Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2023/24

1 minute ago, Merkland Red said:

Hastie was awful against Aberdeen. Took his goal well though.

I didn't see the game so I'll take your word for it. Did see his goal though and I agree it was a very composed finish.

Against us Hastie looked really tricky and a lot better than O'Halloran ever did.

He'll probably need to be given time and patience tho.

Neither of which he will likely get at Ibrox

Just now, Twinkle said:
5 minutes ago, bennett said:
Against us Hastie looked really tricky and a lot better than O'Halloran ever did.

He'll probably need to be given time and patience tho.

Neither of which he will likely get at Ibrox

Folk said that about Kamara.

1 hour ago, bennett said:

Said same about Jack to they did

Its a myth Scottish market players dont get a chance at Rangers

Even Docherty and Holt have been told that they can put there name down in training to be part of the squad next year

Edited by Tartan Tammy 1297
Clarity

1 hour ago, TavTastic said:

No chance will the fee be as much as the £450k we paid for O'Halloran as well. Aberdeen paid about £200k for Ferguson who had far more first team games for Hamilton for example.

No he didn't.

Ferguson had 14 appearances for Accies. Hastie's got 17 appearances for Motherwell (along with 32 for Airdrie and 23 for Alloa). Hastie's played far more first team football than Ferguson had. He's also been a Motherwell player for 10 years compared to Ferguson's 5 years at Accies.

3 minutes ago, capt_oats said:

No he didn't.

Ferguson had 14 appearances for Accies. Hastie's got 17 appearances for Motherwell (along with 32 for Airdrie and 23 for Alloa). Hastie's played far more first team football than Ferguson had. He's also been a Motherwell player for 10 years compared to Ferguson's 5 years at Accies.

Ah right. Just checked it now. Lewis Ferguson with 14 more Premiership minutes at Hamilton than Hastie at Motherwell. But you are right that Hastie has greater first team experience at a lower level.

We will see what the compensation algorithm chucks out.

23 minutes ago, TavTastic said:

Ah right. Just checked it now. Lewis Ferguson with 14 more Premiership minutes at Hamilton than Hastie at Motherwell. But you are right that Hastie has greater first team experience at a lower level.

We will see what the compensation algorithm chucks out.

Depends how staunch the algorithm is.

The Ferguson Tribunal set a fee of £237,950 so based on the fact that Hastie's been part of Motherwell's system for twice as long as Ferguson was with Accies I'd guess that the numbers on our claim of £355k should be accurate. For comparison we got something like £210k from Brighton for Ben Hall and £500k from Leeds for Lee Erwin.

In honesty, £355k for a twice nominated YPOTY seems a bargain IMO.

Either way it should be more than the Ferguson fee.

Edit: Just to add, noticing @Twinkle on this thread reminded me that Rangers were awarded £204k from United for Charlie Telfer who had *checks notes* 1 first team appearance to his name.

Edited by capt_oats

Even Docherty and Holt have been told that they can put there name down in training to be part of the squad next year

Thats awfy good of Sevco to allow them that privilege [emoji38]

FWIW i never mentioned anything about nationality, not sure why you have brought that up

Neither did a ya rocket 

Said same about Jack to they did
Its a myth Scottish market players dont get a chance at Rangers

VN1NYAv.gif

Rangers'll probably pay about £300k for Hastie.

Still don't think he's being signed to go right into the first team though. Rangers already have way too many midfielders.  The club has 17 midfielders with Kent and Coulibaly  returning to their clubs in the summer. Then there's Hastie, Jones and possibly Greg Stewart still to join. Madness. 

Been the same for a new seasons now. The squad needs some quality defenders and forward players (especially with Morelos leaving in the summer).

12 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Well the match thread is descending into farce as they do when we win.  What a turn from Kamara and a 'do nothing' from Defoe.  

Thank you! Been wanting to see a replay of that goal for ages.

£50,000...

2 hours ago, TavTastic said:

Thank you! Been wanting to see a replay of that goal for ages.

£50,000...

It's such a pretty goal.  And aye, £50K for a half season is bargain basement stuff.  Thanks Dees.

Can't wait to see how he will improve after a proper preseason. 

Edit:  Bet 365 ken the score

Edited by The_Kincardine

After our recent run of good form, I don't think Kamara's influence can be understated. Davis & Arfield have been different players also since Kamara has slotted in.

He's absolutely strolled it and genuinely looks a cut above.