Edinburgh City

On 21/10/2022 at 23:29, ARFC Exile said:

Are others slowly returning or are most still unwilling to attend again?

Yep, the bridges have been well and truly burned. I attended either the Dunfermline or Falkirk home game at Meadowbank (I can't remember which one, which tells you something) and not returned after that. The team is performing remarkably on the pitch and I dare say that Maybury may be on a few wanted lists when the Championship Clubs start to fire managers. I've only followed City for 3 seasons or so, but won't be back apart from the occasional game with my son when he's home from Uni, and probably away games as well. Fair play that they have opened a club shop but I am guessing that the old ECFC merchandise (AKA the bobble hats) won't be featuring. 

I suspect that the club may have picked up some casual fans to replace the likes of me and you that have stopped going so gates will average out at the 350 - 450 range. But seeing as their latest attempt at marketing is to entice students into Meadowbank at the bargain concession price of £12.... well I just don't see how they are going to grow the core support. 

3 minutes ago, RubyTuesday said:

Yep, the bridges have been well and truly burned. I attended either the Dunfermline or Falkirk home game at Meadowbank (I can't remember which one, which tells you something) and not returned after that. The team is performing remarkably on the pitch and I dare say that Maybury may be on a few wanted lists when the Championship Clubs start to fire managers. I've only followed City for 3 seasons or so, but won't be back apart from the occasional game with my son when he's home from Uni, and probably away games as well. Fair play that they have opened a club shop but I am guessing that the old ECFC merchandise (AKA the bobble hats) won't be featuring. 

I suspect that the club may have picked up some casual fans to replace the likes of me and you that have stopped going so gates will average out at the 350 - 450 range. But seeing as their latest attempt at marketing is to entice students into Meadowbank at the bargain concession price of £12.... well I just don't see how they are going to grow the core support. 

Students got in for half price before so it's hardly a new development despite what the board will claim. Indeed half price admission works out cheaper than this new "concession"

I suspect they will have new merchandise- certainly there are new badges. Don't all rush at once. 

The set up at Meadowbank is unusual for a professional football stadium.  As a member I tap my membership card on the electronic gates and enter the complex.  I head right to the gym.  Straight ahead is the running track and pitch.  The changing rooms for officials are to the left.  I'm not sure where the players change for league games - presumably the same area rather than the changing rooms next to the gym?  There are a number of halls where other activities take place on the ground floor, and just after the gates there are lifts to the first and second floors.  Occasionally there are large events for kids (eg dance competitions) so lots of excitable youngsters running around.

There is an Open Weekend at Meadowbank from Friday to Sunday 4/11 to 6/11 - "We're .... opening up the whole venue for free".  It's a good idea, but there is no mention of the game.  It will be unfortunate if people turn up expecting to get access to the running track on Saturday afternoon!  Could be a fun afternoon to be a steward for "FC Edinburgh".

Meadowbank Sports Centre | Events - Edinburgh Leisure

Edited by Parttimesupporter
To add dates

3 hours ago, Parttimesupporter said:

The set up at Meadowbank is unusual for a professional football stadium.  As a member I tap my membership card on the electronic gates and enter the complex.  I head right to the gym.  Straight ahead is the running track and pitch.  The changing rooms for officials are to the left.  I'm not sure where the players change for league games - presumably the same area rather than the changing rooms next to the gym?  There are a number of halls where other activities take place on the ground floor, and just after the gates there are lifts to the first and second floors.  Occasionally there are large events for kids (eg dance competitions) so lots of excitable youngsters running around.

There is an Open Weekend at Meadowbank from Friday to Sunday 4/11 to 6/11 - "We're .... opening up the whole venue for free".  It's a good idea, but there is no mention of the game.  It will be unfortunate if people turn up expecting to get access to the running track on Saturday afternoon!  Could be a fun afternoon to be a steward for "FC Edinburgh".

The changing rooms are near the public bogs. You can see the players going out for the second half if you go for a pish. 

I'm pretty sure the changing rooms are smaller than the Ainslie Park ones too- they look it. 

I thought it was probably best to start a new thread after this.

Recent club statement has announced a preference of dropping ‘FC’ from the start of the club name and more good news at dropping the ticket price from £18 to £12 for the rest of the season. There’s also updates on the ‘viewing’ experience but I’ll wait and see for that.

It’s good news that the club has finally listened to fans and taken some positive steps to begin rectifying the issues. I’m hoping if they keep this up that it’s the start of better communication between the fans and the club moving forward.

https://fcedinburgh.com/news/club-statement-26-10-22/

Statement o'clock.  

Club Statement – F.C. Edinburgh (fcedinburgh.com)

Belated apologies, a reduction in prices (though appears that pensioners have to pay the full price), and some weird stuff about the name.  They now want to be known as 'Edinburgh'.  I thought the tin pot video from the summer said that this wasn't allowed, and in any event it does hee-haw to address the real issue of the name change.

Shouldn't grumble really, £6 up for next Saturday 😀

19 minutes ago, Parttimesupporter said:

Statement o'clock.  

