers celebrations wasn’t that people were gathering in a pandemic, it was who gathered and why. :)

13 minutes ago, MJC said:

So, in answer to the question of whether it was ever proven that there was a spike in Covid cases after Rangers fans title celebrations in March, the answer would be ‘no’ then? 

Mind you, not that Covid was the real reason of concern for those who drenched their knickers over the big George Sq party was it? Seeing as half the ones moaning about it were probably at the BLM(a cause I have a great deal of admiration for) protests last summer during full lockdown and at a time when no vaccine was available.

But then again they know that deep down. The problem with the Rangers celebrations wasn’t that people were gathering in a pandemic, it was who gathered and why. :)

What an odd thing to say 🤔

5 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

What an odd thing to say 🤔

It’s not really odd at atall, if you read it with an open mind that is.

I admire the BLM movement, however protesting in huge numbers at a time when the country was on lockdown and people couldn’t hug their grandkids wasn’t the right thing to do. Likewise celebrating a title win in huge numbers at a time when the country was on lockdown and people couldn’t hug their grandkids wasn’t the right thing to do.

However a huge section of social media who were up in arms about the Rangers celebrations were also vocal in their support of the BLM protests last summer. 

My point being that the reason for a gathering during a full lockdown is totally irrelevant. They are wrong and shouldn’t have happened and you can’t choose which ones you like and justify and which ones you don’t like and condemn, otherwise you just make yourself sound like a massive hypocrite.

6 minutes ago, MJC said:

It’s not really odd at atall, if you read it with an open mind that is.

I admire the BLM movement, however protesting in huge numbers at a time when the country was on lockdown and people couldn’t hug their grandkids wasn’t the right thing to do. Likewise celebrating a title win in huge numbers at a time when the country was on lockdown and people couldn’t hug their grandkids wasn’t the right thing to do.

However a huge section of social media who were up in arms about the Rangers celebrations were also vocal in their support of the BLM protests last summer. 

My point being that the reason for a gathering during a full lockdown is totally irrelevant. They are wrong and shouldn’t have happened and you can’t choose which ones you like and justify and which ones you don’t like and condemn, otherwise you just make yourself sound like a massive hypocrite.

Well you have made the connection in your own paranoid mind, and not backed it up at all, so theres that

And if you admire (and by extension understand) the BLM movement, I think you would agree that their protests are somewhat more important, and more justifiable than drinking and pishing all over a town square because a football team won. You are drawing a very odd equivalence, which is why I said its odd

14 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Well you have made the connection in your own paranoid mind, and not backed it up at all, so theres that

And if you admire (and by extension understand) the BLM movement, I think you would agree that their protests are somewhat more important, and more justifiable than drinking and pishing all over a town square because a football team won. You are drawing a very odd equivalence, which is why I said its odd

One being perfectly legal and allowed under restrictions at the time... And the other... Well aye, booooo we all hate Rangers and want to unjustly persecute them.

or something like that.

13 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

I certainly do understand and agree that their protests were more important than any football celebrations. But justifiable? During a time when the country was on lockdown and a stay at home order was in place to protect the NHS/save lives? No. It doesn’t matter the reason, or how good the cause was, that was not the time for those protests to happen, it’s as simple as that.

If you want ‘back up’ to my point, just have a look at Twitter, even at this forum from the times of both ‘events’ and at the difference in reaction to both by certain individuals.