Belated apologies, a reduction in prices (though appears that pensioners have to pay the full price), and some weird stuff about the name.  They now want to be known as 'Edinburgh'.  I thought the tin pot video from the summer said that this wasn't allowed, and in any event it does hee-haw to address the real issue of the name change.

“We apologise for changing the name so we’ve decided to change the name again”

1 hour ago, Parttimesupporter said:

They now want to be known as 'Edinburgh'.  I thought the tin pot video from the summer said that this wasn't allowed,

Why would this not be allowed? Take Aberdeen, for instance...

11 hours ago, Parttimesupporter said:

I see from that they are randomly dumping a few snooker tables down, where the f**k are they expecting to properly host that?  Shite everything, competent at none…

1 hour ago, Parttimesupporter said:

Statement o'clock.  

Same old pish. Still blaming others, still thinking they are the good guys.  It’s not even as good as most non-league grounds where you pay £5/6,  they need to be charging half that before it’s reasonable. £12 is still a pisstake and no amount of blaming the council for that makes sense. Absolutely nobody forced them to look at that shambles and choose it as a home ground, there’s half a dozen in Edinburgh that are better they could have pursued which they appear to have made no attempt to secure.

4 minutes ago, parsforlife said:

I see from that they are randomly dumping a few snooker tables down, where the f**k are they expecting to properly host that?  Shite everything, competent at none…

Same old pish. Still blaming others, still thinking they are the good guys.  It’s not even as good as most non-league grounds where you pay £5/6,  they need to be charging half that before it’s reasonable. £12 is still a pisstake and no amount of blaming the council for that makes sense. Absolutely nobody forced them to look at that shambles and choose it as a home ground, there’s half a dozen in Edinburgh that are better they could have pursued which they appear to have made no attempt to secure.

I can understand your view, supporting a club that has played in the Premier League, won cups, played it Europe, but now find yourself having to mix with the part timers in League 1. And not running away with the league, it would appear. By comparison, ECFC are a diddy wee team that were playing on public parks while you were in Cup Finals at Hampden. Nobody is forcing you to come to Meadowbank. Keep your £12 in your pocket. 

Be interested to hear which are the half dozen grounds in Edinburgh that are free on a Saturday whenever we need it? Ainslie Park is used by Spartans and Hutchinson Vale on alternate weeks and I doubt Hibs or Hearts would let City use theirs. Take out the Private School rugby grounds and you are left with.... ?

30 minutes ago, RubyTuesday said:

I can understand your view, supporting a club that has played in the Premier League, won cups, played it Europe, but now find yourself having to mix with the part timers in League 1. And not running away with the league, it would appear. By comparison, ECFC are a diddy wee team that were playing on public parks while you were in Cup Finals at Hampden. Nobody is forcing you to come to Meadowbank. Keep your £12 in your pocket. 

Be interested to hear which are the half dozen grounds in Edinburgh that are free on a Saturday whenever we need it? Ainslie Park is used by Spartans and Hutchinson Vale on alternate weeks and I doubt Hibs or Hearts would let City use theirs. Take out the Private School rugby grounds and you are left with.... ?

Your narrative is complete pish , my club are rightly playing league one football as is whatever the f**k you want to call this gang who change their mind every 3 months.  We are at the level our on field performances deserved.

LTHV got the ainslie lease cos you didn’t fight for it, despite knowing medowbank was a shithole.   You could have tried to get saughton, pefffermill,  megetland, civil service  along with all those private rugby grounds you turn your nose up at.  Rugby is shite but their stadiums are better for football than shite athletics grounds by 1000%.

23 minutes ago, Derry Pele said:

That statement is akin to when petrol went back below £1.60 a litre; infinitely better than it ended up being recently, but still infinitely worse than it was a year ago

and inevitably due to go back to or even worse than what you thought was the worst it could.

Edited by parsforlife

The fans were consulted about this latest name change apparently :lol:

Consulted?

Not me

Not my pal

Who both watched the team from picking dug shite off a roped off pitch to going into the Scottish League.

Now we should be glad the bountiful board have changed the name of the team from a joke to a flipping rugby franchise

Let's be honest, as Billy Bleach said above, they're only doing this because the crowds are pitiful and they're losing money. And I suspect there's little or no volunteers to do the dirty work on match days.

My pal and me were discussing whether we would go back even if they changed the name back to Edinburgh City and considering the way we've been treated it was unlikely. 

4 hours ago, Bay Citizen said:

I thought it was probably best to start a new thread after this.

Recent club statement has announced a preference of dropping ‘FC’ from the start of the club name and more good news at dropping the ticket price from £18 to £12 for the rest of the season. There’s also updates on the ‘viewing’ experience but I’ll wait and see for that.

It’s good news that the club has finally listened to fans and taken some positive steps to begin rectifying the issues. I’m hoping if they keep this up that it’s the start of better communication between the fans and the club moving forward.

https://fcedinburgh.com/news/club-statement-26-10-22/

Have the listened? Seems the same wishy washy ‘it will all be sorted soon, we promise?’  that’s been their narrative for quite a  while now.